Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Woman stopped from bringing "emotional support peacock" onto plane

• 01-02-2018 4:03pm
    Hosted Moderators Posts: 11,362 ✭✭✭✭

A United Airlines passenger who tried to take her “emotional support peacock” with her on a flight from Newark to Los Angeles was turned away by the airline because of health and safety concerns.
    A female traveller was recently banned from taking a large "emotional-support peacock" on board a United Airlines flight, it has emerged.

She had offered to buy the bird its own plane ticket, according to travel blog Live and Let Fly.

Nonetheless the airline refused to let the bird board at Newark airport in New Jersey, saying it did not meet guidelines due to its weight and size.

United says this was explained to the traveller before she arrived at Newark.

Pictures of the striking bird and its owner, attempting to travel to Los Angeles, emerged via The Jet Set, a travel-based talk show.

The images show the animal perched on an airport baggage trolley, as fellow passengers gaze at it in shock.

After six hours at the airport, the exotic bird and its human companions decided to take to the road and instead drive across the US.

It's pretty funny a bizarre sort of way, but it's also made me wonder if stunts like this make it harder for people who have genuine support animals to be taken seriously - I don't think the peacock really is a support animal, he belongs to an artist who originally got him for an art installation.
    The peacock, reportedly called Dexter, belongs to Brooklyn-based artist Ventiko, who documents its life on social media.

"I have never left the house without having at least one person react," Ventiko told a local culture website in 2017.

The artist, whose real name is not known, told Bedford and Bowery that the feathery giant "really changed my life in a positive way".

She originally bought Dexter and a peahen called Etta for an art installation. She later found them a new home from which Etta and her offspring disappeared.

The loss affected Dexter's behaviour and Ventiko came to his rescue after hearing that the bird was housed in a garage. Following a failed stint at an upstate New York farm, Ventiko finally decided to welcome Dexter into her Bushwick loft.

Now involved in her photography and performance art, the exotic bird appears to enjoy his New York life.

However, he avoids public transportation, like the subway, because Ventiko doesn't "want to traumatise him".
    Airlines have allowed some passengers with emotional or psychiatric problems to take therapy animals on board with them.

But the number of emotional support animals has been rising in recent years, sparking suggestions that people are abusing the system.

In 2014, a woman was escorted off a US Airways flight when her pig, named Hobie, defecated and squealed before the plane took off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,292 ✭✭✭Ubbquittious

You can't bring jack sh1t onto a plane these days. I remember fondly the time when you could walk into the cockpit and show the captain the nice shiny new revolver you were after buying while on holidays and there wasn't a word said about it.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 40,537 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

At least they didn't assault her.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,472 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

You can't bring jack sh1t onto a plane these days. I remember fondly the time when you could walk into the cockpit and show the captain the nice shiny new revolver you were after buying while on holidays and there wasn't a word said about it.

I watched Die Hard the other night. Bruce Willis is on a plane at the beginning, having a smoke and carrying a gun. It's ok for him to have a gun because he's a cop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,472 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

At least they didn't assault her.

I'm sure she would have cried fowl

I now really want a peacock called Dexter.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,238 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Imagine sitting down for a long haul fly and some nutjob lands a fúcking peacock next to you.

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭Nabber

If the person was offended then the law needs to be changed so that person is no longer offended.
    If you are offended by said new law, then you are a Nazi.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

I was always of the impression that peacocks couldn't fly.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 11,362 ✭✭✭✭Scarinae

Candie wrote: »
    I now really want a peacock called Dexter.

He has an Instagram account - here is a pic of him looking disgruntled in the airport

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,839 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Dexter will be launching a multi million dollar lawsuit any day now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Fcuk me that's a beautiful looking creature.

Are they prone to aggression though? I remember my Senior Infants teacher getting attacked by one on our school tour to a pet farm.

