Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bogman loads his trolley up with rashers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,896 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

So he is accusing Iceland of telling porkies?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,547 ✭✭✭✭Poor Uncle Tom

Jaysci20 wrote: »
    What was he hoping to achieve by wheeling a trolley loaded up with rashers to the manager?

I'd say he got what he was hoping for, this thread is testimony to that fact......:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,465 ✭✭✭✭cantdecide

The supermarket broke no law. Produced in Ireland is clear and not misleading.

When produce has "Produced in Ireland" written on it, you would hope that that that produce was indeed been produced in Ireland. Otherwise it was simply processed in Ireland.

"Processed in Ireland" probably would be more accurate yet less appetising. I say him or anyone who attempts to end this carry on is 100% right to complain about the deliberate attempt to mislead.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,198 ✭✭✭testicles

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭_Dara_

cantdecide wrote: »
    When produce has "Produced in Ireland" written on it, you would hope that that that produce was indeed been produced in Ireland. Otherwise it was simply processed in Ireland. Now call me pedantic if you want...

I say he's 100% right to complain.

I’ve for a long time understood that ‘Produced in Ireland’ can refer to the processing of food in Ireland that has been raised or grown elsewhere. I think to know that it’s food that has been raised or grown on these shores, it needs to have the Bord Bia mark.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Porcine understanding of geopolitics is basic at best.

Ask a pig if it's Irish or Danish if you don't believe me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Doesn’t he own another rasher brand? They’re the same crowd McAuliffe Trucking that videoed their trucks driving on the wrong side of the road for a promo video.

If t as a stunt to raise awareness then he succeeded. Has to be said he has a point.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,627 ✭✭✭Woke Hogan

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Doesn’t he own another rasher brand? They’re the same crowd McAuliffe Trucking that videoed their trucks driving on the wrong side of the road for a promo video.

Probably thought he was in Spain as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,161 ✭✭✭frag420

So he is accusing Iceland of telling porkies?

No, selling porkies!

_Dara_ wrote: »
    I’ve for a long time understood that ‘Produced in Ireland’ can refer to the processing of food in Ireland that has been raised or grown elsewhere. I think to know that it’s food that has been raised or grown on these shores, it needs to have the Bord Bia mark.

Well it's three words and yet still fails to be self explanatory so if it's legal, it stinks to high heaven.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,658 ✭✭✭Halloween Jack

When produce has "Produced in Ireland" written on it, you would hope that that that produce was indeed been produced in Ireland. Otherwise it was simply processed in Ireland.

"Processed in Ireland" probably would be more accurate yet less appetising. I say him or anyone who attempts to end this carry on is 100% right to complain about the deliberate attempt to mislead.

Where the pig hails from is of little importance to me, I’m much more concerned with the quality of life the animal had before it was slaughtered.

It is my understanding that the majority of pig kept in this country are kept in squalid underground bunkers with no access to natural light etc. Hence I source all the pork I eat from a local butcher that stocks free range pork.

If anybody needs protesting it’s the pork farmers who think it’s ok to treat their animals thusly.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,563 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Don't worry.

When Brexit kicks in UK companies will banned from doing this thanks to EU rules.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,825 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

testicles wrote: »

I don't know......I'm fond of porking the foreigners meself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,529 ✭✭✭recyclebin

It says produced in Ireland and it has an Irish Flag on it for FFS. How can anybody think thats okay?

The first 3/5s of that thread is some of the best shít I've read on Boards in ages.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,714 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

"I noticed there were signs for a new Iceland store..."

Ya fairly likely ye were there by chance lad.

I wonder is he the lad on the Truly Irish ad who is barely understandable so strong is his accent?

He's not wrong though. In France they are much more upfront about such things. I was in the Loire one year at a Supermarket stocking up for a camping trip when panicked looking staff came running through the store and threw everyone out.

When we reached the carpark we realised why. About 50 tractors were either in the carpark or blockading the entrance. The farmer types calmly walked in and lifted all the milk and as much of the beer in the place as they could carry, then returned outside and began dumping all the milk down the drains while sinking many beers to refresh themselves. Turns out they were a bit miffed at a drop in dairy prices.

