Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bertie Ahern walks out of German TV interview

• 21-04-2018 12:13pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,907 ✭✭✭✭

Former Taoiseach Bertie Ahern walked out of an interview with Germany's international broadcaster after the interviewer questioned him about the Mahon Tribunal.

Interviewing the former Taoiseach about the Good Friday Agreement on DW's Conflict Zone, journalist Tim Sebastian changed topic and questioned Mr Ahern on the findings of the Mahon Tribunal, saying; "They said you weren’t truthful".

Mr Ahern responded by saying he was "happy with [his] evidence" at the tribunal, he has "dealt with the issue of the tribunal comprehensively" and added that he "won't be saying anymore about the issue".

He then walked out of the interview, saying; "I agreed to meet you on the Good Friday Agreement, we’ve done that so we’re finished, thank you very much."

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/politics/bertie-ahern-walks-out-of-interview-after-questions-about-mahon-tribunal-36829212.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,472 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

Aww did Bertie not like being asked questions about being dodgy?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,121 ✭✭✭amcalester

These questions should be asked every time he rears his head until he ****s off for good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 790 ✭✭✭baylah17

So much for the Teflon Taoiseach
    Crooked ****
    Delirah fer him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 469 ✭✭rafatoni

I wonder does he still not have a bank account?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,578 ✭✭✭monkeysnapper

He probably only went on the show so he could get a free makeover as he has to buy his own these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,785 ✭✭✭dasdog

What about the findings of the Moriarty Tribunal, Prime Minister? Gathering dust still I see.

This should be put to the current Taoiseach, every day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 872 ✭✭✭Captain Red Beard

Bertie 'I'll only answer questions that portray me in a positive light' Ahern. The slippery shhit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭donegaLroad

the Mahon tribunal cost the state €119.7 million

Key Findings:

Corruption affected 'every level of Irish political life'

Former taoiseach Bertie Ahern failed to "truthfully" explain source of money

Tribunal rejects Ahern's evidence of "dig-outs"

Former EU Commissioner Pádraig Flynn "wrongly and corruptly" sought donation from Tom Gilmartin

Liam Lawlor accepted 'inappropriate and corrupt payments' from Arlington PLC

Liam Lawlor's involvement with landowners/developers rendered him "hopelessly compromised"

Owen O'Callaghan paid £1.8m to Frank Dunlop over 10 years

Former Fianna Fáil TD GV Wright received a IR£5,000 "corrupt" payment from Christopher Jones

Findings of corruption made against 11 councillors

Thanks lads, that will be €120 million please, and here is a lucks penny of €300,000

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,896 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

He escaped the kitchen cupboard so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭force eleven

That's future PresidentAhern you're all disrespecting here. Remember that.

• Site Banned Posts: 78 ✭✭johnnyyesno

The perfect excuse to play Bertie arselicker Eogahn Harris making a complete tit of himself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,969 ✭✭✭Assetbacked

The findings were that Bertie Ahern was not truthful about his finances i.e. Bertie Ahern hid his finances and was corrupt throughout his time in power. Considering the county is still suffering terribly ten years after the crash, he will get no where near a position in public life again and will die before there is even an opportunity for this to happen. This is comforting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,231 ✭✭✭Odhinn

Deutschland, deutschland.......
    If this was the way irish media operated, not only would he have fucked off for good, but so would the likes of lowry with him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,293 ✭✭✭Deusexmachina

The findings were that Bertie Ahern was not truthful about his finances i.e. Bertie Ahern hid his finances and was corrupt throughout his time in power. Considering the county is still suffering terribly ten years after the crash, he will get no where near a position in public life again and will die before there is even an opportunity for this to happen. This is comforting.

Dont underestmate the stupidity of the electorate. Look at the complete gob****es and crooks they elect time and time again. This is the electorate who voted to save the Seanad, who have allowed Sinn Fein to gradually manipulate their way into a strong position in our parliament, who have given FF the balance of power in the Dail and who have Michael Martin at 55% popularity in the latest polls.

Nothing would surprise me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,749 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Mario Rosenstock will love that, some new material for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

The cabbage honestly still thinks he's going to Irish President one day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

From the tone of this thread, I take it Bertie hasn't much use running for the Aras!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,749 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Agricola wrote: »
    From the tone of this thread, I take it Bertie hasn't much use running for the Aras!

For comedy factor it would be gold.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,748 ✭✭✭corks finest

Shyster

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

When the irish media and wider establisment fail to hold people like Aherne and O`Brien to account and remain unscathed when very expensive tribunals have called into question their character and ways in which they hace carried themselves in office, public and.private and in some ways pay them reverence, it sends out a message that it`s ok to get by on dishonesty and a pat on the back and a wink if it helps to get them to.the top.. two tribulans casted scathing criticisms on those two men and yet they continue to be relevant, exert influence and dominant the public discourse. If they don't like the question or criticism of them they walk away or threaten legal action. What a terrible state of affairs that allows such people to duck responsibility and avoid accountability. And so it will continue. Mea cupla...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Church on Tuesday

What would you expect from a coward?

His rehabilitation efforts in the public eye are pathetic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,935 ✭✭✭TallGlass

There all fúcking chancers, if this was Germany, FF would have been wiped off the planet after there antics. Here in Ireland however, they are second in command, mind boggling stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

For comedy factor it would be gold.

All the talk in the media about how down and dirty the presidential election here always is! Could you imagine his first panel debate on primetime...

"So Mr Ahern, If I could turn to you first........ The Mahon Tribunal. Yer some cowboy in fairness. Would you agree?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,108 ✭✭✭boombang

The perfect excuse to play Bertie arselicker Eogahn Harris making a complete tit of himself.

