Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How do travelers make there money?

• 23-03-2018 3:24pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 151 ✭✭

Might be silly question I know we do see them collect scrap and that but how can they afford 181 cars etc and not financed cars either I wouldn't say the tax man knows who they even are just curious so I am 🀔

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,268 ✭✭✭✭uck51js9zml2yt

Driveways

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,596 ✭✭✭Hitman3000

In before the lock.....

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

Always wondered how they can afford lavish cars and take away's every night!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 380 ✭✭BGozIE

Stock market trading...has to be...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,925 ✭✭✭✭Ha Long Bay

Bitcoin?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,008 ✭✭✭Allinall

They tinker about with this and that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 571 ✭✭✭rosser44

Hitman3000 wrote: »
    In before the lock.....

I think its common practice for them to pay no attention to the lock........:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,596 ✭✭✭Hitman3000

rosser44 wrote:
    I think its common practice for them to pay no attention to the lock........

Touchè

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

For a period of time some of them had multiple UK and Irish identities, which allowed them get rent allowance, and more importantly jobseekers etc etc etc multiple times based on properties in several different local authority areas.
    I worked as an auctioneer and letting agent and have first hand experience of this.
    Cavan town for example is divided up between 2 welfare officers. One was much more, shall we say, sceptical of such claims. It was common to have travellers come in and enquire for housing in the other officers half of the town.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 103 ✭✭Sneak

They acquire perishable goods through means unknown and make a 100% profit. So the legend goes.

I often wonder this myself to be honest.

A halting site near me has a 181 Ford Ranger. A quick look online says you'll pay about €40k for one of them.

Now, lets presume the stereotype chancer traveller is the one driving it. Even if they're burgling houses left, right and centre, you have to do a lot of thieving to get to €40k! So that doesn't add up to me, personally.

Driveways, 'fixing' roofs, etc. still not seeing how a brand new jeep is coming out of it, considering there are legit lads doing it and they're driving bangers. (and this isn't a case of one traveller having a nice car, it's always a lot of them, majority i'd guess, who drive brand new stuff).

I can't grasp it. Even if you pay no tax and steal a lot (and Im not saying they all do, i realise many are genuine decent 'heads-down and have a bit of pride in myself' kind of people) but I still dont get how a car of that value ends up in their possession.

I've been self employed for a long time now and the newest car I ever owned was 8 years old.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,982 ✭✭✭minikin

Big investors in pharmaceuticals these days, so I hear.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 670 ✭✭✭sightband

mark085 wrote: »
    Might be silly question I know we do see them collect scrap and that but how can they afford 181 cars etc and not financed cars either I wouldn't say the tax man knows who they even are just curious so I am 🀔

want an honest answer?

theft, scams and drug dealing, not sure in what order but I’d put the drug dealing at the top of the chain of income for them at a guess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,059 ✭✭✭Icsics

They know the social welfare system inside out....the more children the better, every allowance/scheme available & pay for nothing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 175 ✭✭Snipp

From my own experience, low level drug dealing provides them with the majority of their income. The remainder comes from odd jobs, welfare payments and perhaps some opportunistic thieving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,968 ✭✭✭blindside88

Around my area a large number of them make their money between a mixture of selling illegal cigarettes and drugs. Many of them also have furniture shops which are largely a front to put the money through

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 151 ✭✭mark085

I often wonder this myself to be honest.

A halting site near me has a 181 Ford Ranger. A quick look online says you'll pay about €40k for one of them.

Now, lets presume the stereotype chancer traveller is the one driving it. Even if they're burgling houses left, right and centre, you have to do a lot of thieving to get to €40k! So that doesn't add up to me, personally.

Driveways, 'fixing' roofs, etc. still not seeing how a brand new jeep is coming out of it, considering there are legit lads doing it and they're driving bangers. (and this isn't a case of one traveller having a nice car, it's always a lot of them, majority i'd guess, who drive brand new stuff).

I can't grasp it. Even if you pay no tax and steal a lot (and Im not saying they all do, i realise many are genuine decent 'heads-down and have a bit of pride in myself' kind of people) but I still dont get how a car of that value ends up in their possession.

I've been self employed for a long time now and the newest car I ever owned was 8 years old.

