Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fecking Dubs

• 13-03-2018 10:10pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68 ✭✭

Why does everyone in Ireland hate the Dubs?

Are they jealous of them or do they have legitimate reasons?

If the latter, what are they?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,575 ✭✭✭AllForIt

I wouldn't say I hate them, hate is a strong word, rather I'd say I despise them with every fibre of my being.

Edit: I don't really...as somone said below its a stupid thread so I gave a stupid answer complete with sphelling mishtakes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68 ✭✭dasdenny

AllForIt wrote: »
    I wouldn't say I hate them, hate is a strong word, rather I'd say I despise them with every fibre of my being.

Ha awesome, for why though?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,992 ✭✭✭Mongfinder General

How’s your Ma, is your Da working?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭Jim Bob Scratcher

Up Da Dubs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 756 ✭✭✭Vita nova

Stupid thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Fecking culchies

I really shouldn't be here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,031 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

Feck off back to Cork ya squeaky bollix

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68 ✭✭dasdenny

Vita nova wrote: »
    Stupid thread

Says the wanna-be from Wicklow...oh no I didn't :pac:;);)

Never really got on with dubs to be honest, feel like im in another country when im in Dublin. Now ive gotten on with Dubs that have moved to Kilkenny and have been here for years , lovely people. However whenever I meet dubs, there's is always a huge disconnect.

I hate the city to be fair, its miles away from anything I see at home, reality shock I suppose, seen a guy legit od on moore street once....culture shock. Maybe its an unconscious bias I have

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,819 ✭✭✭liam7831

Stupid thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 653 ✭✭✭Gonad

In the press , recently ! There’s been a load of ****e about boyzone breaking up in the year 2000

We’re dubliners , we’re irish and we will be around for a very long time !

• Administrators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,778 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭hullaballoo

I don't know why Dubs are so hated but I have experienced it first hand.

I lived in Cork while I was a student and I had a few occasions where I was hounded out of bars and clubs and one where I was given a bit of a seeing to by a group of lads for being a Dub. It was a bit nasty, the level of vitriol simply down to a hatred of Dubs.

On the other hand, I found that the women of Cork were quite the opposite and had a bit of a penchant in favour of Dubs.

The gas thing is that I'm not from Dublin at all.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,628 ✭✭✭darkdubh

dasdenny wrote: »

Having their houses burgled by them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,180 ✭✭✭RiderOnTheStorm

Take a drive from Dublin to any other city in Ireland, and you will go from 5 lanes, to 4 then 2 and then somewhere in the midland you will be on a main road with no cats eyes and no markings. The further you get from Dublin the less money is spent.

Dubliners think they ARE Ireland. To the extent that when they "discover" a new town, they have to explain to others wherever is, because if they never heard of it, then no one else could.

When any radio station is broadcasting (from Dublin) and the weather report comes on, they say stuff like "its hot/cold/windy out there" .... Like, the weather could not be different on any part of the island. When doing an outside broadcast they say stuff like "its hot/cold here in x". Why not say that when in Dublin?

Public transport. So many options avail in Dublin, and they always complain. The only PT here in non-Dublin is busses & trains TO Dublin. Try going from Cork to Galway, or Kerry to Sligo.

Good broadband is 5 to 10k (and it costs a fortune)

If there is a strike in Dublin, its all over the news.

If there is bad weather in Dublin, its all over the news

..... and then there is the accent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,204 ✭✭✭Kitty6277

Take a drive from Dublin to any other city in Ireland, and you will go from 5 lanes, to 4 then 2 and then somewhere in the midland you will be on a main road with no cats eyes and no markings. The further you get from Dublin the less money is spent.

Dubliners think they ARE Ireland. To the extent that when they "discover" a new town, they have to explain to others wherever is, because if they never heard of it, then no one else could.

When any radio station is broadcasting (from Dublin) and the weather report comes on, they say stuff like "its hot/cold/windy out there" .... Like, the weather could not be different on any part of the island. When doing an outside broadcast they say stuff like "its hot/cold here in x". Why not say that when in Dublin?

Public transport. So many options avail in Dublin, and they always complain. The only PT here in non-Dublin is busses & trains TO Dublin. Try going from Cork to Galway, or Kerry to Sligo.

If there is a strike in Dublin, its all over the news.

If there is bad weather in Dublin, its all over the news

..... and then there is the accent

My thoughts exactly

Is there anything to be said for another mass....

Biscuit or cake

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,986 ✭✭✭WesternZulu

I think it's the accent. Dubs would be a lot more tolerable if they didn't speak in either of their two insufferable accents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,791 ✭✭✭corks finest

Definitely not jealous of them,I mean why?as a Corkman more than happy with my neck of the woods, especially as a ccfc fan,now if I was a dub/rovers fan, wouldn't be happy atall

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,791 ✭✭✭corks finest

Definitely not jealous of them,I mean why?as a Corkman more than happy with my neck of the woods, especially as a ccfc fan,now if I was a dub/rovers fan, wouldn't be happy atall

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

I try not to paint them all with the same brush

I really try

• Closed Accounts Posts: 822 ✭✭✭zetalambda

I love Dublin. It's one of my favorite cities to fly over.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 720 ✭✭✭DrGreenthumb

North men, South men, comrades all
    Dublin, Belfast, Cork and Donegal
    We're on the one road swinging along
    Singing a soldier's song

Sure aren't we all Irish anyhow

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,402 ✭✭✭nxbyveromdwjpg

The money is spent where it will have the maximum value, ie: more people need it.

See above.

The answer is the same as above as well but more extreme - who are you expecting to pay for all that fibre optic cable to the middle of nowhere? If any one of the providers thought there was enough potential custom to make it a worthwhile investment it would be done already.

