Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Crash repair quotes crazy

• 14-03-2018 9:54pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21

I recently had a tip with a woman when leaving a mechanics, she stopped to let me out then drove as i was pulling out. It was a 2006 passat, front wing damages and bumper scraped, so far cheapest quote was 800 euro, then she picked a place that is 1300 euro, am i being taken for a ride here?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,363 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Unfortunately she is entitled to get it fixed at the place of her choice. However if you think your being taken for a ride or not happy with the quotes then let your insurance handle it. Your insurance company will send out their assessor to inspect the damage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

Proper bodywork repairs aren't cheap unfortunately and while a vehicle depreciated and lessens in value, repIr costs dont drop porportionately, so 2006 is irrelevant, you may as well gave hit a 181.

That and people who would usually avoid a main dealer like the plague when spending their own money will insist on a main dealer repair when spending someone else's and there's really nothing you can do about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 555 ✭✭✭Philb76

bazz26 wrote: »
    Unfortunately she is entitled to get it fixed at the place of her choice. However if you think your being taken for a ride or not happy with the quotes then let your insurance handle it. Your insurance company will send out their assessor to inspect the damage.

1300 euro how much is a 06 passat worth and I genuinely think if insurance got involved they wud write that off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,129 ✭✭✭kirving

Whether it's a Mercedes or a Micra, the biggest cost of the repair will be labour, so it's probably not too far off the mark at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 418 ✭✭Lekrub

When a young one reversed into me I went to 3 places and let her decide if insurance or not.

Cheapest 350 no insurance - up to near 1k I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,102 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

Philb76 wrote: »
    1300 euro how much is a 06 passat worth and I genuinely think if insurance got involved they wud write that off

They write off when the repair is about 50% of the valve. So the OP pays €1300 cash or €2k+ from insurance and have increased premiums for years, either way they are going to pay.

I know it sounds cynical but we all live in the real world and fully understand body repairs done proper can be expensive but a lot of people smell a fast buck usually after someone puts to them that they know a mate with a body shop who will give an invoice for x amount then wen insurance is mentioned oh dont wanna go down that route

Del2005 wrote: »
    They write off when the repair is about 50% of the valve.

It's a write off when the cost to repair (or associated costs to repair) are equal to or greater than the value of the car.

I know the insurance industry is in a state but they aren't writing off €10k cars with €5k worth of damage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 176 ✭✭muckbrien

Lekrub wrote: »
    When a young one reversed into me I went to 3 places and let her decide if insurance or not.

Cheapest 350 no insurance - up to near 1k I think.

If you don't go the insurance route and pay cash, you still have to notify your insurance company to cover yourself

I've been told here that you must then notify subsequent insurers of the incident when renewing even if the claim has since been closed.

Assuming all this is correct is it worth doing it cash at all these days?

Philb76 wrote: »

They may well do on a 12 year old car but either the OP sucks up and pays the 1300 to repair it or else leaves their insurance company handle it. There really isn't a third option. The other party is not obliged to get it done somewhere cheaper that suits the OP's pocket. It sucks but that's how the world works.

It's a write off when the cost to repair (or associated costs to repair) are equal to or greater than the value of the car.

I know the insurance industry is in a state but they aren't writing off €10k cars with €5k worth of damage.

It's 50%,to 60% of the pre crash value when they write off a vehicle and its always been that way. I know its a UK site but Irish insurance is similar to theirs.

https://www.rac.co.uk/drive/advice/know-how/what-is-an-insurance-write-off/

Jpscoles wrote: »
    I recently had a tip with a woman when leaving a mechanics, she stopped to let me out then drove as i was pulling out. It was a 2006 passat, front wing damages and bumper scraped, so far cheapest quote was 800 euro, then she picked a place that is 1300 euro, am i being taken for a ride here?

Did this other driver signal for to you pull out is ur car damaged or of value was it reported to the gards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,412 ✭✭✭✭endacl

bazz26 wrote: »
    Nothing unfortunate about the rules when you're on the other side of the equation...

Of course but there are people out there too who see an opportunity to make money.

Del2005 wrote: »
    It's 50%,to 60% of the pre crash value when they write off a vehicle and its always been that way. I know its a UK site but Irish insurance is similar to theirs.

https://www.rac.co.uk/drive/advice/know-how/what-is-an-insurance-write-off/

Yup, I know of several UK drivers who have had their (lowish value) cars written off for needing a bumper and a respray, and I've seen threads on pistonheads about high value cars being written off for needing a replacement engine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21 Jpscoles

I know tha age of a car doesnt matter etc, but spare parts for passats are plentiful and cheap, i already told them i cant go through insurance, now they are not answering phone barely replying to texts. If i could attach a picture of the damage you would agree 800-1300 is dubious, and the fact she was at fault also is making me feel like just walking away

If you don't mind me saying so, none of this makes sense.

If she is at fault, why are you paying?
    Why can't you go the insurance route?
    You also really need to consider that just because you feel the price is unreasonable, it doesn't mean it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 937 ✭✭✭kerten

I guess other party is expecting a 1300 euro check from you/your insurance and probably fix the car at cheapest place she can find. And she is fully entitled to do that if you are at fault. I would let insurance to deal with it as it is a small amount for a claim and your insurance may not go crazy if you have full ncb and no previous claim etc.

