Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

An Garda Siochana tweets ....

• 04-01-2018 7:40pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,861 ✭✭✭✭

https://twitter.com/GardaTraffic/status/948888843436077057

Read it and weep ...... This from the upholders of law in Ireland...
    What chance do we have , when they post such derisive and stupid stuff, designed to drive the wedge deeper between people in cars, and people on bikes !

"Bright lights and Thunder .................... " #NoPopcorn

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,393 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Makes you wonder who is in charge of this sort of stuff, or if it's reviewed by senior officers. It is amateurish and trying to score points - not something the AGS should pride itself on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,479 ✭✭✭rollingscone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 HappyHiker

Disgraceful tweet IMO. Which they are now trying to defend as an effort to "get people talking"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,561 ✭✭✭Eamonnator

Some of the comments are priceless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,699 ✭✭✭Brian

Sealioning
    A subtle form of trolling involving "bad-faith" questions. You disingenuously frame your conversation as a sincere request to be enlightened, placing the burden of educating you entirely on the other party. If your bait is successful, the other party may engage, painstakingly laying out their logic and evidence in the false hope of helping someone learn. In fact you are attempting to harass or waste the time of the other party, and have no intention of truly entertaining their point of view. Instead, you react to each piece of information by misinterpreting it or requesting further clarification, ad nauseum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,338 ✭✭✭Lusk_Doyle

What did sealions do to be associated with such naughtiness?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,223 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

Lusk_Doyle wrote: »
    What did sealions do to be associated with such naughtiness?
    Nothing. This is the origin story.

a5b.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,010 ✭✭✭velo.2010

Morto for the person running the Garda Twitter account. Might as well give the job to whoever is behind the PaddyPower Twitter. Actually, they would have more tact!

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,393 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

velo.2010 wrote: »
    Morto for the person running the Garda Twitter account. Might as well give the job to whoever is behind the PaddyPower Twitter. Actually, they would have more tact!
    Might then be able to do a deal on predicting the next Garda Commissioner:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,384 ✭✭✭Kaisr Sose

It’s not even a balanced poll. It’s stupid, and the results will be meaningless, but potentially divisive/polaisin if published.

Sad day for impartial governance / effective enforcement if they have to resort to Twitter to find out what they should focus resources on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 643 ✭✭✭Corca Baiscinn

Brilliant Illustration of the concept! Thanks Lumen!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 783 ✭✭✭nsa0bupkd3948x

Tbh I can't see with the problem and it is an interesting question. My initial thought was obviously cyclists running red is more dangerous but starting to question that now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,378 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

A better poll might be who causes more accidents, cyclists going through red lights vs cars doing the same into a Luas tram.

Also Deliveroo cyclists should be excluded on the basis of prejudice

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 50,895 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

Tbh I can't see with the problem and it is an interesting question.
    it's a bloody stupid question on so many levels.
    why didn't they ask (as multiple people have) whether a car running a red or a cyclist running a red are worse?

it's a bloody stupid question on so many levels.
    why didn't they ask (as multiple people have) whether a car running a red or a cyclist running a red are worse?

They've had a lot of tweets about ticketing people for blocking cycle lanes with vehicles and received a lot of stick from people saying the usual cyclists always break reds etc. It just continuing that conversation.

Tbh I can't see with the problem and it is an interesting question. My initial thought was obviously cyclists running red is more dangerous but starting to question that now.

The two have nothing remotely to do with each other. Stupid comparison to attempt.

Lusk_Doyle wrote: »
    The two have nothing remotely to do with each other. Stupid comparison to attempt.

As above. It was a running conversation where people kept replying to the posts of ticketing cars blocking cycle lane moaning about cyclists running red lights.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,359 ✭✭✭jon1981

Moronic tweet. No context and two unrelated options. Pure **** stirring.

Id like to see some stats of accidents caused by red light jumpers

(Not condoning)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 970 ✭✭✭rushfan

Kaisr Sose wrote:
    It’s not even a balanced poll. It’s stupid, and the results will be meaningless, but potentially divisive/polaisin if published.

Not so much stupid as inflammatory almost. I've always believed the problem here ( as with most things in this country ) is the complete lack of enforcement. The Gardai are just not interested in general.

rushfan wrote: »
    The Gardai are just not interested in general.

What are they not interested in?

Enforcement!!

Enforcement of what?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,942 ✭✭✭Danbo!

Enforcement, obviously.

I've lost all faith in the gardaí. I completely understand from a law-abiding (or self-ignoring) motorist's point of view that cyclists are "always breaking red lights" but it's just confirmation bias at play.

If only they could see what a cyclist sees. Phone use at the wheel is getting absolutely and completely rampant, skipping traffic in bus lanes and hard shoulders while buzzing or tailgating cyclists is something I now witness daily. My definition of a close pass these days is a foot, anything more seems courteous. Yes I see cyclists breaking red lights, but it is the minority.

I've banged on about it before but I was hit last year and had footage of an illegal turn with no indication and still the gardaí wouldn't bother.

And then they tweet this. Ugh.

Danbo! wrote: »
    Enforcement, obviously.

