Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Man cleared of murdering trespasser in home with garden shears

• 14-03-2018 3:06pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,119 ✭✭✭

Martin Keenan has been cleared of murdering Wesley Mooney after finding the latter in his mobile home, after returning with his wife, and stabbing Mooney with half a garden shears.

The case was the first test of the Defence and the Dwelling Act.

Irish Times - Man found not guilty of murdering trespasser

Is this case a turning point in how Ireland sees the defence of the home?

Personally I am glad Mr. Keenan has been cleared, as I feel that one should have the right to defend home and family.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,057 ✭✭✭.......

Even with the law as it currently is I can't believe he got off with it. Doesn't sound like a scared-for-your-life situation. Though hopefully all such cases will have the same result.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,819 ✭✭✭howamidifferent

Hopefully a few more like this will put some manners on the roaming thugs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,472 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

Just reading the details of that case. It's messed up.

....... wrote: »
    I'd like a bit more forensic information. Seems like he followed him or was just lucky the shears were on hand. And having the weapon for a while. Just rings a bit hollow to me.
    Still glad he got off though and hopefully it's the start of a trend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,420 ✭✭✭splinter65

Grayson wrote: »

Pretty confusing ok. Getting the impression these people all knew one another anyway?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,554 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

Gravelly wrote: »
    Martin Keenan has been cleared of murdering Wesley Mooney after finding the latter in his mobile home, after returning with his wife, and stabbing Mooney with half a garden shears.

The case was the first test of the Defence and the Dwelling Act.

Irish Times - Man found not guilty of murdering trespasser

Personally I am glad Mr. Keenan has been cleared, as I feel that one should have the right to defend home and family.

Mr. Keenan, leaving the Courthouse today..

BZao7vaCAAAP6tn.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

I hate condoning murder..but on the other hand..dont trespass into poeple's home and then you won't be murdered so can't say I've a lot of sympathy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,671 ✭✭✭GarIT

It’s a great result for justice. Everyone should have the right to kill anyone that has broken into their home even if they are trying to flee.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Tis a pity most people who break and enter are desperate junkies and thickos who have no sense of self preservation and therefore will not be remotely bothered by such a judgement. Lets face it most of them hardly know what news is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

You'd want to be on some serious gear to think burgling a caravan in Dunsink Lane is a good idea.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,121 ✭✭✭amcalester

wakka12 wrote: »
    I hate condoning murder..but on the other hand..dont trespass into poeple's home and then you won't be murdered so can't say I've a lot of sympathy

Don't worry you're not condoning murder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,119 ✭✭✭Gravelly

FTA69 wrote: »
    You'd want to be on some serious gear to think burgling a caravan in Dunsink Lane is a good idea.

It does speak of a certain reckless bravery, bordering on the completely and utterly batshït insane alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,862 ✭✭✭Mysterypunter

amcalester wrote: »
    Don't worry you're not condoning murder.

It wasn't murder, the chap had a right to defend himself in his own caravan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 115 ✭✭Uboat

Martin Keenan is a good man.
    I hope that he and his family will live in peace from this day on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,628 ✭✭✭darkdubh

I don't think it's the first case to be tried under this law though. Wasn't there a similar case in Kilkenny a few years ago where someone got off under this act?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,121 ✭✭✭amcalester

It wasn't murder, the chap had a right to defend himself in his own caravan

I know, so that poster wasn't condoning murder. I was just clarifying that for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,982 ✭✭✭Caliden

darkdubh wrote: »
    I don't think it's the first case to be tried under this law though. Wasn't there a similar case in Kilkenny a few years ago where someone got off under this act?

Not according to the article anyway.

"A 20-year-old Dubliner has been cleared of murdering a trespasser in his home by stabbing him with half a garden shears in the first murder case defended under the Defence and the Dwelling Act"

Tis a pity most people who break and enter are desperate junkies and thickos who have no sense of self preservation and therefore will not be remotely bothered by such a judgement. Lets face it most of them hardly know what news is.

This image of burglars being helpless drug addicts is out of date to be honest.

It’s a very well oiled and skilled profession at this stage. Probably just the characters you describe that actually get caught

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,839 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Hopefully a few more like this will put some manners on the roaming thugs.

Mr. Keenan's neighbours hopefully.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

This image of burglars being helpless drug addicts is out of date to be honest.

It’s a very well oiled and skilled profession at this stage. Probably just the characters you describe that actually get caught

Maybe but they still won't be disuaded by this.

If there are several cases where householders defend their property and family with violence, that leads to death or serious injury for the intruder, and the courts look sympathetically on the householder, it might begin to sink in. The problem at the moment is that the intruder has little to dissuade him, as the sentences being handed down by the courts are laughable. Once the thought is planted that burglary comes with real risks, it might become less attractive.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭Jim Bob Scratcher

FTA69 wrote: »

Wasn't the other guy a traveler too ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,862 ✭✭✭Mysterypunter

amcalester wrote: »
    I know, so that poster wasn't condoning murder. I was just clarifying that for him.

Yep, quoted the wrong post, sorry. The lad that was killed wasn't there for a cup of tea and a cake.

Wasn't the other guy a traveler too ?

That's not the impression I got - the defence team seemed to play on the fact that the defendant was a traveller for sympathy, and I presume they wouldn't have done that if the other guy was too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

The case itself doesn't open the door for people to beat seven shades out of intruders or to "defend" their property using force.

The basic test of reasonable force still applies. So if someone is in your house and you attack them, you're on the hook for a criminal charge.

