Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Formula 1 2018 - Round 3 - China

• 12-04-2018 1:25pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,532 ✭✭✭

Round 3 already, early mornings, good for the early starters. Mercedes will be looking for revenge, Ferrari to extend the lead, McLaren to show that they can fight, like Torro Rosso.

DaVxZvDXkAAbvXq.jpg:small

TV times- Sky only I think
    Friday
    3am − Practice One
    7am − Practice Two
    Saturday 4am − Practice Three
    7am − Qualifying

Sunday
    7.10am − THE CHINESE GRAND PRIX

Last year Hamilton won

BTW: Anyone heard anything from the streaming service?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,287 ✭✭✭✭Jordan 199

Hamilton win this weekend. Williams will be rubbish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,414 ✭✭✭✭flazio

Harika wrote: »
    Legally not going to be available in Ireland as far as I'm aware. Sky have it sown up. However I would suggest keeping an eye on the F1 official youtube channel. Will Buxton presents a half hour program called Paddock pass which is a bit like 'Paddock Uncut' on Thursday and Ted's Notebook laced with pen interviews on Sunday evening.
    It is not a live race on Channel 4, qualifying highlights at 1pm on Saturday and race highlights at 2pm on Sunday.
    Of course all Channel 4 session and race coverage is live on Eir Sport.
    Friday, Fp1 2:55am, Fp2 6:55am, Saturday Fp3 3:55am, Qualifying 6:55am, Sunday, Race 7:05am.

This too shall pass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,532 ✭✭✭Harika

Yes the youtube stuff is actually great

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭Cool_CM

Not yet, have been looking because I'll be watching this in the States. Hopefully I'll have ESPN at the very least! Ended up watching on my phone last week (thank you EU for data roaming legislation and portability regulation!).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,906 ✭✭✭Joeface

FP2 times ,

1 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes 1m33.482s - 26
    2 Kimi Raikkonen Ferrari 1m33.489s 0.007s 26
    3 Valtteri Bottas Mercedes 1m33.515s 0.033s 27
    4 Sebastian Vettel Ferrari 1m33.590s 0.108s 27
    5 Max Verstappen Red Bull/Renault 1m33.823s 0.341s 26
    6 Nico Hulkenberg Renault 1m34.313s 0.831s 30
    7 Kevin Magnussen Haas/Ferrari 1m34.458s 0.976s 26
    8 Carlos Sainz Renault 1m34.473s 0.991s 28
    9 Daniel Ricciardo Red Bull/Renault 1m34.557s 1.075s 26
    10 Fernando Alonso McLaren/Renault 1m34.632s 1.150s 23
    11 Sergio Perez Force India/Mercedes 1m34.792s 1.310s 30
    12 Pierre Gasly Toro Rosso/Honda 1m34.849s 1.367s 33
    13 Esteban Ocon Force India/Mercedes 1m34.874s 1.392s 30
    14 Stoffel Vandoorne McLaren/Renault 1m35.163s 1.681s 22
    15 Brendon Hartley Toro Rosso/Honda 1m35.333s 1.851s 37
    16 Sergey Sirotkin Williams/Mercedes 1m35.340s 1.858s 31
    17 Marcus Ericsson Sauber/Ferrari 1m35.624s 2.142s 29
    18 Charles Leclerc Sauber/Ferrari 1m35.916s 2.434s 26
    19 Romain Grosjean Haas/Ferrari 1m36.471s 2.989s 26
    20 Lance Stroll Williams/Mercedes 1m37.147s 3.665s 19

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,028 ✭✭✭H3llR4iser

Pet peeve, sorry I know, but it annoys the...hell...out of me (:D) - it's "Toro Rosso", not "Torro Rosso". I can't understand why almost everyone gets it wrong...

H3llR4iser wrote: »
    Pet peeve, sorry I know, but it annoys the...hell...out of me (:D) - it's "Toro Rosso", not "Torro Rosso". I can't understand why almost everyone gets it wrong...

It's auto-correct :pac: I know I always mix it up, like Ricciardo, cannot they have easy names like Bob?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,028 ✭✭✭H3llR4iser

It's auto-correct :pac: I know I always mix it up, like Ricciardo, cannot they have easy names like Bob?

/Signs petition to change all team names, drivers and sponsors to "Bob" :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,396 ✭✭✭✭Frank Bullitt

I can't get over how bad Williams are this year. Get Stroll out of that car, for all of my moaning about Sirotkin getting in over Kubica, its Stroll that should get the boot. Utter garbage.

