Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

DC2 Integra, prices, colours and M3's!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,515 ✭✭✭Killinator

This in my eye is a dreamer. Yes it has a lot of mods but 11.5k crazy. I love DC2's but even if I had the money I wouldn't buy this one. Not too gone on the colour either.

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/honda-integra-dc2-type-r-milano-red-big-spec/18237581
    'very original car'....
    Lists dozens of changes from original car :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,782 ✭✭✭dmc17

Killinator wrote: »
    'very original car'....
    Lists dozens of changes from original car :/

To quote:
    Very original car.....

....Thers a lot of aftermarket parts scattered in every corner of this car so I'm not gona have enuf space in dis ad to word it all

Now maybe they have not actually been installed and are just 'scattered' around inside the boot?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,618 ✭✭✭milltown

This in my eye is a dreamer. Yes it has a lot of mods but 11.5k crazy. I love DC2's but even if I had the money I wouldn't buy this one. Not too gone on the colour either.

ZmRhZWY4OTkyMmJlYTkyNWQ1Y2YwZWUxNzM0NjgzYmX4kdABR1GiFWCQAr-a_XcsaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b185NjgzMTg3MHx8fDYwMHg2MDB8fHx8fHx8fA==.jpeg

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/honda-integra-dc2-type-r-milano-red-big-spec/18237581

230 horsepower?
    Does it really take that much modification to get 230 ponies out of those?
    I get that there's stuff like final drives and LSD listed but I would have expected something as single minded, with that much work gone into it, to be embarassing M3s.

Now I really don't get the whole rice rocket modding scene.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,311 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

milltown wrote: »
    230 horsepower?
    I get that there's stuff like final drives and LSD listed but I would have expected something as single minded, with that much work gone into it, to be embarassing M3s.

On a track that car will compete with a standard M3 at ease.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,309 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

Quazzie wrote: »

I agree the only time the M3 will pull ahead is on the straights. Obviously depending on track of course tight twisty track the DC2 will be flying ahead big tracks with long straights the M3 would be pulling ahead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭emeldc

Quazzie wrote: »

Maybe but I’d rather be seen getting out of a sheep than that fuggin' thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,049 ✭✭✭Gorgeousgeorge

milltown wrote: »
    230 horsepower?

B18c was fairly high strung from factory and 230bhp from a n/a 1.8 is a lot. Still though tis a fair few pound for a teg in the least desirable colour imo milano red

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,055 ✭✭✭selectamatic

I agree the only time the M3 will pull ahead is on the straights. Obviously depending on track of course tight twisty track the DC2 will be flying ahead big tracks with long straights the M3 would be pulling ahead.

If its legit making 230hp and has all that engine work done then I'd not be too confident of a standard e46 m3 pulling ahead much if at all on a straight either. The power to weight ratio would be key and that particular integra has a very good gearbox setup too so it would be able to utilise its power extremely effectively. Its partially stripped too along with the carbon bonnet.

this video is food for thought albeit with an eg civic running a similar setup

skip to 2:05 for the comparison.

That said I agree 11k is saucy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,974 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

B18c was fairly high strung from factory and 230bhp from a n/a 1.8 is a lot. Still though tis a fair few pound for a teg in the least desirable colour imo milano red

I have never seen one in red I actually think it looks well, they are usually white.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 592 ✭✭✭JC01

Red is arguably the most desirable colour for one of those, either that or Yellow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 90 ✭✭Graham 1324

JC01 wrote: »
    Red is arguably the most desirable colour for one of those, either that or Yellow.

Definitely not
    Most desirable colours in that would be
    Y56 (canary yellow) or
    Championship white

Definitely not
    Most desirable colours in that would be
    Y56 (canary yellow) or
    Championship white

I couldn't agree with you on that at all. 95% of them are CW. Red and NH black always made more money than white ones and the yellow ones were the ultimate Honda head car, especially if they had the yellow recaros to match.

imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,172 ✭✭✭EPAndlee

I couldn't agree with you on that at all. 95% of them are CW. Red and NH black always made more money than white ones and the yellow ones were the ultimate Honda head car, especially if they had the yellow recaros to match.

