Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Getting it all out in the open. Slurry spreading.

• 23-02-2018 12:07pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,546 ✭✭✭✭

Land drying here but every blade of grass is burnt atm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,219 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Reggie. wrote: »
    Land drying here but every blade of grass is burnt atm

I just need to get slurry out at this stage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

Have nothing out here yet, thinking of getting what slurry we can out before the cold snap. Would it help / hinder things?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,611 ✭✭✭Mooooo

kowtow wrote: »
    Have nothing out here yet, thinking of getting what slurry we can out before the cold snap. Would it help / hinder things?

Contractor coming here Monday. Has been fierce drying with the last 4 days

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,345 ✭✭✭Grueller

I spread 8 loads last night and never left a mark. Great conditions here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,334 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

Grueller wrote: »

My tenant is spreading too, perfect conditions, drawing 11 miles

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

wrangler wrote: »
    My tenant is spreading too, perfect conditions, drawing 11 miles

Many tankers?

Grueller wrote: »

Now thats great land!

Muckit wrote: »
    Many tankers?

Just the one, 2500g and 50k Case 180hp.
    I'm very pleased with him , a great worker

He won't stay at that for long. He'll prob have another plan for next year.

How many loads an hour?

whelan2 wrote: »
    How many loads an hour?

Or hours per load....only joking
    I think about one hour fifteen per load

Muckit wrote: »
    He won't stay at that for long. He'll prob have another plan for next year.

Don't know about that , the tanker and tractor are new

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,442 ✭✭✭Waffletraktor

If you have a tank on farm hiring an artic sh#t tanker while he's at it may be helpful?

Have the tanks here alright, haven't used them since 2004, they're all full of water after pipes bursting over the years and never bothering to empty them
    Missed a trick there as he needed the capacity a week ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,123 ✭✭✭Who2

Getting the slurry spread as I graze off. Drawing in pig slurry fairly heavy so hoping to keep fertilizer bill low this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,459 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Ground is only starting to get good enough to travel here even with the umbilical and some fields are still too soft. We will wait until after this cold and probably snowy spell to spread although the lagoon is near maximum capacity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,225 ✭✭✭charolais0153

Base price wrote: »
    Ground is only starting to get good enough to travel here even with the umbilical and some fields are still too soft. We will wait until after this cold and probably snowy spell to spread although the lagoon is near maximum capacity.

Great drying today. Was surprised at how dry the ground was running after a few lambs:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

He'll start thinking about it when he works out his diesel usage.

Heavily stocked fragmented farm, what can he do, he's very positive, total opposite to me.
    He has all mine reseeded, and all indexes raised by one within 12 mths despite cutting it three time.
    It's all getting 2500 gls to the acre now

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,756 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

Got things back under control this week, going to stay at it until it snows. Will try empty 2 biggest tanks, smaller tanks can wait till after grazing the first round.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

blue5000 wrote: »
    Got things back under control this week, going to stay at it until it snows. Will try empty 2 biggest tanks, smaller tanks can wait till after grazing the first round.

Neighbours kicking up here now, feck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,485 ✭✭✭Keepgrowing

Heavily stocked fragmented farm, what can he do, he's very positive, total opposite to me.
    He has all mine reseeded, and all indexes raised by one within 12 mths despite cutting it three time.

It must be very satisfying having made such a big decision that you're happy with your tenant. Best of luck

+1.

Landlords are going to have to get their heads around the idea that there has to be a few pound in it for the tenant if they expect the value of their asset to be maintained.

Abit apprehensive, you know the feeling when things are going really well and you feel you've missed something :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,546 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

All of it?

Reggie. wrote: »
    All of it?

Well he only has 40acres taken, he took it last april, so 40 loads.
    I think the neighbours have other ideas
    Clay has reached the consistency of putty and sticking to the wheels a lot

Well he only has 40acres taken, he took it last april, so 40 loads.
    I think the neighbours have other ideas
    Clay has reached the consistency of putty and sticking to the wheels a lot

Is it muck on the road or the smell they are complaining about?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,485 ✭✭✭Keepgrowing

Abit apprehensive, you know the feeling when things are going really well and you feel you've missed something :D

I know what you mean, just sit back, relax and don't over think it. I find all landlords are the same for first year or two.

