Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fungi. Wonderful dolphin.

• 02-02-2018 11:28pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 850 ✭✭✭

Can someone tell me the truth about Fungi? Are we just replacing him every couple of years with a new dolphin ? He is such a tourist attraction that I dont think Kerry will ever let him die.

He must be like a serious OAP porpoise if he is genuine. But I have my suspicions..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,596 ✭✭✭Hitman3000

He must be like a serious OAP porpoise if he is genuine. But I have my suspicions..

He was first spotted in 1983, bottlenose dolphins ( fungi' s species) have been known to live up to 48 years old. Then again it's Kerry I wouldn't past those cute hoors to replace him when the old one wears out. Huge tourist attraction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Sky King

Q why did the mushroom get invited to the party

A because he was a fun gi

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Hitman3000 wrote: »
    He was first spotted in 1983, bottlenose dolphins ( fungi' s species) have been known to live up to 48 years old. Then again it's Kerry I wouldn't past those cute hoors to replace him when the old one wears out. Huge tourist attraction.

There's lads training a new one there every winter when the tourists feck off.

Aren't all dolphins wonderful?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,596 ✭✭✭Hitman3000

There's lads training a new one there every winter when the tourists feck off.

Quite plausible to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

No. There was one hanging around Doolin there a couple years ago that assaulted a woman.

If I'd have been in the water it would have got a punch in the face and known its place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,585 ✭✭✭denismc

Can anyone explain the porpoise of this thread?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,340 ✭✭✭deco nate

denismc wrote: »
    It was mentioned on newstalk today....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,932 ✭✭✭donegal_man

No. There was one hanging around Doolin there a couple years ago that assaulted a woman.

If I'd have been in the water it would have got a punch in the face and known its place.

Errr, the water is the dolphin's place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,034 ✭✭✭Ficheall

Reckon that was related to the local youths pouring beer in its blowhole?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,439 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

No he's still the same dolphin.
    He's due his millenial cheque off Michael D next year.

To thine own self be true

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 850 ✭✭✭nervous_twitch

deco nate wrote: »
    It was mentioned on newstalk today....
    Coincidence! I live in France and today someone in the area told me they were in Dingle and saw our wonderful dolphin. I told them that I too saw him, in 1993, and then they asked me if there was more than one and how long do they live. I had to get very sketchy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,832 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

Sky King wrote: »
    Q why did the mushroom get invited to the party

A because he was a fun gi

Why did your sister get invited to the party?

Because she has a ....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Bottlenose dolphins live between 45 to 50 years.He was described as a mature when he first came on thescene in Dingle.

That original dolphin is long dead.

Something thing fishy going on here. I think he's codding you.

Even if that's the case, you should stop being so crabby. It's about time that you were put in your plaice. We've had it up to the gills with you on here

Fin.
    <The End!>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,814 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Wouldn't blame the dolphin, humans trying to get close, hanging off it and general arsing around. It's a wild animal FFS not an episode of Flipper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,416 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

Keyboard warfare just got surreal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,960 ✭✭✭✭Discodog

If people are dumb enough to try to swim with a Dolphin then they should expect consequences. A friendly poke could break your ribs, Dolphins play rough.

But speaking of "pokes" a female needs to be careful at certain times of the month, if she is going to swim with a male Dolphin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,119 ✭✭✭Jack Kanoff

Same dolphin, he has a distinctive scar on his dorsal fin from his younger days when he got too close to a propeller....but having said that, he's about 40 now....he's an OAP in dolphin terms

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭YFlyer

Something thing fishy going on here. I think he's codding you.

Even if that's the case, you should stop being so crabby. It's about time that you were put in your plaice. We've had it up to the gills with you on here

Fin.
    <The End!>

I'm herring you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 944 ✭✭✭s15r330

Big fella, if that dolphin wanted to it could kill you.
    It was friendly until some dirtbags tried pouring beer in its blowhole, maybe they need the punch in the face

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,268 ✭✭✭✭uck51js9zml2yt

Can a dolphin be charged for assault?
    You on the other hand for animal cruelty!!;)

Same dolphin, he has a distinctive scar on his dorsal fin from his younger days when he got too close to a propeller....but having said that, he's about 40 now....he's an OAP in dolphin terms
    I think you're codding us...another story from the Dingle peninsula!

I'll go go back to perch..ing on my branch:D

I think you're codding us...another story from the Dingle peninsula!

I'll go go back to perch..ing on my branch:D

That's a halibut you can't break!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,901 ✭✭✭✭ted1

No, some are assholes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 657 ✭✭✭Vladimir Poontang

That dolphin had cider poured down its blowhole by ignorant scumbags. That same dolphin was constantly being grabbed and manhandled by stupid morons.