A genuine y56 with yellow recaros is absolute erection material for a honda head

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,288 ✭✭✭millington

You must be alone there, red would be second on my list after yellow

millington wrote: »
    You must be alone there, red would be second on my list after yellow

White and then silver are my list. I would not even drive a yellow one even if I got it for free. I don't like the red either and this is from someone who loves DC2's.

That's personal choice, the other poster claimed red is an undesirable colour on the open market which isn't true.

As an aside iirc the type r tegs never came silver only the ek9s did? Could be wrong on that mind.

That's personal choice, the other poster claimed red is an undesirable colour on the open market which isn't true.

As an aside iirc the type r tegs never came silver only the ek9s did? Could be wrong on that mind.

There is a poster on here with a silver one.

No i didnt if you read what i said you will see imo. Which means in my opinion ie personal choice.

Kinda arguing semantics here but the other poster said that he personally doesn't like red dc2s. That's his personal choice.

You said that in your opinion it was a lot of cash to ask for what "in your opinion" was the least desirable colour. Your free to like whatever colours you want of course but if it's your opinion that red is the least desirable colour then your opinion is incorrect, Milano red always pulled a premium on dc2s and in fact I think that particular car may be one which I looked at before I bought my last one a few years ago. Even back then it was something like 2k more expensive than the immaculate white one I bought instead, largely due to the massivly sought after colour.

I'm not having a go at you but in a thread that discusses lads asking X for a car on the market I don't think ignoring something like that particular car being a very very rare example is very fair to him.

*just to mention I'm not commenting at all on the current price of that car, honestly I think it's a bit mad but for other reasons. And if it is the same car it's very different to when I looked at it.

Kinda arguing semantics here but the other poster said that he personally doesn't like red dc2s. That's his personal choice.

You said that in your opinion it was a lot of cash to ask for what "in your opinion" was the least desirable colour. Your free to like whatever colours you want of course but if it's your opinion that red is the least desirable colour then your opinion is incorrect, Milano red always pulled a premium on dc2s and in fact I think that particular car may be one which I looked at before I bought my last one a few years ago. Even back then it was something like 2k more expensive than the immaculate white one I bought instead, largely due to the massivly sought after colour.

I'm not having a go at you but in a thread that discusses lads asking X for a car on the market I don't think ignoring something like that particular car being a very very rare example is very fair to him.

*just to mention I'm not commenting at all on the current price of that car, honestly I think it's a bit mad but for other reasons. And if it is the same car it's very different to when I looked at it.

No i dont really think my opinion is incorrect. Id much perfer championship white or y56 over the red. Id even take black over the red!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Jaysus he's a bit heavy footed. Drive on the limit, not on the limiter. :D
    Yep it was an option from 1998. I have one. Having kept an eye out for one on the Japanese auction sites for nigh on a year before I got it the silver DC2 R was the rarest colour to come up, followed by the yellow*.

On those same sites white was the commonest colour by a long way, followed by red and black(about equal), then very rarely a yellow one would come up, then silver. Yellow with yellow seats the rarest of all. For good reason, they get dirty just sitting there. I did see one that had been ordered in yellow with red seats, but most yellows(and silvers) had the black seats.

Today the most saleable colour for collectors would be yellow I'd reckon, followed by white, then red or black. I doubt silver would even be on the radar TBH. Even though it's the rarest colour and was only ever available in Japan. America got yellow, as did Australia(which also got the yellow Recaros) and one of the rarest of all was a short run of European Swiss examples(yellow seats as well). Then there's the Canadian only market ones in white with red back seats as well as front. For such a relatively specialised car there were a lot of little differences between markets. Never mind that Honda lost money on each one they sold.

