Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rough Areas to avoid in Dublin

• 10-01-2018 5:54pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3

Hi i am going to move to dublin soon and
    one of the houses i would like to live is from clonshaugh. i am just wondering if it is a good area to live? i have two kids so i would be looking for school and activities? Is there any train, bus, tram to city? and are there any rough areas near by that i should be aware to avoid?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 Marucha

one of the houses i would like to live is from clonshaugh. i am just wondering if it is a good area to live? i have two kids so i would be looking for school and activities? Is there any train, bus, tram to city? and are there any rough areas near by that i should be aware to avoid?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 Marucha

hi i will moving to Dublin soon with my two kids and i would like to know what areas i should avoid to live.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,150 ✭✭✭how.gareth

Marucha wrote: »
    hi i will moving to Dublin soon with my two kids and i would like to know what areas i should avoid to live or even walk to.

The whole place, we eat kids and strangers up here cause we are lunatics

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,100 ✭✭✭Browney7

hi i will moving to Dublin soon with my two kids and i would like to know what areas i should avoid to live or even walk to.

Ah here op, you'll just get a rake of people firing off names of pretty much everywhere with a question like that.

You'd be better off asking what area would people recommend for two kids to rent or buy in at €X budget.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,519 ✭✭✭GalwayGrrrrrl

North = bad, south = good. I think!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 181 ✭✭TresGats

As long as you keep out of the favelas you should be ok.

Then why is the average price of a house in south dublin lower than in north?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,010 ✭✭✭velo.2010

Best to keep clear of the Projects where Conor McGregor grew up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,519 ✭✭✭GalwayGrrrrrl

cisk wrote: »

Wow, I didn’t know that. As someone living outside Dublin I always thought that south was the “posh” bit. You learn something new every day!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

cisk wrote:

Increased supply? Much fewer houses on North side. Also plenty of dodgy areas on South side. Realistically everywhere you live in Dublin you will be pretty close to someone undesirable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,338 ✭✭✭MayoSalmon

cisk wrote:

Fake News

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,846 ✭✭✭NickNickleby

MayoSalmon wrote: »
    Fake News

It was an interesting assertion, perhaps you'd like to enlighten us with some data to back up your rebuttal.

I may be selling up shortly, depending on your reply:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,661 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

Because south dublin includes tallaght, clondalkin etc?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,881 ✭✭✭Peatys

West=bad, East= good

Honourable mention goes to Lucan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,846 ✭✭✭NickNickleby

Bus service is (as far as I know) rubbish. CAn't offer any opinion on very local schools. However, I can tell you that you might find one side of Clonshaugh is more 'exciting' than the other. If I was to pick somewhere to live there, I'd be looking at Newbury Estate. After that, any road called Clonshaugh xxxx. Other than those, I wouldn't consider living there.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 32,286 Mod ✭✭✭✭The_Conductor

Ok guys- cop on and try to offer constructive advice to the OP.
    OP- ask reasonable questions- vague leading questions which invite people to ridicule entire areas- are not appropriate.
    Thread reopened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 596 ✭✭✭MSVforever

Clonshaugh wouldn't be on top of my list. It's mostly fine but you want to be streetwise as parts of it is bordering Darndale which is a very rough area.

I personally would prefer Santry (not Ballymun), Whitehall, Artane or Clongriffin if you have to live in the vicinity.

If you have to live in the general area- and have a budget that will stretch beyond Clonshaugh- how about Swords- or back down towards the sea- Sutton?
    If you're looking at Clonshaugh purely on the basis of the level of rent there- well, there is a reason its less than some more salubrious areas- its a less desireable address- its not Darndale- but its not far off.

Swords and Sutton are well known as locations that airport workers (including flight crews etc) live- they've good transport links, good amenities and facilities- and reasonable schools.

