Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

HârnMaster - Deliver the Letter

• 02-04-2018 7:55pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,558 ✭✭✭✭

Hamel the Innkeeper's tavern is mostly empty this evening in the small hamlet of Kiraz. The local toymaker, Kluz, is being served by Basky, everybody's favourite barmaid.

Outside the sounds of nobles arriving can be heard, but the three are undisturbed for now.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 53,821 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

Kluz turns to Basky.

'Do you mind testing this water for me darlin'? Just in case.'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

Fourier wrote: »
    Hamel the Innkeeper's tavern is mostly empty this evening in the small hamlet of Kiraz. The local toymaker, Kluz, is being served by Basky, everybody's favourite barmaid.

Outside the sounds of nobles arriving can be heard, but the three are undisturbed for now.

Hey boys, how much do you think my boobs weigh “ I hefty an impressive mammary in my palm

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 53,821 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

Tigger wrote: »
    Hey boys, how much do you think my boobs weigh “ I hefty an impressive mammary in my palm

Kluz leaves his water aside for a moment and turns to the innkeep.

'You got a pen and paper? A quick... sketch... and we'll find out the answer to this. Ye don't mind, do ye Basky?'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,558 ✭✭✭✭Fourier

Kluz produces an impressive rendering when a pair of nobles in armour barge through the door.

"You, innkeep, shut the inn, now."

Kluz produces an impressive rendering when a pair of nobles in armour barge through the door.

"You, innkeep, shut the inn, now."

I put my boobs away

Kluz snatches up his drawing for future...discussion and stands up.

'Well, I'll be going back to my toyshop now, thanks for the water Hamel!'

He turns to leave the inn.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,404 ✭✭✭✭sKeith

Necrominus wrote: »
    Kluz leaves his water aside for a moment and turns to the innkeep.

'You got a pen and paper? A quick... sketch... and we'll find out the answer to this. Ye don't mind, do ye Basky?'

"A pen, I doubt it, You might find some charcoal at the edge of the fire there."

Hamel inquires as to why her establishment should shut its doors, people should be frre to drink and be merry.

Kluz snatches up his drawing for future...discussion and stands up.

'Well, I'll be going back to my toyshop now, thanks for the water Hamel!'

He turns to leave the inn.
    "Not so fast" says one of the nobles in knightly armour, walloping his hand onto Kluz's chest.

"The court of Equeth has a mission for you three"

sKeith wrote: »
    Hamel inquires as to why her establishment should shut its doors, people should be frre to drink and be merry.
    "You are 'free' to carry out orders coming from the court via us, in a quick and timely fashion peasant. Now do it."

Kluz quivers a little bit.

'A... mission? But I am a simple toymaker!'

He sits back down though, not wishing to annoy the knight.

"You are 'free' to carry out orders coming from the court via us, in a quick and timely fashion peasant. Now do it."
    Hamel, begins to rise from her seat, slowly.
    "And who will compensate me for the los of earnings, Basky dear, I won't be paying you for this evening."
    Hamel goes over to the door and shouts "Out now please, everybody, this ain't your second home, come on, drink up and get the hell outta here."

Necrominus wrote:
    'A... mission? But I am a simple toymaker!'
    "Yes, a mission. Gerarld, the letter?"

The other noble reaches into a sack and takes out a letter, stamped with the king's seal.

"This is intended for the Wizard Roger. The king has need of him, though he does not consider himself a subject. His tower lies to the NorthWest here..."

They lay out a map on Kluz's table.

"...you are to get the letter to him. As soon as you can. Do not open it and definitely do not read it. Understood? We'd deliver it ourselves, but his tower's defenses only allow those born in this village to enter without harm."

Hamel, begins to rise from her seat, slowly.
    "And who will compensate me for the los of earnings, Basky dear, I won't be paying you for this evening."
    One of the knights clenches a mailed fist and begins to step forward. The other blocks him and shakes his head. Taking out a small purse of coin and putting it on the counter.

"Here, probably twice what you would have earned tradesman."

Kluz takes the letter nervously and places it into his bag.

'Far be it from me to argue with the king's orders.'

The next part he nearly whispers.

'I suppose there isn't... compensation for our time?'