*Even in the catalogue they don't show a 2 door. Silver in the four door DB8 R was pretty common though. Dunno why. Maybe the four door was for a "family man", older more sober a colour, whereas silver in the DC2 R was seen as well.. for an older driver? Odder again non R DC2's were very common in silver. I'd regularly see them come up with the R wing and get my hopes up. :D

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

As for yer man's ad... Nope. Sorry. He's spent a load of money on upgrades, which a) you never get back and b) because these have now drifted into the classic market originality is everything in that scene. Maybe if he was selling it back in the days of imports and Max Power "upgrades"...

Consider how much it would cost to return that car to factory. Many thousands and it would still be a resprayed pretty tired example(with a setup like that it hardly crawled to the shops) of a pre 98 spec. The respray could be hiding all sorts of demons too. Unless the rear arches have been treated with wax from the get go they're almost certainly crusty and the sills won't be too great either.

Oh and then there's insuring it... I'm an oul lad with full NCB, a licence since the 80's with no points, not even a parking ticket and I'm paying 1600 quid TPFT and only one company would quote me at that price. I got quotes of three grand plus. Yeah. ****. A lad or lass in their twenties, or even thirties? Good luck. Joke is in the US if it had a clean title he'd have a queue round the block to buy it. In mainland Europe they're heading into the 15 k range for original cars. Here because of insurance 5k if you can find a buyer. If I was selling that I'd advertise it in the UK and look for about 7k sterling.

That's one issue with Milano Red, it goes orange with age and sun. It's the least durable of the colours.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,480 ✭✭✭thierry14

If its legit making 230hp and has all that engine work done then I'd not be too confident of a standard e46 m3 pulling ahead much if at all on a straight either. The power to weight ratio would be key and that particular integra has a very good gearbox setup too so it would be able to utilise its power extremely effectively. Its partially stripped too along with the carbon bonnet.

skip to 2:05 for the comparison.

That said I agree 11k is saucy.

At lower speeds maybe as power to weight is good if it does have 230bhp

Past 160kmh the e46 m3 will leave a DC with 230bhp for dead

It would have to be a seriously modified DC2 to compete on long straights, 230bhp without turbo or supercharging requires a good bit of a work too, not sure I would believe it here

A standard DC2 can't even keep up with standard hot hatches like Mazda 3 mps etc on long straights, it will need a serious power increase to keep up with a e46 m3, which leaves even the best hot hatches trailing up top

The DC2 is more of a really twisty B road dedicated machine. In those conditions and considering it's a 25 year old design it can worry quite a few fast cars even today(not in my hands mind you :D).

Not on long straights though. Well unless you go nuts on customising. There's a chap on Youtube who has one with a K20 lump in it and stripped out to feck and it does the Ring in 8 minutes, 20 odd seconds more quickly than a standard M3 and 40 seconds slower than a Standard DC2 R(which isn't far off the Mazda MPS if memory serves?). In fairness the Beemer will be a more comfortable experience. :D

I stand corrected Wibbs, had myself convinced they didn't come in silver. Great to see there's still people driving them they really are a one of a kind car. Had mivecs and Levins as well back in the day but for me none of them had a patch on the integra.

As an aside there is/was a yellow one down Galway/mayo direction on itbs that I'm almost sure has yellow recaros in it, the owners a Honda fanatic. I got chatting to him at japfest 2 or 3 years back and the spec list and condition of the car was phenomenal. Easily the best dc2 I've ever seen. He'd brought it in from England and I think he spent the purchase price again on it getting it just perfect.

I stand corrected Wibbs, had myself convinced they didn't come in silver.
    TBH JC even Honda heads into them in person and on the interwebs have told me they never came in silver.
    *EDIT* Here's a vid from Japan's Best Motoring TV series and it features a silver one.

