Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Smokers - The Smelly Bastards

• 19-04-2018 8:23pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,684 ✭✭✭✭

So I was sitting there this morning waiting for the DART. Birds tweeting in the trees, nice smell around the little bit of foliage where the seats are and some eejit smoking comes along stinking the place out and stands up wind of me.

DART comes along, few big puffs which cover everyone stood around him in a miasma of cigarette smoke, butt thrown on the platform, gets on the DART breaths out and stinks the DART carriage up. Well done lad.

Is it time to ban smokers from areas where people congregate such as train stations, bus stops and ideally outside cafes and alike. I've no issue with pubs - fair enough there IMO and also people who Vape. It's not great either but it doesn't create the unpleasant lingering smell or the litter.

Agreed.

why can't I enjoy a nice meal or drink in the sunshine without getting cancer?

filthy animals

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭Archeron

I like your use of the word miasma, bravo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,959 ✭✭✭✭scudzilla

Yeah, ban smoking altogether, then start moaning why you're tax has gone up to 40% to cover the shortfall, benefits from health reasons won't be felt for a good few years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,059 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

For God's sake, no one, and I mean no one with a smoking aversion should drive or take a diesel bus/train, and heaven forbid they might have to walk a ways from the DART exposed to that!

Ban it all, everything, anything that gets your dander up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,217 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

How about no, we don't ban it.
    There's a big difference in a jerk who smokes right beside a group of people while waiting on public transport and someone who walks a little bit away from the crowd so it's not blowing in people's face.

We're talking about people here not all smokers.

Also the moans out of all yous anti smokers would be something else if it got banned outright or banned in certain more places. Which would mean less people smoking as more would give it up but loss of tax for the Government and they would have to get that lost tax else where. Be hitting your pocket.

And before anyone says "oh but the cost of smoking related illness the state pays for!!?" - not everyone is on the medical card.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,684 ✭✭✭✭Samuel T. Cogley

For God's sake, no one, and I mean no one with a smoking aversion should drive or take a diesel bus/train, and heaven forbid they might have to walk a ways from the DART exposed to that!

Ban it all, everything, anything that gets your dander up.

What are them wire things the DART is attached to?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Miasmas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

barrier86 wrote: »
    Agreed.

why can't I enjoy a nice meal or drink in the sunshine without getting cancer?

filthy animals

Use sunscreen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,969 ✭✭✭Assetbacked

Disgusting habit and terribly unpleasant to those who don’t do it. If we can point blank ban drinking alcohol in public, smoking should be the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,811 ✭✭✭Gone Drinking

How about no, we don't ban it.
    There's a big difference in a jerk who smokes right beside a group of people while waiting on public transport and someone who walks a little bit away from the crowd so it's not blowing in people's face.

We're talking about people here not all smokers.

Also the moans out of all yous anti smokers would be something else if it got banned outright or banned in certain more places. Which would mean less people smoking as more would give it up but loss of tax for the Government and they would have to get that lost tax else where. Be hitting your pocket.

And before anyone says "oh but the cost of smoking related illness the state pays for!!?" - not everyone is on the medical card.

This sums it up. I gave up back in June but don't care if people want to smoke, as long as they aren't dicks about it; which most aren't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 790 ✭✭✭baylah17

So I was sitting there this morning waiting for the DART. Birds tweeting in the trees, nice smell around the little bit of foliage where the seats are and some eejit smoking comes along stinking the place out and stands up wind of me.

DART comes along, few big puffs which cover everyone stood around him in a miasma of cigarette smoke, butt thrown on the platform, gets on the DART breaths out and stinks the DART carriage up. Well done lad.

Is it time to ban smokers from areas where people congregate such as train stations, bus stops and ideally outside cafes and alike. I've no issue with pubs - fair enough there IMO and also people who Vape. It's not great either but it doesn't create the unpleasant lingering smell or the litter.
    Cop on
    When you ban diesel cars which cause real pollution you can start a nanny state campaign against smokers
    If you don't like public transport then get up on yer bike

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

I think she means the diesel fumes from the diesel trains and buses swarming around the dart station.

None near where I get on or get off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

Generally, if someone's outside and either in a designated smoking area or not right on top of you then just deal with it, one of life's little crosses. Or take up smoking, it's great for little stressy things like that. And losing weight! And it looks cool!

baylah17 wrote: »
    Cop on
    When you ban diesel cars which cause real pollution you can start a nanny state campaign against smokers
    If you don't like public transport then get up on yer bike

Never said anything about pollution, I can't stand the smell. If someone leaves a car running on the DART platform you can be assured I wouldn't be the only one a bit annoyed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,472 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

Can we make it illegal for people to have BO then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,172 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

And its perfectly acceptable to do that, yet if you let a little fart and people go ape sh1t. It's crazy. Farts are no worse than smoke.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

None near where I get on or get off.

Great for you. You should try walking or cycling around buses - appalling.

But, I digress.

I smoke but will never do so anywhere near other people, because I appreciate how it can offend or annoy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

And ban eating onions or fish or wearing Lynx.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 13,101 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

Yep OP. We should round up all smokers and put them into a death camp. Great tolerance on this thread!

I smoke but will never do so anywhere near other people, because I appreciate how it can offend or annoy.

And I don't have an issue with that, if people chose to smoke or stand there covering themselves is a miasma ( ;) ) of lynx or whatever as long as they do it away from crowds of people not doing it, happy days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,093 ✭✭✭✭looksee

And ban eating onions or fish or wearing Lynx.

Definitely ban the Lynx.

JupiterKid wrote: »
    Yep OP. We should round up all smokers and put them into a death camp. Great tolerance on this thread!