I've lost all faith in the gardaí. I completely understand from a law-abiding (or self-ignoring) motorist's point of view that cyclists are "always breaking red lights" but it's just confirmation bias at play.

If only they could see what a cyclist sees. Phone use at the wheel is getting absolutely and completely rampant, skipping traffic in bus lanes and hard shoulders while buzzing or tailgating cyclists is something I now witness daily. My definition of a close pass these days is a foot, anything more seems courteous. Yes I see cyclists breaking red lights, but it is the minority.

I've banged on about it before but I was hit last year and had footage of an illegal turn with no indication and still the gardaí wouldn't bother.

And then they tweet this. Ugh.

This tweet originates from the fact the Guards have clamped down on blocking cycle lanes in the last 10 days.

Absolutely there is tonnes more the Guards can clamp down on and they are under resourced but I've seen far more enforcement over the last few months pulling over both cars and cyclists.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,170 ✭✭✭✭ED E

This tweet originates from the fact the Guards have clamped down on blocking cycle lanes in the last 10 days.

Absolutely there is tonnes more the Guards can clamp down on and they are under resourced but I've seen far more enforcement over the last few months pulling over both cars and cyclists.

The "Under Resourced" line is bollix.

We're an office that requires 60 staff, but Jane called in sick so we'll do nothing till she gets back next wednesday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 561 ✭✭✭sbs2010

Not saying the tweet was very helpful but I think the point they were trying to make was that both actions are illegal and dangerous.

So they're trying, a bit clumsily granted, to tell both "sides" to get their own sh1t sorted before moaning about the other side.

That's great that you've seen it but the main reason for this step-up in enforcement stemmed from an online campaign, whereby the gardaí proudly announced they had tickets 400-odd cars in cycle lanes in a year and Stayin' Alive at 1.5 found more examples in a week. So the gardaí ticketed a few and posted some tweets.

The issue here is the divisive tweet which is a ridiculous comparison. They are two offences, both illegal, so why bother ask the public which is worse?

I'm going to leave this form now because I don't think I'll be able to convince you guys otherwise. I cycle more than I drive but would do both daily. I have to say I feel for the guards. They can do no right. Unfortunately, there are two extremes the drivers who think they rule the road and cyclists have no right and then the cyclists who feel they are constantly the victim. Most people don't fall into these extremes but unfortunately those that do tend to be the most vocal. Some of the posts here to me just scream we're the victim or else are from people who don't know where the tweet originates from and just jumps in to get annoyed for the sake of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,010 ✭✭✭velo.2010

Gardai release the identity of former staff member responsible for mischievous Twitter poll...

1050627527.jpg

I'm going to leave this form now because I don't think I'll be able to convince you guys otherwise. I cycle more than I drive but would do both daily. I have to say I feel for the guards. They can do no right. Unfortunately, there are two extremes the drivers who think they rule the road and cyclists have no right and then the cyclists who feel they are constantly the victim. Most people don't fall into these extremes but unfortunately those that do tend to be the most vocal. Some of the posts here to me just scream we're the victim or else are from people who don't know where the tweet originates from and just jumps in to get annoyed for the sake of it.

That's a fair point, and my comment "So the gardaí ticketed a few and posted some tweets" was likely a little harsh, but it is very frustrating. A serious rise in cyclist fatalities, when all others are falling, and it takes a campaign focussing on one offence to get them moving. In their favour, they did get moving, but it just seems like two steps back now with this tweet.

Although I say that they're not interested etc, I would never lose faith in them. Last year I had cause to call them round to the house as some dickhead had blocked the driveway and they were A1. Through my job I have had much interaction with them and again some are positive, most are not. For many years I have watched some Super banging on about "numerous Garda checkpoints " in the lead up to Xmas, yet I drive as much as anyone and never come across one. Not that there's too many during the rest of the year either. How many times have you seen a Garda enforcing junction box situations? They don't have too spend the day at it, 5 mins every hour would suffice. Cars in the bus lanes? Work away. That's just a couple of examples.

How many times have you seen a Garda enforcing junction box situations? They don't have too spend the day at it, 5 mins every hour would suffice. Cars in the bus lanes? Work away. That's just a couple of examples.

I've seen guards enforcing bus lanes quite frequently. Probably at least once a month and I don't even drive that often.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 50,895 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

Although I say that they're not interested etc, I would never lose faith in them.
    I have had much interaction with them and again some are positive, most are not.
    reading your post, i find it hard to reconcile your two statements.
    to be fair, it's understandable to state that you have general trust in the gardai on an individual basis, but not as an organisation.

I've seen guards enforcing bus lanes quite frequently. Probably at least once a month and I don't even drive that often.

Welcome back ðŸ˜. Once a month? Does it act as a deterrent? Fair enough if so, but where I am in NCD, it doesn't happen unfortunately.

reading your post, i find it hard to reconcile your two statements. to be fair, it's understandable to state that you have general trust in the gardai on an individual basis, but not as an organisation.

I think you always have to try and be optimistic and hope the next experience with them is positive. Sometimes it is, sometimes it's not. Usually depends on the individual.

