Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ireland is not a neutral country

• 26-03-2018 10:00pm
    Site Banned Posts: 69 ✭✭

A sly sneaky little nation, suck ups of Europe and Britain in particular brainwashed by British media about Russia when Britain over the last 45 years have committed all sorts of awful crimes against the people of Ireland what have Russia ever done to us? Ireland trying to make itself relevant it's making itself a joke

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,124 ✭✭✭jonon9

084.png

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Ireland is neutral on the side of the Allies (and paymasters) We are a capitalist free market parliamentary democracy - and will side with others of the same hue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28 w.b. yokes

Jacko753 wrote: »
    A sly sneaky little nation, suck ups of Europe and Britain in particular brainwashed by British media about Russia when Britain over the last 45 years have committed all sorts of awful crimes against the people of Ireland what have Russia ever done to us? Ireland trying to make itself relevant it's making itself a joke

Our international neutrality became a lie when Leo and the boys signed us up to the European Army.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,491 ✭✭✭Fighting Tao

Did you just register to say that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,606 ✭✭✭Arthur Daley

We better get used to it. We seem to be getting dragged closer and closer to the common defence policy of the EU block. But shhhh don't want to spook the poplace. They go a bit funny over that.

TCD/UCD Krembots all over the place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,191 ✭✭✭screamer

I don't think being neutral has advantages anyways. I don't like the sit on the fence attitude whilst we outsource our national security to the UK. With brexit on the way no harm if we "man up" and nail our colours to the mast.

• Site Banned Posts: 69 ✭✭Jacko753

Listening to these little girls on the TV is pissing me off they're a joke an embarrassment Simon Coveney and Leo Varadkar in particular

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

4th post ........op

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭Are Am Eye

What are we neutral in? The Crimean War?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,244 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

We better get used to it. We seem to be getting dragged closer and closer to the common defence policy of the EU block. But shhhh don't want to spook the poplace. They go a bit funny over that.

Why shouldn't we have a common defence policy? Who would we run to if we got attacked or invaded do you reckon?

Or is this the usual " the eu is grand while we need to build and modernise our country but once we stop being a net recipient and others need a leg up then it's **** the eu, what have they done for us"

Why shouldn't we have a comm9n defence policy? Who would we run to if we got attacked or invaded do you reckon?

Who's going to invade us?

Why shouldn't we have a comm9n defence policy? Who would we run to if we got attacked or invaded do you reckon?

We're already partially colonised and it's not by Russia

Well then there's no issue with a common defence policy then, is there? :)

Listening to these little girls on the TV is pissing me off they're a joke an embarrassment Simon Coveney and Leo Varadkar in particular

No one is forcing you to watch tv....or listen to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,315 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

screamer wrote: »
    I don't think being neutral has advantages anyways. I don't like the sit on the fence attitude whilst we outsource our national security to the UK. With brexit on the way no harm if we "man up" and nail our colours to the mast.

Your sort of namesake Screaming Lord Sutch was asked what was the Official Monster Raving Loony Party policy on defence. He replied that they were going to sit on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,256 ✭✭✭mulbot

No one is forcing you to watch tv.

He didn't say watching, he said listening

mulbot wrote: »
    He didn't say watching, he said listening

I know and I edited as you posted. :D

I wonder why he can’t change the channel? Batteries gone in the remote?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

Looks like it's overtime night at Savushkina Street tonight :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,444 ✭✭✭✭looksee

Is referring to them a 'little girls' supposed to be an insult to them then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,839 ✭✭✭Day Lewin

In a helpful spirit, may I recommend rhat you go and live somewhere else?
    Russia, perhaps? Very warm in summer, I believe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,104 ✭✭✭bilbot79

Regardless of neutrality, being a contributing engine in the EU economy however small makes us a nice target. I don't think we have a choice

looksee wrote: »
    Is referring to them a 'little girls' supposed to be an insult to them then?

Not an insult it's just the only way I can describe them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,351 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Da comrade!

Ireland is always seen as the back door to the UK as the security apparatus here is so feeble by comparison to anywhere else in Western Europe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,054 ✭✭✭Tuco88

There is no such thing as a "Neutral Country" Neutrality ended during ww2.

You would think it gives us a magical shield. People still buy in to ww1 gentleman's war game terms.

First stone was Ukraine a war crime i its own right. A Chemical attack on the citizens of a current EU member state. Should we send flowers instead?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,606 ✭✭✭Arthur Daley

Why shouldn't we have a common defence policy? Who would we run to if we got attacked or invaded do you reckon?

