Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Not RAG week

• 12-02-2018 2:18am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,288 ✭✭✭✭

So I see tomorrow being advertised as Mayo Monday by certain pubs.

Are we also having Donegal Spewsday, and Leitrim Wednesday this year?

Is GMIT following the "no-RAG-week" rule?

Enquiring minds and all ....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 484 ✭✭ANDREWMUFC

Donegal Tuesday and twisted Thursday

Sure down Woodquay will be like a zombie apocalypse this week, students falling around on the road, young wans half naked in Eyre square, Windows being smashed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

It always has been and always will be 'Rag Week', the colleges cancelling the official events won't change that. Let them at it I say, you're only young once and it's harmless fun broadly speaking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,430 ✭✭✭xckjoo

I know NUIG has cut ties and I think GMIT has done the same, so it's only publicans at this stage. It seems like the only thing that's really changed since it went unofficial is that there's no longer any money being raised for charity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,412 ✭✭✭✭Fitz*

xckjoo wrote: »
    I know NUIG has cut ties and I think GMIT has done the same, so it's only publicans at this stage. It seems like the only thing that's really changed since it went unofficial is that there's no longer any money being raised for charity.

and that is the only difference between RAG week now and RAG week 5 or 10 years ago. It's the charities that are losing out.

I remember the year it got cancelled 'officially' by the college in NUIG. I think the Student Union ran it that year. If I remember correctly, that year was one of the highest grossing for charities. But it was also a year of, at the time, worst 'trouble' because of an incident in a student accommodation site. The following year there was no organisation and all and now the 'trouble' (which is actually just students being drunk in the city centre rather than dispersed throughout the city and in accommodations) got worse as a result.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,507 ✭✭✭ArtyC

There was a lot of damage done to cars and property in woodquay and bohermore last year.

I have no issue with it except for this damage. All wing mirrors kicked off, a keg was thrown into the back window of a car , glass broken in front doors . I really wish this would stop .

ArtyC wrote: »
    There was a lot of damage done to cars and property in woodquay and bohermore last year.

I have no issue with it except for this damage. All wing mirrors kicked off, a keg was thrown into the back window of a car , glass broken in front doors . I really wish this would stop .

Had not heard of that to be honest. Ya agree that that has to be cut out.

I am all for letting people have their fun and if that means the streets are busier than normal I'm OK with that. Traffic is usually slow around that side of town so people on the streets I can also deal with, possible a broken flower pot or something. But breaking windows,doors, damaging cars etc - stuff with real high value is a no-no.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

But, but, what about the feckin Novena goers parking on the footpads?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,967 ✭✭✭✭The Lost Sheep

FitzShane wrote: »
    and that is the only difference between RAG week now and RAG week 5 or 10 years ago. It's the charities that are losing out.

I remember the year it got cancelled 'officially' by the college in NUIG. I think the Student Union ran it that year. If I remember correctly, that year was one of the highest grossing for charities. But it was also a year of, at the time, worst 'trouble' because of an incident in a student accommodation site. The following year there was no organisation and all and now the 'trouble' (which is actually just students being drunk in the city centre rather than dispersed throughout the city and in accommodations) got worse as a result.
    Are charities losing out though? NUIG has raised as much money without rag week in some years since its cancellation.

Are you sure about that? I know RAG week was always a surprisingly big money maker for them.

Yeah i am. In some years between all the charity events in the year more money has been raised than what was raised in rag week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,409 ✭✭✭✭flazio

So, what exactly do students get at the end of this queue for The Hole in the Wall? Don't tell me it's just a pint because you can do that at any pub.

This too shall pass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 647 ✭✭✭smurf492

flazio wrote:
    So, what exactly do students get at the end of this queue for The Hole in the Wall? Don't tell me it's just a pint because you can do that at any pub.

A whole lot of street cred... :)

Yeah i am. In some years between all the charity events in the year more money has been raised than what was raised in rag week.

But they have always raised money outside of RAG week. You sound like you're comparing the amount raised during a single RAG week with the total they raise in an entire year since then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,929 ✭✭✭beardybrewer

Will there be any spill-over into Salthill tonight or is it safe for old men to have a quiet pint?

