Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Roman Catholic Church 'an empire of misogyny' - McAleese

• 08-03-2018 11:14am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭

McAleese not holding back in her press conference this morning. Her conference speech later today should be interesting.

https://www.rte.ie/news/2018/0308/945846-mary-mcaleese-church/

http://www.thejournal.ie/mary-mcaleese-catholic-church-3891496-Mar2018/

It surprises me how much support the church gets from women even though they are clearly 2nd class citizens in the eyes of the church. The current pope has ruled our women priests on theology grounds.
    “I believe that women should be ordained, I believe the theology on which that is based is pure codology. I’m not even going to be bothered arguing it. Sooner or later it’ll fall apart, fall asunder under its own dead weight.”
    The Why Women Matter conference, organised by Voices of Faith to mark International Women’s Day, made headlines last month after it emerged that the Vatican barred McAleese and another speaker from taking part in the event.

The conference was due to take place in the Holy See, but organisers moved the location so the barred speakers could take part.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,809 ✭✭✭Hector Savage

I agree with her, but I wish she would be consistent and mention certain other religions that treat women worse than the RCC ever did ...
    The day that's in it and all, think of the millions of women across the world that will be forced to wear binbags for the day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39,022 ✭✭✭✭Permabear

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,417 ✭✭✭WinnyThePoo

I agree with her, but I wish she would be consistent and mention certain other religions that treat women worse than the RCC ever did ...
    The day that's in it and all, think of the millions of women across the world that will be forced to wear binbags for the day.

This is Ireland. You want her to talk about Muslims?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 695 ✭✭✭Havockk

Permabear wrote: »
    This post had been deleted.

She's wrong how?

Not embarrassing at all, she's spot on on both assertions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,516 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

She should probably say something similar to her husband after his disgraceful "report" let the orders involved in the magdalene laundries completely off the hook

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,205 ✭✭✭✭hmmm

It's such a waste of human potential when you hear smart people spending their time discussing sky fairies, and the merits of witchdoctors dressed up in frocks spraying chickens blood/incense everywhere.

VinLieger wrote: »
    She should probably say something similar to her husband after his disgraceful "report" let the orders involved in the magdalene laundries completely off the hook

At least you're not wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,809 ✭✭✭Hector Savage

This is Ireland in 2018, an Ireland that is fast changing, the RCC is dying and the Islam religion will only grow - exponentially.

We just got rid of one repressive regime, let's nip another in the bud please by being honest.

Her son is standing for election for FF and was canvassing today with Sean O'Rourke. She's doing the same.

This is Ireland in 2018, an Ireland that is fast changing, the RCC is dying and the Islam religion will only grow - exponentially.

We just got rid of one repressive regime, let's nip another in the bud please by being honest.

You're worried that once we all throw off the yoke of religion that we would just pick up another variety of it?

Hahaha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,839 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Her son is standing for election for FF and was canvassing today with Sean O'Rourke. She's doing the same.

Played the gay card nice and early too...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 359 ✭✭Experience_day

Havockk wrote: »
    You're worried that once we all throw off the yoke of religion that we would just pick up another variety of it?

Yes.

I would be anyway looking at our neighbouring country and the rate of growth they have experienced. Only an idiot would think we would not face the same...

The census showed a 28.9% rise from 2011-2016....

And yes I think its hypocritical of her to not address other religions. For someone so open to globalisation and loving all and everything, she doesn't half pick and choose....

padd b1975 wrote: »
    Played the gay card nice and early too...

Whats sauce for FG is sauce for FF??!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,690 ✭✭✭✭Skylinehead

She's speaking at a Catholic conference and you want her to talk about de Muslims? What?

Context man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,839 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

She's speaking at a Catholic conference and you want her to talk about de Muslims? What?

Context man.

It's also International Women's Day.

I would have thought that would rank much higher than a Roman Catholic talking shop around these parts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,671 ✭✭✭dav3

She's at a conference in Rome on Catholic women's rights. What else would she be talking about?

The conference is traditionally held in the Vatican itself.

But it is moving to another location in Rome outside the Vatican walls this year after a conservative US cardinal requested that three gay rights campaigners, including Mrs McAleese, be excluded from the programme.

