Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bulls*it Jobs

• 28-12-2017 1:31am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,935 ✭✭✭

Who cares. All jobs are bull**** anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,512 ✭✭✭skinny90

Without providing further details about your friend, the “shudder” company she joined and the consultancy work she now does, your op is not worth much discussion as you have not validated anything. My idea of bull**** jobs would be many of the 100% commission, door to door type jobs which are always advertised. Phonewatch and some of chugger type jobs would be an example

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,935 ✭✭✭One More Toy

skinny90 wrote: »
    Without providing further details about your friend, the “shudder” company she joined and the consultancy work she now does, your op is not worth much discussion as you validated anything. My idea of bull**** jobs would be many of the 100% commission, door to door type jobs which are always advertised. Phonewatch and some of chugger type jobs would be an example

Who cares. I'm drunk.

But yes good point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,512 ✭✭✭skinny90

Who cares. I'm drunk.

But yes good point.

Me too, thankfully you didn’t pick up on my mistake in my response

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,119 ✭✭✭job seeker

Tourism the end..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,346 ✭✭✭King George VI

Seems to me there's a lot of innocent fools with bullshít jobs these days.

Two I know in particular are involved in startups. Basically leeches.

One of them, a girl who dropped out of primary teaching in Marino, who spent a six month internship in a seed capital (shudder) firm has now set up her own 'consultancy' firm. I **** you not

What if her consultancy firm turns out to be really successful and she makes a good living? It's not outside the realms of possibility these days, and she might be calling you an "innocent fool" for trying to pursue fucking forestry. Let her try be successful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,935 ✭✭✭One More Toy

What if her consultancy firm turns out to be really successful and she makes a good living? It's not outside the realms of possibility these days, and she might be calling you an "innocent fool" for trying to pursue fucking forestry. Let her try be successful.

I see what you did there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,452 ✭✭✭JackTaylorFan

I imagine dairy farmers deal with a lot of bull****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,119 ✭✭✭job seeker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 285 ✭✭Samuri Suicide

job seeker wrote: »
    Tourism the end..

Clearly drunker than the OP..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,230 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

A lot of jobs out there are guff if you break them down.
    But as long as you can make a living who cares. From a personal aspect just see through the lies tho and not be worked into thinking something is bigger and or important.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

Seems to me there's a lot of innocent fools with bullshít jobs these days.

Two I know in particular are involved in startups. Basically leeches.

One of them, a girl who dropped out of primary teaching in Marino, who spent a six month internship in a seed capital (shudder) firm has now set up her own 'consultancy' firm. I **** you not

Good on her. Screw the begrudgers. The way of working is changing from traditional methods to freelance and consulting work as innovation increases at a rapid pace. Maybe she is not the fool here....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭Are Am Eye

No they deal with cow sh1t.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,601 ✭✭✭893bet

Social media managers..........."managers"

Are Am Eye wrote: »
    No they deal with cow sh1t.

Right... so they own no bulls then...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

Right... so they own no bulls then...
    No, it's usually done by artificial insemination. Very few farmers can justify the cost of keeping their own bull. Actual bulls these days are usually for breed enthusiasts.

Well, I've learned something at stupid o'clock in the morning... being a city dweller, I just remember my uncle having a bull or two hanging around his fields.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,230 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

893bet wrote: »
    Social media managers..........."managers"

What the feck is a social media manager? lol...
    Like let's indulge in the BS that in social media for a second. But you hire people to create content, what time to post it, click funnels and all that BS. But at the end of the day it's the person who you hired to do all the thinking and clicking. How does a manager come into play in this case? :pac:

I get that you have to report to someone but a manger?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Who cares. I'm drunk.

Well, I'd never have guessed from the articulate OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,155 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

The President of Ireland. Quarter a million Euro a year for 7 years and a hundred grand pension for a figure head with no responsibility.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 944 ✭✭✭s15r330

ChikiChiki wrote: »
    Good on her. Screw the begrudgers. The way of working is changing from traditional methods to freelance and consulting work as innovation increases at a rapid pace. Maybe she is not the fool here....

