Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Obama warns social media 'corroding civil discourse'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,573 ✭✭✭Infini

Hea right about cancer media though. It makes people even more toxic idiots than they already are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 489 ✭✭Edgarfrndly

He's right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,896 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

Great for the NSA though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,826 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

Great for the NSA though.

Obama is?

No Strings Attached?

You hooking up with him on the side?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Not as corrosive as a drone strike I would imagine

Or a Ryanair one

Take that Micko O'Leary

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,555 ✭✭✭SuperSean11

If he’s so smart how come he’s not president???

He's not bigly enough

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,896 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

Obama is?

No Strings Attached?

You hooking up with him on the side?

Ask Andrew McCabe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

What he means is MSM and government have lost the narrative and we cant have citizen journalists opposing The Truth.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39,022 ✭✭✭✭Permabear

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

I would totally agree.
    Previous to Trump it was bad enough. Best examples are IMDB and YouTube. The comments section on those (now defunct on IMDB) are sad indictments of how low human discourse has sunk.
    As far as the 70's and right up to the 90's public broadcasting of one's opinion was the reserve of professional broadcasters and journalists who were employed by TV, radio and print media who could be held accountable for any inaccuracies in their content.
    Now any moron with an IQ in the single digit range can open a Twitter account and broadcast their insanity to the slobbering masses.
    And the problem is twofold. Not only can a man who is the embodiment of every bad internet troll ever spout his worthless hate, bile and ignorance, there are hoards of morons in the world who willingly lap it up and sweep this man into power on a wave of cheering, hollering and shouts of "Fcuk Yeah!" and "USA! USA! USA!".
    And this is how liberty and intelligence dies.
    Ladies and gentleman, it's been a pleasure, I'll see you on the other side of the mushroom cloud.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,228 ✭✭✭Odhinn

I would totally agree.
    Previous to Trump it was bad enough. Best examples are IMDB and YouTube. The comments section on those (now defunct on IMDB) are sad indictments of how low human discourse has sunk.
    As far as the 70's and right up to the 90's public broadcasting of one's opinion was the reserve of professional broadcasters and journalists who were employed by TV, radio and print media who could be held accountable for any inaccuracies in their content.
    Now any moron with an IQ in the single digit range can open a Twitter account and broadcast their insanity to the slobbering masses.
    And the problem is twofold. Not only can a man who is the embodiment of every bad internet troll ever spout his worthless hate, bile and ignorance, there are hoards of morons in the world who willingly lap it up and sweep this man into power on a wave of cheering, hollering and shouts of "Fcuk Yeah!" and "USA! USA! USA!".
    Ladies and gentleman, it's been a pleasure, I'll see you on the other side of the mushroom cloud.

It should be noted that there's no small amount of guilt on the traditional media - eg British press, Fox news etc - either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,568 ✭✭✭BillyBobBS

Yeah let's all get our news from fair and balanced sources like CNN. Feck of Obama..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,912 ✭✭✭ArchXStanton

biko wrote: »
    What he means is MSM and government have lost the narrative and we cant have citizen journalists opposing The Truth.

It's the politicians worst nightmare...being held accountable

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,857 ✭✭✭professore

I agree with him ... And RTE stuck in the Trump reference when I don't believe he was targeting Trump at all. The anti Trumpers are just as bad if not worse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

biko wrote: »

No, he means people can live in a bubble where everyone approves their opinion and ideals and get so detached from the real world they become deluded to what the actual truth is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,366 ✭✭✭batistuta9

ThisRegard wrote: »
    No, he means people can live in a bubble where everyone approves their opinion and ideals and get so detached from the real world they become deluded to what the actual truth is.

Trump & brexit the best examples of this. How were so many people so shocked?

batistuta9 wrote: »

Thanks a million for your vote of confidence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

For a US president who has the distinction of being the only two term US president to have had his country at war with someone for every single day of his term. A US president who had over twenty six thousand bombs and rockets dropped on twelve different country in just the final year to try take any moral high ground makes me sick.

He can go fvck himself and his idea's.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,188 ✭✭✭Malayalam

By ''people'' you mean everyone, right? Or just the ones who have different opinions than you? The detached, deluded people who supposedly don't live in the ''real'' world?
    This whole polarisation and manufactured divisiveness in the social and political arenas is what is corroding the civil discourse far more than anything else. How dare anyone have an opinion that does not fit a certain program. But they do and they will have different opinions, they just keep quiet about it for fear of social ostracisation until they are in the privacy of the polling booth. Then wham - Trump happens, etc.

(And by 'you' I don't mean you personally - just this whole echo-chamber whataboutery always seems to apply to the ......hmmm...how could I call them... the deplorables, maybe? Seems legit.)

