Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Limerick GAA Discussion Part 2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,309 ✭✭✭evolvingtipperary101

Back to the days of Loughnane's dummy teams! Serious burden for the player involved. Not nice weeks for Reidy and Boylan. More than likely will be cut from the squad next year if they're being used like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 631 ✭✭✭C4000

I'd be surprised if they went for dummy teams two weeks in a row. I'd say the selected team will start. Conor Boylan has been on the fringes of the team for 3 or 4 years now, this is his chance to make an impact.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,050 ✭✭✭conor05

Not sure about Boylan but Reidy definitely won’t be cut from the squad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,646 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 909 ✭✭✭munsterdevil

I think there may be a bit of shadow boxing in the game on Saturday ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 891 ✭✭✭pajoguy

If the sun is shining tomorrow evening the city end will be fairly blinded including the goal keeper

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,061 ✭✭✭einn32

We're growing in to the game against a strong breeze. Round robin was always going to need the full squad to be used.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,057 ✭✭✭Spudmonkey

Was Lynch's injury serious?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,007 ✭✭✭Vinnie222

It looked one of those ones where he knew he was fked from the second it popped.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,612 ✭✭✭High bike

Hopefully Flanagan and Hayes are back for the Clare game and maybe Lynch for a Munster final if we're in it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,061 ✭✭✭einn32

Good win despite all the setbacks.

Hopefully the Clare game won't matter and we can rest lads. I feel like every game is an injury watch now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,250 ✭✭✭Billy Ocean

In fairness to ye to win without Lynch, Hayes, Flanagan and P Casey was a serious statement, taught Waterford carrying the ball in contact at times was brainless, meat and drink to Hegarty, WOD etc. Arguably Gillane's best ever display for ye, simply unplayable.

An area Waterford were exceptional was the breaking ball where it looked like the came out with way more possession than most other teams.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,331 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

Was in the Gaelic grounds tonight and thought the crowd was worth at least a couple of points for ye. In fairness as much as the players bring the intensity the crowd do likewise. Congrats on the win, if we had had a Byrnes type on the long range frees we might have nicked a draw or win.

Ultimately though limerick held us scoreless for long periods, especially from 50th minute onward when we didn't raise a single white flag.

Hopefully not the last time we'll play this year lads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,250 ✭✭✭Billy Ocean

And to be fair their 2nd goal was absolutely top class.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,525 ✭✭✭moby2101

Referee was an absolute disgrace…

How in the name of JC did the mandarins appoint this fu#kwit to a panel of referee’s…

says alot for CP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,329 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

Hegarty is very generous with use of the Hurley, I have to say, based on what I saw yesterday Not afraid to contact meat instead of leather i you get my drift.

Not half as much as the "generous" use of the hurley that he is on the receiving end of that seems to get brushed off.

Absolutely sick to death of Gillane having to start every run with someone hanging off him too.

But ya "something something dirty Limerick"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,637 ✭✭✭✭billyhead

Lynch will definitely be out for Tipp in 2 week's. I heard Peter Casey is nearly got and will return over the next few weeks. Good news if true. Also did Flanagan fracture his hand? Does anyone know exactly what his injury is?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,985 ✭✭✭Eoinbmw

Lynch looks like a 6-8 week injury! A massive loss!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,329 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

Yes I agree he gets on the receiving end too, however his style is very combatant and he is a big unit for sure.

Never suggested that Limerick were a dirty team, I have great respect for them, terrific players and skill.

Good to see referees paying more attention to over carrying and the hand pass.

There are other issues too that need attention,lack of goals being one, but at least a start has been made.

A large amount of their tackle involves them pushing the limits of whats allowed....kk done same for years,the tag of dirty limerick will follow em,while such practice continues,

If yous count in the cynical fouls/pull downs given between the two 45s,it near always is limerick give most away,its a transparent effort to slow game down

Gearoid hegarty (??)was booked after 5 mins or so yesterday and proceeded to commit 6 fouls before half time....all niggly little things,unworthy of a card,but culumlatively,they will eventually come up againest a ref who will start booking for persistant fouling,and be in bother then.....they are an awesome team like,and already among best teams ever,but to simply ignore what they upto,in favour of positive platitudes is naive

You wont win all irelands by being saints

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,044 ✭✭✭slegs

You have got blue tinted glasses on there. Reality is Waterford play a very similar style with similar levels of aggression in the tackle. Limerick are just better at it. The 'dirty' thing is just lazy jealousy stuff spouted by beaten fans

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 631 ✭✭✭C4000

Broken finger is what I heard. Could be back for the tipp match

He was dreadful for both teams. Tried to let the game flow but then called frees for things that clearly werent and missed things that were frees (for both sides)

Yous havnt refuted a single point in it,and i would severly qs the level of endemic fouling/pull downs by waterford between the two 45s vs its near precieved as being a tactic of limk now

Il be watching back tonight and tomorrow so will be able to give exaxt figure,along side estimate on what i preceive to be fouls

You can churn out stats all you like. I was at the game and saw it up close. Waterford were trying exactly the same things as Limerick - bottling up and crowding to stop the players getting away with easy possession. This is not 'on the edge' stuff its just part of the game. Limerick are exceptionally good at doing this without fouling but obviously it does lead to fouls as with any part of the game. There is an attempt by the likes of you to produce this narrative that Limerick are somehow 'cheating' but it just stinks of sour grapes as your team cant do this part of the game as well as Limerick.

At no stage have i said limerick were cheating?

I seen enough of limerick,to say they give away copious frees between the two 45s in effort to slow down game,help organise their defence....i mean,its a fairly cynical tactic,but a tactic nonetheless,which plays percentages that its better give away frees vs letting teams get a run on yous,its like a footballers way of playing hurling,but still,its simply upto teams to .move ball faster to avoid this....

But if they run into a referee that books for persistant fouling,which will happen eventually,they are going to run into problems.....do you not feel hegarty was playing close to wind with repeated fouling,despite already being on a yellow?