That's innocent fool to you

Del2005 wrote: »
    The President of Ireland. Quarter a million Euro a year for 7 years and a hundred grand pension for a figure head with no responsibility.

That's pittance compared to the British Monarch

They may cost £37 million without factoring in security and others but they also bring in £1.8 billion a year so in comparison they are far better value for money than the Irish president.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

They may cost £37 million without factoring in security and others but they also bring in £1.8 billion a year so in comparison they are far better value for money than the Irish president.

Pretty strange to have live humans as a tourist attration tbh....but then the whole monarchy thing belongs to the 19th century anyway I guess?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Most jobs in the entire global stock market. Whole thing just seems so pointless to me ha.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,825 ✭✭✭LirW

What the feck is a social media manager? lol...
    Like let's indulge in the BS that in social media for a second. But you hire people to create content, what time to post it, click funnels and all that BS. But at the end of the day it's the person who you hired to do all the thinking and clicking. How does a manager come into play in this case? :pac:

I get that you have to report to someone but a manger?

Hard skills: Good at updating Facebook statuses with only editing them twice for spelling mistakes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 273 ✭✭Vronsky

ChikiChiki wrote: »

Ah yes, what we can all look forward to: the gig economy.

I suppose that's innovation and not regression...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,792 ✭✭✭Postgrad10

Sub

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,920 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Postgrad10 wrote: »
    Substitute teacher ! Meaningless job with no real route to progression. Usually thought very little off by students and treated like rubbish from permanent teachers . Great career choice.

Do people choose a career as a substitute teacher? Nonsense suggestion anyway, teaching is one of the most important jobs there are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,239 ✭✭✭Jimbob1977

Human Resources

Life coach

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,375 ✭✭✭padser

Really?

Are we actually to believe that £1.8bn comes into the UK every year that would not come in if they didn't have a monarchy?

That's a lot of tourists who would decide, "I don't care about seeing the London Eye, Big Ben, Tower of London, Buckingham palace, Scottish Highlands etc, if there isn't a queen knocking around....sure what's the point?"

I'm also curious as to how you are so sure about the number £1.8bn? It's pretty specific, was there a year there recently without a Monarch where we can look at visitor numbers and make comparisons? Or did someone just pull a number out of their Ar$e and then it was repeated so often people think it's fact?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,835 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Nursing, teaching, garda and army.
    I admire the people who do these jobs because the money is poor and the abuse high, especially in the last two.
    They really have to have a vocation for these jobs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭tastyt

Nursing, teaching, garda and army.
    I admire the people who do these jobs because the money is poor and the abuse high, especially in the last two.
    They really have to have a vocation for these jobs.

I agree with you on the abuse side of things and they are tough jobs no doubt.

But apart from the army they are well paid jobs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,461 ✭✭✭Bubbaclaus

No responsibility?

Christ.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

Online “Community Manager“.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,364 ✭✭✭✭cantdecide

Outsourced call centres and admin work.

KPIs, targets, audits. Low pay, clunky bureaucracy, training is serving-suggestion only. These jobs exist to exploit whatever talent and work ethic you have and reward you with the least in return. My feelings towards anyone who tries to progress in these environments is a combination of astonishment and pity. Your duty to yourself is to leave as soon as possible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,271 ✭✭✭Elemonator

More fool you. Read the Constitution. The President is the executive.

Appoints the Government, appoints the judiciary, refers concerning bills to the Supreme Court, signs bills into law, can dissolve the Dáil, supreme commander of the Defence Forces. He also represents the Irish nation abroad.

You need to read up on the separation of powers.

Country of 65m Vs 4.5m though. Per capita the monarch would probably be cheaper

Elemonator wrote: »
    More fool you. Read the Constitution. The President is the executive.

Appoints the Government, appoints the judiciary, refers concerning bills to the Supreme Court, signs bills into law, can dissolve the Dáil, supreme commander of the Defence Forces. He also represents the Irish nation abroad.