Oh and that might be my very car. Yeah. Small world. I'm the second owner, but the first owner was a Japanese circuit and the R stickers on mine were replacements because they were the ones for the darker colours(the one in the vid has no stickers for some reason).
    Great to see there's still people driving them they really are a one of a kind car.
    They're a pretty good daily driver with it funny enough. Though maybe I'm just used to it. A few mates have driven it and coming from modern cars are a bit more WTF!! :D

Outside of the insurance they're fairly cheap to run, high 30's to the gallon, reliable as granite, fantastic seats and a large enough boot. And even a run to the shops is more of an event. I'm at best a mediocre driver and it makes me look like I can drive which says much about the car. I haven't seen another in a long time and they used to be so common a sight. Twelve years in and a load of memories now, so I'll hang on to mine at this stage, unless a scumbag steals it, or vandalises it cos they can't steal it. :mad:
    As an aside there is/was a yellow one down Galway/mayo direction on itbs that I'm almost sure has yellow recaros in it, the owners a Honda fanatic. I got chatting to him at japfest 2 or 3 years back and the spec list and condition of the car was phenomenal. Easily the best dc2 I've ever seen. He'd brought it in from England and I think he spent the purchase price again on it getting it just perfect.
    There are a few yellows around. Well I know of three, which is not exactly a lot. One though was originally white, fully stripped down respray later... Pity as it was one of the last of them made, a 2001 reg IIRC. Leave it standard and white, stick it in a shed and wait a decade and you'd get a helluva return I reckon. Actually I'd like a big shed to buy up a fair few of what are now seen as "old cars" and uninsurable in Ireland, but are rising everywhere else. I do know of a few sheds like that as is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

I had 3 white ITR’s, two 96specs and one 98spec. I regretted selling each of them. The 98spec was a grade 4 car with 72k kms on the clock and I sold it for €4400 in 2010 for no other reason than I wasn’t using it much and the sickening thing is I didn’t need the money, I have a huge garage and I can’t figure out why I just didn’t garage it for a few years.

I had a Milano red SiR and will never buy a red Honda again, I was sick to death polishing it to
    Find a week later it would be pink/white again.

I’d love a silver one but white is the proper colour for an ITR. Yellow is actually bottom of my list even below red.

I hope to own one again some day and when ever that is it’ll be forever.

white is the proper colour for an ITR.
    I'd agree with you CJ. I do like yellow, but not for me. It would look like a middle age crisis car. :D Silver is about my speed.
    I know I'd really bloody regret selling mine at this stage. I actually drove the first one sold in Ireland back in late 98. A friend of a friend bought it. He only kept it for about six months, couldn't live with it and went out and bought a Merc. I'd driven some mad machines in my time up to that, but when I got that thing into third and *hypothetically* ;) went all the way to nine thousand RPM and then pulled fourth, I was utterly bloody hooked. I'd never driven anything like it up to then. For the younger readers out there, back in the late 90's it truly was a revelation. This was an engine with the highest BHP per litre of any normally aspirated car on the road(only the Ferrari 355 came close). Especially from Honda which were more cool motorbikes and pensioner's cars. It really did feel like a "race car with a reg plate" and I'd had a few goes in privateer race cars*. Well they did homologate it, which was the original plan to increase Honda's profile.

447028.jpeg
    It did very well too, particularly in North American and Asian race series.

I clearly remember on that drive I promised myself, one day... Sure I well know there are all sorts of hot hatches and Beemers and the like today that will utterly blast it around the Ring and elsewhere and I've had a go in many of them, but for sheer on the edge confidence and feel none of them came close, for me anyway. Especially for a front wheel drive. Which oddly oversteers more than understeers. With the right tyres you might be able to enter it into a drifting competition. :D

You can tell I love the daft old thing. :o:o But if you've never had the experience and you ever get the chance to drive a standard one, take it with both hands up your fave twisty bit of road. At low speeds it's a bit "meh" TBH, but light that blue touch paper.... I near guarantee you'll come back grinning like a gobsh1te. :D

*Rally, rallycross and track. No road car is like a race car, regardless what hack journalists say. They can't be. But the R was as close to that feeling as I had experienced. The EK9 R similarly.

Nice musing Wibbs.

