Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do you salute car that gives you right of way whewalking over zebra crossing?

• 13-04-2018 3:03pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 495 ✭✭nails1

I think it’s a tricky one. I feel like a pr*ck if I don’t acknowledge the driver for stopping at one for me. But at same time they aren’t stopping as a gesture of goodwill. They are obliged too. Same with yellow boxes on the road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,690 ✭✭✭✭Skylinehead

No. I don't salute anyone that stops at a traffic light, this is no different.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭Jim Bob Scratcher

Yes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,899 ✭✭✭✭BBDBB

I do

and I stand to attention in the middle of the zebra crossing until they acknowledge it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

I usually do, it's a nice thing to do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

Yes. Makes their day happier and they drive better

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 660 ✭✭✭Moomat

Yes - with my feet. I'll quicken my pace and do a little skip

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 547 ✭✭✭loalae

You thank people who serve you in a shop when they give you change and a receipt even though they're obliged to. It's just manners to acknowledge when someone does something for you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

No but I vent my ire at the large number who don't stop when I'm on a crossing,

I don't salute a driver who uses his indicators, sticks to the speed limit or doesn't use his phone while driving. They are supposed to stop. If someone is courteous enough to stop well in advance of me stepping on the crossing then I certainly will acknowledge it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 229 ✭✭ConnyMcDavid

I'll salute an acknowledgement if they are generous like stopping when I'm approaching and not yet on the crossing.

But otherwise no. You wouldn't wave at people using their indicator or driving on the correct side of the road, etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭Noveight

Yes, of course they’re doing it out of obligation but being friendly costs nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

Yes, of course, but not if they're one of those fools that end up holding up traffic insisting you move out even when doing so endangers your life and that of others. Damn people pleasers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,472 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

some one has a list a few years ago of things that annoyed the ****e out of her.

No 2 was
    People who don't salute at zebra crossings -I stopped for you asshole, it doesn't hurt to be nice

No 7 was :)
    People who saluted at zebra crossings - asshole..I wouldn't have stopped if it wasn't the law.

Noveight wrote: »
    Yes, of course they’re doing it out of obligation but being friendly costs nothing.

But what's the difference between stopping there and at a signal-controlled crossing? Nobody acknowledges drivers stopping for those!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,390 ✭✭✭Cordell

They do, quite often I'm getting the nod or waive at a on demand signal pedestrian crossing.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,853 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

I do, as sometimes at one near my house they dont stop if they are going fast so it's a bit of a thank you, other times its just to get am acknowledgment that they've actually seen me

But what's the difference between stopping there and at a signal-controlled crossing? Nobody acknowledges drivers stopping for those!

I do. Every time

I do, as sometimes at one near my house they dont stop if they are going fast so it's a bit of a thank you, other times its just to get am acknowledgment that they've actually seen me

Yep.make eye contact.. ,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,339 ✭✭✭The One Doctor

Blazer wrote: »
    some one has a list a few years ago of things that annoyed the ****e out of her.

No 2 was
    People who don't salute at zebra crossings -I stopped for you asshole, it doesn't hurt to be nice

No 7 was :)
    People who saluted at zebra crossings - asshole..I wouldn't have stopped if it wasn't the law.

Women...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 919 ✭✭✭Joe prim

Hitler and the Naszties liked saluting too. and a lot of good it did them.

(I hereby claim the record for breaking Godwins Law in a thread thats totally unrelated)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,910 ✭✭✭begbysback

Only if Adolf Hitler is driving the car

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,644 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manic Moran

I’ll give ‘em. a thanking wave, but I very rarely salute when out of uniform...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,470 ✭✭✭✭Snake Plisken

Yep a thank you wave for those who stop and a death glare for the feckers who try to knock me down!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,619 ✭✭✭erica74

I salute if it's a zebra crossing with or without the flashing orange lights, for example, the crossings you use in carparks.
    More often than not drivers just fly around with their head up their arse so I salute courteous drivers.
    Yes, by law drivers have to stop and should stop but a lot don't and if I get hit by a car that didn't stop, the fact that the driver should have stopped would be of little comfort if I'm dead.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 2,159 Mod ✭✭✭✭Oink

Depends.

If I’m in a “THIS IS MY GODDAM RIGHT BY LAW AND I WILL CROSS THIS ROAD OR DIE RIGHT HERE” kinda mood, then no.

Else yeah, a “cheers mate” kinda wave.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,214 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

I salute nearly everybody apart from feminists just encase I offend them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,558 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

nails1 wrote: »
    I think it’s a tricky one. I feel like a pr*ck if I don’t acknowledge the driver for stopping at one for me. But at same time they aren’t stopping as a gesture of goodwill. They are obliged too. Same with yellow boxes on the road.

:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

*lifts index finger from wheel*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 518 ✭✭✭keith_sixteen

In Switzerland kids are thought to walk to school by themselves (or with their friends) from an early age. Part of this is teaching them how to cross the road at zebra crossings. As part of this training, the kids are thought to thank the driver for stopping by giving them a wave.

It's a small common courtesy but a nice one :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,200 ✭✭✭appledrop

I always give a little wave. Main one I would cross doesn't have flashing orange lights so not every car stops. Different at traffic lights everyone stops.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,895 ✭✭✭✭Sand

No, never have. I really never thought of it as a pedestrian, and as a driver I really don't care if they wave or not. Its the rules of the road, the driver has to stop so no one is doing anyone a favour.

Sometimes I guess.
    I always wave if someone lets me out when i'm driving though.
    I tried doing the hazard lights thanks before but the button on my car is awkward so i just looked like a tool who left the hazards on

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,007 ✭✭✭s7ryf3925pivug

Yes. Come to think of it when I'm driving it crosses my mind that it's unnecessary when people acknowledge it when I stop for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,009 ✭✭✭Allinall

Always.

It’s nothing more than courtesy.

I don’t understand the mentality of “ never- they’re obliged to stop so they’re not doing you any favors “

Smacks of selfishness to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,895 ✭✭✭✭Sand

Allinall wrote: »
    Always.

I don’t understand the mentality of “ never- they’re obliged to stop so they’re not doing you any favors “

I don't get the mentality of clapping when the pilot lands the plane. But I don't read anything negative into it either.

Always.

depersonalistion. Machines.. I mean not acknowledging them

Out here we wave to every driver we pass;just a quick acknowledgement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Give them a brief hand wave.

I don't salute as I was never in the military.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

Sand wrote: »
    I don't get the mentality of clapping when the pilot lands the plane. But I don't read anything negative into it either.

No, that's just wrong. People should get arrested for that.
    Just like airlines who play a fanfare. Should be a billion Euros fine each time it's played.

As for people stopping, of course I give them a small nod or wave. Costs me nothing.
    Same that I thank the cashier or people who hold the door open, etc...
    Manners cost nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,803 ✭✭✭prunudo

Always.

Its also a sign of the way modern Ireland is going. Everyone going around with their heads in the clouds, living in their own little bubble and not caring about anything around them but themselves. The days of friendly, chatty ireland are disappearing.
    Regarding thanking people, always do it a zebra crossings. Also acknowledge another driver letting me out, manners cost nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,893 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

I hate people who dawdle across them..

I "dawdle" as I have very limited mobility. .. Patience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,409 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Graces7 wrote: »
    depersonalistion. Machines.. I mean not acknowledging them

Out here we wave to every driver we pass;just a quick acknowledgement.
    Try that on the m50 in the morning...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,228 ✭✭✭wally1990

Yes I do
    Whilst they must stop
    It’s called nice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

Does standing in the middle of the crossing shouting "why didn't you stop you cnut?" count.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,893 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

Graces7 wrote: »
    I "dawdle" as I have very limited mobility. .. Patience.

Limited mobility or not I expect everyone to break into that weird walk/jog that adults over 30 develop when they stop exercising and are suddenly presented with the need to speed up.

endacl wrote: »
    Try that on the m50 in the morning...

No way would I EVER drive on the M50 whatever time of day... Can drive here for literally miles without seeing another car.. So a quick wave is grand..

A related question!

When you pull in to let a faster vehicle pass,do they thank you? The lorry drivers are the best..and when a tractor pulls in to let me pass I always use lights to thank them

Limited mobility or not I expect everyone to break into that weird walk/jog that adults over 30 develop when they stop exercising and are suddenly presented with the need to speed up.

Well OK> but will take longer to pick me up off the road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

It never even crossed my mind to acknowledge somebody for stopping at a zebra crossing tbh. Now I feel mean

No, that's just wrong. People should get arrested for that.
    Just like airlines who play a fanfare. Should be a billion Euros fine each time it's played.

As for people stopping, of course I give them a small nod or wave. Costs me nothing.
    Same that I thank the cashier or people who hold the door open, etc...
    Manners cost nothing.

I don't see the difference. "Thanks for not crashing the plane" vs "Thanks for not running me over at a crossing" :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,245 ✭✭✭myshirt

If you do salute, I'd reconsider the practice. You hear more and more of lads getting done for directing traffic by some bored Garda who has nothing better to spend his time on. It's not worth it.

myshirt wrote: »
    If you do salute, I'd reconsider the practice. You hear more and more of lads getting done for directing traffic by some bored Garda who has nothing better to spend his time on. It's not worth it.

??? Not sure what you mean?