Exactly I don't think anybody really knows, whatever they have going there keeping it quite these brand new cars are being bought out right aswell

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,627 ✭✭✭tedpan

Their money?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 52 ✭✭TanyGray

They can do anything they want.
    I have friends who are gardai and they will openly admit that if they saw a stolen car sitting at a halting site with a stolen sticker on it they would just ignore it.
    These guys are above the law and can make money however they like illegaly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,478 ✭✭✭eeguy

Do they actually own the cars though? Heard stories that they're mostly leased or through HP schemes.

What else do travellers spend their money on? No rent or mortgage. No large expenses other than the cars so it could be easy enough to save for one.

sightband wrote: »
    want an honest answer?

theft, scams and drug dealing, not sure in what order but I’d put the drug dealing at the top of the chain of income for them at a guess.

I don't think so The travelers around my way are decent people and if they sold drugs people would know they don't Rob either well I don't think so bits of scrap cable is all

Icsics wrote: »
    They know the social welfare system inside out....the more children the better, every allowance/scheme available & pay for nothing

Not enough to buy brand new cars though it's it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,104 ✭✭✭manonboard

Lots of drugs pass through a couple halting sites i know.

Thats why they have big cars parked in front of the gates all the time? It gives them time in the case of raid and deters thinking about it?

You have a community not known to integrate, with expensive cars, with no public means of obtaining it. It's a pretty tight set up for them. Moving between places and not really known to area. Keep to themselves and they dont need to do much work like the rest of us.

From a self preservation standpoint. It makes alot of sense.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,480 ✭✭✭wexie

Driveways, 'fixing' roofs, etc. still not seeing how a brand new jeep is coming out of it, considering there are legit lads doing it and they're driving bangers.

How much would you say the 'legit' lads pay in taxes and insurance every year?
    What might they be driving if they didn't?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 786 ✭✭✭no.8

Mainly through support of bleeding hearts while draining the hallowed coffers of our welfare system.

Its great that society is becoming less and less tolerant of cheats but there is a long way to go. Get everything to free leads to dependence and 'entitlement' all the while giving nothing back.
    Yep, regardless of we like our government or not, its cutting out fraud that will allow us more money for infrastructure and a better society in general. Sorry, it's Friday...should be more cheerful :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,288 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

The ones I know make money thru working in jobs like the rest of us ... and aren't driving 181 cars either.

Maybe there are a different type where you live.

The ones I know make money thru working in jobs like the rest of us ... and aren't driving 181 cars either.

the point of the thread is those that do drive 181 cars and how they can afford it.

OmegaGene wrote: »
    They have no overheads like utility bills rent/mortgage etc
    If you think a new car is hard to come by for them here you should see the lads in London, they are dripping in gold and a Rolex is a must have for them.
    Constantly wheeling a dealing in the pawnbrokers

When I was living there it was common practice for them to steam into a car park at a large diy chain for example and have 30 caravans there
    When asked to leave they ask for money and if they don’t get it they stay and make one hell of a mess while the eviction is being processed
    Customers see the caravans and the mess and leave straight away

oops, i forgot to mention extortion as another source of income.

They have no overheads like utility bills rent/mortgage etc
    If you think a new car is hard to come by for them here you should see the lads in London, they are dripping in gold and a Rolex is a must have for them.
    Constantly wheeling a dealing in the pawnbrokers

When I was living there it was common practice for them to steam into a car park at a large diy chain for example and have 30 caravans there
    When asked to leave they ask for money and if they don’t get it they stay and make one hell of a mess while the eviction is being processed
    Customers see the caravans and the mess and leave straight away

My sister works in insurance and she says the amount of fraudulent claims they put in is unreal

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,907 ✭✭✭Stephen15

Sure they're all doctors, lawyers and accountants all highly educated and qualified people so they are.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 41,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

I was in university with loads of them. They were headhunted by all the big consultancy firms and banks. They're all on six figure salaries (plus big bonuses) but in fairness they worked hard to get there!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,189 ✭✭✭✭Sleeper12

tedpan wrote:
    Their money?

