Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

That time of year again. the international students have arrived

• 20-04-2018 7:20am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,021 ✭✭✭

The spanish,italian,french etc students have overwhelmed our public transport system.

For the last week the bus i usually get at 7:20 has past me full as has the following bus.

There is only one route where i live and im 8 stops from the begining of the route.

The dart is a 20 minute walk and even then the spaces are limited because guess what? THERE FECKING THERE TOO!!!!

You think with the fact theres 4 billion of them over here with their multi coloured back packs the schools wouldnt just organise a bus for them?

They quite literraly are having an effect on the public transport for everyday commuters

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,618 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Why can't they learn Spanish at home?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,863 ✭✭✭seachto7

So it’s the students’ fault? What would they know about Ireland ?
    Get in touch with the schools or Dublin bus or whoever you bitter moany fart. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,461 ✭✭✭Bubbaclaus

I just want to know why they all have to shout at each other on public transport. Just constant shouting. Every single one shouting. Endless shouting. Loud shouting. Shouting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,618 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Coming over here to stand in our way.

Bubbaclaus wrote: »
    I just want to know why they all have to shout at each other on public transport. Just constant shouting. Every single one shouting. Endless shouting. Loud shouting. Shouting.

Spanish person about Irish : I just want to know why they have to come here and get drunk and fight and get drunk. Just constant drinking. Endless drinking. Drinking. Fighting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,245 ✭✭✭myshirt

It is great to see these kids coming to our country.

If you have a problem, cycle, walk, drive, get your own bus. It is called public transport for a reason.

I'm with you on the frustration of a packed bus, but it's not the fault of these kids. It's the sabre rattling DB drivers and their unions. They'd rather have 400 hundred drivers at 45 a piece, rather than 500 at 36 a piece, or even 500 at 38-40 a piece once you include the increased revenue.

They block young drivers from getting jobs. Great on the phone to them. Lay out your frustrations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,482 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

Fair amount of them don't seem to get the whole queing for things either.

A few posters here haven’t set foot out of Ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,621 ✭✭✭facehugger99

It's their culture. I spend a lot of time in Spain and I often marvel how loudly people talk to each other. Like at night walking home from a restaurant there might be two women walking beside each other and they'll both be shouting really loudly even though they're only a couple of feet apart - no consideration that they're walking down a residential street at 2am - it's weird.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,575 ✭✭✭AllForIt

Oh I love foreign students. I't nice to see what normal people are like occasionally and they don't appear to be into soccer particularly.

AllForIt wrote: »
    Oh I love foreign students. I't nice to see what normal people are like occasionally and they don't appear to be into soccer particularly.

Or use fake tan

It's their culture. I spend a lot of time in Spain and I often marvel how loudly people talk to each other. Like at night walking home from a restaurant there might be two women walking beside each other and they'll both be shouting really loudly even though they're only a couple of feet apart - no consideration that they're walking down a residential street at 2am - it's weird.

So you go to Spain regularly and give out about the locals ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,342 ✭✭✭fatknacker

myshirt wrote: »
    It is great to see these kids coming to our country .

No it isn't.

They're a headwreck.

fatknacker wrote: »
    No it isn't.

They're a headwreck.

Remember that next time you go abroad on holiday. You’d probably be a head wreck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,432 ✭✭✭big b

There'd be feckin uproar on here if someone posted a thread about pesky Irish in other countries, stealing jobs, using public transport, talking in a funny accent, getting drunk, fighting etc etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 945 ✭✭✭Colonel Claptrap

Put 30 irish teenagers on a train and it's the exact same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,032 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Scold them while you wave your walking stick

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,021 ✭✭✭lifeandtimes

seachto7 wrote: »
    Get in touch with the schools or Dublin bus or whoever you bitter moany fart. :)

I actually have, a number of times as its happened frequently, their response is:

" Thanks for the feedback, every bus that passses a stop full is logged and we then look into the matter to help improve our service"

And then nothing happens, so you miss a bus and then wait 20 mins for the next and thats full too.