Irish-born US cardinal Kevin Farrell, a senior Vatican official, said it was "not appropriate" for the three to be taking part in the conference.

A great bunch of lads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭Nettle Soup

She said she asked the Archbishop of Dublin for the relevant "proof" and studied them in great detail. Her conclusion was it was nonsense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,106 ✭✭✭Christy42

padd b1975 wrote: »
    It's also International Women's Day.

I would have thought that would rank much higher than a Roman Catholic talking shop around these parts.

She is also talking about women in the Catholic church. In a Catholic conference on international women's day. I am really confused as to how you can get more appropriate for the context than that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Today is INTERNATIONAL WOMANS DAY. She is speaking at an International Womens Day event. The event is not even in Ireland.

Wow.

She is speaking at a Catholic event on International Women's Day... (Indeed a Catholic event that focuses on women)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,341 ✭✭✭emo72

Wow.

That's a really bad counter argument. And a little belittling.

emo72 wrote: »
    That's a really bad counter argument. And a little belittling.

I have reread the post and you'll be disappointed to find out. My research has concluded that the post In question is utterly fantastic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,460 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

She is right.

But she playing cards to make herself look good too. Way it is I guess these days

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,182 ✭✭✭demfad

Parroting far right disinformation about imminent Sharia Law etc. is not honest: it is dishonest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,472 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

I don't think you know what the word exponential means.

Also, there's a couple of million catholics in the country, they own nearly every school and a feck loads of hospitals. If you want to talk about religion in Ireland and try to make the conversation about islam, you really have a one track mind.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,070 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn

hmmm wrote: »
    It's such a waste of human potential when you hear smart people spending their time discussing sky fairies, and the merits of witchdoctors dressed up in frocks spraying chickens blood/incense everywhere.

Edgy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,182 ✭✭✭demfad

McAleese not holding back in her press conference this morning. Her conference speech later today should be interesting.

http://www.thejournal.ie/mary-mcaleese-catholic-church-3891496-Mar2018/

It surprises me how much support the church gets from women even though they are clearly 2nd class citizens in the eyes of the church. The current pope has ruled our women priests on theology grounds.

It surprises me how much any of us support the church given the criminal way they have badly hurt many thousands of our children and covered it up.
    They should be expunged from all involvement in society starting with control of institutions where young people attend like schools etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭Chrongen

Yes.

I would be anyway looking at our neighbouring country and the rate of growth they have experienced. Only an idiot would think we would not face the same...

The census showed a 28.9% rise from 2011-2016....

And yes I think its hypocritical of her to not address other religions. For someone so open to globalisation and loving all and everything, she doesn't half pick and choose....

In other words Muslims went from 1% to 1.3% of the population. By comparison those who identified as non religious increased from 25% to 44% (of the population) from 2005 to 2012 and 10% of the population identify as convinced atheists.

I think you're safe enough from the Muslim hoards.

demfad wrote: »
    It surprises me how much any of us support the church given the criminal way they have badly hurt many thousands of our children and covered it up.
    They should be expunged from all involvement in society starting with control of institutions where young people attend like schools etc.

They should. The RCC really are just now a money whoring business and it really should be more a choice if people want follow it rather then it thrown down your face like it was when I went school

demfad wrote: »

i don't get how any religion can have that amount of control over state institutions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭Roger_007

If Mary McAleese doesn't agree with how the Church is run, why doesn't she vote with her feet and get the hell out of it?
    If I was a member of an organisation the treated me badly or didn't respect me, I would just leave.
    Sometimes you have to stop whinging and take action!

She still goes to mass every week? Then she can **** off.

Roger_007 wrote: »
    If Mary McAleese doesn't agree with how the Church is run, why doesn't she vote with her feet and get the hell out of it?
    If I was a member of an organisation the treated me badly or didn't respect me, I would just leave.
    Sometimes you have to stop whinging and take action!

Many people try and change organisations they are in for the better. Strange I know. Interestingly enough some of these organisations have ended up improving as a result!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,006 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

According to Christian mythology, Jaysus was killed on the Friday and he magically reappeared from the dead on the Sunday which was two days later.

Seems like you don’t know much about it yourself.