You need to read up on the separation of powers.

True but I would argue his role should more hands on and integrated within government. Alot of his role is pretty ceremonial despite the titles

padser wrote: »
    Really?

Are we actually to believe that £1.8bn comes into the UK every year that would not come in if they didn't have a monarchy?

That's a lot of tourists who would decide, "I don't care about seeing the London Eye, Big Ben, Tower of London, Buckingham palace, Scottish Highlands etc, if there isn't a queen knocking around....sure what's the point?"

I'm also curious as to how you are so sure about the number £1.8bn? It's pretty specific, was there a year there recently without a Monarch where we can look at visitor numbers and make comparisons? Or did someone just pull a number out of their Ar$e and then it was repeated so often people think it's fact?

There's been plenty of articles on it, The Guardian, in particular, have a bee in their bonnet over it. It's some firm who calculated the money spent on tourist on monarchy related things when in the UK.

http://www.businessinsider.com/the-queen-and-the-uk-royal-family-contribution-to-the-uk-economy-2015-9?r=UK&IR=T

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,825 ✭✭✭LirW

cantdecide wrote: »

KPIs, targets, audits. Low pay, clunky bureaucracy, training is serving-suggestion only. These jobs exist to exploit whatever talent and work ethic you have and reward you with the least in return. My feelings towards anyone who tries to progress in these environments is a combination of astonishment and pity. Your duty to yourself is to leave as soon as possible.

Had a job interview in a particularly crappy call centre in the City center like 2 years ago. I went because it was set up but I already had a job lined up at that point but might aswell go there to see.
    There were two people interviewing me and when I started to ask them questions about the company and what they offer their employees the guy got incredibly annoyed with me and started to become pretty rude. The girl was embarrassed and mumbled something about "well it's not a challenging job and it's quite monotone" and after we did a short language assessment we parted ways when I told them that this won't work for either of us.
    What a sad place that was.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,586 ✭✭✭4068ac1elhodqr

'Customer Retention Director' (tries re-add you to facepuke or bulk mail-lists, after you delete/block/remove them).

There's probable medication available for all that retention stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,364 ✭✭✭✭cantdecide

LirW wrote: »
    Had a job interview in a particularly crappy call centre in the City center like 2 years ago. I went because it was set up but I already had a job lined up at that point but might aswell go there to see.
    There were two people interviewing me and when I started to ask them questions about the company and what they offer their employees the guy got incredibly annoyed with me and started to become pretty rude. The girl was embarrassed and mumbled something about "well it's not a challenging job and it's quite monotone" and after we did a short language assessment we parted ways when I told them that this won't work for either of us.
    What a sad place that was.

Ask not what our call centre can do for you...

Do people choose a career as a substitute teacher? Nonsense suggestion anyway, teaching is one of the most important jobs there are.

Oh dear I think Postgrad10 realised how silly this was then tried to edit it out but had been quoted. Oh well!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭Stonedpilot

cantdecide wrote: »

Worked in them. Non existant "training" and most back stabbing nature ever.

All finance jobs and most law jobs are bullshyt. All based on lies and illusions to get €€€€ from the ignorant joe soap on the street.

Solicitors are talented spoofers, they will clean folk out and not bat an eyelid.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 94,296 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Indicator fitter at the BMW factory.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,910 ✭✭✭begbysback

Indicator tester for the indicator fitter at the BMW factory

• Closed Accounts Posts: 429 ✭✭JimmyMcGill

There's something very off about those 2 jobs there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39,022 ✭✭✭✭Permabear

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,351 ✭✭✭Littlehorny

Spent a couple of weeks when I was a young lad cleaning hen sheds that had 5,000 chickens in them each, don't know about bull**** jobs but it certainly was a chicken**** one :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,223 ✭✭✭Canyon86

Some of the staff jobs in pharmaceutical plants especially in areas such as site leadership / health and safety / HR / training

So many people doing fck all and not real work it's amazing,

Have seen this on more than on occasion