I find it a bit of a laugh that all the ex-Facebook execs and silicon valley dudes and now ex-President Coolio are coming out now and wringing their hands about the disasters of social media. They were the very ones who whipped that animal into their service mercilessly when they thought they would always win the race. It's about time they just accepted the way the dice rolled and went back to working out actual authentic and humane policies that might get them elected next time they give the democratic process an airing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,366 ✭✭✭batistuta9

494745648-presidential-candidate-donald-trump-gives-a-thumbs-up.jpg.CROP.promo-xlarge2.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,496 ✭✭✭Will I Am Not

I would totally agree.

Stop the world you want to get off?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,761 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

Obama, the guy who sold billions of dollars worth of weapons to Saudi Arabia for their war against Yemen.

It is amazing that people take Obama seriously, good PR, but scratch the surface and he has been a very destructive president.

Malayalam wrote: »
    By ''people'' you mean everyone, right?

It's pretty obvious what I meant. And there was no mention of one part of the political spectrum or another.

You're reading what you want to in my pretty straightforward statement.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

582e04f31800001b0030eb23.jpg?ops=scalefit_720_noupscale

It's pretty obvious what I meant. And there was no mention of one part of the political spectrum or another.

You're reading what you want to in my pretty straightforward statement.

Okay, so you mean everyone then. Everyone on all parts of the political spectrum is in '' a bubble where everyone approves their opinion and ideals and (they get) so detached from the real world they become deluded to what the actual truth is''.. That view point I can willingly accept :)

Lol, people have got to admit he has one of the weirdest faces in the world, just makes one laugh to scroll past multiple images of him thumbs upping...haha :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

The translation is that the he's panicking over the waning power of his pals in the mainstream media

This elitist c**t makes the orange space hopper less objectionable every day. At least Trump hasn't turned a sizable chunk of a continent into a mad max set yet.

Malayalam wrote: »
    Okay, so you mean everyone then. Everyone on all parts of the political spectrum is in '' a bubble where everyone approves their opinion and ideals and (they get) so detached from the real world they become deluded to what the actual truth is''.. That view point I can willingly accept :)

Exactly, people as in some people of all ideological persuasions can create such echo chambers for themselves.

Bambi wrote: »
    The translation is that the he's panicking over the waning power of his pals in the mainstream media

This elitist c**t makes the orange space hopper less objectionable every day. At least Trump hasn't turned a sizable chunk of a continent into a mad max set yet.

Obama always reminded me of some ghetto kid they took off the streets of Detroit, stuck in a suit and handed him a script

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,472 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

batistuta9 wrote: »

To be fair Farage all but conceded on the night of the vote and the trump campaign thought they might have to at one stage too.

The bubble is only partly responsible. If you go onto the guardians comment section you'll see plenty of right wing trolls. They're out of their bubble but just as nasty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,434 ✭✭✭Robsweezie

Permabear wrote: »
    This post had been deleted.

bukkake obama

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,778 ✭✭✭Dakota Dan

On the RTE news.

https://www.rte.ie/news/2017/1227/929781-bacak-obama/

Corroding civil discourse he says. Shut yer gob ya Kenyan bollix I say
    Do people actually take notice what he says? He said climate change is the biggest threat to humanity while he bombed more countries than any other US president before him killing innocent women and children, hypocritical b@stard.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

On the one hand he obviously doesn't want people online discussing shit he's done or doesn't want anyone daring to say the sun doesn't shine out of his arse.

On the other hand there are some unhinged people talking about insane nonsense online that if they had said in real life a couple of decades ago would have gotten them committed. https://www.reddit.com/r/MandelaEffect/

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

Odhinn wrote: »
    It should be noted that there's no small amount of guilt on the traditional media - eg British press, Fox news etc - either.

Yes indeed, there has always been trash media, no small thanks to Mr Murdoch. But the internet has certainly opened the floodgates to cranks, liars, conspiracy nuts, freemen and other assorted loons.
    People believe the earth is flat, Obama is a giant lizard, the moon is an alien listening post, all our problems stem from those dirty foreigners and even that Donald Trump is a suitable statesman to fight for the common man.
    Personally I believe that IQs have fallen sharply over the last 20 years and that global communication has radicalized a lot of people and made the rest stupid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,788 ✭✭✭MrPudding

Yes indeed, there has always been trash media, no small thanks to Mr Murdoch. But the internet has certainly opened the floodgates to cranks, liars, conspiracy nuts, freemen and other assorted loons.
    People believe the earth is flat, Obama is a giant lizard, the moon is an alien listening post, all our problems stem from those dirty foreigners and even that Donald Trump is a suitable statesman to fight for the common man.
    Personally I believe that IQs have fallen sharply over the last 20 years and that global communication has radicalized a lot of people and made the rest stupid.