No, I heard that tonight is the Sultry Salthill night organised. The biggest and baddest event known to Galway will take place there tonight :pac:

Look up your daughters, and probably your doors, dogs, gates, everything.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭Nettle Soup

Pancakes are good for soaking up alcohol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,288 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

flazio wrote: »

A pint with lads who've got Ireland's sexiest accents - https://www.joe.ie/news/irelands-sexiest-accents-revealed-one-county-comes-way-ahead-rest-615908

In the Hole in the Wall, no less.

Just reward for surviving the piercing gaze of AGS Public Order Unit.

Some of them even got to queue in the sunshine for a while:

Image: https://twitter.com/CladdaghSwan/status/963360342544932866

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 854 ✭✭✭tacofries

Would really love to be back in college for this. The drinking is good in fairness but it is more about all the little things that happen when you spend a full week with thousands of people that are all trying to have a good time.

Little things like flicking a light switch in a pub only to hear the whole place break into a chant in acknowledgement, or having everyone in the hole in the wall blast out the words to stop the world and let me off.

Everyone deserves to get the chance at doing Galways Rag week and genuinely feel sorry for those that never experienced it from the eyes of a student.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 93 ✭✭mac1ntosh

The SU has organised other events to replace the money lost during RAG week, Christmas Day being one of the biggest charity events in the college which raises over approx €10k in one day.

mac1ntosh wrote: »
    The SU has organised other events to replace the money lost during RAG week, Christmas Day being one of the biggest charity events in the college which raises over approx €10k in one day.

Not sure you guys are understanding the point about raising money for charity. The original purpose of the week was to raise money for charities and have some fun. Now there's no charitable aspect of it and the only money made is by publicans, etc. Talking about how the SU has made up for lost charitable income doesn't really tell us anything other than they've done a good job with the hand they're dealt.

NUIG should have tried to pull it back on-campus, increased the emphasis on charity and reduced the emphasis on drinking. Instead they just cut it lose to be it's own monster.

On a side-note, the NUIG SU raised €15k in total last year, so I've a feeling your claim of €10k for one event might be off.

What a bunch of <students> standing outside hole in the wall and it -1 out

ANDREWMUFC wrote: »
    What a bunch of <students> standing outside hole in the wall and it -1 out

Agree,

Barr an Chaladh is more craic & better music :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,288 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

Agree,

Not at 10:30 this morning it wasn't ðŸ˜

Three guards standing outside, lights were on but the doors were still closed. Publican was standing outside glowering at the guards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,858 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

When I was in college myself I didn't care much for Rag Week, but as the years go on I find myself softening in attitude to it a lot.

You're only in that ideal window of time, between school and working for the rest of your life, for a very short while really. It feels like it's going to go on forever, but it doesn't - enjoy it while you can I say.

And, yes, it isn't all sweetness and light, but given the sheer amount of people out partying and all the drink consumed, it isn't really as bad as it's often made out to be. It is for most people involved good natured fun. Students in general bring a lot to Galway as a place, let them have a few days of craziness. I'd happily take it over Raceweek.

Agree,

I feel sorry for all the auld lads having to look at these flutes for the week in Barr an chaladh. No one can enjoy a quiet pint

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 454 ✭✭StonedRaider

Arghus wrote: »
    When I was in college myself I didn't care much for Rag Week, but as the years go on I find myself softening in attitude to it a lot.

You're only in that ideal window of time, between school and working for the rest of your life, for a very short while really. It feels like it's going to go on forever, but it doesn't - enjoy it while you can I say.

And, yes, it isn't all sweetness and light, but given the sheer amount of people out partying and all the drink consumed, it isn't really as bad as it's often made out to be. It is for most people involved good natured fun. Students in general bring a lot to Galway as a place, let them have a few days of craziness. I'd happily take it over Raceweek.