Are you budget constrained- or do you have a specific reason for wanting to be in the general area?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

I think the concept of a rough area is funny, depends on where you grew up and your definition of rough. Somebody who grew up in dalkey would consider some parts of lucan quite rough , whereas somebody who grew up in whitehall would see cabra as a nice area.

overall there are some areas (ballymun, tallaght, clondalkin, finglas, ringsend, dublin 1 in general) that most people consider rough (steady on the 'i grew up there and its lovely' crew, you may see that but the crime stats say no) but in general dublin as a whole is more dangerous than rural ireland, but less dangerous than the majority of european cities.

A handy trick to decide between 2 or 3 areas is to go to a car insurance site, key in all your details only change the address and note the price differences, the lower the price the better the area.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

A handy trick to decide between 2 or 3 areas is to go to a car insurance site, key in all your details only change the address and note the price differences, the lower the price the better the area.

It's a poor indicator to use as postcodes are used which is a broad brush stroke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,901 ✭✭✭✭ted1

Em there not.
    https://www.google.ie/amp/s/amp.independent.ie/business/personal-finance/property-mortgages/property-prices-in-the-dublin-market-to-hit-boomtime-levels-within-the-year-36094720.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,684 ✭✭✭✭Samuel T. Cogley

Pick a budget then find it on the Northside DART line. There is everything from some of the nicest areas in Dublin to working class areas which are grand but might not suit everyone all within 15-20 minutes of each other. As for other European cities I actually find Dublin as a whole to be a bit rough but then I grew up in Oxfordshire so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,813 ✭✭✭Wesser

Ballymun
    Poppintree
    Darndake
    Tallaght
    Ballyfermot
    Ballybough
    Northwall
    North city centre

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59 ✭✭audi5

Go here:

https://maps.pobal.ie/WebApps/DeprivationIndices/index.html

On right menu Layer List, click Pobal Deprivation then select 2016-By Small Area

Then zoom into the map

Blue = good
    Green = ok
    Yellow = bad
    Orange =very bad

ThisRegard wrote: »
    It's a poor indicator to use as postcodes are used which is a broad brush stroke.

not necissarily, but that said quotes will be much higher in dublin 22 or 24 than dublin 4 or 6 and anyone who knows dublin knows why and that its accurate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,684 ✭✭✭✭Samuel T. Cogley

audi5 wrote: »
    Go here:

On right menu Layer List, click Pobal Deprivation then select 2016-By Small Area

Then zoom into the map

Blue = good
    Green = ok
    Yellow = bad
    Orange =very bad

In fairness some of those yellow and orange areas on the Northside are perfectly fine, and infact some of them seem a bit wonky. Sides of the Kilbarrack DART station for one thing is off. Not sure about quite so much Blue around Clongriffin either. Say what you want about Kilbarrack but I've never seen a turd on the inside of the DART station like the one in Clongriffin yesterday evening :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

not necissarily, but that said quotes will be much higher in dublin 22 or 24 than dublin 4 or 6 and anyone who knows dublin knows why and that its accurate.

You're comparing different post codes, and there's the assumption that every area within the same postcodes is the same, which any sensible person knows is not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 190 ✭✭PeterCasey

Wow, I didn’t know that. As someone living outside Dublin I always thought that south was the “posh” bit. You learn something new every day!
    Ballybrack is close to killiney two total opposites.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,582 ✭✭✭khaldrogo

cisk wrote:

Howth, malahide, Sutton and a few other localized areas are the reason.

What's the cheapest house in howth? 900k?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,288 ✭✭✭Fanny Wank

ThisRegard wrote: »

Most use small area not postcode

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

khaldrogo wrote: »
    Howth, malahide, Sutton and a few other localized areas are the reason.

What's the cheapest house in howth? 900k?

190k for a one bed apartmwnt

350k for a house

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

PeterCasey wrote: »
    Ballybrack is close to killiney two total opposites.

And monkstown farm, parts of shankill, little Bray, parts of Donnybrook etc etc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 190 ✭✭PeterCasey

vicwatson wrote: »

In a population of a million half people you are going to have less privalage areas than others there is good bad people everywhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,271 ✭✭✭NapoleonInRags

Go here:

Then zoom into the map

Blue = good
    Green = ok
    Yellow = bad
    Orange =very bad

That map is bullsh*t!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,012 ✭✭✭✭Cuddlesworth

That map is bullsh*t!