Big thanks for posting that. It's not seen it before. That's gold.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,189 ✭✭✭✭Sleeper12

He won't be run for president if he doesn't want to answer these questions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,334 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

He's used to the likes of Tubbs and Pat Kenny asking him about Dublin Gaa and his famous kids/grandkids. He wants to be more of a celeb than a politician. He's not used to answering difficult questions and taking responsability for his actions. Unfortunately, those questions don't get asked in Ireland and if they do, they are ignored and insulted.

There's no accountability among our politicians and not just FFers.? Until there is, we'll keep getting ****e politicians.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,057 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Bertie is a typical Irish politician and always was. Just in it for himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,536 ✭✭✭Silentcorner

This interview should embarrass Irish media, in particular RTE, who constantly present Bertie as a legitimate political voice...him and men like him, Haughey and Lawlor etc destroyed our capital city...

Every person who lives in Dublin should be given a copy of Tom Gilmartins book, something to ponder when you are stuck in traffic all the time...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,743 ✭✭✭Wanderer2010

Frankly id be embarrassed to be even associated with that man. But his family did really well out of it- Cecilia Aheran a successful novelist and the other one has a great life too- all off the back of ordinary people in Ireland who had to suffer because of that gobsh!te and his decisions when in power. As corrupt as you get and an absolute brazen neck to boot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 408 ✭✭Defunkd

Bertie for President!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,877 ✭✭✭BENDYBINN

Defunkd wrote: »
    Bertie for President!

The best times this country ever experienced were when Bertie was in power. Fact.
    We should at least thank him for that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,684 ✭✭✭✭Samuel T. Cogley

BENDYBINN wrote: »
    The best times this country ever experienced were when Bertie was in power. Fact.

Despite, not because of.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,750 ✭✭✭Avatar MIA

But his family did really well out of it- Cecilia Aheran a successful novelist

There's not enough outrage about when the last FF government made it compulsory to buy her novels... oh, wait :rolleyes:

And I HATE FF.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

BENDYBINN wrote: »

Oh I'll thank him alright....

With a nice big brown smelly present on his gravesite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,812 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Those questions wouldn't be asked here in the land of 'ah shur God love him'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,551 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

Mario Rosenstock will love that, some new material for him.

He doesn't do "new material"..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,846 ✭✭✭NickNickleby

When Sebastian asked about the fact that he might be a Presidential candidate - eh, let me re-word that : candidate for election to office of President - he replied "that's for another day"

He should have replied "I wouldn't countenance such an insult to the office or the people of Ireland". The fact that he didn't reject the suggestion immediately is the thing that struck me most. The rest we already knew.

Hard neck alright, though its been a while since I've seen him surrounded by acolytes in the Beaumont House.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,743 ✭✭✭Wanderer2010

There's not enough outrage about when the last FF government made it compulsory to buy her novels... oh, wait :rolleyes:

And I HATE FF.

It was he smugness about her success that really left a bad aftertaste with me, insisting that her name had nothing to do with it and the fact that she didn't even get one rejection letter was down to pure good luck. Yeah right, her surname definitely helped her in the door, no matter what she claims.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭evolving_doors

This is getting like Ross from friends.... "but we were going through a divorce "

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,554 ✭✭✭valoren

Oh Albert, you incorrigible, corruptible bastard.

He went on a show called 'Conflict Zone' and expected to get his arse kissed like royalty regarding the GFA. The man is a clown and an embarrassment who should take what little credibility he has left and just go away. Please.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,750 ✭✭✭Avatar MIA

It was he smugness about her success that really left a bad aftertaste with me, insisting that her name had nothing to do with it and the fact that she didn't even get one rejection letter was down to pure good luck. Yeah right, her surname definitely helped her in the door, no matter what she claims.

I think you'd have a point if she hadn't been hugely successful. Her debut novel was innovative and sold a ton. So, not unusual to have been seen as having potential from publishers. I remember the gist of it - haven't read it.

P.S. I hate FF

• Closed Accounts Posts: 657 ✭✭✭Vladimir Poontang

Cecilia Ahern writes like a 12 year old. Her first book might have had a cute idea but that's it. Her writing is basic drivel for simpletons. Her popularity, like that of Fianna Fail, speaks of the same atavistic mentality that plagues this nation.

• Site Banned Posts: 78 ✭✭johnnyyesno

everlast75 wrote: »
    He doesn't do "new material"..

Rosenstock has enough to do with his never ending Wee Daniel gravy train.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

Have to say I enjoyed that....seeing that weasel squirm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,864 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Sounds like he got more of a grilling than he ever got from the media over here. I hope he has to answer questions like this until he decides to stop appearing in the public eye.

Fair play for the peace process Bertie, fair enough, but let's not pretend you weren't a dodgy politican and you and your cohorts left the country in a shambles by the time you'd left office. This political rehabilitation nonsense for him and some in his political party is a total nonsense and shouldn't be entertained.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 300 ✭✭garbo speaks

I believe Bertie will run for president. In the past few weeks, he has been appearing more and more in the public eye, and I think this is a testing ground for him before he declares his intentions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

I believe Bertie will run for president. In the past few weeks, he has been appearing more and more in the public eye, and I think this is a testing ground for him before he declares his intentions.

Not a hope IMO.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,795 ✭✭✭Mrcaramelchoc

He shouldn't have been interviewed in the first place the ****ing rat.he should crawl back into the Hole he was living in after he screwed the country.
    He's a has been a nobody and he should stay that way.