People got what they deserved in the end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭Temptamperu

Its just an old lad in a suit looking for handouts.

Wonderful dolphin lumbered with a stupid name.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 418 ✭✭cycle4fun

"Bottlenose dolphins live between 45 to 50 years.He was described as a mature when he first came on the scene in Dingle."

True, as someone else said. Money gets in the way of telling the truth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 921 ✭✭✭benjamin d

Discodog wrote: »
    But speaking of "pokes" a female needs to be careful at certain times of the month, if she is going to swim with a male Dolphin.

The dolphins and bears would only end up fighting amongst themselves

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭Are Am Eye

Make no mistake about it. Given half a chance, and if you your guard down for one second, Fungi would kill you and everyone in the world you care about.

cycle4fun wrote: »
    "Bottlenose dolphins live between 45 to 50 years.He was described as a mature when he first came on the scene in Dingle."

True, as someone else said. Money gets in the way of telling the truth.

They become mature at 5 years upwards...so he could have up to another 10 years in Dingle ... there's other things get in the way of telling the truth as well ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

I heard he used to run cocaine into Miami for one of the cartels in the early 80's

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

That animal was abused. Arseholes poured tin of cider down her blowhole, she responded by ramming one the ejjits up against the pier wall.

Up to that point it had been friendly to bathers.

Some muppt councilman at the time said the creature should be destroyed. How about staying out of her environment instead or at least having the common deceny to show her respect. It's a powerful wild animal not a plaything.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,807 ✭✭✭Jurgen Klopp

Ficheall wrote: »
    Reckon that was related to the local youths pouring beer in its blowhole?

That animal was abused. Arseholes poured tin of cider down her blowhole, she responded by ramming one the ejjits up against the pier wall.

Up to that point it had been friendly to bathers.

Some muppt councilman at the time said the creature should be destroyed. How about staying out of her environment instead or at least having the common deceny to show her respect. It's a powerful wild animal not a plaything.

Correct. But it was some eejits camping down by the pier. The same undesirable "howya" types that it took years for locals to drive out of Kilkee and for locals to keep away from Lahinch even requiring a few slaps and the Gardai to be tipped off to be waiting with the paddy wagon outside

They were lucky they got away before the locals beat the heads off them, some concerned with animal welfare and to be fair and not expected some local boat operators who relied on her as part of the experience

She then moved to Inis Oirr, not far from Doolin in the grand scheme due to blasting for the new pier after the old one was fecked from storm damage

She was actually calmed down a lot by the locals who renamed her Sandy and was looking to swim with locals and students who stay there sometimes but some dolphin group came out warning against it.

I wont comment in that as maybe they just feared she'd be still kinda dangerous if she thought she was threatened again

Let's just say the islands don't have a Garda presence, so you don't get away with much if your a scumbag

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

I heard he used to run cocaine into Miami for one of the cartels in the early 80's
    Yeah, that was just after getting back from Vietnam and was suffering from PTSD after spending a few months in a Viet Cong POW camp.

And we all know the Viet Cong don't care much for Special Ops troops after being captured.

In fairness, he has managed the move fairly well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 171 ✭✭Zerbini Blewitt

it’s brill that Fungi or its doppelganger is still bobbing about the bream of Dingle bay. It warms the cockles of my heart. Many can’t help but clam up (or get a lump in their craw) when they hear about fungi doing the conger betwixt sea horses.

It is claimed that Fungi’s long term presence in DuC has something to do with an unusual series of events involving different shoals of shovelnose guitarfish, yellowtail grunt, sarcastic fringehead and swallowtail damselfish at separate locations in the past but that just may be local legend!

That same dolphin was constantly being grabbed and manhandled by stupid morons.

#metoo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 889 ✭✭✭cbreeze

Over the past 20 years I have been in and out of Dingle by sail. In the early days Fungi was lively and would soar out of the water and splash you for fun. But in more recent times the dolphin has last a lot of his energy. I'm surprised that the creature is still going but I wish him well (and the tour boat industry, etc).

Will we need a task force set up when he eventually dies?
    Think of all those poor kerrymen out of work!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,281 ✭✭✭CrankyHaus

I'd assumed Funghi was dead for years and cute hoors were talking up sightings for tourists.

Went paddleboarding near Dingle a while back and there was a dolphin out.
    It had fairly distinct scarring. The locals said it was Funghi.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

s15r330 wrote: »
    Big fella, if that dolphin wanted to it could kill you.

No fish could ever step to me. :cool:

It's not a fish.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 41,235 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

It is offensive nowadays to treat wimmins like objects or with a few slaps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭Are Am Eye

Orcas Here !

Sleep tight Fungi.

* I don't know if Dolphins sleep?