H3llR4iser wrote: »
    /Signs petition to change all team names, drivers and sponsors to "Bob" :D

You have to distinguish them somehow
    Bob Curry
    Bob Pizza (Spaghetti is too dangerous)
    Bob Bratwurst
    Bob Can
    Bob Lemon (Baguette is too dangerous)
    Bob Sushi
    Bob Burger
    Bob Cheese
    Bob Fish
    Bob Chips (Mclaren and Williams can fight who wants to be Fish or Chips)

Bob Instagramm
    Bob Sauna
    Bob Finger
    Bob Ice
    Bob Smiley
    Bob Orange

Gintonious wrote: »
    I can't get over how bad Williams are this year. Get Stroll out of that car, for all of my moaning about Sirotkin getting in over Kubica, its Stroll that should get the boot. Utter garbage.
    Pathetic all round really.

On another note, quali is definitely on the hour yes? It's just the race that's 10 past?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,849 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

So how was fp 1 and 2. Was there any spins or crashes? How

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,475 ✭✭✭✭Ghost Train

AMKC wrote: »
    So how was fp 1 and 2. Was there any spins or crashes? How

There were a few people running off towards the end of fp1, Vandoorne had the car snap on him and was lucky not to hit a barrier

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 890 ✭✭✭seamusk84

Really surprised to see Gasly out in Q1. What happened in the space of a week?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 879 ✭✭✭risteard7

Raging for Kimi

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,539 ✭✭✭Mike Litoris

Surprised the see the Mercs so far off qualy pace. RB right behind them. Hopefully we get to see them race tomorrow.

Listening to that Croft guy is painful.

risteard7 wrote: »
    Raging for Kimi
    Guessing he messed up in sector 3, he was purple for the first 2 sectors then dropped off, Seb was only green for the first 2.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 879 ✭✭✭risteard7

Guessing he messed up in sector 3, he was purple for the first 2 sectors then dropped off, Seb was only green for the first 2.

Yea I was sure he had it in the bag. Vettel's last sector was brilliant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,906 ✭✭✭Joeface

seamusk84 wrote:
    Really surprised to see Gasly out in Q1. What happened in the space of a week?

Gasly said they made changes over night to the car and did get them undone after FP3.

Force India seem much better this week, very close in the middle between Renault ,Hass and Force. Mclaren using tow assist for qualifying is a terrible sign.

At the front looks good for the race tomorrow.

Sky commentary on mute and just watch the pictures .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,001 ✭✭✭ayux4rj6zql2ph

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,904 ✭✭✭✭skipper_G

Kimi did what Kimi does best, was fantastic for 2 sectors and then stopped caring in sector 3. He is so infuriatingly inconsistent while Vettel on the other hand delivered another lap when the pressure was on. Fully expect Sebastian to walk the race win but the Mercs and Red Bulls will battle with Kimi for the podium. And midfield battle will be tasty as well, looking forward to the race.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,849 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

Just seen the highlights on C4. Very exciting qualifying. Would have loved to see Kimi get pole but he just seems to lack that last bit of commitment. Hamilton not on his A game today even do he was saying his team needs to be. Good to see Force India doing better and Renaut still doing good. Mclaren still have a lot of work to do and Williams are very bad.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 976 ✭✭✭supremenovice

skipper_G wrote: »
    Kimi did what Kimi does best, was fantastic for 2 sectors and then stopped caring in sector 3. He is so infuriatingly inconsistent while Vettel on the other hand delivered another lap when the pressure was on. Fully expect Sebastian to walk the race win but the Mercs and Red Bulls will battle with Kimi for the podium. And midfield battle will be tasty as well, looking forward to the race.

Since they've been teammates at Ferrari, Vettel has won 10 grand prix and Kimi none. Just not good enough that.

• Subscribers Posts: 3,703 ✭✭✭TCP/IP

Amazing quali by Seb total masterclass.
    Delighted to see Mercedes nearly .5 second off it’s exactly what F1 needs.

