Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

putting mobile broadband masts on churches for rural areas

• Registered Users Posts: 14,555 ✭✭✭✭Marlow

oscarBravo wrote: »
    Stability can be a problem too. I've seen an example where a church was being used as a (really good) repeater site, then the parish priest was replaced and the new one decided that unless he started seeing mobile site-level income, it would have to come down.

It came down.

Another example is, where wood-worm was found in the wood for the tower, so as to not fix that problem ... access was denied and only could be done with a specialists hoist, that can go high enough to reach the top of the tower.

Essentially making the site unservicable ...and the gear being removed.

But yes ... those issues are a common occurrence. That can only be avoided in the case, where the word comes from the top. If it's deals with different parish priests individually .... it can quickly go the opposite way.

/M

anyway, thanks you answered my question there - so it is fibre optic then they use :)

You did spot, that is says "Ireland's 100% fibre optic network." on SIROs website ?

Just saying :)

There isn't a chance in hell, that they'd provide that sort of bandwidth over those distances without going fiber optic. ... not in the volume, that it has to be build and provided in.

/M

• Registered Users Posts: 11,753 ✭✭✭✭Andy From Sligo

Marlow wrote: »
    You did spot, that is says "Ireland's 100% fibre optic network." on SIROs website ?

Just saying :)

There isn't a chance in hell, that they'd provide that sort of bandwidth over those distances without going fiber optic. ... not in the volume, that it has to be build and provided in.

/M

yeah i should have guessed really - no I havent seen/visited the SIRO website for ages because last time I checked it was only available in Town and i'm in the rural area

• Registered Users Posts: 36,166 ✭✭✭✭ED E

https://www.irishtimes.com/business/retail-and-services/three-ireland-ordered-to-remove-dublin-phone-mast-1.2654020

One must remember we're a nation of NIMBYs that then complain there's no broadband. How many old codgers have obstructed Chorus/NTL/UPC/VM etc over the years?

• Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 28,792 Mod ✭✭✭✭oscarBravo

ED E wrote: »
    https://www.irishtimes.com/business/retail-and-services/three-ireland-ordered-to-remove-dublin-phone-mast-1.2654020

One must remember we're a nation of NIMBYs that then complain there's no broadband. How many old codgers have obstructed Chorus/NTL/UPC/VM etc over the years?

Remember the TV footage of "no mast here" protesters with a placard in one hand and a mobile phone held to the ear with the other?

ED E wrote: »

i never forget years ago when mobile phones were in their infancy and not every man and his dog had one, and vodafone or someone wanted to put a mast near a field round here - quite a fair old turnout . farmers said no because of their animals, mothers said no because they didnt want their kids having cancer from it (the obligatory baby in pram was wheeled out whilst the mother wave a hand written placard on a stick) .. and the rest , well they didnt want a blot on the landscape. ..

and then I got to thinking i wonder how many of these people have a mobile phone these days and look back on that :)

I had a scenario recently, where locals tried to get fixed wireless antennae removed from a church tower, because there had been 2 recent cases of brain cancer nearby.

Nevermind, that the power levels of said antennas are less than what is emitted from a cellphone, they're very directional and that old MMDS dish on their roof would have emitted a lot more for decades and leaky as feck.

There's a reason, that a lot of the regional providers build their networks "under the radar" and mostly the way, where no planing is required.

/M

• Registered Users Posts: 440 ✭✭9726_9726

Marlow wrote: »
    I had a scenario recently, where locals tried to get fixed wireless antennae removed from a church tower, because there had been 2 recent cases of brain cancer nearby.

Nevermind, that the power levels of said antennas are less than what is emitted from a cellphone, they're very directional and that old MMDS dish on their roof would have emitted a lot more for decades and leaky as feck.

There's a reason, that a lot of the regional providers build their networks "under the radar" and mostly the way, where no planing is required.

/M

I heard a funny story from an engineer who was putting in a 24GHz Airfiber point to point link from a business to a remote office across the road. An old biddy from a neighbouring house said she was getting a "desperate headache from the radiation" since he mounted the radio.

"You should take a Panadol" he said, "it hasn't been powered up yet!" 🀣

9726_9726 wrote: »
    I heard a funny story from an engineer who was putting in a 24GHz Airfiber point to point link from a business to a remote office across the road. An old biddy from a neighbouring house said she was getting a "desperate headache from the radiation" since he mounted the radio.

"You should take a Panadol" he said, "it hasn't been powered up yet!" ��

haha :D .. it was just the thought of it enough to give her a headache ... she could have said the radiation was giving her cancer , I wonder what his comeback for that would have been? :)

9726_9726 wrote: »
    "You should take a Panadol" he said, "it hasn't been powered up yet!" ��

Jup .. happens all the time. Completely and utterly pointless.

/M

maybe the old biddy's expensive radiation detector she bought of ebay was giving out false readings , saying dish was giving out cancer causing signal .. when it wasnt even powered up? ;) - I am presuming she had a backup to hold up her theory that this mast was causing people to get brain cancer and her headache from it .. even though it wasnt powered on?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,199 ✭✭✭digiman

ooh, electricity pylon then - Vodafone has already gone into marriage with ESB with this SIRO expedition - so maybe ESB would let Vodafone put mobile masts on their Pylon infrastructure?

Again this is already done more than 10 years ago, plenty of pylons around the country have antennas on them from various mobile operators.

Dropped pin
    near M4, Co. Kildare
    https://goo.gl/maps/1PtPzQzLbZG2

This is one you can see just outside Maynooth on the M4 towards Kilcock. It’s visible from street view in the Dublin bound side of the motorway.

You will find mobile sites in everything you can imagine.

Fake trees, beside Marley park
    Inside the petrol station signs
    On lampposts
    On chimneys of pubs
    Pylons
    Churches
    Water towers
    Distributed systems Inside shopping centers, large office and football stadiums.
    Garda station towers
    And loads more

digiman wrote: »
    Again this is already done more than 10 years ago, plenty of pylons around the country have antennas on them from various mobile operators.

Dropped pin
    near M4, Co. Kildare
    https://goo.gl/maps/1PtPzQzLbZG2

This is one you can see just outside Maynooth on the M4 towards Kilcock. It’s visible from street view in the Dublin bound side of the motorway.

You will find mobile sites in everything you can imagine.

Fake trees, beside Marley park
    Inside the petrol station signs
    On lampposts
    On chimneys of pubs
    Pylons
    Churches
    Water towers
    Distributed systems Inside shopping centers, large office and football stadiums.
    Garda station towers
    And loads more

blimey!, - and yet there are still a lot of blackspots around Ireland where you cannot get a mobile phone signal....

Because people object to any planning permission for masts, wherever they can. Some of these blackspots can not be covered with hidden transceivers.

Then again, coverage in Ireland is pretty good. Try Scotland. Oodles of road miles with no signal at all, when driving through Scotland.

/M