They werent blockading the exit, so we drove out and google mapped the next nearest Supermarché, but all we ended up doing was retracing the farmers' steps as they had already been to that shop and laid waste to it! Cops did nowt, socialism and all that. Basically they were let away with theft of tens of thousands worth of goods.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,074 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

"Made with 100% chicken breast."

Not your ornery onager

• Closed Accounts Posts: 280 ✭✭Max Prophet

Stinky boggers. Probably wants to have a bath in rashers. Most of them smell like they’ve done that anyway. Awful greasy weasels.

Mod-Banned

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,888 ✭✭✭Atoms for Peace

If this was France the farmers would have the place raised to the ground.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,461 ✭✭✭Bob Harris

Stinky boggers. Probably wants to have a bath in rashers. Most of them smell like they’ve done that anyway. Awful greasy weasels.

Mod-Banned

A constructive point Max eloquently put.

The fact remains that this type of packaging is deliberately misleading and exists as a result of lobbying to allow this type of wording and imagery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 408 ✭✭Defunkd

This is quite common and i'm glad it's being highlighted. Foreign product that has been reared and treated with we don't know what, can be imported and left in cold storage for a few days and then legitimately classed as "produced in Ireland".
    I've bought honey that is from "EU and non-EU sources" - not very informative.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭Hector Bellend

If this was France the farmers would have the place raised to the ground.

Awesome paradox dude.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,809 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Are farmers too used to getting their way with everything and fattened by too many grants?

Farming is a hard life that you know fcuk all about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 302 ✭✭Wildcard7

I think it's misleading. If not misleading, it's completely irrelevant. No consumer cares about where meat was cut and packaged. They care (if at all) where the animals were raised and butchered.
    What was he hoping to achieve by wheeling a trolley loaded up with rashers to the manager? Are farmers too used to getting their way with everything and fattened by too many grants?

I'm not a farmer (not even remotely) but if I had to conform to irish law and animal wellfare guidelines when raising my stock, and then my irish products had to compete with "produced in ireland" stuff that is significantly cheaper because it doesn't actually come from Ireland, I'd be raging too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

I completely agree with him, very misleading

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,480 ✭✭✭wexie

It's the difference between 'produced in Ireland' and 'product of Ireland'

Same with 'Smoked Irish Salmon' and "Irish smoked salmon'....one is Irish salmon that is smoked, the other salmon that was smoked in Ireland :confused:

They are complete hogwash marketing techniques to confuse the consumer into thinking they're buying something.

This kind of nonsense should be completely stamped out :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,033 ✭✭✭✭Geuze

Deedsie wrote: »
    There is an oval shaped label on the back of milk and food etc... if it says UK it is a UK product. Charleville cheese for example. If it says IE it's and Irish product. Kilmeadan for example. I always make a conscious decision to purchase Irish products.

I agree that the packaging can be very misleading to people.

That code may refer to where the packaging occurs.

Take this as an example.
    1. Cows produce milk in RoI.
    2. Cheese blocks made in a diary plant in RoI.
    3. 25kg cheese blocks sent to Leek in England to be cut and packaged by Irish-owned Ornua plant.
    4. Cheese imported back into RoI.

That cheese will be labelled with a UK code.

What I have noticed is that some labels are getting more precise:

"Made in Ireland using Irish milk. Packaged in the UK"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

Scurries off to get the cheese;)

Supervalu's cheapest and just says PRODUCED in IRELAND on the front

Thinking of the cost and to the environment of all the sending away and back

[*]Cows produce milk in RoI.

[*]Cheese blocks made in a diary plant in RoI.

[*]25kg cheese blocks sent to Leek in England to be cut and packaged by Irish-owned Ornua plant.

[*]Cheese imported back into RoI.
    [/LIST]

That cheese will be labelled with a UK code.

What I have noticed is that some labels are getting more precise:

"Made in Ireland using Irish milk. Packaged in the UK"[/QUOTE]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 667 ✭✭✭Balf

Wildcard7 wrote: »
    I'm not a farmer (not even remotely) but if I had to conform to irish law and animal wellfare guidelines when raising my stock, and then my irish products had to compete with "produced in ireland" stuff that is significantly cheaper because it doesn't actually come from Ireland, I'd be raging too.
    But is that actually the reason for the price differential? I'd have thought the animal welfare rules would be a standard applied at EU level to all Member States. So your Spanish, Danish and German producers all have to meet the same standard.