I had a 94 Integra Si when the ITR was released over here and Tony Kelly Honda Dealer’s has one in their show room in Summer 98. I stopped to look at it every time I passed. It was bought by a Kelly woman from Carndonagh. She was in her late 50’s married with grown children. She used it to nip to the shops and go to golf. I met her once and gave her my number and asked her to ring me when she was selling as I would buy the car but unfortunately she didn’t and she traded it back in to TK against a new civic. He gave her poor money for it and it was apparently sold to someone in Waterford/Wexford before it even landed back in the dealers. I had my 96spec at that stage but would probably have bought it anyway.

I'm not surprised abut the older woman buying it. Apparently older ladies were a big buying demographic for these. I know of an Irish one that was bought by a retired woman, two UK ones the same. A thread on Honda Tech IIRC many years ago noted this in the States too. A load of the guys R's had older women as their first owners. A poster who worked in an Acura dealership confirmed that the cars were big sellers to those folks which surprised the sales guys. One test drive and they'd be out with the cheque books and roar off down the road. Broadly the buyers were young guys in their 20's and women in their 50's 60s, even 70's. No marketing department could have predicted that. :D

thierry14 wrote: »
    At lower speeds maybe as power to weight is good if it does have 230bhp

Past 160kmh the e46 m3 will leave a DC with 230bhp for dead

160km/h is a very low speed to pick out of the air if you said 200+km/h then yes I'd kind of agree. not sure I'd use the term left for dead either way.

230bhp would be very very potent in a car that most likely weighs 9xxkg and the downsides of a lack of torque are somewhat nullified by this lack of weight.

Originally the discussion revolved around the comparison between the twisty bits of a track and the straight bits and how an m3 would fair I merely said the 230bhp dc2 would hold its own in the straights too and I stand by that.

Now if we're gonna talk about 1km+ straights then fair enough but there isn't too many of them about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 568 ✭✭✭CianDon

EPAndlee wrote: »
    A genuine y56 with yellow recaros is absolute erection material for a honda head

28312094874_108ef7d9db_c.jpg

And an Rx, with Mugen Gen 1 rear spoiler, Honda access rear bumper spats and side trim and wind deflectors*. Nice. IIRC this one also has the Gathers twin din radio setup with the faux carbon matching the rest of the trim. Prefer the standard rims myself though.

If you ticked the box for yellow seats you also got yellow stitching in the shift boot, steering wheel and back seats.

447081.jpg

Funny enough this option didn't cost extra over the red/black interior option. You could option delete quite a bit on these when ordering. ABS, airbags, rear brake light, clock, Air con, radio and speakers, even the parcel shelf were option deletes. The only option mine originally had was air con. Everything else was deleted. You could even special order one with basic seats, no options and no power steering for track use.

*I threw mine away. Don't judge me! :o:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 463 ✭✭hellyeah

I had 3 white ITR’s, two 96specs and one 98spec. I regretted selling each of them. The 98spec was a grade 4 car with 72k kms on the clock and I sold it for €4400 in 2010 for no other reason than I wasn’t using it much and the sickening thing is I didn’t need the money, I have a huge garage and I can’t figure out why I just didn’t garage it for a few years.

I had a Milano red SiR and will never buy a red Honda again, I was sick to death polishing it to
    Find a week later it would be pink/white again.

I’d love a silver one but white is the proper colour for an ITR. Yellow is actually bottom of my list even below red.

I feel your pain. I had a black 98spec type r back 2010/2011 . Let her go around the 4k price also.
    Got all the mechanical bits 100%, running like a dream , was around the time of the bad winters and I just let
    Her go to get something more practical. Was completely standard also, have drove nothing like it since.
    The only car I really miss.

Wibbs wrote: »
    And an Rx, with Mugen Gen 1 rear spoiler, Honda access rear bumper spats and side trim and wind deflectors*. Nice. IIRC this one also has the Gathers twin din radio setup with the faux carbon matching the rest of the trim. Prefer the standard rims myself though.