They've had a lot of tweets about ticketing people for blocking cycle lanes with vehicles and received a lot of stick from people saying the usual cyclists always break reds etc. It just continuing that conversation.
    'it's just continuing that conversation'.
    you did read the post about sealioning; about presenting a stupid comparison as 'hey, it's a serious question'? what conversation is there about the relative seriousness of either offence, other than the one they've invented?

all they're doing is tapping into the stupid whataboutery debate which cyclist vs. motorist debates usually descend into and presenting it as if it's valid and relevant. they're pouring petrol on the flames and claiming 'we didn't start this'. but what makes this different is that this is not george hook doing this, it's the very people whose job it is to enforce the law. it's amazing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,512 ✭✭✭KaneToad

ED E wrote: »
    The "Under Resourced" line is bollix..

Garda Inspectorate Report - Changing Policing in Ireland

The report found there are too many fully-trained gardaí sitting behind desks.

It said at least 1,500 and possibly up to 2,000 fully-trained gardaí could be taken out of offices to police the country, with 500 of those in Garda Headquarters.

The Policing Authority has said Garda progress on civilianisation of non-frontline roles in the force has been "disappointing and frustrating".

The criticism was made in a report by the authority to Tánaiste Frances Fitzgerald.

The authority noted that Garda authorities have so far identified as few as 161 members in posts that could see them replaced by civilians. That's far short of a 1,500 target set by the Garda Inspectorate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,384 ✭✭✭Kaisr Sose

Enforcing the RTA. I have seen Garda pass cars parked on Double Yellow lines, cars on pavements, in cycle lanes etc etc. I have reported a bus and artic for parking overnight on the Enniskerry Road-no tickets issued. Garda agree there is no parking there.

I have went to Garda with clear footage of dangerous pass, threatened assault of me by a motorist, and they do nothing. I got threatened with a summons for giving a motorist the finger. That same motorist pulled out from a side road in front of me. After I gave him the finger, he did a u-turn, sped after me, wedged me in to the kerb, got out and threw a punch at me. The Garda were called by this irate motorist and I was threatened with a summons under the public order act - yet this guy could have killed me while driving and also assaulted me. I had it all recorded and the Garda were not interested.

When I start to see them stopping turning a blind eye to poor driving that is likely to cause injury and other things, I will revise my opinion of an Garda.

all they're doing is tapping into the stupid whataboutery debate which cyclist vs. motorist debates usually descend into and presenting it as if it's valid and relevant. they're pouring petrol on the flames and claiming 'we didn't start this'. but what makes this different is that this is not george hook doing this, it's the very people whose job it is to enforce the law. it's amazing.

Exactly as I said in my first post, it's inflammatory, totally unnecessary, and doesn't achieve anything positive. And I believe George is back on the air next week or so. God help us!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,853 ✭✭✭✭tomasrojo

Danbo! wrote: »
    The issue here is the divisive tweet which is a ridiculous comparison. They are two offences, both illegal, so why bother ask the public which is worse?

Consulting the wisdom of the mob.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,556 ✭✭✭Macy0161

I rarely see it on the N11, in car or on bike. When they do enforce, they usually pull the cars into the grade seperated cycle lane to ticket them!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,121 ✭✭✭amcalester

Macy0161 wrote: »
    I rarely see it on the N11, in car or on bike. When they do enforce, they usually pull the cars into the grade seperated cycle lane to ticket them!

I've seen them twice in the last 18 months on the N11 just before Leopardstown Road in-bound and that section is rife with motorists jumping into the bus lane to turn left onto Leopardstown Road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,313 ✭✭✭07Lapierre

So...what was the result of the Poll?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,903 ✭✭✭✭ted1

How many times have you seen a Garda enforcing junction box situations? They don't have too spend the day at it, 5 mins every hour would suffice. Cars in the bus lanes? Work away. That's just a couple of examples.

60 Euro fine and no penalty points? I know polenty if people willing to pay the 60 Euro monthly charge fir using bus lanes and saving a couple of hours a week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,881 ✭✭✭terrydel

As if my distain and lack of respect for these corrupt, unaccountable f**ks couldnt get any lower. Absolute pondlife is all they are. Worse than the criminals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,903 ✭✭✭✭ted1

terrydel wrote: »
    As if my distain and lack of respect for these corrupt, unaccountable f**ks couldnt get any lower. Absolute pondlife is all they are. Worse than the criminals.
    Be sure to not hold back there.

I think you always have to try and be optimistic and hope the next experience with them is positive. Sometimes it is, sometimes it's not. Usually depends on the individual.

You see, that is just not right. You should expect and demand that every experience (unless you are on the receiving end of their attention for an offence committed) is positive. Why should you expect any less than this?

Beasty wrote: »
    Might then be able to do a deal on predicting the next Garda Commissioner:pac:

It'll be another corrupt, evil prick like the last two.

ted1 wrote: »
    Be sure to not hold back there.

I wont, thanks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,910 ✭✭✭begbysback

Have you ever been run over by a car parked in a cycle lane?