What the 2011 act did is remove the requirement for a homeowner to retreat first rather than confront and intruder or defend themselves. In this case the defence's contention was that the homeowner was attacked and was merely defending himself. Before the 2011 act, the defence would have had to show why the defendent didn't or couldn't flee when they found someone in their house.

So if you find someone in your house and they stop, put their hands up and say, "I don't want any trouble", there's little you can do but call the gardai. You can't pull out a gun and shoot them in the back. Or the chest.

In any case, I wouldn't be shedding a tear for the deceased in this case;
    https://www.herald.ie/news/courts/dad-walks-free-after-threat-to-kill-ex-and-baby-28013724.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

If there are several cases where householders defend their property and family with violence, that leads to death or serious injury for the intruder, and the courts look sympathetically on the householder, it might begin to sink in. The problem at the moment is that the intruder has little to dissuade him, as the sentences being handed down by the courts are laughable. Once the thought is planted that burglary comes with real risks, it might become less attractive.

Or don't leave witnesses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Fair play. Good law well implemented.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,561 ✭✭✭✭Varik

darkdubh wrote: »

1 intruder died and another injured, they didn't charge the guy and they mentioned the change in law was the main reason they didn't bring charges.
    seamus wrote: »
    The case itself doesn't open the door for people to beat seven shades out of intruders or to "defend" their property using force.

The basic test of reasonable force still applies. So if someone is in your house and you attack them, you're on the hook for a criminal charge.

What the 2011 act did is remove the requirement for a homeowner to retreat first rather than confront and intruder or defend themselves. In this case the defence's contention was that the homeowner was attacked and was merely defending himself. Before the 2011 act, the defence would have had to show why the defendent didn't or couldn't flee when they found someone in their house.

So if you find someone in your house and they stop, put their hands up and say, "I don't want any trouble", there's little you can do but call the gardai. You can't pull out a gun and shoot them in the back. Or the chest.

Also changed it to what you believe is reasonable force and as with the death in Kilkenny there wasn't even charges brought. A lot harder to prove what someone believed or not, and "I don't want any trouble" isn't going to allay most people fears if face with an intruder.
    A court or jury may not assess if such a belief was justified or not, only whether it was honestly held. However, in doing so, they may consider whether the accused had reasonable grounds for believing force was necessary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,190 ✭✭✭✭Sleeper12

Gravelly wrote:

This isn't the first time this happened. There was a case where a farmer shot a traveller on his land. Its the first time under legislation brought in after the farmer case.

Great result. Its proper order that you can defend yourself and your family, with deadly force if needed in your own home.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭bigpink

Very strange case they knew each other I have a feeling

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,381 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

If there are several cases where householders defend their property and family with violence, that leads to death or serious injury for the intruder, and the courts look sympathetically on the householder, it might begin to sink in.

unlikely. what's probably more likely is they will go to burgle armed to the teeth.
    The problem at the moment is that the intruder has little to dissuade him, as the sentences being handed down by the courts are laughable. Once the thought is planted that burglary comes with real risks, it might become less attractive.

they may also decide the risks are worth it and insure they are able to mitagate against the risks.

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

unlikely. what's probably more likely is they will go to burgle armed to the teeth.

Many of them already do. Those that don't probably don't because they can't get their hands on weaponry, rather than out of some gentlemanly desire to keep the playing pitch level.
    they may also decide the risks are worth it and insure they are able to mitagate against the risks.

May, might, possibly. The old law didn't protect the homeowner, the new one does. That's all there is to it really.

Sleeper12 wrote: »
    This isn't the first time this happened. There was a case where a farmer shot a traveller on his land. Its the first time under legislation brought in after the farmer case.

Great result. Its proper order that you can defend yourself and your family, with deadly force if needed in your own home.

I'm aware of that case, however this is the first time a defendant has used the new law in their defence, and, thankfully, it worked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

So your man was invited into the dwelling is that correct?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,543 ✭✭✭facehugger99

I'm not in favour of a frontier justice style system in this country, but one should be able to defend their own home and family with whatever force is deemed appropriate. Up to and including lethal force.

Loved that - they were invited to the caravan by a mystery man who apparently then disappeared, and was never called as a witness, they then rummaged through the cupboards and "waited" in the bedroom. Sounds totally legit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 176 ✭✭muckbrien

Grayson wrote: »

It's shear madness

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭mynamejeff

Traveller kills travelller and uses a law to protect people from travellers to get off

crafty

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

So your man was invited into the dwelling is that correct?
    Some random traveller invited Mooney & co in for a drink, and said random traveller then went to the offie to get the drink.

Wait, what?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

I'm guessing they smelt copper?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 29 Rerto

Good judgement. Home invaders deserve everything they get.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

I'll reserve my praise for the new Act until it's proven it will be used to protect every type of homeowner.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 790 ✭✭✭baylah17

GarIT wrote: »
    It’s a great result for justice. Everyone should have the right to kill anyone that has broken into their home even if they are trying to flee.
    That is not what the law allows
    That would lead to a murder conviction

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,671 ✭✭✭GarIT

baylah17 wrote: »
    That is not what the law allows
    That would lead to a murder conviction

That's why I said should have the right to not does have.

I believe if someone has broken into your home and is still inside your property you should be entitled to shoot them in the back of the head as they try to run away.

I think the home should be treated as sacred and protected within the law. Breaking into somebodys home is only beaten in terms of seriousness by, murder, manslaughter, rape and pedophilia. If you catch somebody breaking into your home you should own them, you should be allowed to do what you want to them without the law getting involved. If you want to stop a burglar leaving your home so you can beat them for longer that's totally acceptable in my books.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

The Healy Raes will be delighted BUT that photo speaks worlds.