Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

"Friends was racist and sexist"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,780 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Hey dont blame millenials.

I'm sure some of them have an IQ higher than single digits. Granted not this guy but some millenials must be fairly smart.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,969 ✭✭✭Assetbacked

Articles on how a minority of people get offended do not interest or bother me.

TV show in inaccurate portrayal of real life shocker.

Oh f*ck off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

'People that trawl twitter for reasons to get themselves all worked up about nothing are sad and should go for a walk or something.'

So say me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,609 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Well fook the millenials and SJW's, shower of fvckwits.

Let them go fvck themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,183 ✭✭✭SteM

Who gives a **** what millenials think about a show that ended over a decade ago. No one's forcing people to watch it on Netflix ffs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

So say Millenials and SJWs.

]

No they don't . This guy does.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,628 ✭✭✭darkdubh

That Sam Boland guy is nuts. Something he tweeted popped up in the Louise O Neill thread too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 786 ✭✭✭SNNUS

What a tool!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,158 ✭✭✭Trigger Happy

What next - Glenroe is sexist and racist too?

Where will it end...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 504 ✭✭✭Vex Willems

Where were these people that it took it going on Netflix to notice?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

It’s realistic if anything; the type of people portrayed in Friends tend not to hang around with too many black people or have black mates.

Also, again with the identity politics. I’ve been on boards for 14 years and only recently I’ve started thinking of deleting my account because I’m sick to the back teeth of reading about Travellers, the dole and whatever transfeminist American culture war sh*te is raging on Twitter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,969 ✭✭✭Assetbacked

What good is a joke that isn't sexist, racist or generally insulting?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,749 ✭✭✭✭wes

There really stretching who is and isn't a millennial with stuff like this.

Plenty of people who are millennials would have seen the show when it aired, so the whole "millennial" angle is bollox. Seriously the whole here is what the kids think thing is just silly. FFS, there are people in there 30s married with kids who count as millennials. Its a grouping of people born over a 20 year span.

Also, again trawling twitter, you will find kinds of **** said by various people. Its largely meaningless noise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,737 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

Why the need to label idiots as 'millenials' or 'SJWs' or anything else other than idiots?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,158 ✭✭✭Trigger Happy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,749 ✭✭✭✭wes

FTA69 wrote: »
    Also, again with the identity politics.

Its the same few posters, obsessed with the American culture wars. I have just started putting most of them on ignore these days. The noise generated isn't worth listening too. I will say that boards seems to be having a particularly bad day, with people posting about "stuff on twitter" that made them angry.

And yet it still managed to be unfunny...

I always thought it would have improved greatly if they shot Phoebe in the first episode.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,675 ✭✭✭the_pen_turner

I'm sure if you look back at all comedy and sit coms from 10 to 20 years ago you will find all kind of. Stuff that is unacceptable today.
    We can't judge old stuff by today's standards

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,752 ✭✭✭Pelvis

Who the **** is Sam Boland are why is his opinion worth starting a thread over?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,022 ✭✭✭jamesbere

Pelvis wrote: »

I agreed, some idiots opinion should be ignored.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,628 ✭✭✭darkdubh

Jaysus. Hope they never get to see Till Death Us Do Part. On second thoughts I hope they do.

http://www.nme.com/news/tv/friends-criticised-sexist-homophobic-netflix-2219739

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,562 ✭✭✭TheChizler

The guy in OP is actually Generation X, you bunch of millenialists.

Stop appropriating my generation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,394 ✭✭✭Pac1Man

He definitely has skeletons in his closet.

Betcha he's done something. I might start a rumour.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭Noveight

Exactly, like the folks who wanted to bleep f@ggot out of Fairytale of New York.

What next? Chip the willy off of Michelangelo’s David?!

Three's Company was also sexist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,560 ✭✭✭✭salmocab

All this nonsense about young people getting offended by everything is a load of sh1t I’ve worked recently with plenty of young lads in their early 20s and have mates with kids in their late teens and they don’t get offended by any of this crap, this is at best about a small minority of do gooders trying to protect people who don’t need it from something that doesn’t exist. The young lads I know are at best a bit more open minded and accepting of differences but aren’t offended by much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,279 ✭✭✭✭Sleeper12

FTA69 wrote:
    Also, again with the identity politics. I’ve been on boards for 14 years and only recently I’ve started thinking of deleting my account because I’m sick to the back teeth of reading about Travellers, the dole and whatever transfeminist American culture war sh*te is raging on Twitter.