I was beinging to think that a traveller start the thread. I was wondering what "there money" was. I was looking over there hoping to see some money

Sleeper12 wrote: »
    I was beinging to think that a traveller start the thread. I was wondering what "there money" was. I was looking over there hoping to see some money

No I'm not a traveler just curious were they got there self driving cars hahaha

Sleeper12 wrote: »

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,219 ✭✭✭The_Honeybadger

My sister works in insurance and she says the amount of fraudulent claims they put in is unreal

Snap! Was just about to post this. About two years ago one of them cut in front of me on the motorway and slammed on the brakes, hoping I’d rear end their car. I just about stopped in time, it was an absolutely lethal manoeuvre.

And before anybody asks how I know it was a traveller, there is a halting site less than a kilometre from me, it happened near home and I recognised the car and the person driving it as they are continually on the road with sulkys as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,802 ✭✭✭thegills

The lad that was shot dead recently near Wheatfield Prison was shot in a halting site. It was a grand spot for throwing drugs over the fence AFAIK. I'd imagine there was some sort of user fee there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,189 ✭✭✭✭Sleeper12

mark085 wrote:

Where?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 599 ✭✭✭Needles73

The ones I know make money thru working in jobs like the rest of us.....

Can I genuinely ask what jobs you have seen travellers doing ?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭Riva10

Like Our former Taoiseach Bertie Aherne, they back horses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,430 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

Looks like it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,696 ✭✭✭dhaughton99

Selling dawgs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,696 ✭✭✭dhaughton99

Not enough to buy brand new cars though it's it

If you have 14 kids it will.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,233 ✭✭✭shamrock55

Crooks and scammers the lot of them,the crowd in my town are in court nearly every single wk and nothing happens to them,they all drive uninsured and untaxed cars and vans,and all are claiming social welfare without looking for work which you are ment to be doing when claiming social welfare allowance,i was in the post office the other wk and a young traveller was getting her dole and I **** you not it was 720euro,i nearly ****in fainted when I heard it,they have a fool made of this country and taxpayers,they are nothing but scum who never contribute to society

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 635 ✭✭✭JaCrispy

Parasitism is a relationship between species, where one organism, the parasite, lives on or in another organism, the host, causing it some harm, and is adapted structurally to this way of life. Travellers, lifelong dole merchants....whatever. They're all parasitic by nature.

€720 is probably a months social welfare payment 4 x €180
    How do you know they aren’t looking for work ? Not saying they are just wondered how you know so much about their work situation and you check the l discs up on cars and vans owned by travellers too ?
    Right nosey Parker we have here lol

It's just known about town the things they get up to,as far as I know your dole has to be collected every wk or you'll lose that wk so her payment was wkly,she does have about 4 kids though,plus it's hard to look for a job when your hanging out in paddy powers 24/7

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,494 ✭✭✭PCeeeee

I have always wondered why a community with 80% (if I rem correctly) unemployment have so many comercial vehicles.

And how does one tax such a vehicle if one is unemployed?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,616 ✭✭✭masculinist

d

A disability claim (for yourself a bad one or a regular one for an elderly relative you receive carers allowance for) and a minor alteration to a seat to make it e.g move slightly further back (so you can say its a modified car) can get you a car minus the VRT and VAT taxes etc . How much would that bring the cost down to boss ?
    Then commercial tax can make it cheaper to run. Living in the UK for 1 year or more means you can import a brand new car from there avoiding Irish VRT (or did last time I checked).
    So if you have the time to arse about with disability claims and living abroad , bobs your uncle and fannys your aunt?

Needles73 wrote: »
    The ones I know make money thru working in jobs like the rest of us.....

Can I genuinely ask what jobs you have seen travellers doing ?

I hope these jobs ‘like the rest of us’ aren’t driving taxis or delivering take aways as their navigation skills seem somewhat off, they keep ending up in my garage and back garden while out for an afternoon stroll, script runs something like....”ah there ya are, I was just....”....”get the f*ck off the property now you thieving c*nt”

• Closed Accounts Posts: 484 ✭✭ANDREWMUFC

are you in paddy power 24/7 stalking her or what ?
    having four kids would not get a married couple 720 on the dole btw it was probably dole money and child benefit

Stop defending the travellers ffs you seem very defensive in this thread

Revenue,dont make me laugh,they laugh in the face of revenue,have you ever in your life heard of a traveller being done for owing tax