Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Limerick GAA Discussion Part 2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 232 ✭✭LMK

I feel that Hannon and Byrnes (2024/2025 versions) might have peaked or at least have given so much of themselves that now they are not superior now to i.e O'Neill & O'Donoghue, especially in covering the ground

Peak Byrnes and Hannon start every time & Byrnes return to form would be a huge bonus obviously because his striking is such a weapon. Hannon's skill level so high, he has an intangible ingredient that is irreplaceable but can he go to the well again to allow him to recover the magic?

I think that Adam English for sure & Aidan O'Connor possibly need to be inserted in the middle third to inject a degree of youth freshness and fearlessness, just like Cathal O'Neill did last year , Shane O' Brien should also push hard but he'll be inside, & I don't discount Seamus Flanagan ..maybe even making an impact further out

A few fresh faces but only if they overcome the "old" warriors to get in there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,565 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

O'Connor is not anywhere near making the starting team unless there are injuries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭awaywithyou

Christ lads speaking as a neutral ye are getting carried away with yereselves… why are ye so hellbent on chopping and changing the team because of 1 defeat… as has been said the absence of Barry Nash from the starting line up for semifinal cannot be underestimated.. huge player for Limerick.. and Cork were well able to get themselves up for Limerick games this year and i think the circus around Kyle hayes all year was no help…

assuming all players are fully fit and available at most i can see 2 changes for next year.. goalie quaid.. Finn morrissey nash byrnes and Hayes guaranteed to start.. hannon im not so sure but i think Hannon will be given every chance to prove he should be there so a change at 6 is not guaranteed..

midfield o'donoghue and o'donovan maybe cathal o'neill might get in now and again

forwards hegarty lynch morrissey casey gillane are guaranteed to start.. then you have adam english shane o'brien and flanagan looking for the other spot…

i will be shocked if anyone else is considered for selection by john kiely and kinnerk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,611 ✭✭✭✭billyhead

I wouldn't discount odalaigh for the forward spot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,604 ✭✭✭High bike

That's he mystery to me he came on and turned the game in Ennis and didn't get a look in after that for whatever reason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 93 ✭✭biglad40isback

any chance pat Ryan would make the panel? Seems to have put the head down and chip away

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 252 ✭✭rjoe90

I doubt it, I can’t see him bringing back in a 30 year old. For the full forward line you have Gillane, Flanagan, Casey, English, O Dalaigh, O Brien who would all be ahead of him.

Post edited by rjoe90 on

I don't see them bringing back a guy about to turn 30 unless there are an astounding amount of injuries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,604 ✭✭✭High bike

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,044 ✭✭✭slegs

Adam English centre forward, Lynch and O'Donovan midfield with O'Donoghue centre back replacing Hannon is what Id go with. English has to be a starter going forward. His talent and ceiling is higher than any player Limerick have unearthed since Lynch.

He would run the game from centre forward. The game can by pass Lynch midfield though, English in the withdrawn corner forward role Reidy played last year would work well and leave lynch centre. O neill and DOD midfield then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 414 ✭✭PIORUN

he butchered a goal and nearly butchered the one he scored too.

You're waffling, he came on for his championship debut with Limerick 6/7 points down and scored 1-1 to help Limerick turn it around.

He done very well when he came on. I don't agree with High Bike that he turned the game as I think that was down to Clare losing the run of themselves and giving himself and Hegarty one whole half of the pitch to use as a playground. But on that day and most days he came on I think he has contributed very well.

His biggest problem in the immediate future is the equally young and talented O'Brien seems to be ahead of him.

4 Limerick players getting all stars tonight I’ve been told..

Looking back over the last 15 years a semi finalist/Munster champion would be lucky to get 3. There are exceptions like when Clare got 3 in 2022 despite winning nothing.

2018 which was an open championship and the Limerick players were still mostly unknown looks to me like it could be similar to this year with 6Lk,3G,3Ck,2Cl,1Kk.

Been reliably told they will get 4. I wouldn’t have suspected 2 of them. Will have to wait and see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 970 ✭✭✭Stationmaster

All 4 were very much on for All Stars back at the semifinal stage.

Something like a 6/5/4 or a 7/4/4 split isn't impossible. Leinster counties would probably lose their sht but I can't remember any Kilkenny player doing much and the rest of Leinster were not great. Wexford and Dublin were good by their standards but that shouldn't win you an All Star.

I'll be sick if Nicky loses again just because other keepers made the odd flamboyant save. His two opponents weren't even rated in their own counties before last June.

Agree 100% regarding Nicky. It’s criminal he only has 2 all stars, he’s been the best keeper comfortably over the last 10 years. He has lost out to Eoin Murphy on so many occasions due to the flashy saves Murphy makes.

Murphy is a great keeper but as an overall package I’d take Nicky any day of the week.

I’d imagine it will only be Clare, Cork and Limerick represented with O’Donnell HOTY. YHOTY will be interesting, it maybe biased but I’d be leaning to O’Neill.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 414 ✭✭PIORUN

only saying he did make a mess of the first goal chance he got (nerves and all to be expected) , but scored a point and the goal he got he mis hit it into the ground. This could have led to Kiely /Kinnerk not giving him more game time after that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 618 ✭✭✭C4000

O Dalaigh has made an impact every time he has gotten on. Would expect him to be a regular sub in 2025.

Patrick Kirby and Patrick O Donovan are two potential additions to the panel....

English is a definite starter, hes developed massively in the last year or so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 891 ✭✭✭pajoguy

Nicky brought off some incredible saves this year so he should be nailed on.

Also Kyle nailed on.

Dan was the best full back overall.

Hego not sure if he would get one. Made big impact in sone games alright.

Hegarty was been talked about for player of the year "if he had a good few outings in Croke Park" which obviously never got to happen.

Hayes deserved it on the pitch but people might not want to vote for him this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 380 ✭✭d1980

I believe CON is number 4..…

He seems to be very well liked by the neutrals. Almost young player of the year in 2023 despite being off the bench a lot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,522 ✭✭✭moby2101

He should have been nominated last year..

I think he wins YHOTY tonight 🤞