Funny I've felt the same recently. I've seen many threads wondering why the numbers using boards.ie are falling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,785 ✭✭✭✭Snake Plisken

He seems to be quite proud that the liberal.ie have blocked him another so called Male Feminist etc the usual crap! Another. Gimp who goes out of his way to find offence in everything!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,695 ✭✭✭King of Kings

SteM wrote: »
    Who gives a **** what millenials think about a show that ended over a decade ago. No one's forcing people to watch it on Netflix ffs.

unfortunately that right-on stuff does travel accross the pond, where we may laugh at people like LON and her ilk. Those ideas have taken root in the UK where now the police are trawling the internet for what is deemed "hate speech" Many local councils are mad for this stuff now..

Case in point the fellow in scotland facing court for teaching the nazi salute to his dog.

So (sadly I know) it must be highlighted and resisted before it becomes the norm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,529 ✭✭✭✭Alun

The whole of the 70s and much of the 80s was racist, sexist and homophobic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,238 ✭✭✭✭Rjd2

Agreed, quite easy to ignore to be fair, not exactly got Trump/Rowling level of followers does he.:p

I dunno really, one of those cases of manufactured outrage, a few randoms rewatched it and did not like and the Indy which is rubbish btw and BBC are using it for easy click and easier outrage.

Shouldn't lose sleep over it or write of entire generation over it.

It wasn't there fault that everyone loves raymond was popular, nobody perfect.:pac:

• Site Banned Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭Ralf and Florian

The main focus of the thread is the Independent article.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,346 ✭✭✭King George VI

Never heard of him until now but judging by his Twitter page, he's a nobody, a loser and his opinion is worth less than nothing.

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,669 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

I don't think Ace:Ventura pet detective would get made now because a few scenes would be pretty offensive towards transgender folks by today's standards (rightly so in fairness) but **** me if I don't still find it hilarious when "The Crying Game" kicks in and poor old Ace has a melt down.

Sometimes something is just a product of its time and that's all there is to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,779 ✭✭✭✭siblers

If Friends was racist and sexist so was pretty much every sitcom of the 90s

• Site Banned Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭Ralf and Florian

Mickeroo wrote: »
    I don't think Ace:Ventura pet detective would get made now because a few scenes would be pretty offensive towards transgender folks by today's standards (rightly so in fairness) but **** me if I don't still find it hilarious when "The Crying Game" kicks in and poor old Ace has a melt down.

Sometimes something is just a product of its time and that's all there is to it.

Unfortunately a lot of people don't see it that way. Its like they want to trawl back through decades of popular culture and remove what doesn't suit them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 777 ✭✭✭Skedaddle

Friends kicked off almost 24 years ago and lots changed over that period. That's a quarter of a century ago almost!
    It's a reflection of 1990s US culture, it's not a reflection of 2018.

Also it certainly wasn't homophobic, it, rather awkwardly, dealt with the subject of Ross' ex, her new lesbian relationship and having ay parents. It also dealt with a lot of other topics over that series.

You're talking about an era when many things we take for granted now were quite different then.

The only way I think you could describe the show as sexist was not one of the women had a sensible job. However, neither did Joey.

However, I think trying to apply 2018 social norms to the mid 1990s is not going to get you anywhere.

Fawlty Towers must be an absolute horror tv show for some!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Gimp who goes out of his way to find offence in everything!

Reminds me of quite a few around these parts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Exhibit A: Ross Geller in blackface

ross.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,288 ✭✭✭Fanny Wank

I'm sure if you look back at all comedy and sit coms from 10 to 20 years ago you will find all kind of. Stuff that is unacceptable today.

It's mostly way better than the ****e peddled as TV today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,617 ✭✭✭grogi

So say Millenials and SJWs.

I'm a white educated heterosexual men approaching 40 - and I love Friends. But I see how many jokes were homophobic (take a whole episode 'The one with Joey's bag')...

This was different times and is a great show. But we move on, it wouldn't fly these days.

Fanny **** wrote: »

Jesus fúcking christ this username will trigger a lot of eejits.

Fanny **** wrote: »

The people offended over this probably hashtag the shíte out of "quality" comedy from Alison Spittle's Amazing TV Show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,346 ✭✭✭King George VI

Mickeroo wrote: »

It's such a shame that something like Blazing Saddle wouldn't be made today because they aren't PC, when they are legit some of the funniest movies I've ever seen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

The tyrannous new morality is every bit as oppressive as the old

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

Remember the days when if a TV show wasn't to your taste you didn't watch it?

Nowadays it seems to be the thing to watch every episode for maximum outrage.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭yerwanthere123

It is literally a few people on Twitter who've said this, can be safely ignored.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,093 ✭✭✭✭chopperbyrne

Aren't millennials people who were becoming adults around the turn of the millennium, not people born around that time?