TCP/IP wrote: »
    Amazing quali by Seb total masterclass.
    Delighted to see Mercedes nearly .5 second off it’s exactly what F1 needs.

woot, F1 needs as much teams as possible, as close together as possible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,450 ✭✭✭LollipopJimmy

The Mclarens having to tow each other round is just embarrassing. One of the best chassis' on the grid my arse. A lot of the Honda reliability issues came from this size 0 chassis and now with a different engine it's still showing to be a load of ****e. I will laugh my hole off if STR come good and beat them this season

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,414 ✭✭✭✭flazio

Williams are in serious trouble.When their cars can't get out of Q1 with a Mercedes engine it really does question the decision to have 2 inexperienced pay drivers in the car.

I don't think it's just down to the drivers. It's a bit of a dog of a car. Paddy Lowe and Rob Smedley just aren't doing well enough.

This too shall pass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,175 ✭✭✭Top Dog

Is it too early in the season for this to have possibly influenced Kimi easing off the gas in Sector 3 today? Once he was told over the radio that they were safe it could have signalled him to ease off and give Seb a better chance at clinching pole?

Top Dog wrote: »
    Is it too early in the season for this to have possibly influenced Kimi easing off the gas in Sector 3 today? Once he was told over the radio that they were safe it could have signalled him to ease off and give Seb a better chance at clinching pole?

And giving anyone else the chance to jump him? 1-2 in any constellation is better than 1 - 3

Read my post again. If he was told he was safe, then it would infer that no-one (other than his team mate) could possibly knock him from the top.

I'm just speculating.

Top Dog wrote: »
    Read my post again. If he was told he was safe, then it would infer that no-one (other than his team mate) could possibly knock him from the top.

I'm just speculating.

I know and it makes no sense as other drivers were still on track.

Fair enough. Was just a thought.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,204 ✭✭✭christy c

Listening to that Croft guy is painful.

Very painful indeed ;)

God I hate him using that expression

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,287 ✭✭✭✭Jordan 199

Vettel-vs-Hamilton-Formel-1-GP-China-Shanghai-14-April-2018-fotoshowBig-e54b45fc-1158388.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,708 ✭✭✭Charlie-Bravo

Interesting point made on motosport.com website on the strategies for the race; anyone who has qualified on the ultras (6 of the top 10 I think) will have to do a two stop race (ultra/ultra/soft), while those who are starting on the soft tyres can go onto the medium and complete a one-stop race.

Red Bull will be potentially in the chance for win if they can get up the front very early in the race and do a two-stop strategy. But I can certainly see Ferraris dominance on the straights being the key factor for the whole race.

-. . ...- . .-. / --. --- -. -. .- / --. .. ...- . / -.-- --- ..- / ..- .--.

So weird to be watching the Sky feed in the US!

astrofluff wrote: »
    Interesting point made on motosport.com website on the strategies for the race; anyone who has qualified on the ultras (6 of the top 10 I think) will have to do a two stop race (ultra/ultra/soft), while those who are starting on the soft tyres can go onto the medium and complete a one-stop race.

Red Bull will be potentially in the chance for win if they can get up the front very early in the race and do a two-stop strategy. But I can certainly see Ferraris dominance on the straights being the key factor for the whole race.

There will be definitely be some different strategy options in play, and looks like the temperature has come up as well. Could impact tyre degradation

Wonder will redbull have a good race

Hopefully 2 stops for most or some mix of strategies

Kimi won't be the happiest with that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,172 ✭✭✭EPAndlee

The two Renault lads having a right little battle amongst themselves

Vettel moved right off the start to block Kimi. Hamilton & Kimi losing out. And shout out to Stroll, 6 places on lap 1 ain't half bad

Very diffencive from Vettel

Good to see a redbull up to 3rd

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,172 ✭✭✭EPAndlee

Very diffencive from Vettel

Good to see a redbull up to 3rd

Hopefully Max doesn't do something stupid and cost himself the chance of a podium

Oh that's why Hamilton is so slow is it Ted? It's Kimi's fault somehow, nothing to do with Hamilton just not being at the races today. Ted Kravitz is a clickbait tabloid journo **** pheasant.

skipper_G wrote: »
    Oh that's why Hamilton is so slow is it Ted? It's Kimi's fault somehow, nothing to do with Hamilton just not being at the races today. Ted Kravitz is a clickbait tabloid journo **** pheasant.

Back to you, Crofty. :(

*cries a little*

This is a shocking race.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,369 ✭✭✭Rossi IRL

"Push hard now" says the engineer.

That is what is wrong with F1, they should be able to "push hard" the whole race, not just 1 lap before the pitstop.