Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Leo Varadkar boasting about interfering in planning process

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

FG & FF. So alike in every way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 698 ✭✭✭Ajsoprano

Jesus at least fine Fáil let the crumbs fall on the average worker. Apart from that they are the same in every way.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭Jim Bob Scratcher

Leo is Trumps little bitch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,841 ✭✭✭lertsnim

I'd say Leo's spin department were cursing him when he came out with that story. Our Taoiseach is corrupt and he is the one who broke the news.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,921 ✭✭✭buried

The Twitter Brothers.

Make America Get Out of Here

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,593 ✭✭✭Wheeliebin30

Zzzzz im pretty sure hes not that thick to admit corruption in public.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,006 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Well, you’re pretty wrong.

Zebra3 wrote: »
    Well, you’re pretty wrong.

Read the article.

It clearly states he done nothing to intervene in the decision.

The professionally outraged strike again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,904 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Maybe Mick (tax dodge) Wallace might give us his opinion on this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,006 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Read the article.

He admitted that he contacted the council and interfered.

By admitted, of course, I mean, boasted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

Old news it's been around since last year ,and now people are fauxraged.

Some people

Read the article.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,969 ✭✭✭✭alchemist33

Read the article.

How much clearer could it be?
    Speaking at a St Patrick’s Day lunch, Mr Varadkar said he “endeavoured to do" what he could and contacted Clare County Council after the call."

How much clearer could it be?

"It was resolved by the county council rather than by me but it was resolved."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,969 ✭✭✭✭alchemist33

After he contacted the council about it. He interfered in the process.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,165 ✭✭✭Captain Obvious

Are you really going to choose this hill to battle on?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72,207 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

They will be locking Leo in the Enda Cage and keeping him away from the media at this stage.

Gatling wrote: »

Some people

First time I heard of it. Should I not be outraged because somebody else heard of it before?

Come on now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

Ajsoprano wrote: »
    First time I heard of it. Should I not be outraged because somebody else heard of it before?

Come on now

He gave an interview to time magazine last year and brought it up ,
    It's a non issue for me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

A lot of wind farms and solar farms fail to get planning permission.

In this case I think there were 42 objection to the planning.

It bad spin for Leo but he still has credit with people seeing as he is who he is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,901 ✭✭✭✭ted1

What corruption ?
    A minister receives a call from. Concerned business man and looks in to it.

To me that would fall within his remit.

Gatling wrote: »

Some people

Come on now
    What exactly are you outraged about?
    Come on specifically say what you don’t like

Feeling chuffed that Donald credited him with getting the planning refused is totally cringe for a Taoiseach though.

Labour Party and the Green's not happy with Leo's interference with Planning Permissions.

Read the article.

He didn’t admit to interfering , he made enquiries.

Anyway he would be negligent of his duties if he didn’t follow up on concerns from a business man who had legitimate concerns about something that could jeopardise jobs

ted1 wrote: »

We have a planning process. I don’t like having a process where you can ring the Taoiseach and get him to interfere. Who gets to ring him? I bet he wouldn’t answer the phone to me if I had a problem.
    At the very least you have to ask is the office of Taoiseach for sale?

We have a planning process. I don’t like having a process where you can ring the Taoiseach and get him to interfere. Who gets to ring him? I bet he wouldn’t answer the phone to me if I had a problem.
    He didn’t , he rang a minister.

If you employ a hundred odd people in a rural location you can be sure that a minister would pick up the phone to you.

Explain how he interfered? He made enquiries.

Fann Linn wrote: »
    Labour Party and the Green's not happy with Leo's interference with Planning Permissions.
    Are the Labour Party ever happy. Generally oppositions aren’t happy whenever they think they can spin something.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 273 ✭✭Vronsky

Bit rich of them since politicians of all shades make representations in the planning process.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 626 ✭✭✭Bob_Marley

So funny that hypocrite Leo has been exposed making representations on behalf of Trumps private property empire.

If you employ a hundred odd people in a rural location you can be sure that a minister would pick up the phone to you.