Is it muck on the road or the smell they are complaining about?

Both, I think I'll keep the head down (for a change)
    They're suggesting he should be drawing to a tanker in the field and using a trailing shoe.
    I cleaned the road before lunch and go up again after the match, but it's just a gesture

Both, I think I'll keep the head down (for a change)
    They're suggesting he should be drawing to a tanker in the field and using a trailing shoe.
    I cleaned the road before lunch and go up again after the match, but it's just a gesture
    I had my local environmental officer out before I spread the first load last week. I’ve never been done for anything but she’s got 90% if my neighbors, so I suppose it’s only a matter of time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

A gesture maybe, but a thoughtful one from a Landlord.

You deserve a great tenant!

kowtow wrote: »
    A gesture maybe, but a thoughtful one from a Landlord.

You deserve a great tenant!

Sure what else am i doing
    Yea, glad to have him, 'twas a gesture for the neighbours buuuut!!!!!
    Had the guards out since, don't think there's anything they can do to us.
    they came when I was sweeping the road afterwatching the match they said we're making an effort, and went off to talk to the complainants....
    There's also a petition being passed around for signing to go into the council on monday.
    Tractor driver says he's going to work on tonight to annoy them....great fun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,036 ✭✭✭greenfield21

There some neighbours not surprised you leased it.

Oh was going somewhere today and he said the muck on the road was unreal. He was in the jeep and said it was all over the road. At least you were trying to clean it up.

Everyone's spreading, I told the guards they had passed a lot worse on the way here they just said there was no one complaining.
    I think they realise we're six mths waiting for this chance

Sure what else am i doing
    Yea, glad to have him, 'twas a gesture for the neighbours buuuut!!!!!
    Had the guards out since, don't think there's anything they can do to us.
    they came when I was sweeping the road afterwatching the match they said we're making an effort, and went off to talk to the complainants....
    There's also a petition being passed around for signing to go into the council on monday.
    Tractor driver says he's going to work on tonight to annoy them....great fun.

Got pulled on that one by the cops, there’s noise and working hour restrictions they can pull him on.

Who2 wrote: »
    Got pulled on that one by the cops, there’s noise and working hour restrictions they can pull him on.

I wonder would they come back if he was reported again, any way I think you can work till eleven

Typical idiots with nothing better to do onmy complain about other lads trying to make ends meet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 728 ✭✭✭MF290

Any of the few bare fields too greasy for worn tyres and any of the dry fields have too much grass!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 97 ✭✭QA1

is it too late to spread on grazing fields
    not too much grass but hope to be grassing them in a month

QA1 wrote: »
    is it too late to spread on grazing fields
    not too much grass but hope to be grassing them in a month

No it isnt too late

MF290 wrote: »
    Any of the few bare fields too greasy for worn tyres and any of the dry fields have too much grass!

If you can use trailing shoe or dribblebar, you can spread in a good field of grass

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 728 ✭✭✭MF290

If you can use trailing shoe or dribblebar, you can spread in a good field of grass

Trailing shoe and umbilical would be ideal. Had the loan of contractors tanker because he was too busy. Beggars can't be choosers!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

Contractor putting slurry with the tanker and trailing shoe here. In and out off different roadways, and wires down so never travel the same entrance or exit more than once.

Nice

Who2 wrote: »
    Getting the slurry spread as I graze off. Drawing in pig slurry fairly heavy so hoping to keep fertilizer bill low this year.

And they'll be more than happy to let you just don't forget the butchers bill they'll present to you in Nov. They're recording every load you get and it'll be up to you to account for where it went. You need to know what your organic N production per ha is. It's not that hard to reach the limits once you start importing.

Deals done annually before the start. I’d be friendly with the lad on the tanker.

Lads just arrived with pipes here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,022 ✭✭✭einn32

Put out 12 loads yesterday on a bare paddock to keep a tank under control. Should boost it when the growth returns.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,611 ✭✭✭Mooooo

Lads just finishing up here, circa 90 acres covered since this time yday