I agree with you that you should enjoy your time in school/college while you can...but why damage another person's property during this so called 'charity' event? It happened to my vehicle in 2015. On camera. Guards did nothing about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,689 ✭✭✭joeKel73

mac1ntosh wrote: »

And here's what that has already turned into....
    http://www.dailyedge.ie/nui-galway-christmas-day-3700882-Nov2017/

Look familiar? :rolleyes:

I expect they'll cut that loose into the hands of the publicans too, other colleges have already done so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,032 ✭✭✭McTigs

I engaged in a lot of ridiculous things when i was a student but I can hold my head up high and say that I never presented myself at any social gathering in a county jersey.

They do say though that if you can look back at your youth with no sense of cringe then you weren't really having a good time so who am i to pi$$ on their fun.

Except for the damage to property, that shouldn't happen.

Not sure you guys are understanding the point about raising money for charity. The original purpose of the week was to raise money for charities and have some fun. Now there's no charitable aspect of it and the only money made is by publicans, etc. Talking about how the SU has made up for lost charitable income doesn't really tell us anything other than they've done a good job with the hand they're dealt.

NUIG should have tried to pull it back on-campus, increased the emphasis on charity and reduced the emphasis on drinking. Instead they just cut it lose to be it's own monster.

On a side-note, the NUIG SU raised €15k in total last year, so I've a feeling your claim of €10k for one event might be off.
    What could NUIG have done to pull it back on-campus as large numbers of students would still have been going to pubs off campus in town and doing what happens.

Well you can't force people to stay on-campus but you need to make it the place they want to be. Lots of events, heavy promotion, roll back on the anti-alcohol stance, etc. Alcohol would have to be part of it but it doesn't have to be all of it. People always have and will go to where the fun is. It used to be the College Bar and River Inn were the main places to be. People drank on-campus by the river, etc. That only really changed when those places changed and people had to go elsewhere. Hole in the Wall didn't have those kinds of queues until more recent years.

There has been a significant shift in the atmosphere on campus in the last decade that has seen it move away from being student focused and more towards looking good in international rankings. RAG week was one of the many things that didn't fit in with this so it was cut lose so the university can disavow responsibility. It was never going to have a significant impact on the week itself.

Well you can't force people to stay on-campus but you need to make it the place they want to be. Lots of events, heavy promotion, roll back on the anti-alcohol stance, etc. Alcohol would have to be part of it but it doesn't have to be all of it. People always have and will go to where the fun is. It used to be the College Bar and River Inn were the main places to be. People drank on-campus by the river, etc. That only really changed when those places changed and people had to go elsewhere. Hole in the Wall didn't have those kinds of queues until more recent years.

There has been a significant shift in the atmosphere on campus in the last decade that has seen it move away from being student focused and more towards looking good in international rankings. RAG week was one of the many things that didn't fit in with this so it was cut lose so the university can disavow responsibility. It was never going to have a significant impact on the week itself.
    Lots of events etc is fine but that still wont stop most/any of the incidents that cause the trouble from happening and by having events as a rag/charity week just legitimises some students in their actions.

How do you reckon? Can you think of any incidents that have occurred on-campus in recent years? Any I can think of have occurred off-campus, where large amounts of alcohol has been consumed and there's no supervision. I'd even suggest that most of them happen when there's no specific event occurring (e.g. after the clubs, mid-day hanging around student housing, etc.). I think the Gardai asked NUIG not to disown RAG week at the time for exactly the reason that it would be uncontained and wouldn't curb the issue, but I might be mixing that up with something else.

The university has a duty of care to its students that it doesn't seem to take very seriously anymore. It bring thousands of young adults to the city every year and takes little interest in them beyond churning out qualifications and keeping their stats looking good. It exacerbates issues like housing and alcohol consumption and then takes the moral high ground and disavows any responsibility.

College Bar tried to reduce the size of Christmas Day this year. To do this they made it a ticketed event and opened the bar later than usual. What ended up happening was all of the students that didn't get tickets went in to town instead, something which the pubs and guards weren't prepared for. Even the people that had tickets to the college bar event chose to go into town instead as they didn't want to wait till 2 to get served!!

Christmas Day is the best day ever to grace Galway!! Such a pity the college bar are trying to ruin it.

