Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Miriam Won't be going for Presidency

• 06-04-2018 8:13pm

Just confirmed on RtE 9pm news.

I didn't think it was a good idea for her to run at this time- right decision IMHO.

Maybe years from now, who knows.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,653 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

I hope it's not the case that Higgins gets a free run at this and there's no election. There's no way that should be a 14 year job and he doesn't even have to go to the electorate second time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,123 ✭✭✭Trigger Happy

Maybe Dana will go again provided no one slashes her tyres.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,095 ✭✭✭Rubberchikken

Thank god. Tiresome woman.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,536 ✭✭✭Silentcorner

She should have stepped down from her high profile position in the State owned TV station the day she decided to it was something she would work toward....of course, we'd have to have some kind of standard in our media for that to happen...

Meanwhile, Bertie Ahern hasn't ruled it out...like I said...if we had any kind of standard in our media this man would have been lacerated by news outlets...he should have had the good grace to to a Brian Cowen on it....disappear from the public life...he was laughed at while he was the Taoiseach of this country when he was explaining, to a tribunal, all the cash he may have won on a horse!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭Are Am Eye

Maybe Dana will go again provided no one slashes her tyres.

She'd have to sign the first abortion legislation produced in the country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,236 ✭✭✭Dr. Kenneth Noisewater

Wait, Miriam O'Callaghan was seriously considering running for President? Of the Country?

Ah here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Kevin Sharkey all the way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Thank god. Tiresome woman.

It would have stopped her going "mmmm" on the radio at least.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,123 ✭✭✭Trigger Happy

Are Am Eye wrote: »
    She'd have to sign the first abortion legislation produced in the country.

Now yer talking. Vote Dana!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

So the path is clear for Ding Dong Denny O'Reilly to end Higgins reign of terror

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,921 ✭✭✭buried

Brendan O'Carroll will run as Mrs. Brown.

Probably win the f**king thing too

Make America Get Out of Here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,433 ✭✭✭Needs Must

Thank God, she would be a disaster.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,995 ✭✭✭Ipso

Strazdas wrote: »
    I hope it's not the case that Higgins gets a free run at this and there's no election. There's no way that should be a 14 year job and he doesn't even have to go to the electorate second time.

He should get a chance to brown nose the other Castro after he dies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭Are Am Eye

So the path is clear for Ding Dong Denny O'Reilly to end Higgins reign of terror

I bet your bandwidth has dropped by 90% since you posted that.
    You're going to find that your credit cards no longer work.
    Some time over the weekend you will be framed as a thief and a drug dealer.

I'd vote for Dustin but he never brought that Dart from Dublin to Dingle like he promised.

#neverforgiveneverforget

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭corner of hells

I was kinda hoping Roy Keane might show a bit of interest or failing that someone foreign , maybe Brian O Driscoll's missus , Amy whatserface.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭dublinman1990

Her own summer chat show is called off for this year because she is making a documentary on the Northern Ireland troubles.

https://www.rsvplive.ie/news/tv-film/miriam-ocallaghan-wont-replaced-saturday-12310173

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,670 ✭✭✭MikeyTaylor

If Laura Whitmore ran I'd vote for her. She's three years two young though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

The media trying to elect one of their own. There was absolutely zero clamour for her to run for president from non-media people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭corner of hells

If Laura Whitmore ran I'd vote for her. She's three years two young though.

I had to read your second sentence twice , thought it was a secret code.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,460 ✭✭✭Barry Badrinath

This is the best news I have had all year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,596 ✭✭✭Hitman3000

buried wrote:
    Brendan O'Carroll will run as Mrs. Brown.

He/She? Whatever would have my vote.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Good. Nice that we don't all have to go down the road of having celebrity fluff candidates like the US.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,251 ✭✭✭C__MC

Higgins will comfortably do the second term.

Strange sort of title in Ireland, they do very little from what I see

This is the best news I have had all year.

Better than the weather forum announcement of snow drifts lasting days????? :eek::eek::eek:

C__MC wrote: »
    Higgins will comfortably do the second term.

Strange sort of title in Ireland, they do very little from what I see

I haven't heard of anyone so far I'd vote for over Higgins.

What's people's views of Bertie? Not now, but maybe next election time in 5 years- still too soon?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭statesaver

Genuinely delighted

Better than the weather forum announcement of snow drifts lasting days????? :eek::eek::eek:

Pfft, I wasnt home for any of that :(

Aaand I fuppin love the snow...never mind the apocolyptic type ye got....so jelly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,880 ✭✭✭DeanAustin

I still would.

Pfft, I wasnt home for any of that :(

Aaand I fuppin love the snow...never mind the apocolyptic type ye got....so jelly.

The igloo competitions around here were great :pac::pac:

#there'salwaysanother35yearsfromnowifyou'rearound :P

DeanAustin wrote: »
    I still would.