Scarinae wrote: »
    He has an Instagram account - here is a pic of him looking disgruntled in the airport

That is one photogenic emotional support animal there!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,431 ✭✭✭MilesMorales1

I actually think support animals are a great idea (do we have the same thing here?) cos I know animals can be a great emotional support thing and I'm sure anyone with a lovely dog or cat would agree, but a ****ing peacock is the definition of taking the piss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,814 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Are they prone to aggression though? I remember my Senior Infants teacher getting attacked by one on our school tour to a pet farm.

They are noisy fcukers as well.

Like swans I think they are overrated.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,480 ✭✭✭wexie

Surprising actually, given there is precedent for 'emotional support' ducks, turkeys, pigs and bleeding horses (small ones) already....

We live in odd times...

More here

animals-on-a-plane-104-59f32ba127203__605.jpg

animals-on-a-plane-76-59f2fc087b1f3__605.jpg

cwArPk_rz-png__605.jpg

animals-on-a-plane-100-59f326b55b527__605.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭Noveight

Therapy dogs I understand but "emotional support animals"?

Catch a hold of yourself!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭donegaLroad

I think they are alright, they make a lot of noise when they are conflustered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

What about people on these flights who afraid of these animals?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 735 ✭✭✭milehip

They can ask for emotional support narcotics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 735 ✭✭✭milehip

They can ask for emotional support narcotics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Think I might get myself a pet duck or maybe a hog. I'll bring them down to the pub with me and they can drink Guinness and eat taytos.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,555 ✭✭✭Ave Sodalis

I actually think support animals are a great idea (do we have the same thing here?)

Yup!
    wexie wrote: »
    Surprising actually, given there is precedent for 'emotional support' ducks, turkeys, pigs and bleeding horses (small ones) already....

Ponies and horses are actually recognised as emotional support animals and therapy animals. There are several dedicated centres around the country that do some fantastic work. Festina Lente in Wicklow is the biggest, I think.

It's worth looking into. I've heard of a young non-communicative autistic girl who, when left alone with the pony she connected with, started hugging it and humming to it. There's multiple stories of them helping with PTSD, and they're also used in highly troubled areas to reduce crime and gang activity.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,480 ✭✭✭wexie

Ponies and horses are actually recognised as emotional support animals and therapy animals. There are several dedicated centres around the country that do some fantastic work. Festina Lente in Wicklow is the biggest, I think.

It's worth looking into. I've heard of a young non-communicative autistic girl who, when left alone with the pony she connected with, started hugging it and humming to it. There's multiple stories of them helping with PTSD, and they're also used in highly troubled areas to reduce crime and gang activity.

Oh don't get me wrong, I've heard great things about (for example) the effects interaction with horses can have on autistic kids.

It's the bringing them on a plane I find a bit mind boggling. (well, and the turkey)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,756 ✭✭✭demanufactured

That's it, I'm away to town to buy an emotional support urangutang.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭dudara

Scarinae wrote: »

Goddamn - that bird gets out more than I do

Oh don't get me wrong, I've heard great things about (for example) the effects interaction with horses can have on autistic kids.

It's the bringing them on a plane I find a bit mind boggling. (well, and the turkey)

They got the clearance to be a service animal a good few years ago. They're used as guide animals for the blind, along with other service animal tasks. Not sure if they're cleared in Ireland for it, but the ADA in America definitely permits ponies as service, guide and emotional support animals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,611 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Turkey could be for the flight meal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 404 ✭✭E mac

Imagine bringing an emotional support lion on long haul

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 11,362 ✭✭✭✭Scarinae

I didn't realise that Festina Lente did that, I knew they did horseriding lessons but that's fantastic.

Like I was saying in the original post though, I don't think this woman really has the peacock as an emotional support animal - she was just being a chancer, which dilutes the term for people who actually benefit from such animals and it means that the concept could be taken less seriously overall.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,218 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

It would just be my luck to get landed next to big cock!

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,581 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Wasn't the whole thing that the bird exceeded the dimensions ?

But if she'd clipped a few tail feathers there'd be no story to monetise.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,581 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Think I might get myself a pet duck or maybe a hog. I'll bring them down to the pub with me and they can drink Guinness and eat taytos.
    Duck in pub ?