Idiocracy is a movie that I enjoy, but I worry that it may become a documentary.

MrP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭Chrongen

On the RTE news.

https://www.rte.ie/news/2017/1227/929781-bacak-obama/

Corroding civil discourse he says. Shut yer gob ya Kenyan bollix I say

Yeah, people don't believe that Assad gassed his own people or that Iraq was going to attack the West in 45 minutes or that Ghadaffi was giving his troops viagra to rape people.....if you peddle this gear in the mainstream Fourth Estate and people actually doubt it and express said doubt via the internet then, yes....that gives rise to peoples' alternate realities.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 11,489 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hermy

Permabear wrote: »
    This post had been deleted.

That's not just for Christmas - it's an ongoing thing with the RTE News website and teletext service.

Genealogy Forum Mod

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,745 ✭✭✭Irish Praetorian

He's not exactly wrong when he talks about the corrosive effects of social media, but to be fair the more traditional forms of media have been doing a great job of that too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 657 ✭✭✭Vladimir Poontang

It's about control.

That;s why Governments and politicians don't like the internet and why tinpot regimes the world over do their best to shut it down.

Obama is a fraud from start to finish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 328 ✭✭gerogerigegege

obama is a loser and a mass murderer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,097 ✭✭✭Herb Powell

BillyBobBS wrote: »
    Yeah let's all get our news from fair and balanced sources like CNN. Feck of Obama..

That's the slogan of Fox News, actually.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,408 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,030 ✭✭✭Minderbinder

It's about control.

That;s why Governments and politicians don't like the internet and why tinpot regimes the world over do their best to shut it down.

Obama is a fraud from start to finish.

The internet is not a threat to the control of governments imo. If anything it just causes more confusion and distractions for normal people, who distrusted politicians before the internet, and now they distrust media and educators too. Maybe it makes it easier for the elites to retain power while the rest of us are busy arguing what’s true and what isn’t.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,282 ✭✭✭pitifulgod

Obama always reminded me of some ghetto kid they took off the streets of Detroit, stuck in a suit and handed him a script

One of the best orators of our time, made it to Harvard and became the editor of the Harvard Law Review. So yep he's pretty accomplished and is demonstrably substantially more intelligent and diplomatically successful than the current POTUS.

In relation to social media being corrosive. What was most worrying in 2016 is that foreign players seemed to generate stories that became fact via social media. You had pizzagate conspiracies etc. Best way to handle in the future is to expose that as early as possible for what it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

pitifulgod wrote: »
    One of the best orators of our time, made it to Harvard and became the editor of the Harvard Law Review. So yep he's pretty accomplished and is demonstrably substantially more intelligent and diplomatically successful than the current POTUS.

In relation to social media being corrosive. What was most worrying in 2016 is that foreign players seemed to generate stories that became fact via social media. You had pizzagate conspiracies etc. Best way to handle in the future is to expose that as early as possible for what it is.

Baz took a massive a **** on Europe's doorstep on numerous occasions, and we're still left with the mess. Turns out he was not half as clever as he thought he was.

The Orange wig has got through his first year without doing that. From a European perspective, Obama has a worse batting average than a reality TV host. Just goes to show what good PR in the mainstream media can do for a president

You must mean Foreign Player like the United States of America. Because this is Ireland chief. :)

Don't forget the noble peace prize the bolox got....whilst he was dropping democracy bombs by the thousands

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,282 ✭✭✭pitifulgod

Don't forget the noble peace prize the bolox got....whilst he was dropping democracy bombs by the thousands

How does any of this detract from what I said? I'm far less certain of general global safety as Trump is unpredictable. Between supporting white supremacists and declaring Jerusalem as the Capital of Israel. He's actively destabilising the globe and the US domestically.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

How does any of this detract from what I said? I'm far less certain of general global safety as Trump is unpredictable. Between supporting white supremacists and declaring Jerusalem as the Capital of Israel. He's actively destabilising the globe and the US domestically.

Who cares if Obama was a great orator. A great bull****ter is all that means.

Left relations with Britain at an all time low, the great diplomat that he was. The Fast and the Furious scandal rocked relations with Mexico. Exacerbated the migrant crisis in Europe. Destabilised Libya. Drone strikes that killed innocent civilians. Pussyfooted around Syria. Left race relations in the US at their worst ebb since the civil rights movement. Obamacare is the sum of his achievements.

Trump is a clown and a fool and will go down as a disaster of a President, but let's not think that Obama was anything other than an unmitigated failure himself.