Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Will the clamper follow up?

• 20-04-2018 10:26pm
    Registered Users Posts: 4

I was visiting my friends apartment today, private gated caepark, she meet me at the gate, hopped in and showed me were to park. I went into her apartment for less than half and hour and came out to my car clamped. Her fella smashed the lock off with a hammer, they said its a private clamping company and they cant do anything about it. I am so nervous now i can't afford a fine, as far as i new private complexes were grand and i was in the complex its not like i was off shopping. Im fuming and worried

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,792 ✭✭✭2Mad2BeMad

Kaylst91 wrote: »
    I was visiting my friends apartment today, private gated caepark, she meet me at the gate, hopped in and showed me were to park. I went into her apartment for less than half and hour and came out to my car clamped. Her fella smashed the lock off with a hammer, they said its a private clamping company and they cant do anything about it. I am so nervous now i can't afford a fine, as far as i new private complexes were grand and i was in the complex its not like i was off shopping. Im fuming and worried

They have to prove you damaged it and took it off, then take you to court for the damages as its their property.
    So unless they have cctv of you doing it. Well then you have nothing to worry about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,350 ✭✭✭doolox

Only county or city councils and Gardai can impose fines after the fact on cars that are clamped. If the DCC or one of the county councils or Garda have anything to do with the clamp and you remove it they will follow up and hit you with a fine. Co. Co. Clampers usually photograph clamps and the affected car to use as evidence in the case of a clamp being removed.

Unless the private company pursues a private case they will not be able to get their money. These private operators are usually present in supermarket car parks and the like and are the scum of the Earth, although not as bad as the ones in the UK who stalk drivers and pounce within minutes of a parking infringement. Also the signage requirements are not as strict as those in Ireland. Most notorious are rival shopping centres near each other where a car can be clamped if you walk cross the road to the rivals shopping centre, Clondalkin is notorious for this as is the Galway Shopping Centre.

I have seen these animals clamp cars belonging to vulnerable female workers late at night with complete disregard for the safety of these workers late at night stuck with no money or transport because of these predatory creatures. I had to rescue wife and daughter from dodgy parts of the city late at night so I do not have a high regard for these creatures.

I will not mention company names here but most people will know them and I hope all their operators end up in Dantes 7th circle of hell.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,827 ✭✭✭AnneFrank

No your fine, and fair play for smashing the clamp i hate that crap in private car parks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,234 ✭✭✭sdanseo

It is illegal to interfere with a motor vehicle without the consent of the owner. This is CRIMINAL not civil damage and liable to arrest. I simply don't understand how more clampers aren't carted off in handcuffs.

The practice is absolutely pointless in the context of the goal of parking control. A vehicle parked illegally should be towed and impounded (whether on public or private property) at a much higher cost to the owner. All clamping does is serve to prolong the disruption if its a genuine obstruction due to bad parking, and to extort money from people in all other cases.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,484 ✭✭✭✭Victor

sdanseo wrote: »
    It is illegal to interfere with a motor vehicle without the consent of the owner. This is CRIMINAL not civil damage and liable to arrest. I simply don't understand how more clampers aren't carted off in handcuffs.
    I refer you to the Vehicle Clamping Act 2015.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

And of course it has to be said, if people only parked properly they won't get clamped.
    I got clamped exactly 0 times in over 20 years living in Ireland.
    And that includes field service as an office technician where I visited up to 10 companies a day.
    Why do we have clamping?
    Because of self entitled arseholes completely disregarding any parking rules and basically giving 2 fingers to the world.
    Of course that is also the type of person who will simply cut off the clamp and say "jaysisfcukingcnutsfcuk'em".
    On a sidenote, I have not seen any clamping in Germany so far. People generally respect the rules more.
    We see them as a tool to get along with each other.
    The Irish see them as a hindrance to be overcome.
    It all goes back to the English occupation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,279 ✭✭✭PaulKK

What's being described here is a private gated community carpark.