When he stopped being a minister did he throw his direct line to trump in the bin?
    If he was interfering then he still is now.

He made enquirers and the issue was resolved.
    Why would trump ring him to just make enquirers? Was it a friendly chat?

Funnily enough a minister was on prime time a couple of years ago caught asking for a few grand to get planning permission for a wind farm.

Now we have a Taoiseach making enquirers into planning permission against a wind farm.

Have we a case where planning permission depends on which minister you back?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 273 ✭✭Vronsky

Rich and powerful people deal with ministers not council workers. It's hardly fair but that's how it is.

There's a certain large factory that when they have problems with their water they are not calling the Irish water call centre, they are calling the minister for the environment to get it fixed.

That's the real world - the rich go straight to the top.

Vronsky wrote: »
    Bit rich of them since politicians of all shades make representations in the planning process.

In fairness to the LP, didn't the Moriarty Inquiry state that they had no underhanded dealings in relation to PP and or payments to politicians?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,921 ✭✭✭buried

Make America Get Out of Here

When he stopped being a minister did he throw his direct line to trump in the bin?
    If he was interfering then he still is now.

He made enquirers and the issue was resolved.
    Why would trump ring him to just make enquirers? Was it a friendly chat?

Funnily enough a minister was on prime time a couple of years ago caught asking for a few grand to get planning permission for a wind farm.

Now we have a Taoiseach making enquirers into planning permission against a wind farm.

Have we a case where planning permission depends on which minister you back?

What minister was in prime time ? I remember a cllr at most a TD.

We didn’t have a Taoiseach making planning enquiries we had a minister who had a legitimate concern from an large employer

Sure. I get ye. Jobs would have been lost if a wind farm was built 4 miles away.
    Wink wink.

Here we are discussing 'pp and big business' by a former Govt minister, and it was that very same person who raised the issue in the first place.
    Not very clever.

Here we are discussing 'pp and big business' by a former Govt minister, and it was that very same person who raised the issue in the first place.
    Not very clever.
    Wind farms are big business too. I’d be concerned if you wee talking about. Pp and small business

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,381 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

he paid what he owed in the end.

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

To the tax man , bank and sub contractors?

Lol no he didn't!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,801 ✭✭✭Roanmore

Paid who?

Story is gathering steam.

Dear oh dear Leo.

Story is gathering steam.

Dear oh dear Leo.
    6 nations on Saturday and paddy’s day. It’ll be as long lived as his jacket scandal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,780 ✭✭✭✭ninebeanrows

Talk about a fuss over nothing!

It's akin to you calling your TD to ask them to not build an incinerator beside your gaff and the TD making the call.

How is this corrupt? What did Leo receive to make it corrupt?

He was looking out for the sector he was in charge of at the time and trying to ensure jobs were secure etc.

It is cringe he tried to boast about it- that is about the sum of the story.

What’s this got to do with Mick Wallace?
    Have we reverted to closing the bunker door and shouting insults at Sinn Fein and the independents.
    Is it time to ask Gerry Adams about the 70s?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,649 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

The way I understood Varadkar's comments is that he was telling a humorous anecdote about 'pretending' to intervene in the planning process on Trump's behalf and get a wind farm halted.

Probably an unwise aside though and I don't think he was fully thinking through the optics of what he has suggesting.

6 nations on Saturday and paddy’s day. It’ll be as long lived as his jacket scandal.

There were no political party's indicating he had questions to answer over his jacket.

He better have been above board here or it could seriously hurt.

The cringe factor of being chuffed because Donald thought he had broken the law for him. Damaging.

Strazdas wrote: »
    The way I understood Varadkar's comments is that he was telling a humorous anecdote about 'pretending' to intervene in the planning process on Trump's behalf and get a wind farm halted.

Probably an unwise aside though and I don't think he was fully thinking through the optics of what he has suggesting.

In allo allo when the wife caught the husband in the wardrobe with the young wan he’d call her a “stupid woman” then give her an excuse like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,519 ✭✭✭Underground

I can't be bothered getting annoyed about this, it's a non-story. Go for a walk or something.