Or is this the usual " the eu is grand while we need to build and modernise our country but once we stop being a net recipient and others nes a leg up then it's **** the eu, what have they done for us"

If Leo feels so strongly about this. He knows what he needs to do. Put it to the people of Ireland. One man, one vote. Yeah didn't think so.

This **** of voting on every little thing is just that, ****. We elect people to make decisions. Or do YOU just want to draw up a list of things you want us to vote on and the rest they can decide at parliamentary level?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,021 ✭✭✭Miike

"British Media" invented Russia.

Silly you, brainwashed by the likes of "British media"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,191 ✭✭✭screamer

This **** of voting on every little thing is just that, ****. We elect people to make decisions.
    In a neutral country wishy washy decisions are easy. Tough ones thrown back to committees so then they're only doing what they were told, or call a referendum to make the turkeys vote for Christmas. We elect people so we get the government we deserve.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,068 ✭✭✭bop1977

Tuco88 wrote: »

You would think it gives us a magical shield. People still buy in to ww1 gentleman's war game terms.

First stone was Ukraine a war crime i its own right. A Chemical attack on the citizens of a current EU member state. Should we send flowers instead?

Yes because Ireland was neutral during ww2 but still allowed this to happen:

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Donegal_Corridor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,315 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

Ireland is always seen as the back door to the UK as the security apparatus here is so feeble by comparison to anywhere else in Western Europe.

The Russians go through the front door with their poisons. I think we have a great security apparatus, and I'm glad that it is kept a secret.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,535 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

No he's got another thread going on too about mod pay (or lack of).

To thine own self be true

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,535 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

No he's got another thread going on too about mod pay (or lack of).

My bad.. that's another rereg/new reg.
    Jack has the Gaddafi thread going on!

To thine own self be true

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,839 ✭✭✭Day Lewin

It's shocking. The place gets invaded every third week. They really ought to tighten up the security apparatus. Maybe build a moat down the middle of the sea, or something. To deter intruders. I mean practically nobody speaks English in Dublin any more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,453 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

A Chemical attack on the citizens of a current EU member state. Should we send flowers instead?

not our problem. it's between britain and russia. the rest of us should stay out of it. britain can take care of itself.

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

This **** of voting on every little thing is just that, ****. We elect people to make decisions. Or do YOU just want to draw up a list of things you want us to vote on and the rest they can decide at parliamentary level?

When did we elect Leo?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,950 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

We weren't even neutral then. 'Neutral' with an Allied slant.

OP if you hadn't realised we weren't neutral by now, I don't know what kind of cave you were living in.

When did we elect Leo?

Unless you live in mayo, when did you elect Enda ? ( substitute any former leader and the place they get elected here)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

eec.jpg

not our problem. it's between britain and russia. the rest of us should stay out of it. britain can take care of itself.
    You don't believe in solidarity comrade?

Perhaps wait until evidence is submitted, reviewed and then make a decision

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

Who is we? Dublin West?

He is a stand-in Taoiseach.

Nothing ethically wrong with that. But he has no direct mandate for the important long term decisions such as neutrality/Russian relations/EU army until the people of Ireland return him as Taoiseach in a GE.

Perhaps wait until evidence is submitted, reviewed and then make a decision
    Russia deny the evidence presented. It's a judgement call at the end of the day. Either Russia has intentionally sanctioned this or they have allowed one of their chemical weapons to reach the open market. Both unacceptable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,703 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

God has putin dropped the funding to his propaganda farm cus this is some seriously pathetic stuff. Are you a new hire?

Russia deny the evidence presented. It's a judgement call at the end of the day. Either Russia has intentionally sanctioned this or they have allowed one of their chemical weapons to reach the open market. Both unacceptable.

No evidence has been presented.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,703 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

No evidence has been presented.

Shocking that the highly classified evidence gathered by several security agencies hasn't been published in minute detail with sources as references in the papers...... shocking

VinLieger wrote: »
    Shocking that the highly classified evidence gathered by several security agencies hasn't been published in minute detail with sources as references in the papers...... shocking

What a stupid reply-if you read back a few posts we are talking about Russia denying the evidence-none has been presented to them, we are still waiting for results from the international committee to verify or not the substance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

There is a grey area regarding our neutrality but one thing is for sure, Crooked Simon Coveney doesn't just get to decide what team we're on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,403 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

Jacko753 wrote:

I'll bet your ip address shows up as a vpn end point. No one is going to invade your country, comrade.