If we just rounded them up would it not be their own death camp? I live your thinking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,575 ✭✭✭✭Mam of 4

I smoke . In private really .

Never in the car , or walking , or on the street .

Shoot me now .

Mam of 4 wrote: »
    I smoke . In private really .

Never in the car , or walking , or on the street .

Shoot me now .

Why? The entire point of the thread is inconsiderate smokers and crowded areas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,694 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

Archeron wrote: »
    I like your use of the word miasma, bravo.

Agreed.

I love 'miasma'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭corner of hells

JupiterKid wrote: »

You'll have to wait turn , the death camp is flat out at the moment.

looksee wrote: »
    Definitely ban the Lynx.

Aye, that makes the silly smelly smokers even smellier.

The Nanny State attitude is permeating every corner of our lives, and people in general (to me) are picking up on this command and control attitude and often feel they can be little Napoleons themselves. Shoo.

I don't smoke but I honestly would not be bothered by a bit of cig smoke out in the open air. It happens.

Grayson wrote: »
    Can we make it illegal for people to have BO then?

I wish we could but, do you stand there thinking, ah well that's his life choice or do you try and move? TBH Taking the DART as an example there'd be very few rush hour commuters that stink of BO.

Why? The entire point of the thread is inconsiderate smokers and crowded areas.

Because at some point the thread will turn from inconsiderate smokers/crowded areas to just smokers in general :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

sounds like the ravings of a judas ex smoker

Use sunscreen.

it's not for use on lungs

Mam of 4 wrote: »
    Because at some point the thread will turn from inconsiderate smokers/crowded areas to just smokers in general :o

I think shooting you is a bit OTT can we not just put you in Jupiter's passive smoking death camp?

Ah ok , I'll settle for that :)

Then they came for the smokers
    And I did not speak out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,005 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

I love smokers and their right to litter.

All those cigarettte butts piling up at bus stops, train station platforms, along the side of the street.

Where would we be without these filthy scumbags?

Vapers don't stink which is great, but Jasus they create some serious clouds of that stuff. I've seen them envelop entire towns.

Miasma, innit.

Strawberry-flavoured miasma.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,214 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

I have no issue with smokers. I grew up in a house/family where nobody smoked. I find the smell really easy to spot. The only thing that annoys me about smokers is when they say oh I don't smell.I shower regularly/have clean clothes. To a none smoker you do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,439 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

Aye, that makes the silly smelly smokers even smellier.

That's three for three for me Mr. V, between the smoking, farting with gay abandon, and spraying myself throughout the day with copious amounts of lynx to disguise all the other smells for the benefit of everyone else. Ironically enough, because of years of smoking, my sense of smell has been so dulled down that I could change a baby's nappy without flinching :pac:

Are those the sort of farts that don't make any noise?

• Administrators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,773 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭hullaballoo

I think the problem is that people don't realise how beneficial smokers are to society.

Work all our lives contributing far higher levels of tax than anyone else then die before retirement age, usually of short-lived untreatable terminal illness, or quite suddenly with no real additional burden on the HSE (where that's even applicable) with relatively little cost compared to some of the expensive illnesses others die from.

Never mind the overall exchequer benefits. Even on an individual level, if you've a relative who smokes, you don't have to worry about expensive residential care for them or the pesky monthly visits to ensure your inheritance is still on the cards.

You should be down on your hands and knees thanking smokers for their altruism in securing relatively low taxes for non-smokers.

The bigger picture escapes many people but realistically, smokers are giving everyone else a small fortune.

For that, ye can put up with the miasma of an inconsiderate now and again.

Zebra3 wrote: »
    I love smokers and their right to litter.

All those cigarettte butts piling up at bus stops, train station platforms, along the side of the street.

Where would we be without these filthy scumbags?

Funnily enough, I feel the same way about people with pets. All that **** left behind. At least smokers more than pay the cost of cleaning up after themselves in taxes.

I do smoke. I have private health insurance. and I pay a fortune compared to the rest of Europe for smoking... now why couldn't the government just ban the cigs themselves, and remove that bloody temptation?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭TomSweeney

Couldn't agree more - I hate the way they always breathe their last smoky breath on the train/bus/restaurant !!

Why do they do that ? is it a mini rebel against the smoking ban ??

TomSweeney wrote: »
    Couldn't agree more - I hate the way they always breathe their last smoky breath on the train/bus/restaurant !!

Why do they do that ? is it a mini rebel against the smoking ban ??

Not really. The last bit of smoke is resting slightly in our lungs or throat. It's not in our mouth just waiting for a non-smoker to pass by. Most smokers won't even be aware of that last bit of smoke being exhaled.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

Patww79 wrote: »

Judgmental nonsmokers have always been a pain in the ass. It's the people who used to be a smoker but turn incredibly anti-smoking that are the most annoying. They feel the need to stay in or near the smoking area, to get some of the passive smoke, but then complain about it.

Nah. I get the annoyance that normal non-smokers get from smokers. The smell, or the smoke. But I put up with obese people, people with extreme body odors, people with untrained pets, etc. They can put up with me as long as smoking is legal and I'm not shoving it in their faces.

As for no money in banning them... yup. But it would make stopping smoking much easier. So, folks... pissed off with smokers? get the sale of tobacco banned. I'll vote for you, just like I voted for the smoking ban.

There will be calls for smoke free outdoor areas very soon I reckon. Watch this space.

If only there were child free outdoor areas too.... sigh!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,706 ✭✭✭blackbox

And its perfectly acceptable to do that, yet if you let a little fart and people go ape sh1t. It's crazy. Farts are no worse than smoke.

But you're allowed to fsrt on the Dart. Somebody did one the last time I was on it. I hate smoke, but this was pretty disgusting!