Did you filter by small area. Or did it hurt your feelings?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,782 ✭✭✭Xterminator

velo.2010 wrote: »
    Best to keep clear of the Projects where Conor McGregor grew up.

and the ones U2 grew up in too!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59 ✭✭audi5

I guess problem with this map is that it is based on actual data points rather than anecdotes or personal opinions or what you saw the last time you were passing through it.

There is a methodology behind it, things like unemployment rate, % of social housing, primary/third level education, % lone parent household etc contribute to the index and the colouring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,741 ✭✭✭Mousewar

I'd go for Foxrock or maybe Dalkey at a stretch. Anywhere else and you're basically living in a favela.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,825 ✭✭✭LirW

I guess problem with this map is that it is based on actual data points rather than anecdotes or personal opinions or what you saw the last time you were passing through it.

There is a methodology behind it, things like unemployment rate, % of social housing, primary/third level education, % lone parent household etc contribute to the index and the colouring.

If you go onto the small mapping, there are literally single streets that come out better than the surrounding areas. Sorry, but I'm not giving that much credibility. Same with the mapping of the rural areas where basically everything is disadvantaged :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,901 ✭✭✭✭ted1

PeterCasey wrote: »
    vicwatson wrote: »

In a population of a million half people you are going to have less privalage areas than others there is good bad people everywhere.
    The staff for the big houses have to live somewhere!!

Guys- honestly- you all should know better.
    Less talk of Favelas etc- please and thankyou.
    If you don't have something constructive to offer the OP- regardless of how ridiculous you think their question is- it is not an invitation to audition for Saturday night at the Apollo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 758 ✭✭✭Somedaythefire

I guess I'm deprived so! I was looking at it and my area is orange, but my area is filled with a lot of older retired people, very few young professional families so that could colour the results.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,012 ✭✭✭✭Cuddlesworth

LirW wrote: »
    If you go onto the small mapping, there are literally single streets that come out better than the surrounding areas. Sorry, but I'm not giving that much credibility. Same with the mapping of the rural areas where basically everything is disadvantaged :rolleyes:

The country is usually considered disadvantaged. Incomes and discretionary spending are usually much lower and there is a distinct lack of public services and amenities.

I've lived in a fair number of locations in the City and browsed that map for a hour. I saw what I would consider some mistakes but most of it was very accurate. Even to the point where in a sea of Blue I could see a small orange area, turned out there was a halting site there. Outside of telling somebody to avoid any area starting with Bally, its a pretty good litmus test of a general area/street.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,825 ✭✭✭LirW

On a more serious note to help the OP:

If you're looking to rent you can't really be picky, especially if you have children. Landlords generally have a huge selection of prospect tenants to pick from and the easiest for them is a professional couple. So whatever comes up for a good price in an okay enough area will probably do. Good indicators if an area isn't the greatest are: littering, noise from quads, horses around the communal green areas, groups of teenagers hanging out, especially in the later evening.

If you're looking to buy that's another cup of tea though. What's your budget? If you have only a certain amount to spend that would buy you into bad areas, it would make sense expanding the search into the North County, Meath or Kildare, because the value for money is a lot better yet you still have decent enough transport choices.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,999 ✭✭✭68 lost souls

Having a look at the map it will be interesting to see the next version. There are a few areas that I see are marginally below average that are currently all fields on the map but are now developed and the demographic has totally changed.

I also wonder of the impact on the weighting of %social housing on areas of new development when there is a minimum % of social housing.

In response to the OP a budget and perhaps work location my be helpful. There might be buses in an area but not going to the right place for you.

As mentioned northside Swords is a nice commuter town and has a lot going for it.

South side there are a lot of nice places but it depend son what you expect to be paying for accommodation. The general comment son Tallaght are specific to certain areas in my opinion, as mentioned the car insurance is not really a way to go which is backed up by the deprivation indexes map. Dublin 24 has a crazy high loading on it and yet certain areas of it are green or blue.