The above parts of your post read more like complaints about life outside Dublin (and who could blame you!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 398 ✭✭DanMurphy

I served with Dubs in the Leb and witnessed them in action once or twice.

Jeez, dem boyos can fight!

TG they were on our side!

Great respect for them.

C'mon A Company!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

I don't like dubs ..prefer subtitles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,236 ✭✭✭Dr. Kenneth Noisewater

DanMurphy wrote: »
    I served with Dubs in the Leb and witnessed them in action once or twice.

Jeez, dem boyos can fight!

TG they were on our side!

Great respect for them.

C'mon A Company!

My Dad was in the 6 Inf Bn, Western Brigade. Served in the Leb 7 times. Reckons most of the Dubs were all right, albeit in small doses for some of them. Think you're embellishing them a little, or else you're a Dub yourself!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 568 ✭✭✭rgodard80a

Sounds like you need more fibre in your diet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,840 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

North men, South men, comrades all
    Dublin, Belfast, Cork and Donegal
    We're on the one road swinging along
    Singing a soldier's song

Sure aren't we all Irish anyhow

And, of course, that song was written by an Englishman.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,236 ✭✭✭Dr. Kenneth Noisewater

Derry is literally the only city on the island that isn't Motorway or Dual Carriageway the whole way to Dublin.

Why exactly would I be jealous of Dubs living in their overcrowded concrete jungle? No offence to them but im happier where i am thank you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 869 ✭✭✭Icemancometh

Derry is literally the only city on the island that isn't Motorway or Dual Carriageway the whole way to Dublin.

Kilkenny?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,623 ✭✭✭the_pen_turner

Kilkenny?
    i think you need to get a new map. motorway the whole way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 869 ✭✭✭Icemancometh

i think you need to get a new map. motorway the whole way

Last time I went the last bit is single carriageway on the N10. Maybe it's been upgraded.

i think the reason for the hatred for dublin is that everything is centered around it and all the locals think they are the only one that are important.

look at any threads that are opened asking where to get x or y. if there is no location given then is probably a dublin person forgetting there is a whole country outside dublin

Last time I went the last bit is single carriageway on the N10. Maybe it's been upgraded.

my apoligies. there is 5-6 km between kilkenny and the motoryway

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭dd972

Maybe it's the capital city centre-of-the-universe complex but there are Dubliner's who are really obnoxious, arrogant f**kers, met a few in my time, obviously unpleasant people can be found everywhere, but with the ones I've met the 'Dubliness' is an intrinsic part of their nastiness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭Titzon Toast

My god, there are some sad ****es posting in this thread.
    I guarantee you that most of the people complaining about Dubs have never even been to Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

Anyone remember a techno song from 90's by a female culchie who was in love with a dub?

EDIT: Nevermind, I found it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 398 ✭✭DanMurphy

My Dad was in the 6 Inf Bn, Western Brigade. Served in the Leb 7 times. Reckons most of the Dubs were all right, albeit in small doses for some of them. Think you're embellishing them a little, or else you're a Dub yourself!

No. I was a 4 Bde man myself in the day, (6 Inf Bn too)
    Maybe I served with your Dad?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 290 ✭✭kuntboy

Will you ridiculous boggers give up the bleedin chip on your shoulder FFS.

WE run this country. We are the REAL Ireland. Deal with it.

Lol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,347 ✭✭✭✭Grayditch

I'm not really a fan to be honest. And I am one. Still rather be an oblivious Dub than from Cork with insecurities, though.

I feel an affinity with Wexford so maybe I'll end up there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,763 ✭✭✭Muckie

Grew up in the countryside, close to a small town.

When I left school, I moved to Dublin with a classmate when I was 19 to get work.

I been living in Dublin ever since (been here 24 years!), even picked up with a Dublin woman.

One of the things I really like about the "dubs" is they never asked me who my Dad is, they didn't care, they just wanted to know if I could do my job and was alright.

It was a pleasant surprise, down home if you weren't a shop keepers son or a farmers son you didn't matter so much.

Hope the Dubs win the all Ireland again this year :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭Hector Bellend

dd972 wrote: »
    Maybe it's the capital city centre-of-the-universe complex but there are Dubliner's who are really obnoxious, arrogant f**kers, met a few in my time, obviously unpleasant people can be found everywhere, but with the ones I've met the 'Dubliness' is an intrinsic part of their nastiness.

Of course, all Irish people from outside Dublin are all immune from these qualities of which you speak.

I've never met an obnoxious country person in my life. All well balanced and fair minded people who would never resort to petty generalizations.

Besides, I've often wondered that as there is so much bitterness and begrudgery from culchies towards Dubs, why do so many of them live here.

You'd think they'd go back to the sprawling metropolis from which they came.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,359 ✭✭✭jon1981

Up the bleeding Dubs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭Hector Bellend

Why exactly would I be jealous of Dubs living in their overcrowded concrete jungle? No offence to them but im happier where i am thank you.

Thank god for that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

Wow. Some very sad people here. Gonna guess on this one.
    You hate because : dubs are gonna remain unbeaten in the football for a long time so you're sore about that
    Or
    Your partner/ wife/husband fecked off on you for a dub.
    Either way us dubs don't give a ****e. Jealousy is a sickness and we really hope you get better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

Crack addled poxbottles the bleedin lot of them. Walking around in their stylish clothes and all their money making well timed witty remarks. Bunch of fu(kin spas. Thinking their great because women from outside the pale get moist between the legs when they lay down their poxy charm and patter. Smug c*nts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,552 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

Im not sure who I dislike more, culchies or dubs. I'll let you know when I figure it out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,776 ✭✭✭el diablo

Grayson wrote: »
    Im not sure who I dislike more, culchies or dubs. I'll let you know when I figure it out.

Don't bother. Nobody cares.

Orange pilled.