As an aside, I don’t get this whole ascension thing. Back in the day, people were conned into believing that heaven was up in the sky. Now we know that’s not the case.

So have Christians come up with some other explanation now that that lie has been exposed?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 359 ✭✭Experience_day

Chrongen wrote: »
    In other words Muslims went from 1% to 1.3% of the population. By comparison those who identified as non religious increased from 25% to 44% (of the population) from 2005 to 2012 and 10% of the population identify as convinced atheists.

This is why Trump et all has happened. Because people dismiss peoples concerns.

Yes the population is small but they are already showing themselves to be fairly vocal, and in spite of a lack of post colonial barriers, already have shown problems integrating.

And you'll note, the population spread of "other religions" according to the census is already showing as being distinctly uneven with high concentrations in Dublin.

Not to mention the fact our neighbour has approx 3m statistically fertile adherents. Unless we don't figure there might be fall out post brexit or that people can move within our beloved EU? Are we not told of a 1m increase in a population?

But again this is getting away from the point....mary bludgeoned (rightly or wrongly) the catholic church whilst ignoring other religions whom have a far worse stance than simply not letting someone become a priest. And the fact she did, and the likes of you don't see an issue shows the underlying problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,379 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

She has a degree in canon law and is studying for a doctorate?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,775 ✭✭✭✭Gbear

You're not wrong but this is the basis of all religion in the West.

People aren't looking for something that makes sense.

They're looking for the trappings of religion - community, culture and something to soothe fears about death, both their own and that of others.

It's not for people trying to figure out reality. It's for people who are trying to avoid doing so, so they can get on with other things.

When there's a conflict and reality wins, they chisel another section of doctrine away but they don't stop to examine the whole and see if it's still coherent or recognisable.

This is why Trump et all has happened. Because people dismiss peoples concerns.

Yes the population is small but they are already showing themselves to be fairly vocal, and in spite of a lack of post colonial barriers, already have shown problems integrating.

And you'll note, the population spread of "other religions" according to the census is already showing as being distinctly uneven with high concentrations in Dublin.

Not to mention the fact our neighbour has approx 3m statistically fertile adherents. Unless we don't figure there might be fall out post brexit or that people can move within our beloved EU? Are we not told of a 1m increase in a population?

But again this is getting away from the point....mary bludgeoned (rightly or wrongly) the catholic church whilst ignoring other religions whom have a far worse stance than simply not letting someone become a priest. And the fact she did, and the likes of you don't see an issue shows the underlying problem.

Are we still missing the point of this being an event focused on catholic women? Seems like you want her to go fairly off topic. I mean plenty of people gave speeches against Irish water but they all seemed to ignore the much bigger water issues in some poorer nations! Or you know they were focusing on Ireland because that was the topic at hand like the catholic church was the topic at hand here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 911 ✭✭✭Mebuntu

This woman (like her similarly arrogant predecessor) is so full of herself. The epitome of pontification.

I'm no longer a member of the organisation in question- its rules and regulations and general carry-on is not my cup of tea so I left. If she doesn't like the rules then it's high time for a McAl-Exit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,586 ✭✭✭4068ac1elhodqr

Chrongen wrote: »

Currently 1.4%. But 4.3% estimated by 2050, along (unsurprisingly) with sharp rises in 'non-believers' or 'atheists' globally.

Currently Europe has 5% overall, but (moderate) 2050 estimates are for:
    Sweden: 20.5%
    France: 17.4%
    UK: 16.7%
    Ita: 12.7%

Nothing wrong with that as such, but Mary should also focus on discussion or reformation of some of their ideologies if they're to integrated successfully in the EU.

She is a canon lawyer. That's mentioned in the link.

Surely it's up to the Roman church to outline their valid reasons such a backward and misogynistic stance in 2018. The new shiny pope repeated it will not happen on his watch.

If the Vatican could make Women Priests, let Priests marry and let people use Condoms in Africa they be well on way to some bit of redemption.

Will be waiting a while I know

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Whore of Babylon!

Rules like that are based on testament and tradition. In this case it's tradition that is the main reason there are no women priests. It's taken in the church that if something has always been one way then it should always be that way.

There's actually very little in the way of dogma to support a ban on female priests. they're pretty much not mentioned.