Kluz gets walloped in the jaw, the force of a metallic hand against his face dislodges a tooth slightly. He falls to the ground bleeding from the mouth, the pain only moderate.

"Your compensation is serving your king, cur"

After Hamel is sure she has no stragglers in her inn, she closes the shutters and locks the door.

Kluz gets walloped in the jaw, the force of a metallic hand against his face dislodges a tooth slightly. He falls to the ground bleeding from the mouth, the pain only moderate.

"Do ye want him to help you and end up in bed mending, less of the man handling from your goons"

Kluz rolls around on the floor, clutching his face.

'Of... c-c-c-c-course. I would never mean to... I mean I... The letter w-w-w-will be d-d-d-delivered!'

Hamel helps Kluz up and holds a damp cloth to his jaw. "Hold that against the pain"

Kluz looks at Hamel thankfully and shows her the map.

"Do ye want him to help you and end up in bed mending, less of the man handling from your goons"
    "You're lucky you're a woman. We'll behave." the knight says calmly.

Kluz looks at Hamel thankfully and shows her the map.
    There are two ways to the tower. Along the river Uthel, or through the hills.

"Right, is that everything, or do you have more to tell us? Spit it out....... or get the hell out of here and let us do the mission."

Their knightly code not allowing them to strike her, they simply grumble and hand her a stone.

"That stone will restore a life five times, you have the courts permission to use it, given the dangers around here. Use it well."

They leave the inn.

Hamel locks the door behind them then scoops the purch off the counter and checks the contents.

Kuln looks down at his tooth on the floor.

He waits until the knights are out of earshot, then mutters.

'Aye, but will it restore me tooth? Honestly...'

He turns to Hamel and Basky.

'Right ladies, I suppose we had best get this done. So, your preference? By the river, or through the hills? I think we might be safer travelling along the river.'

Hamel locks the door behind them then scoops the purch off the counter and checks the contents.
    20 Ds.

"alright basky, i wont dock you pay for this excuricalar activity you have gonnen yourself into," she pockets the purch and thinks which of her clientelle would have access to a boat or if she herself has access to one.

The village port at the edge of town. The Rivermaster usually has a boat or two for rent.

"come along now, I'll rent us a boat and we'll get this over with as quick as we can, maybe in time to open up again for happy hour."
    Hamel unlocks the door and awaits the others to leave.

"come along now, I'll rent us a boat and we'll get this over with as quick as we can, maybe in time to open up again for happy hour."
    Hamel unlocks the door and awaits the others to leave.

Koln follows, the towel still pressed against his still swelling cheek. He has the letter safely tucked away in his backpack.

They arrive at the Rivermasters.

Boats already moored in the harbour. A small cup sits on the walkway to receive payment. The Rivermaster is away.

Kuln looks at Hamel and Basky.

'How much will this boat cost? I only have a small amount of coin for supplies, my toys do not fetch me much at all.'

He shakes his head sadly.

Hamel puts the apropiate amount in the cup and boards a boat.

Kuln looks at Hamel and Basky.

'How much will this boat cost? I only have a small amount of coin for supplies, my toys do not fetch me much at all.'

He shakes his head sadly.
    "Hurry along there, i've got the rental covered"

The boat starts off down the river...

Kuln thanks Hamel (again) and boards the boat alongside Basky.

'Care for another drawing lass? I brought some charcoal and spare paper. Perhaps I could fashion a toy from my sketches..'

It's initially smooth sailing, but then Hamel notices the waters getting progressively more turbulent.

Hamel on noticing he more turbulent water sits down in the boat.

The boat begins to rock heavily now.

Kuln looks at Hamel.

'Perhaps we should pull to the side? Walk from here?'

"Put the oars out and row us, basky, steer us towards the calm water."

Kuln tries to help with the rowing, although he is not a very good oarsman.

Basky begins to row the boat, but swings it around hard until it is facing backwards. It becomes obvious why, a waterfall lies ahead.

Kuln tries to see how deep the river is with his oar.

Deeper than the oar at least.

"Turn about basky, let us commit to the river and hope for the best with the waterfall"

Kuln looks around to see how close the river bank is, and if there are any obstacles in his way should he decide to make a leap from the boat.

It's initially smooth sailing, but then Hamel notices the waters getting progressively more turbulent.

Anyone got a sports bra