It was not my car, i was collecting it for my mother, i am a named driver, so it would have to be a claim on her insurance and she wont be able to afford insurance if it goes up, so i need to pay cash for it.
    in relation to liability, i believed that me pulling out made me liable as yielding to traffic etc, but in speaking with someone more knowledgeable than myself i was told it could go either way, as her car was stopped as i started moving, AND after the tip she moved her car perfectly into the middle of the road afterwards and took pictures, also tried to get me write a statement admitting liability and signing it. I felt bad as she got into an accident the other side of the passat a month previous and seemed terrified to even call her husband
    but now it seems like i said they are trying to take advantage of me for being nice, when in fact i can just wash my hands of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,388 ✭✭✭ratracer

It was not my car, i was collecting it for my mother, i am a named driver, so it would have to be a claim on her insurance and she wont be able to afford insurance if it goes up, so i need to pay cash for it.
    in relation to liability, i believed that me pulling out made me liable as yielding to traffic etc, but in speaking with someone more knowledgeable than myself i was told it could go either way, as her car was stopped as i started moving, AND after the tip she moved her car perfectly into the middle of the road afterwards and took pictures, also tried to get me write a statement admitting liability and signing it. I felt bad as she got into an accident the other side of the passat a month previous and seemed terrified to even call her husband
    but now it seems like i said they are trying to take advantage of me for being nice, when in fact i can just wash my hands of it.

Be careful OP. You say she has pictures of the crash, so you cannot just ‘wash your hands of it’.
    Were the guards called or notified of the accident? Do either party have any dash cam footage of the incident?
    I would think you will be liable for this, whatever you do don’t just bury you’re head in the sand and ignore it.......this is the pain of the privilege of motoring.
    Good luck with it.

kerten wrote: »
    I guess other party is expecting a 1300 euro check from you/your insurance and probably fix the car at cheapest place she can find. And she is fully entitled to do that if you are at fault. I would let insurance to deal with it as it is a small amount for a claim and your insurance may not go crazy if you have full ncb and no previous claim etc.

That's a good point, let the insurers handle it, that way you know you aren't being shafted, then pay the insurers back the cost of the final repair, you'll get good transparency and I think it won't effect your NCB.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,082 ✭✭✭enricoh

Sounds like the e1300 could be the start of it after reading that. Can you get garage CCTV.
    Was she Irish? A decent sort or a scummer?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,672 ✭✭✭thebiglad

Figure is generally 60% for a write off.

The quote will be subject to change if more damage is found once they start stripping (unless a fixed repair cost is agreed which is unlikely). Then consider that if the insurer writes off the vehicle they can take possession of the car to sell it as salvage (typically 20% of the cars market value) and you are not too far apart.

For the insurer write off is simply a smoother and less hassle process rather than risk of entering the repair process.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,756 ✭✭✭honda boi

I'm pretty sure I was told by my driving instructor(about 8 years ago!) that if someone signals you to come out or go ahead and an accident happens,your at fault or at least partially at fault for telling someone to come out.

honda boi wrote: »
    I'm pretty sure I was told by my driving instructor(about 8 years ago!) that if someone signals you to come out or go ahead and an accident happens,your at fault or at least partially at fault for telling someone to come out.

I never signal or flash anyone

I sometimes wait as a courtesy, but let them make their own decision whether it's safe to move out etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 526 ✭✭✭conor2469

I'd tell her you are going the insurance route and stop engaging with her. The whole thing sounds dodgy, I wouldn't trust her. Tell the insurance company that she stopped to let you out and then proceeded to drive forward into you. Maybe drop into your local Garda station and report the incident too. Then let the insurance companies figure out who is at fault.

you see the pictures she took herself wont corroborate with the pictures i took, when he car was over the other late in a position like she tried to go around me, then contrast to hers when it was perfectly in lane. i called the garage they selected and spoke to the panel beater, he said he would deal with me directly as i dont want to go insurance, he seems like a sound fella

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,106 ✭✭✭dar83

That's a good point, let the insurers handle it, that way you know you aren't being shafted, then pay the insurers back the cost of the final repair, you'll get good transparency and I think it won't effect your NCB.

This!
    you see the pictures she took herself wont corroborate with the pictures i took, when he car was over the other late in a position like she tried to go around me, then contrast to hers when it was perfectly in lane. i called the garage they selected and spoke to the panel beater, he said he would deal with me directly as i dont want to go insurance, he seems like a sound fella

Do what is mentioned above. Go through insurance in this instance, whatever you do! Then arrange with the insurance to pay them back whatever the settlement cost was and it shouldn't affect your renewal. It's the smart move here as too many things sound off with what's going on.

dar83 wrote: »
    This!

Do what is mentioned above. Go through insurance in this instance, whatever you do! Then arrange with the insurance to pay them back whatever the settlement cost was and it shouldn't affect your renewal. It's the smart move here as too many things sound off with what's going on.

It won't affect your NCB if protected but it will affect the renewal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,106 ✭✭✭dar83

Cheers, I went with renewal and thought NCB and nearly switched it before I posted but decided to go with gut. :P

Makes sense though, technically you have had an accident that you would need to declare, but you've cleared the claim yourself so no effect on your NCB.

dar83 wrote: »
    Cheers, I went with renewal and thought NCB and nearly switched it before I posted but decided to go with gut. :P

Makes sense though, technically you have had an accident that you would need to declare, but you've cleared the claim yourself so no effect on your NCB.

That's the discount you get from your premium protected. Having a crash will increase your risk and most likely increase your premium.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,464 ✭✭✭Ultimate Seduction

I'd avoid the insurance, there is now doubt your premium will increase. Probably will anyway when the whiplash claim gets through..

This sounds like the OP is being setup. Called out of a junction then they move, after the crash moving their car for better picture. No doubt there will be a whiplash claim soon.

OP contact your insurance and send them your pictures and say you suspect they are going to make a fraudulent claim. You are responsible for the damage to the car and hopefully that's all they claim for.