Jaysis no.

The head on her...the voice on her...the 47 kids she's had...like a pencil in a ring doughnut that one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

Anyone but that scumbag Ahern.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,063 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Miriam Won't be going for Presidency

Thank God for that. Can't stand her fakeness.

The igloo competitions around here were great :pac::pac:

#there'salwaysanother35yearsfromnowifyou'rearound :P

Aaww :(

Im home in 6 weeks, will ya make it snow please!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,421 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

Surely it's time we deleted the Presidency?

Do we really need a President?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,737 ✭✭✭Yer Da sells Avon

What's people's views of Bertie? Not now, but maybe next election time in 5 years- still too soon?

Twenty years will probably be too soon. Which is sort of a shame because he'd probably be a really good president.

Aaww :(

Im home in 6 weeks, will ya make it snow please!

Well, while it went to 15.5 degrees today, I wouldn't be surprised given the cold since Christmas that we'd have a freak shower

#don'tstopbelieving :p

It's part of our constitution. Leaving that aspect aside, I do think they have a good role to play and they add value to Ireland as a brand, which creates jobs, tourism, business, influence with other countries, world stage representation etc etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,185 ✭✭✭screamer

Given that they sign stuff into law then yes for the moment we do need one. Course we could change that and not need one. We don't need one IMHO. But then I also think we don't need a seanad not such a large number of politicians for such a tiny country. We're kinda full of bull in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,421 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

It's part of our constitution.

It's an elected office.

From what i'm hearing is suggestions there would be no contest. Kinda shows it's a joke tbh.

Twenty years will probably be too soon. Which is sort of a shame because he'd probably be a really good president.

Since I asked the question, I'll give my view.

I think he did Trojan work for the peace process.
    He was arrogant at the time of the 2008 financial crises which lasted many years after and for many, up to this evening and beyond.

If he went for presidency this year, I wouldn't vote for him if Higgins went too.But in 5 years time? I'd see who else was running first- but if I didn't like them, I would vote for him- but purely on the basis of the peace agreement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,207 ✭✭✭99nsr125

statesaver wrote: »
    Genuinely delighted

Genuinely :-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,737 ✭✭✭Yer Da sells Avon

Since I asked the question, I'll give my view.

I think he did Trojan work for the peace process.
    He was arrogant at the time of the 2008 financial crises which lasted many years after and for many, up to this evening and beyond.

If he went for presidency this year, I wouldn't vote for him if Higgins went too.But in 5 years time? I'd see who else was running first- but if I didn't like them, I would vote for him- but purely on the basis of the peace agreement.

I'd vote for him if Miggledy Higgins wasn't running. Not just because of his work during the peace process, but also because he'd be really good at it.

I'd have to really reflect on voting for him this election.

He'd need to start with an act of contrition, either now or 5 years time. He presided over a government that ultimately caused an awful lot of hurt and suffering; hence the demise of FF.

While I might be "OK", many others aren't; and I'm not willing to push them to one-side. I'd prefer to lose the chance of Ireland gaining from what qualities he has, than "betray" the people who are still suffering today, from the legacy of his approach to government.

Maybe I'm wrong in thinking that way but it's hard to think differently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,551 ✭✭✭AllForIt

I'm sorry but I think the idea of Miriam as president is just laughable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭Mutant z

Best news i have heard this week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

Her own summer chat show is called off for this year because she is making a documentary on the Northern Ireland troubles.

https://www.rsvplive.ie/news/tv-film/miriam-ocallaghan-wont-replaced-saturday-12310173
    I hope RTE don't buy this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,995 ✭✭✭Ipso

I'd have to really reflect on voting for him this election.

He'd need to start with an act of contrition, either now or 5 years time. He presided over a government that ultimately caused an awful lot of hurt and suffering; hence the demise of FF.

While I might be "OK", many others aren't; and I'm not willing to push them to one-side. I'd prefer to lose the chance of Ireland gaining from what qualities he has, than "betray" the people who are still suffering today, from the legacy of his approach to government.

Maybe I'm wrong in thinking that way but it's hard to think differently.

People are actually considering Bertie? He presided over a massive credit bubble and help pump the property bubbly, and then told anyone who spoke out to go commit suicide.
    F***er should be shot with a ball of his own sh1te.

Ipso wrote: »
    People are actually considering Bertie? .

Well, yes they are. Doesn't mean they'll ultimately vote for him though if he did run.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

Ridiculous that this was ever even a thing that needed to be refuted. Miriam as president would be a national embarrassment. Jaysus no. Stick to bobbin your head on Prime Time pretending you know what you’re on about

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

The problem is we will be offered candidates we don't want.
    Who wants to vote for preening egomaniacs? I don't.