I had a full mugen kitted Si, Mugen Si front lip, skirts, gen1 rear wing, gen1 exhaust, 4-2-1 manifold, gen1 intake, mugen fixed shocks and lowering springs. Should have stripped it before selling it.

Incidentally my 98spec had the Type R faux carbon double din stereo which I duly removed and sold to a lad in California for silly money.

I stand corrected Wibbs, had myself convinced they didn't come in silver. Great to see there's still people driving them they really are a one of a kind car. Had mivecs and Levins as well back in the day but for me none of them had a patch on the integra.

Said yellow car has been sold, not too sure if it stayed over here.

Theres another genuine yellow car over here too but it didn't come with yellow Recaros. Theres around 3 or 4 silver cars too.

I had a full mugen kitted Si, Mugen Si front lip, skirts, gen1 rear wing, gen1 exhaust, 4-2-1 manifold, gen1 intake, mugen fixed shocks and lowering springs. Should have stripped it before selling it.

Incidentally my 98spec had the Type R faux carbon double din stereo which I duly removed and sold to a lad in California for silly money.
    That Mugen stuff would be worth thousands now. IIRC the rear wings alone go for well over the thousand mark.
    millington wrote: »
    Said yellow car has been sold, not too sure if it stayed over here.

Theres another genuine yellow car over here too but it didn't come with yellow Recaros. Theres around 3 or 4 silver cars too.
    At one time there used to be a few genuine yellow examples, but like the other colours they usually ended up stolen, crashed, or "customised", scrapped when they were worth more as parts than whole cars, or sold to the UK. Down the years I knew of three genuine silver ones(most were SI's or 1.6 with stickers and wings), one was stolen, one went to the UK and ended up as a track car with a K20, don't know what happened to the third, though it was pretty ropey the last time I saw it.

What with insurance and the usual wastage with old cars when they hit the bottom of their value curve any colour is a rare sight to see on the road these days. Hopefully there are a few of them and the other cool JDM cars "resting" in garages and sheds around the country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,396 ✭✭✭Tefral

I had a Integra Type R Dc2 Type Rx.

Every now and again I genuinely yearn to have it back. I have never regretted selling something so much in my life. No car i've ever driven has given me the same buzz.(And I've driven all the "Fun" cars Skylines, Evos, Imprezas, MX5, S2000, M3's, VZR N1's etc etc)

I drove around the Nürburgring in a Renault Megane RS, and all I could think of was my old DC2 and how much I would have loved it.

At the time, €/fun value no car could touch it.

That Mugen stuff would be worth thousands now. IIRC the rear wings alone go for well over the thousand mark.

At one time there used to be a few genuine yellow examples, but like the other colours they usually ended up stolen, crashed, or "customised", scrapped when they were worth more as parts than whole cars, or sold to the UK. Down the years I knew of three genuine silver ones(most were SI's or 1.6 with stickers and wings), one was stolen, one went to the UK and ended up as a track car with a K20, don't know what happened to the third, though it was pretty ropey the last time I saw it.

What with insurance and the usual wastage with old cars when they hit the bottom of their value curve any colour is a rare sight to see on the road these days. Hopefully there are a few of them and the other cool JDM cars "resting" in garages and sheds around the country.
    Theres definitely still a handful of silver ones. A friend of mine has one, 00 reg aswell which is rare enough too.

I'd love to see another silver one again. The last time I did was 8 years back. Even better if it's a 00 that would be an Rx. They're about the most valuable of the JDM ones now, though ironically given the original purpose they're the heaviest of all. Even came with mod cons like keyless entry :eek: :D

VrKq1k.jpg

When I was buying my 98spec a friend of mine in Dublin (initials are JB) had a 00 silver one that he imported himself, I was very tempted to buy it but really want a CW one at the time. AFAICR his was a totally standard car and would have been a fairly high grade at auction. God only knows where it is now.