How do you reckon? Can you think of any incidents that have occurred on-campus in recent years? Any I can think of have occurred off-campus, where large amounts of alcohol has been consumed and there's no supervision. I'd even suggest that most of them happen when there's no specific event occurring (e.g. after the clubs, mid-day hanging around student housing, etc.). I think the Gardai asked NUIG not to disown RAG week at the time for exactly the reason that it would be uncontained and wouldn't curb the issue, but I might be mixing that up with something else.

The university has a duty of care to its students that it doesn't seem to take very seriously anymore. It bring thousands of young adults to the city every year and takes little interest in them beyond churning out qualifications and keeping their stats looking good. It exacerbates issues like housing and alcohol consumption and then takes the moral high ground and disavows any responsibility.
    There was some incidents on christmas day and others on campus iirc
    The university does have a duty of care that it does take seriously. Having had a lot of issue with housing while a student the university does a lot of good work but its very difficult and doesnt just take the high ground and avoid responsibility.
    tacofries wrote: »
    College Bar tried to reduce the size of Christmas Day this year. To do this they made it a ticketed event and opened the bar later than usual. What ended up happening was all of the students that didn't get tickets went in to town instead, something which the pubs and guards weren't prepared for. Even the people that had tickets to the college bar event chose to go into town instead as they didn't want to wait till 2 to get served!!

Christmas Day is the best day ever to grace Galway!! Such a pity the college bar are trying to ruin it.
    They werent trying to ruin it. The hours were restricted and it was made all ticketed as crowds were too big and there were too many incidents occuring. The Students Union and College bar had to open bar later and make it all ticketed to keep it and these were the restrictions put in place by University and the Guards.

How many tickets were released and how many can the bar hold? Why were usual hours different to the ones they introduced on Christmas Day?

Either way, I thought the resulting crowd that gathered in town was absolutely massive!

How many tickets were released and how many can the bar hold? Why were usual hours different to the ones they introduced on Christmas Day?

Either way, I thought the resulting crowd that gathered in town was absolutely massive!
    I dont know numbers bar can hold but considering the bar has been dangerously overcrowded in some of the recent years then it was always going to be much less and the hours were different on christmas day to try lessen changes of trouble arising.

Hole in the Wall has a 250 capacity it says on a poster in there

I dont know numbers bar can hold but considering the bar has been dangerously overcrowded in some of the recent years then it was always going to be much less and the hours were different on christmas day to try lessen changes of trouble arising.

I went to Christmas day for 5 years and saw no trouble at any of them. One time a fire alarm may have been activated (not sure if it was Christmas day) but that is the only thing that I came across that was even remotely dodgy/unique.

I don't like how the SU vote on behalf of the general student population on issues like rag week and then make it sound like the students themselves voted to get rid of it. Worried that the same is going to happen with Christmas Day (I am no longer a student but hope it remains like prior years so that other people can have their turn).

I went to Christmas day for 5 years and saw no trouble at any of them. One time a fire alarm may have been activated (not sure if it was Christmas day) but that is the only thing that I came across that was even remotely dodgy/unique.

I don't like how the SU vote on behalf of the general student population on issues like rag week and then make it sound like the students themselves voted to get rid of it. Worried that the same is going to happen with Christmas Day (I am no longer a student but hope it remains like prior years so that other people can have their turn).
    I was a volunteer on a few occasions and there was plenty of trouble each year.
    The SU via the officers elected or at student council via the class reps are mandated to vote on behalf of the general student population. How else would you have things work?
    It isnt simply the 15 or so officers voting on behalf of the general student population its the couple of hundred class reps from each course.

What sort of trouble did you see? People skipping queues and sneaking drink in were the only things that I seen personally. Wouldnt be surprised if a few people got too drunk however I never seen anyone in a bad state and even if there was I don't see how reducing the numbers attending would help reduce that number by any significant amount whatsoever.

It is pretty easy to see how the SU council that voted on behalf of students was actually a very bad representative population of the overall student community for an issue such as Rag week which revolves heavily around drinking. This is pretty clear due to the fact that approx 110 SU reps voted to abolish rag week while only 10 votes were given to keep it. For some thing which was such a big part of college life and that the SU reps would naturally have had a bias for, imo a referendum of some sort should have been had.