Isn't that the point of the EU single market?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,453 ✭✭✭Shenshen

Does he want to eat it or have a chat with it? :confused:

Don't worry.

When Brexit kicks in UK companies will banned from doing this thanks to EU rules.

no they won't. It doesn't matter who is selling it, it is still produced in Ireland.
    Deedsie wrote: »
    There is an oval shaped label on the back of milk and food etc... if it says UK it is a UK product. Charleville cheese for example. If it says IE it's and Irish product. Kilmeadan for example. I always make a conscious decision to purchase Irish products.

I agree that the packaging can be very misleading to people.

The only cheese made in Charleville is Cheese Strings

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59,702 ✭✭✭✭namenotavailablE

Even if within the law, it certainly strikes me as deceptive marketing on the part of Iceland (and/or the supplier). I don't know but assume that it might also be a tactic used by others too.
    By including the tricolour on the package and using the wording "Produced in Ireland", there's an effort made to convey the idea that the contents were from Irish reared and processed pork- not imported from elsewhere and merely packaged in Ireland. A consumer would reasonably think that s/he was supporting Irish farmers and food businesses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

It's misleading marketing - trying to con consumers into thinking they're buying an Irish made product, so I can see his point.

But personally I don't give a rats arse if my rashers come from Belmullet, Belfast or Belgrade, I only care about what they cost and what they taste like.

I have no time for whinging farmers - if you can't make a living as a farmer, do something else for a living. You don't have some god given right to be a fúcking farmer any more than you do to be anything else. If your job doesn't pay, you need a different job - not yet another handout.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

It's misleading marketing - trying to con consumers into thinking they're buying an Irish made product, so I can see his point.

But personally I don't give a rats arse if my rashers come from Belmullet, Belfast or Belgrade, I only care about what they cost and what they taste like.

I have no time for whinging farmers - if you can't make a living as a farmer, do something else for a living. You don't have some god given right to be a fúcking farmer any more than you do to be anything else. If your job doesn't pay, you need a different job - not yet another handout.

Three of my landlords were farmers, but with families to raise, had a "day job" . All three worked in a manual capacity with the council . All would have preferred full time farming

That said, is anyone going to fill up a trolley in Tesco with Lily O'Briens and Butlers Irish Chocolates and demand to have it relabeled as West African?

Or demand that Barry's Irish Breakfast Tea be removed from the shelves?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

Graces7 wrote: »
    Three of my landlords were farmers, but with families to raise, had a "day job" . All three worked in a manual capacity with the council . All would have preferred full time farming

Good for them. I'd prefer to be doing any number of things to what I actually am doing - such is life!

There's a very large cohort of farmers who sit in their hundred grand tractors moaning about how they can't make a living selling milk / beef / lamb / pork / cabbages / whatever and demanding this be done and that be done to accommodate their choice. I have no time whatsoever for it - if you can't make a living as a plumber, then you just can't be a plumber, best go do something else. If you can't make a living as a gardener, then you just can't be a gardener.

Farmers, certain farmers at least, seem to think they are indispensable - they aren't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,436 ✭✭✭AlanG

Have to agree with this stunt - the problem is very significant, when Irish taxpayers are paying to have one of the most traceable and secure food supplies we should not be allowing products that do not meet the same standard be sold as Irish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,809 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Balf wrote: »

Or demand that Barry's Irish Breakfast Tea be removed from the shelves?

Barry's blends and packages tea here, it doesn't take a genius to work out that Ireland doesn't grow it...unlike Lyons which pretends to be Irish from its advertising despite not having an operation here. There are a number of faux Irish brands, Siúcra being one of the bigger pretenders.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,896 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

Balf wrote: »
    But is that actually the reason for the price differential? I'd have thought the animal welfare rules would be a standard applied at EU level to all Member States. So your Spanish, Danish and German producers all have to meet the same standard.

Isn't that the point of the EU single market?

It's a while since I have looked at the legislation so with that caveat, the difference between regulations and directives would have an effect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Yeah, but how far do you take that?
    If your bread was shipped from the UK and sliced and packed in Ireland, where was it produced?
    What if it was shipped as dough and then baked in Ireland?
    What if the ingredients come from the UK and then mixed and baked in Ireland?

My point being that "produced" is basically meaningless - raising a pig is only one step in many steps to stick it on a supermarket shelf. Saying the product was "produced" in Ireland is perfectly valid because it's very vague. The product is not just the pig, it's sliced rashers in a plastic packet.

They should be introducing a range of labelling for food to include words like "Bred in" for animals, "Prepared in" for food stuffs and then "packaged in". "Produced in" should be basically removed because it's meaningless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,499 ✭✭✭✭Alun

Maybe, but being in the business he's in, he's perfectly aware of this already, so his feigning surprise at the "Produced in Ireland" label is just being silly, and done purely as a PR exercise.

seamus wrote: »
    If your bread was shipped from the UK and sliced and packed in Ireland, where was it produced?
    What if it was shipped as dough and then baked in Ireland?
    What if the ingredients come from the UK and then mixed and baked in Ireland?

My point being that "produced" is basically meaningless - raising a pig is only one step in many steps to stick it on a supermarket shelf. Saying the product was "produced" in Ireland is perfectly valid because it's very vague. The product is not just the pig, it's sliced rashers in a plastic packet.

They should be introducing a range of labelling for food to include words like "Bred in" for animals, "Prepared in" for food stuffs and then "packaged in". "Produced in" should be basically removed because it's meaningless.

it's easy when you talk about a single ingredient, but what about ready meals? is a frozen pizza produced in Ireland, even though everything but the chicken comes from Italy but is still made in Monaghan?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,787 ✭✭✭Feisar

Tis a bit like when they say a burger is 100% Irish beef, the beef may be Irish however that's only one ingredient. What the hell is rusk anyway!?!

First they came for the socialists...

seamus wrote: »

This is not insurmountable problem, there are just a handful of key factors.

Mainly, where were have the key ingredients come from and where was its key production function and where was it packaged. If you have free reign to select the most palatable element of the food and raise your flag there, then it's all wrong, IMO.

Jaysus right off the top of my head, imagine a small label as thus;

IRL_IRL_IRL = all Irish

ES_IRL_IRL = Spanish ingredients_Irish produced_Irish packaging

ES_UK_IRL = Spanish Ingredients_produced in the UK_Irish packaging

ES_UK/IRL_IRL = Spanish ingredients_produced in the UK & further processed in Ireland and packaged in Ireland

Can't be that hard, like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,862 ✭✭✭✭inforfun

https://www.independent.ie/business/farming/news/farming-news/wellknown-farmers-disgust-at-produced-in-ireland-rashers-misleading-customers-36823351.html

"Shane then filled up his trolley with the products and asked to talk to the manager. "I told her I was a pig farmer and I was shocked that they were stocking these products and blatantly trying to mislead the consumer with the packaging."

What was he hoping to achieve by wheeling a trolley loaded up with rashers to the manager? Are farmers too used to getting their way with everything and fattened by too many grants?

No it is not clear and yes it is misleading.

If i buy rashers with a label "produced in Ireland" i expect Paddy the Pig on my bread and under my egg
    Not Soren the Pig or Pablo the Pig who were brought over here in order to be sliced and packaged here.

There are a number of faux Irish brands, Siúcra being one of the bigger pretenders.
    Agree, its not as simple as the guy with the rashers wants to pretend.
    It's a while since I have looked at the legislation so with that caveat, the difference between regulations and directives would have an effect.
    ? But if the EU harmonises legislation in a sector, all Member States must adopt rules that have the same effect.

Its really not clear why imports are cheaper; particularly as our food sector is largely producing for the mass market, in particular to supply UK supermarkets.

This is not insurmountable problem, there are just a handful of key factors.

Mainly, where were have the key ingredients come from and where was its key production function and where was it packaged. If you have free reign to select the most palatable element of the food and raise your flag there, then it's all wrong, IMO.

Jaysus right off the top of my head, imagine a small label as thus;

IRL_IRL_IRL = all Irish

ES_IRL_IRL = Spanish ingredients_Irish produced_Irish packaging

ES_UK_IRL = Spanish Ingredients_produced in the UK_Irish packaging

ES_UK/IRL_IRL = Spanish ingredients_produced in the UK & further processed in Ireland and packaged in Ireland

Can't be that hard, like.

so on a pizza, that is "assembled" in Monaghan, with cheese from France, tomato sauce from Greece, dough from the UK and Pepperoni from Italy, how would that work?

which would suit the rashers in question as well.