Nice silver Rx! Even has the Honda Access dealer option "cornering lights". :eek: :D

447276.jpg

They alone would be worth a few quid to our American petrolheads who go stone mad for the JDM stuff. In that pic above the "Personal Box" ashtray replacement(basically the ashtray with a red cloth interior and a sticker on the outside) goes for 4-500 dollars. I've seen the parking pole kit go for 800. :eek: Note how they list the parcel tray as an option. That and the near useless standard security of Japanese 90's cars says much about the Japanese car crime rate, or lack of it.

Great to see it's still on the road even with the insurance/shure t'is an oul car nonsense in the mainstream Irish driving psyche of late. Outside Ireland where it seems there are three or four left, I know of one silver in Malta of all places, one in New Zealand, one brought into the US(dubiously and it got "customised"; K swap, bodykit etc), a couple in the UK. I'd say original JDM yellow ones would be around those kinda numbers.

I'd reckon outside of Japan Ireland has some of the rarest JDM cars of that era, or at least had. Guys in the UK are hanging onto them too and they have the advantage of a multi billion quid "classic" car market and the mindset that supports that. Values of such cars are still daftly low here though. IF you have the money and storage IMHO it's time to buy good examples of those 90's JDM iron.

What's the difference between a R and Rx?

Rx were the run out models so had all the bells and whistles.

Available only in Japan from early 99 onwards* to 2000(with a tiny number sold in 2001).

ITRx_page_3_of_4.jpg

Basically a 98 Spec** no option deletes, so ABS/Aircon/clock/airbags etc as standard. Rear glass tinted, six speaker stereo, "sports" metal pedals, slightly different tint to the faux carbon fibre interior bits, retractable mirrors and keyless entry.

Mechanically they were the same, though the half shafts were more balanced(some have suggested different cam profiles, but they're the same stock number as 98spec). They also came with individual serial numbers on the plaque inside, the only JDM ones to have that. Because of all the extras they're the heaviest of all the Integra Type R's. IIRC 30 odd kilos compared to the option delete stripped down racing snake version.

*My 98spec was built in December 98 and Honda and the Japanese registry's records actually have it down as an Rx. In yellow no less. And it's neither.

*the 98 Spec was a fairly extensive change mechanically from the first JDM only 96, though many think the 96 the "purest". 1998 brought improved damper/spring rates, bigger brakes(from the NSX), 5 stud wheels 16', better exhaust and changes in the ECU. The 98 Spec is basically what was exported to the rest of the world including Ireland only with the earlier four separate round headlights front, which Honda reckoned would sell better in non Japanese markets. US market models are the cheapest spec, no Recaro seats, lower compression, 15' wheels from the Civic Type R. Europe got 15's too, that looked like the JDM 16's. Probably because of more rough roads outside of Japan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 178 ✭✭lol5605

There is a 2001 yellow DC2 somewhere in the country, I saw it not so long ago. If I remember correctly there were only 15 made that year.

That's the one that was originally white and the owner stripped it down and repainted it.

Lovely and involved job on the respray, but it will impact the value down the line. The whale penis filter(makes noise and little else) and the third party exhaust manifold are easy to return to standard(if he kept the parts), but changing the original colour is considered a major no no in the classic world. If it was a 96 or 98 I'd be meh, but one of the last 20 ever made? Standard is everything*

To be fair he's a young lad and the young care sod all for posterity(thank Christ), it's his car, he did a bloody good job of it, it is a lovely example and fair fecks to him, but this old lad here is a bit cringe at the change.

*exceptions would be things like one that was completely Mugen or Spoon aftermarket in period stuff. That would get a premium for some.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,391 ✭✭✭5500

Had a white 00 Rx myself, great car looking back and no other Honda since has been as raw a car to drive. I'm keeping tabs at auction at the moment for either a clean ek9 or dc2 at the right money to buy and sit on, I think in a few years once they open up to the states, particularly the ek9, that the prices will go mad on them, mind you a clean good grade 4 with low kms at present isn't cheap either, easily set you back 10/12k by the time you get it on the road here, and I'd say you'd be a long time waiting to see that money back