This suggests that the management company, i.e the owners of the units in the complex, have hired this clamping company to clamp cars which are incorrectly parked.

Did you park in a visitor space OP?

The management company may well be charged by the clampers for the lock if you were not parked correctly.

Also, while I totally agree with rouge clampers being called "scum" etc, in this instance it seems like they have been hired specifically to enforce proper parking in a private estate. This is fair enough I think provided there is adequate visitor parking.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭Riva10

And of course it has to be said, if people only parked properly they won't get clamped.
    And that includes field service as an office technician where I visited up to 10 companies a day.
    Why do we have clamping?
    Because of self entitled arseholes completely disregarding any parking rules and basically giving 2 fingers to the world.
    Of course that is also the type of person who will simply cut off the clamp and say "jaysisfcukingcnutsfcuk'em".
    On a sidenote, I have not seen any clamping in Germany so far. People generally respect the rules more.

The High Horse brigade are at it again. My advise to you. "Stay in Germany"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,279 ✭✭✭PaulKK

Riva10 wrote: »

I don't think that suggesting people follow the rules is being on a high horse.

His point is valid, a lot of people in Ireland seem to think its ok to ignore rules and act selfishly all the time. I fully agree with him, there's a huge lack of social responsibility in this country. You can see it from bad parking to littering.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 993 ✭✭✭freddieot

I feel your pain. I also hate clampers.

However, as someone already said - they were probably hired by the Management company because of parking issues. You should have taken the issue up with them or your friend should have.

What you did (or rather the other person did on your behalf) is Criminal Damage.

Of course they have proof - you just told the world about right here. Never post about any type of issue like this. It's one of the first place that AGS or any insurance company or agent will look. I know this only too well from a Court Case on a different issue.

• Registered Users Posts: 4 Kaylst91

Why do we have clamping?

I was parked properly. I was parked in her car spot, in her gated carpark and i was in her apartment i wasnt off shopping or anything

• Registered Users Posts: 4 Kaylst91

2Mad2BeMad wrote: »
    They have to prove you damaged it and took it off, then take you to court for the damages as its their property.
    So unless they have cctv of you doing it. Well then you have nothing to worry about.

Well if they have cctv it wasnt me was actually done it. I just watched

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,121 ✭✭✭amcalester

I was parked properly. I was parked in her car spot, in her gated carpark and i was in her apartment i wasnt off shopping or anything

So why were you clamped?

These places usually have visitor spots, a text service etc. you say you were parked in your friends spot but did you have a permit?

Fair play for breaking the lock but I doubt you were parked “properly according for the rules of the complex.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,827 ✭✭✭AnneFrank

Why do we have clamping?

Haha the Germans, a great bunch of lads,just don't mention the war

He he, it's a change from "why don't you fcuk off back to Germany then!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,350 ✭✭✭doolox

Clamping is usually done in private car parks because it is easier to enforce payment with a physical barrier to overcome so that the enforcement agency can extort money from the victims.

Public authorities usually don't have to resort to clamping because they have the power to issue fixed penalty notices and have access to a huge network of Guards and wardens to enforce the notices, if necessary.

Clamping allows private companies to avoid costly court and legal proceedings against people by forcing them to pay for the removal of a physical barrier on their vehicle. Physically removing such a barrier by any means possible from your own private property is not wrong in my mind as the original intent to extort payment is wrong.

What is needed is a large coterie of people prepared to stand up to these latterday pirates and make their lives as difficult as possible. Ordinary decent people should boycott these scum in their daily lives and have nothing to do with them.

If people refused to service their vans or equipment, serve them in shops, or deal with them in any way clamping would be gone in a matter of weeks. But most people are too docile to do this.

I bet you these creatures do not talk about their work in the pub......

doolox wrote: »
    Clamping is usually done in private car parks because it is easier to enforce payment with a physical barrier to overcome so that the enforcement agency can extort money from the victims.