There was an old variety act in which a man played an upright piano with a live duck on top, and the duck would dance to the music.

Years later after yer man died they figured out how he did the act, he'd wired a hotplate in the piano :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

Waterford Whispers writers must be getting a little concerned at how real life is fast outpacing satire :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 975 ✭✭✭decky1

AMERICAN---- say no more,

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 739 ✭✭✭Dev84

I need emotional support for my pea
    cock.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭Noveight

decky1 wrote: »
    AMERICAN---- say no more,

A quick Google seems to suggest that dogs are the emotional support animal of choice in Ireland and the UK.

Makes sense, really. An emotional support peacock is just nonsensical.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 677 ✭✭✭Dank Janniels

I hate to make light of peoples health issues but what kinda psyciatrist or health care provider would prescribe a feckin peacock as an emotional support animal?? Yes puppys, kittens even a cute bunny rabbit but a feckin peacock???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

So it's a pet, in other words.
    What amuses me is that the other passengers stood gazing at it ''in shock''. I'd be like ''Oh, a peacock! Kewl!''

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,095 ✭✭✭Rubberchikken

Positive interaction between animals and humans is wonderful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 526 ✭✭✭conor2469

Surely the hassle and scenes caused by these unconventional emotional support animals would outweigh the emotional support they provide?! Apparently a lot of people are using the emotional support angle to bring their pet with them everywhere they go, you can buy the vest on amazon for 15 euro.

conor2469 wrote: »
    Surely the hassle and scenes caused by these unconventional emotional support animals would outweigh the emotional support they provide?! Apparently a lot of people are using the emotional support angle to bring their pet with them everywhere they go, you can buy the vest on amazon for 15 euro.

As far as I know, and this could be entirely an American thing, but ESA are only allowed on flights and they over rule the no-pets clause in accommodation. Only service dogs/animals with public training can go everywhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,551 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

Are they prone to aggression though?

Only when refused boarding...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,862 ✭✭✭✭inforfun

Soon i will not be going outside without my emotional support UZI

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 526 ✭✭✭conor2469

As far as I know, and this could be entirely an American thing, but ESA are only allowed on flights and they over rule the no-pets clause in accommodation. Only service dogs/animals with public training can go everywhere.

Ah yes you are right, I mixed up the terms. People were putting fake "Service" vests on their dogs so that they could bring them on trains and into shops. The witnesses claimed that the dogs were not real service dogs as they were misbehaving, jumping up on the owner and other strangers, not acting a like a real service dog should.

conor2469 wrote:
    Ah yes you are right, I mixed up the terms. People were putting fake "Service" vests on their dogs so that they could bring them on trains and into shops. The witnesses claimed that the dogs were not real service dogs as they were misbehaving, jumping up on the owner and other strangers, not acting a like a real service dog should.

It must be so frustrating for those with genuine service animals because they're going to encounter more hostility from companies who had to deal with the fakes.

• Site Banned Posts: 406 ✭✭Pepefrogok

How selfish, animals will be bewildered and stressed by the whole airport/plane/flying experience, sure they will snuggle into their owner out of fear but it's just a selfish act.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Call Me Jimmy

Pepefrogok wrote: »
    How selfish, animals will be bewildered and stressed by the whole airport/plane/flying experience, sure they will snuggle into their owner out of fear but it's just a selfish act.

Well then the state needs to provide an emotional support-support lemur to support the emotional support peacock. This woman has a right to fly noah's ark style if that's what it takes. Judging by the ignorant comments in this thread an awareness campaign is long overdue.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

I nearly got shot for taking a photo of a peacock.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,682 ✭✭✭Kat1170

And gravy, don't forget the gravy. You can keep yer fancy sauces ;);) Oh, and roast spuds, stuffing, and and and.... Ah here feck it, all the trimmings. Yum :):)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 739 ✭✭✭Dev84

Yes, positive interaction between humans and my pea cock is also wonderful :)