There are a lot of nice areas in say D6,14, 16, 24 that might really suit you but there are also a lot of areas that I would avoid like say Whitechurch (which funny enough parts are blue in the depvrivation index), Hillview, Jobstown

The country is usually considered disadvantaged. Incomes and discretionary spending are usually much lower and there is a distinct lack of public services and amenities.

I've lived in a fair number of locations in the City and browsed that map for a hour. I saw what I would consider some mistakes but most of it was very accurate. Even to the point where in a sea of Blue I could see a small orange area, turned out there was a halting site there. Outside of telling somebody to avoid any area starting with Bally, its a pretty good litmus test of a general area/street.

You raise an interesting point about a halting site. Its a pretty good metric, if you can see one or live within walking distance of one, youre always going to have problems , that would be the biggest red flag for me in an area.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,220 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

You raise an interesting point about a halting site. Its a pretty good metric, if you can see one or live within walking distance of one, youre always going to have problems , that would be the biggest red flag for me in an area.
    I lived 1.2km walk from a halting site for 12 years and had no problems whatsoever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 jamesa9911

I think the first considerations should be:

1. Do you have a car to use, to remove reliance on public transport?
    The Luas tram service does not provide good coverage across dublin. A commute from West Dublin to South Dublin would easily consume 1.5hours hours of travelling, adding an additional 15hours onto your work week. (assuming 50 work weeks a year, that's approx. 750hours a year commuting to work..) Most of the Dublin transport services provide service to the city centre, where you will be required to connect. This may not be as bad in some places, but it's what I have experienced.

If you have a car, you may be able to avoid the luas/bus and gain a lot more flexibility. Of course, you would then need to find somewhere with parking. This is a bigger issue now since many housing developments have shared parking, and as the economic recovery continues, more cars will be added to those shared residential car parks, making parking quite difficult in some places. Permit systems sometimes work, but they are easily abused, and no-one really wants to be calling Apcoa on their neighbour (I've never needed too, but I can imagine it would cause friction). If there is no permit/fine system in place, it'll be a free-for-all.

2. What's the rental budget? (I'm assuming you are not buying, otherwise you really need alot more guidance than you're getting here) as Dublin is currently booming and rents are extremely high, for fairly poor standards of accommodation. Viewing would be essential in my opinion, which is difficult if you are moving from outside Dublin.

3. Where will you be working? Central/North/South/West Dublin? There's no point in living way up North if you plan to drive to Sandyford every day - the M50 is always backed up during regular rush hour. Working in central Dublin is perfect, as nearly all transport options feed into the city centre. It seems 'clonshaugh' is up North, so hopefully you've considered this; Google Maps can help - you can use the 'Public transport' options. A quick Google shows a 22minute walk from Clonslaugh to a Bus station in 'Darndale, Fairfield Estate', so I would say that no, it's not a well connected town.

I know this doesn't help answer on where to buy, but it will help people recommend good places based on your requirements. Once you know roughly the correct place to be looking - then you really just need to find the better place to live within that area, avoiding some of the rougher spots. As previously mentioned, you'll always be 10mins drive from somewhere rough in Dublin (Ballymun and Finglas are not far from clonshaugh for example).

If you're working down South or Central Dublin, and budget isn't an issue, there are mostly good places to live anywhere between Stephen's Green and Dundrum/Sandyford, but the prices reflect this.. I couldn't comment on schools or activities for kids, schools and activities are everywhere though, so getting a place closer to work would make sense to me.

Finally clonslaugh is right beside the airport, underneath the plane paths, and right beside the M1/M50 junction - won't that be too noisy??!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 774 ✭✭✭daveyeh

Drive around the area, if you see junkies hanging around, burnt out cars, or 'UB40' painted on a wall, don't move there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,639 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

daveyeh wrote: »
    or 'UB40' painted on a wall,

Presumably they'll be driving around the area in a time machine?