What sort of trouble did you see? People skipping queues and sneaking drink in were the only things that I seen personally. Wouldnt be surprised if a few people got too drunk however I never seen anyone in a bad state and even if there was I don't see how reducing the numbers attending would help reduce that number by any significant amount whatsoever.

It is pretty easy to see how the SU council that voted on behalf of students was actually a very bad representative population of the overall student community for an issue such as Rag week which revolves heavily around drinking. This is pretty clear due to the fact that approx 110 SU reps voted to abolish rag week while only 10 votes were given to keep it. For some thing which was such a big part of college life and that the SU reps would naturally have had a bias for, imo a referendum of some sort should have been had.
    If it was to go to referendum it needs enough students to support one it didnt. SU council isnt at all a bad representative population. the class reps like to enjoy rag week/christmas day as any other students.

There was some incidents on christmas day and others on campus iirc
    The university does have a duty of care that it does take seriously. Having had a lot of issue with housing while a student the university does a lot of good work but its very difficult and doesnt just take the high ground and avoid responsibility.

They werent trying to ruin it. The hours were restricted and it was made all ticketed as crowds were too big and there were too many incidents occuring. The Students Union and College bar had to open bar later and make it all ticketed to keep it and these were the restrictions put in place by University and the Guards.

What work has the university done for accommodation? This housing problem has been around since at least the early 2000's and has only gotten worse. The Accommodation Office doesn't seem to have any responsibilities. They don't even manage Corrib Village anymore. If you think the university is taking its responsibilities to the students seriously, then you must be naive or unaware.

I'm predicting that the College Bar will be put out to tender within the next few years. Calling it now. University seem to be putting up road blocks all over the place to make the running of it as difficult as possible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,848 ✭✭✭?Cee?view

What work has the university done for accommodation? This housing problem has been around since at least the early 2000's and has only gotten worse. The Accommodation Office doesn't seem to have any responsibilities. They don't even manage Corrib Village anymore. If you think the university is taking its responsibilities to the students seriously, then you must be naive or unaware.

You haven't noticed the enormous buildings going up on the way to Dangan? The student accommodation that the University is building.

?Cee?view wrote: »
    You haven't noticed the enormous buildings going up on the way to Dangan? The student accommodation that the University is building.

Oh I did forget about that. My bad.

It's a good addition and will help, but it's still only 429 beds in about 20 years isn't it? I think Corrib Village is about 20 years old.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,848 ✭✭✭?Cee?view

It's a good addition and will help, but it's still only 429 beds in about 20 years isn't it? I think Corrib Village is about 20 years old.

Fair point. Hopefully the new leader in NUIG will be more student centred than the last. First indicators are that things should improve.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,477 ✭✭✭youngrun

Theres another block of 400+ beds going up working through the system now
    All costs money??! NUIG have put 50m + into buildings in last decade , more than has been spent in the entire city I suspect by govt, council or developers.

youngrun wrote: »
    Theres another block of 400+ beds going up working through the system now
    All costs money??! NUIG have put 50m + into buildings in last decade , more than has been spent in the entire city I suspect by govt, council or developers.

What buildings? Their own? What's that got to do with anything? Gerry Barrett proposal for the Docks is costed at north of €100m. "So what?" you might ask. I dunno. Seems about as relevant.

Anyway, this is gone way off-topic so I'm out. Wasn't looking to start an NUIG bashing thread. I'd just like to see them shift their concerns back to the students and stop chasing rankings.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,477 ✭✭✭youngrun

What buildings? Their own? What's that got to do with anything? Gerry Barrett proposal for the Docks is costed at north of €100m. "So what?" you might ask. I dunno. Seems about as relevant.

Anyway, this is gone way off-topic so I'm out. Wasn't looking to start an NUIG bashing thread. I'd just like to see them shift their concerns back to the students and stop chasing rankings.

850 odd student accomm beds in process/pipeline ( I think 1200 new is end target btw) + 5/6 major new educational buildings is surely assisting towards both accommodation and provision for students/responsibilities?

Was just responding to your questions...as below..

Originally Posted by xckjoo View Post