Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Limerick GAA Discussion Part 2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 311 ✭✭rubbledoubledo

What do people think for the final, I’d be concerned for our shooting, Kilkenny seems to tap points over the bar at will, it will come down to a puck of a ball I think , we will match them every other way, we can’t give away frees , with Reid around , see the last day ,Toms 2 shots never hit the target, easy enough chances I thought, and at a vital time, that won’t do against Kilkenny, it’s my biggest fear now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,659 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

They have class forwards but haven't faced anything like Limericks defense when on form.

Clare had more chances than Kilkenny but less scores. That won't be the case if they give Limerick those chances.

I imagine the game will be very similar to last year's final.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,525 ✭✭✭moby2101

After Saturdays performance you would think that we are peaking at the business end of the year.

Hego Byrnes Hayes have found an improvement in form.

Worrying aspect is that Hego scored 1-5 in last years final, Byrnes was on fire, these 2 lads need to continue with the improvement in form.

We were 4 or 5 up at halftime but KK got 2 scrappy goals that kept them in it.

Our defence has been great this year especially when you factor in Finns loss.

KK are better than last year, Cody is on fire, TJ is as hungry as ever.

I think we should have enough, expect a higher scoring game compared to last year Limerick by 4.

I’m hearing that there might not be a banquet this year in the Burlington, that the team will be returning home that night?

Having attended City West in 2018 and Burlington last year , I think that would be disappointing.

Traditionally both teams would always have held their post match meal/celebration/commiseration in the Capital followed by the visit of a couple of winning players to the Childrens Hospital with the cup the next day.

Possibly the players would prefer a more low key relaxed event with just family and friends rather than the whole media gathering around, and that’s understandable too.

I know they can refuse but I would be surprised if they were to not do the traditional Sunday Game live with the winners.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 104 ✭✭Dannymole22

Train tickets were released there for anyone looking

I've that part sorted, just need the match ticket now😂

Their information section still says "to be confirmed" but I can see the sold out trains on the booking page.

Got myself a train back but trains up were gone in seconds.

Post edited by breezy1985 on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 467 ✭✭paddyirish23

They were gone by the time they tweeted it out, madness! Am glad I booked early. Take note for next yr ppl 👍

I'm sorted now anyway.

Well except for an actual match ticket 😳

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 467 ✭✭paddyirish23

Same! Hopefully by Friday will get sorted 🤞🤞

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 891 ✭✭✭pajoguy

Got tickets thorough club tonight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,642 ✭✭✭✭billyhead

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,474 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

just a recap on last weekends defeat to kilkenny !!! and warm ye up for next weekend

seven oaks limerick

thanks for the home coming last week lads 🤣

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 jimbob2223

Post edited by jimbob2223 on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 70 ✭✭biglad40

Homecoming banquet is on in Fitzgeralds woodlands

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,612 ✭✭✭High bike

Proper order leave the hotel rooms empty in Dublin it might make them have a rethink about ripping people off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 891 ✭✭✭pajoguy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 302 ✭✭Tommysocks11

Should homecoming bother people, surely winning the match is the most important issue this week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,232 ✭✭✭waterwelly

Homecoming banquet is hardly the right term. Postmatch reception more like.

A lot of years given to this by some of the players at this point, so back down the road asap is a good call with kids and families involved.

Things have changed, it's a straight ~2.5hr run down the motorway these days.

Not 2.5hrs on All Ireland final day 🤣

They usually get the train and switch to a bus in Limerick.

Post match dinner is always a private affair. Other than Joanne and a few cameras obviously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,525 ✭✭✭moby2101

We went to the 2018 City West and last years Burlington banquets.

They are mighty craic, finished up in the Burlington at 6 in the morning.

Understandable the players want a quieter family oriented affair.

From a supporters pov, it’s easier to have your few beers and change and head to the banquet no traffic to worry about.

If we win 🏆 🤞best case scenario we all get back down around 10 1030.

traffic will be a nightmare

FYI anyone up on Saturday night , Club Limerick Dublin are hosting an event in Searsons on Baggot St, last one in 2018 was a great night

Took forever to get home last year but managed to get a train ticket this time round so should be home in time for the party if we are lucky enough to be having one.

I was at the Galway one when they lost in ai on 2015 or 16 and it was a depressing place to be

I hope that lad does a video out his back garden on a ladder for the limerick train.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 858 ✭✭✭lim4ev

Watched last years final last night getting the vibes now, so many things to take from it plus and minuses the 2 obvious pluses are lynch and casey back the minuses hannon and finn being out.

I think we'll do it I know they'll be so hard beat they always are that's why they've more won than anyone else but I think we're better but it needs to be done on the pitch on the day.

Must admit I thought we were gonners earlier on in championship huge testament to all involved that we are in the final again crazy crazy times for limerick hurling and I'm loving it.

I know nothings confirmed either way with hannon but word is he's gone but I suppose you never know

He didn't look like a fella that was gone in croke park last week but if he is he is just get on with it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 858 ✭✭✭lim4ev

One thing walking around another twisting and turning but here's hoping

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,061 ✭✭✭einn32

Not unless he is absolutely 100% though. Don't want to be carrying someone just because of who he is.

Don’t think kiely is the sentimental type