Theres a fella in a wheelchair who cant get on that i feel most sorry for, bus driver doesnt tell them to get off even though they are all standing in the disabled section

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

For as loud and annoying they can be, they are remarkably well behaved considering the circumstances. A bunch of teenagers let loose, on holidays, in large groups and without their parents, not a hint of trouble. You don't feel remotely intimidated.

A great bunch of lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

You should definitely ring the Guards, they'll definitely be interested to hear your plight and will definitely do something about it like revoke their visas or something. :rolleyes:

I actually have, a number of times as its happened frequently, their response is:

" Thanks for the feedback, every bus that passses a stop full is logged and we then look into the matter to help improve our service"

And then nothing happens, so you miss a bus and then wait 20 mins for the next and thats full too.

Theres a fella in a wheelchair who cant get on that i feel most sorry for, bus driver doesnt tell them to get off even though they are all standing in the disabled section

You're blaming the students then instead of the bus driver.

seachto7 wrote: »
    You're blaming the students then instead of the bus driver.

Thats one instances of the issue. The remaining commuters have to find alternative transport to work or arrive late for most of the summer then.

To be fair they are behaved i can agree to that but man they are way too loud and i was on abbey street the other day and a group of 40 had a boom box walking around with their teachers who didnt say anything about the lvolume. Similar to teenagers here which is funny to see

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

They've paid their fare, why on earth should they be chucked off the bus??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,480 ✭✭✭wexie

I dunno folks, I wouldn't be a big fan of them as they do tend to be loud and brash and get in the way.

Having said that....I've yet to see or hear of any of em stumbling around pisht, robbing a centra, stabbing anyone, joyriding, causing riots on the beach or any of those things.
    So while they may not be ideal, let's not pretend they're the worst thing we're going to have to deal with this summer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,575 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

Whatever about them taking up space on buses etc they really are a nuisamce when they insist on walking about 5 abreast in large groups completely blocking pavements, a bit of common sense that other people are looking to use the footpaths too without being forced to walk in front of traffic wouldnt go amiss

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

The Spanish ones are the worst. They appear to be incapable of walking in single or double file down a street, or of being aware that other people might want to pass their mob. Also, the size of their backpacks. Like some of them are thinking of making an attempt on Everest in the afternoon.

Teenagers are a shower of shîtes anyway.

The outrage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,809 ✭✭✭Hector Savage

Three cornerstones of Spanish Parenting .
    • 1. Get them used to loud noises
    • 2. Get them making loud noises
    • 3. Get them staying up late

Let's laugh at the foreigners because they're different.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Yes, its terrible. Why didn't the driver just say "I know i've dangerously overloaded the bus already and I know you have all paid your fare to wherever you want to go, but someone else wants to get on, so i'm going to ask you to get off, even though you have paid and I don't carry cash or do refunds, you'll just have to get off."

Actually on Dublin Bus I could see that happening.

Yes, its terrible. Why didn't the driver just say "I know i've dangerously overloaded the bus already and I know you have all paid your fare to wherever you want to go, but someone else wants to get on, so i'm going to ask you to get off, even though you have paid and I don't carry cash or do refunds, you'll just have to get off."

Actually on Dublin Bus I could see that happening.

My point on this is that they are all standing in the disabled area, designated for disabled people, if mothers get chucked off with prams why not them?

If the driver has overloaded the bus to the point that there is not space for them to move down towards the back of the bus then that his fault, not the students. I've been on buses where people were standing in the disabled bay and asked to move towards the back to allow a wheelchair on.

So either way it is the drivers fault, he's either overloaded the bus, or he's not requested people move back and let the wheelchair user on.

There should be space for a comfortable number of people standing AND the wheelchair.

If the driver has overloaded the bus to the point that there is not space for them to move down towards the back of the bus then that his fault, not the students. I've been on buses where people were standing in the disabled bay and asked to move towards the back to allow a wheelchair on.

