Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

big news storys we dont hear about anymore

• 22-04-2018 10:28pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,675 ✭✭✭

a few years ago it was all about imegrants going across borders and seas to get into europe , and all that business at callais with the trucks. we never hear about that any more

ebola was another.

what news stories from the last few years just stopped being reported and forgotten about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 790 ✭✭✭baylah17

Bertie Ahern and his corruption

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,978 ✭✭✭✭Panthro

The Masked Man of Tullyallen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,810 ✭✭✭✭Water John

Follow up on stories is quite interesting, when they go off the front pages.
    I think Ebola reemerged in the last few weeks.
    Bertie's 'problems' re-emerged on German TV, a few days ago. He walked out of the interview, definitely putting himself, in the news.

The disaster of the hurricane in Haiti is waht I would nominate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,671 ✭✭✭GarIT

Paedophile priests. A few years back there was a new one discovered every week. I haven’t heard of any in a good while now.

Acid rain

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,351 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Moving statues.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 172 ✭✭Jimmy Dags

People getting erections at mass during the offering.

Don't you keep in touch with reality on After Hours at all at all? There's something infinitely more threatening to the human race today: the rise of women and all their evil talk of equal rights while men are being victimised everywhere. EVERYWHERE! This is the new conspiracy, the new Third Reich - they're not called FemiNAZIS (oh, the wit!) for nothing!

Be afraid. Very, very afraid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 564 ✭✭✭ChunkyLover54

The Beef Tribunal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,054 ✭✭✭Tuco88

SARS Virus.
    Bird Flu.
    Charity scams in Ireland.
    Ukraine. Did they forget about Crimea?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,675 ✭✭✭the_pen_turner

horse meat scandle. did any one ever get punished for that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,781 ✭✭✭✭siblers

South Sudan/Darfur

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭donegaLroad

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,881 ✭✭✭Peatys

Don't you keep in touch with reality on After Hours at all at all? There's something infinitely more threatening to the human race today: the rise of women and all their evil talk of equal rights while men are being victimised everywhere. EVERYWHERE! This is the new conspiracy, the new Third Reich - they're not called FemiNAZIS (oh, the wit!) for nothing!

Be afraid. Very, very afraid.

Did you read the thread title?

WMD's.

Peatys wrote: »
    WMD's.

see post #14 for details

See Bush, think wmd's..
    Didn't have to click the link.

Kony 2012. Is that like all gone? Did we do it? Cos I shared the video and all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,690 ✭✭✭✭Skylinehead

Omackeral wrote: »

https://soundcloud.com/viperhiggins/bigtalk-with-viper-kony

Where the kids at Kony?

Omackeral wrote: »

I was going to mention this Kony malarkey, and also the girls who were kidnapped by Boko Haram

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,070 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn

A lot of stuff mentioned is not ongoing.

Here’s one that’s rarely mentioned - Yemen.

Also the Russian poisoning story seems to have been quashed.

Corbyn being an anti Semite. That’s died off for now until the local elections get closer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85,543 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

Acid rain.

I was going to mention this Kony malarkey, and also the girls who were kidnapped by Boko Haram

The Ireland fans from Euro 2016 saved them after changing everyone’s flat tyres in France and serenading their women.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,431 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

Catalonia and its silly idea of Independence. Why when they were/are part of a great and beautiful country.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,625 ✭✭✭AllForIt

AMKC wrote: »
    Catalonia and its silly idea of Independence. Why when they were/are part of a great and beautiful country.

Where've you been?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,018 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Brexit seems to have fallen out of view again while everyone has been talking about chemical weapon attacks and missile strikes.

Funny how it seemed to be the only news story that mattered for ages, until something else came along: Arsene Wenger got at least twenty times the news coverage instead of it over the past week. But isn't that always the way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

Mary got a job in the bank.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,919 ✭✭✭✭M.T. Cranium

We never seem to get the snow ... ;)

AllForIt wrote: »
    Where've you been?

Where you weely been?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,553 ✭✭✭lmimmfn

Kony 2012

Ignoring idiots who comment "far right" because they don't even know what it means

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,825 ✭✭✭LirW

Aspartame

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,174 ✭✭✭RhubarbCrumble

The ozone layer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 247 ✭✭yabbav

a few years ago it was all about imegrants going across borders and seas to get into europe , and all that business at callais with the trucks. we never hear about that any more

ebola was another.

what news stories from the last few years just stopped being reported and forgotten about.

This was taken off the media yet it’s still an issue. It’s a new tactic buy the socialists in Brussels. Any terror related stuff is mental illness only now too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,995 ✭✭✭Ipso

Ice water curing ALS.

• Site Banned Posts: 78 ✭✭johnnyyesno

A lot of stuff mentioned is not ongoing.

Here’s one that’s rarely mentioned - Yemen.

Also the Russian poisoning story seems to have been quashed.

Corbyn being an anti Semite. That’s died off for now until the local elections get closer.

It's more some of his supporters rather than Corbyn that were being suggested as anti Semitic. There was another story about it in the Sunday Times this weekend.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 300 ✭✭garbo speaks

The New Year's Eve sexual assaults and rapes in Germany in 2015 by Muslim asylum seekers. I am still stunned to this day how such a brutal, large-scale attack on a western democracy was effectively silenced by the liberal media.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,022 ✭✭✭jamesbere

Y2K, don't hear about that anymore

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,848 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Ash clouds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,983 ✭✭✭mikemac2

Ozone layer

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

mikemac2 wrote: »
    Ozone layer

Apparently, it has almost completely regenerated itself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,366 ✭✭✭DellyBelly

Acid rain

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,496 ✭✭✭SCOOP 64

Brexit, sorry no, thats still talk about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

You don't hear about acid rain and the ozone layer due to remedial action taken making a difference for the better. These things are no longer in the news as they are no longer a news matter ( updates about things only make news if something has got worse not better).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,327 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

diomed wrote: »
    Mary got a job in the bank.

Making lots of money
    and giving Frank a ****

Something like that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

Famine/Starvation in Africa. Used to be a major news puller. I reckon the news companies and the NGOs have tried shock value far too much that people have become desensitized to images of starved children with swollen bellies or kids that look like Skeltons.

It's difficult to know if there is less famine or that the news media just don't think it's sexy anymore

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,327 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

Me becoming POTUS

People seem to have forgotten about that already

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

Another one is China and human rights abuses and censorship. Seems like the journos see China as a land of personal opportunity and are now willing to turn a blind eye. It was big news 5-10 years ago, nothing much has changed apart from the fact they know which side of the bread is buttered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61,272 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

Homelessness and rough sleepers.

Fukushima.

Just over 7 years on, and they are still trying to figure out how to best deal with it. Only last year, robots finally found the reactor's melted core.
    baylah17 wrote: »
    Bertie Ahern and his corruption

This, this, this.

Look, he can live out his days smiling away in private for all I care. But the sight/sounds of him trying to worm his way back into Irish Politics makes my skin crawl. The neck on him for one, like the Khaleesi's bollix, and the utter stupidity of some of our electorate for even considering entertaining the notion.

Fair play to that German TV interviewer who attempted to ask Bertie about the Mahon Tribunal over the weekend. It forced Bertie to leave the interview saying "I'm here to talk about Good Friday Agreement and I've done that, goodbye".

Not one of the mainstream Irish stations would write that question and allow their interviewer to ask it. They will happily allow Bertie to sleep walk into the office of President if they have their way, while asking him about his celebrity links or his favourite colour for a Chihuahua sweater.

That's why I feel 'Bertie Ahern' is an important answer to the OP's question, even if not the best one. Be it here on Boards, there on r/ireland, on your personal social media, people need to be reminded of the history of Bertie if the man is considering reentering Irish Politics. RTE certainly won't do it for us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,669 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

The Mayalasian airline flight. It was 24/7 and petered out. Occasionally a lump of plastic washes up somewhere and it's a small column on page 7.