Public authorities usually don't have to resort to clamping because they have the power to issue fixed penalty notices and have access to a huge network of Guards and wardens to enforce the notices, if necessary.

Clamping allows private companies to avoid costly court and legal proceedings against people by forcing them to pay for the removal of a physical barrier on their vehicle. Physically removing such a barrier by any means possible from your own private property is not wrong in my mind as the original intent to extort payment is wrong.

What is needed is a large coterie of people prepared to stand up to these latterday pirates and make their lives as difficult as possible. Ordinary decent people should boycott these scum in their daily lives and have nothing to do with them.

If people refused to service their vans or equipment, serve them in shops, or deal with them in any way clamping would be gone in a matter of weeks. But most people are too docile to do this.

I bet you these creatures do not talk about their work in the pub......

Or, you know, just park properly according to the rules of that particular car park.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,143 ✭✭✭Auguste Comte

Can they clamp high horses?

No need, high horses don’t park like dicks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,861 ✭✭✭Cushie Butterfield

There are three possible explanations for what happened (provided you were parked in your friends designated space)

- it was an error on behalf of the clampers
    - you may have been required to display a permit
    - your friends may not be fully paid up with their management fees

• Closed Accounts Posts: 182 ✭✭Mrhuth

PaulKK wrote: »
    I don't think that suggesting people follow the rules is being on a high horse.

His point is valid, a lot of people in Ireland seem to think its ok to ignore rules and act selfishly all the time. I fully agree with him, there's a huge lack of social responsibility in this country. You can see it from bad parking to littering.

Only an idiot follows the rules blindly without questioning them. Most people would be less enraged if it was a fine instead of a clamp, JUST LIKE IN THE REST OF THE WORLD.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 182 ✭✭Mrhuth

Why do we have clamping?

Yeah it all goes back to occupation. People should have followed the rules and stayed as part of the UK because it is EXACTLY the same scenario. Your car is occupied just like Ireland was occupied and according to you they shouldn't have done anything.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,881 ✭✭✭Peatys

If he couldn't be arsed reading it the first time, i wouldn't bother repeating it.

You've nothing to worry about regarding the clamp. If i was you I'd unsub from this thread as it's descending into what people think of other people (as usual).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,479 ✭✭✭✭Esel

Mrhuth wrote: »
    Yeah it all goes back to occupation. People should have followed the rules and stayed as part of the UK because it is EXACTLY the same scenario. Your car is occupied just like Ireland was occupied and according to you they shouldn't have done anything.

Go back to the mainland!

Not your ornery onager

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

That explains it then.
    Her spot is her spot. Does your car have a permit for that spot? Does the management and/or clamping company know you're parking there?
    Otherwise all they see is some dickhead parking in her spot and they rightly clamp him.
    Now imagine there is no clamping and constantly there are assholes parked in her spot and management company says "Soz, dude, can't do anything. Maybe ask them nicely to move".
    Then people would scream blue murder.
    It's all cool and being a rebel till the next guy takes your spot, gives you 2 fingers and says " tough sh*t buddy".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,153 ✭✭✭jimbobaloobob

Is there rules in the complex that you or the tenant need to give your car reg to the management company when visiting ?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,011 ✭✭✭high horse

amcalester wrote: »
    No need, high horses don’t park like dicks.

I can confirm that. I've never been clamped!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 494 ✭✭Billgirlylegs

Unfortunately, a depressing, common response.

Public behaviour here is now conditioned by selfish loutish behaviour - I’m all right so everybody else can swivel.

I don’t know the background to the OP, but there is a widespread belief that you can do what you like and any form of law enforcement or punishment is bad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 695 ✭✭✭beefburrito

I'd have cut the thing off too.
    And a fine cut I'd make.
    If you are quite clever and know the law you can counter sue the fckrs for damaging and interfering with your vehicle.

So they'll more than likely not take it further.