So either way it is the drivers fault, he's either overloaded the bus, or he's not requested people move back and let the wheelchair user on.

There should be space for a comfortable number of people standing AND the wheelchair.

Im not disagreeing with that. I used this as just one of the instances involving the students.

With so many they could afford their own bus at this point

Im not disagreeing with that. I used this as just one of the instances involving the students.

There's a business opportunity for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,825 ✭✭✭LirW

Then everyone's whining about all the student-filled buses blocking bus-lanes and stops all over the city.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,121 ✭✭✭amcalester

The spanish,italian,french etc students have overwhelmed our public transport system.

For the last week the bus i usually get at 7:20 has past me full as has the following bus.

There is only one route where i live and im 8 stops from the begining of the route.

The dart is a 20 minute walk and even then the spaces are limited because guess what? THERE FECKING THERE TOO!!!!

You think with the fact theres 4 billion of them over here with their multi coloured back packs the schools wouldnt just organise a bus for them?

They quite literraly are having an effect on the public transport for everyday commuters

Ah would you give them a break, they’re just trying to learn the difference between there, they’re and their.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 353 ✭✭Creative83

My main gripe is that they don't appear to have much common sense. I don't know, maybe it is normal behaviour in Spain for people to block whole train platforms and exit. Or maybe they are just stupid or something. The Irish guides do indeed seem to be a bit thick as they stand there with them.... they should be telling them to get the f*** out of the way!

Creative83 wrote: »
    My main gripe is that they don't appear to have much common sense. I don't know, maybe it is normal behaviour in Spain for people to block whole train platforms and exit. Or maybe they are just stupid or something. The Irish guides do indeed seem to be a bit thick as they stand there with them.... they should be telling them to get the f*** out of the way!

Thats the main annoyance, their complete lack of consideration for anyone else around them. Someone I know who taught in Spain for a while explained that the kids sent here are from pretty wealthy families and have a bit of a superiority complex due to that which would explain a lot

You wouldn't seen an Irish person in Spain blocking a rail platform or exit. Too busy urinating, vomiting, fighting, roaring, shouting, chanting Ole, Ole, and getting too drunk to stand up.

You complain about applying stereotypes to one group of people yet immediately go and do just that to another, bit hypocritical no?

They do. I've seen them do it several times, and also ask them to keep their voices down. They get on and off a lot at Malahide etc, and I've seen the guides do this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,552 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

When I was 15 I loved them because they were hot foreign girls.

Now they're annoying kids.

And they steal our women

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,428 ✭✭✭✭endacl

THERE FECKING THERE TOO!!!!
    Their their. It’ll be all better soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,199 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Kill them, my Ninja! Kill them all!! BWAHAHAHAHAHAHAAAAHH!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,709 ✭✭✭c68zapdsm5i1ru

Irish teenagers are getting like that now. They could be sitting right beside each other on a bus and their conversation will still be heard by everyone.

Youre taring everyone with the same brush there

Difference here is its completely true and seen by everyone, they block transport up and have no consideration for the public

Granted they arent rowdy or anything but when they have a daily impact on your life its annoying

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,709 ✭✭✭c68zapdsm5i1ru

I agree that taking up loads of seats on public transport at commuting times is annoying and unfair on regular users who need to get to work and school. Large groups coming over probably should organise coaches, try to avoid travelling during rush hour or whatever.
    You can't blame the kids though. That wouldn't have even occurred to me when I was a teenager.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 1,518 ✭✭✭Ciaran_B

I always like when the language students arrive in Dublin. Feels like the good weather arrives with them.

Ola amigos.

VinLieger wrote: »
    You complain about applying stereotypes to one group of people yet immediately go and do just that to another, bit hypocritical no?

Could you point me in the direction of my post complaining about applying stereotypes to Spanish students?? :confused::confused::confused: