Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mower choice

• 23-12-2017 8:04pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,545 ✭✭✭✭

Alright guys. Just looking for advice here.

No mower at present but was asked to take over the mowing side of things of another contractor as he is winding down. He is a baling outfit. Approx 1300 acres of his with about 400 of my own.

Not too fond of a trailed mower because of the initial cost so thinking of a 9ft mounted straight mower. Probably have to go with the centre pivot ones.

Don't think I could take all the acrage so roughly 1000 per year but more realisticly possibly 600 to 700 to start due to my own contracting commitments.

Even tho he wants me to take over his custumers there's no guarantee that they will get me once they hear the baler man doesn't mow himself anymore.

Just thinking of playing it safe going with the mounted.

As most know I'm running a landini 5-115H. 110 horses to play with.

Cheers in advance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,806 ✭✭✭kk.man

Reggie. wrote: »
    Alright guys. Just looking for advice here.

No mower at present but was asked to take over the mowing side of things of another contractor as he is winding down. He is a baling outfit. Approx 1300 acres of his with about 400 of my own.

Not too fond of a trailed mower because of the initial cost so thinking of a 9ft mounted straight mower. Probably have to go with the centre pivot ones.

Don't think I could take all the acrage so roughly 1000 per year but more realisticly possibly 600 to 700 to start due to my own contracting commitments.

Even tho he wants me to take over his custumers there's no guarantee that they will get me once they hear the baler man doesn't mow himself anymore.

Just thinking of playing it safe going with the mounted.

As most know I'm running a landini 5-115H. 110 horses to play with.

Cheers in advance
    Don't know that much but you know your machinery. If you bought a second hand J D trailed mower which are not that expensive?
    You be well able to evaluate it and carry out repairs. Mounted mowers are terribly hard on tractors especially if doing big acreage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,545 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

kk.man wrote: »
    Don't know that much but you know your machinery. If you bought a second hand J D trailed mower which are not that expensive?
    You be well able to evaluate it and carry out repairs. Mounted mowers are terribly hard on tractors especially if doing big acreage.

Fair point. Cheers.

Would like to stay away from 2nd if I can as one bit of advice I was given was never buy a used mower

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,244 ✭✭✭sea12

Would u have time for it reggue with still being in work. Would u be able to be reliable?

sea12 wrote: »
    Would u have time for it reggue with still being in work. Would u be able to be reliable?

That's the snag I have. Finished in 3 years but if I don't show interest it might not be there when I retire. Have a few lads I can ring but gonna try and see if I can come to some compromise that rather stop dead that he winds down slowly giving me time to step in.

I was thinking of him selling off the third tractor and second baler but holding onto the mower so he could mow if I couldn't

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,765 ✭✭✭White Clover

That's the snag I have. Finished in 3 years but if I don't show interest it might not be there when I retire. Have a few lads I can ring but gonna try and see if I can come to some compromise that rather stop dead that he winds down slowly giving me time to step in.

I was thinking of him selling off the third tractor and second baler but holding onto the mower so he could mow if I couldn't

If he was down to one baler, would he be only doing half of what he was, with someone else possibly doing the remainder including mowing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

It would pay you to take on a driver. It's something you should be thinking about.

If he was down to one baler, would he be only doing half of what he was, with someone else possibly doing the remainder including mowing?

No idea. I think he would manage with the one baler that's why I'm planning on 600 or so acres a year

Muckit wrote: »
    It would pay you to take on a driver. It's something you should be thinking about.

Kinda trying to avoid that but fully understand your thinking. Jaysus could never trust someone tho.

The future is very interesting here as it seems out of the three baling outfits in the area in the next few years two will be finished up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,242 ✭✭✭GrasstoMilk

Kinda trying to avoid that but fully understand your thinking. Jaysus could never trust someone tho.

The future is very interesting here as it seems out of the three baling outfits in the area in the next few years two will be finished up

I think muckits suggestion isn't a bad one. You could come across some young lad who's mad about machinery as you and will look after them well!

Mounted aren't too bad once there's no conditioner on it.
    What sort of mower had the man that's stepping back ?
    Could you maybe come to some arrangement to buy his gear off him

I think muckits suggestion isn't a bad one. You could come across some young lad who's mad about machinery as you and will look after them well!

Mounted aren't too bad once there's no conditioner on it.
    What sort of mower had the man that's stepping back ?
    Could you maybe come to some arrangement to buy his gear off him
    I'd say there's scope to actually start up a baling outfit in the future but don't know if I want to go down that route. I prefer the one man operation

He has a Kuhn 10ft trailed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 607 ✭✭✭larthehar

I'd say there's scope to actually start up a baling outfit in the future but don't know if I want to go down that route. I prefer the one man operation

He has a Kuhn 10ft trailed

If you are doing that acreage then you need a 10ft.. dunno about up your way but lots of lads not up for paying for tedding here.. tbh i went from a mounted 8ft to a trailed 10ft with a conditioner.. no comparison to mow with.. trailed mower is just a different beast altogether.. with the gyro head you would get through a keyhole.. the JD1365 or Kuhn have bulletproof beds. The new JDs are suppose to be soft, for a start i would buy a 10ft trailed Kuhn with cond and see how you go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭orm0nd

What Hp is the Dini Reggie ? deffo need a trailed for that acreage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭simx

orm0nd wrote: »

larthehar wrote: »
    If you are doing that acreage then you need a 10ft.. dunno about up your way but lots of lads not up for paying for tedding here.. tbh i went from a mounted 8ft to a trailed 10ft with a conditioner.. no comparison to mow with.. trailed mower is just a different beast altogether.. with the gyro head you would get through a keyhole.. the JD1365 or Kuhn have bulletproof beds. The new JDs are suppose to be soft, for a start i would buy a 10ft trailed Kuhn with cond and see how you go.

Lads are paying for the tedding here as they finally seen the light I think. Far better silage from it.

orm0nd wrote: »

Yeah but don't think I could ever cover that acreage really. At most 600 or so I'd say with the raking also

The think is. There is 3 baling outfits and two pit crews in my area and only one trailed in the lot of them

Not very realistic to not have a driver, even on stamd by. That's the thing with us farmers/contractors. We don't value ourselves enough. As l was saying on another thread, the job should pay enough to cover the costs of labour.

What would happen (God forbid) if you had another crash? How would u keep your contracts? "It'll never happen to me" But it did....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,120 ✭✭✭Who2

10 ft trailed with a grouper, while they mightn't be ideal for good silage they will be a necessity every once in a while. I think Reggie it's going to have to be full duck or no dinner if your finishing up the job in a couple of years, as muckit said a driver is going to be required. The brother or father in law is bound to know some young lad that's trustworthy.

Not very realistic to not have a driver, even on stamd by. That's the thing with us farmers/contractors. We don't value ourselves enough. As l was saying on another thread, the job should pay enough to cover the costs of labour.

What would happen (God forbid) if you had another crash? How would u keep your contracts? "It'll never happen to me" But it did....

In that regard I've other lads I can call in if I cant do a job. Contractors here work together (sometimes :D)

Who2 wrote: »
    10 ft trailed with a grouper, while they mightn't be ideal for good silage they will be a necessity every once in a while. I think Reggie it's going to have to be full duck or no dinner if your finishing up the job in a couple of years, as muckit said a driver is going to be required. The brother or father in law is bound to know some young lad that's trustworthy.
    Yeah the future decisions are gonna be interesting ones. Have to figure out what's really happening with the other man first with his planned downsizing. Wouldn't be surprised If he changed his mind

Remember that old 6cylinder l was on about for when you go hedgecutting? You'll need it also to drive the 10' trailed moco!! :-) Keep the dini for the light stuff.

I know you probably looking at taking on a lad as another cost but you need to change your mindset and look at it as an investment. You have to spend a bit to make a bit.

Remember that old 6cylinder l was on about for when you go hedgecutting? You'll need it also to drive the 10' trailed moco!! :-) Keep the dini for the light stuff.

I know you probably looking at taking on a lad as another cost but you need to change your mindset and look at it as an investment. You have to spend a bit to make a bit.
    That's the danger tho muckit I seen many lad get caught up in that regard. Having to spend to make a small bit. It's true what your saying but these guys end up chasing thier tails then. Don't want to end up like that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 607 ✭✭✭larthehar

Not only a driver but a 2nd tractor too. The way the weather has been the last few years you would be still mowing when the 1st stuff needs to be shook out.. the same with raking..

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,357 Mod ✭✭✭✭K.G.

a few sums for you 600 acres is about 15k of work if i was you buy a nice 9 or 10 ft mounted non conditioner when you have the rake and it will allow you feel your way into the business without droppping 30k.to be honest 110 hp would have poor output as you will always be drop kph with a conditioner

K.G. wrote: »
    a few sums for you 600 acres is about 15k of work if i was you buy a nice 9 or 10 ft mounted non conditioner when you have the rake and it will allow you feel your way into the business without droppping 30k.to be honest 110 hp would have poor output as you will always be drop kph with a conditioner

That's my thinking. Truthfully my situation is that my work tripled this year. If it doubles from that again I'm in the sweet spot for my situation. I think I'm better off being a back up for him rather than a main mowerman as that will take me away from the raking and things.

A few lads showed interest in me raking for them in 2018 but that has to materialise first but don't want to bite off more than I can chew really and make a hames of it.

A lot of lads saying go for the moco which is good advice but if a fella is stuck for grass to be dropped I'd say he couldn't care less if it was done with a scissors

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,158 ✭✭✭jimmy G M

A new 9ft Krone centre pivot mower non conditioner is €9,600, I was pricing one recently as was looking at possibly buying one.

Only concern I have with a 9ft is if the cut is wide enough for a Fusion to pass by the bale on the next round?

Got grass mowed with an 8 ft conditioner a few yrs ago and every time baler came to a bale he missed picking up some grass as he had to keep out from the bale IYKWIM

Edit; Needs about 65 hp to drive and weight around 700kg, folds in 100 degrees so nice tidy mower, quick change blades also.

jimmy G M wrote: »
    A new 9ft Krone centre pivot mower non conditioner is €9,600, I was pricing one recently as was looking at possibly buying one.

Only concern I have with a 9ft is if the cut is wide enough for a Fusion to pass by the bale on the next round?

Got grass mowed with an 8 ft conditioner a few yrs ago and every time baler came to a bale he missed picking up some grass as he had to keep out from the bale IYKWIM

Where ya price that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,552 ✭✭✭visatorro

If you're a backup for fellas you not not be tedding or raking the bit you mow. As a poster said already with the weather there's shorter windows to cut. Will the dini drive a ten foot trailed moco? I don't think there's any point going smaller as you'd be all day mowing. Your charging by the acre so you have to get thru it as quick as you can iykwim.

visatorro wrote: »
    If you're a backup for fellas you not not be tedding or raking the bit you mow. As a poster said already with the weather there's shorter windows to cut. Will the dini drive a ten foot trailed moco? I don't think there's any point going smaller as you'd be all day mowing. Your charging by the acre so you have to get thru it as quick as you can iykwim.
    I might just look to take his dairy custumors off him and the lads that get the grass raked as a non moco would make no difference to them. Most lads would prefer to get the same fella in to mow red and rake anyways id say. I don't really want to take on the 1000 acres anyways as that's nearly full time mowing by itself.

Have to figure out what's the best course of action really but the landini should be well able to drive a 10ft moco.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,891 ✭✭✭Bullocks

I might just look to take his dairy custumors off him and the lads that get the grass raked as a non moco would make no difference to them. Most lads would prefer to get the same fella in to mow red and rake anyways id say. I don't really want to take on the 1000 acres anyways as that's nearly full time mowing by itself.

Have to figure out what's the best course of action really but the landini should be well able to drive a 10ft moco.
    Not to be the pessimist but I would be looking at why the other lads are getting out , I know it's a different part of the world to where I am but the lads around here wouldn't be too profitable .

Where ya price that?

Sent ya a PM there.

Bullocks wrote: »
    Not to be the pessimist but I would be looking at why the other lads are getting out , I know it's a different part of the world to where I am but the lads around here wouldn't be too profitable .

Aye. One man is 65 and retired teacher and his wife is ill

other man is 60 and is having hip trouble. Reading between the lines he wants to cut overheads and and driver

The profitable issue is what I'm working off. I'm getting advice elsewhere where I need a bigger machine with such a mower and standby driver. All good advice but it eats your profit. I could be better off with a plain mower with a few good custumers cutting only 300 or 400 acres. I could make more profit that way.

Sent ya a PM there.

No PM jimmy

Aye. One man is 65 and retired teacher and his wife is ill

other man is 60 and is having hip trouble. Reading between the lines he wants to cut overheads and and driver

The profitable issue is what I'm working off. I'm getting advice elsewhere where I need a bigger machine with such a mower and standby driver. All good advice but it eats your profit. I could be better off with a plain mower with a few good custumers cutting only 300 or 400 acres. I could make more profit that way.

I can't imagine you will find it easy get a driver that will be careful and mindful enough to let at your machinery . The most drivers for the silage season around here are out of school and would test anyones patients / or burst helsinki steel in other words :D
    A buddy delivered two loads of topsoil to me the other day in a Duetz that he gave 53k for before silage last year . It was immaculate but now alot of scrapes and bent mudguards and a few other bits of damage :mad: Couldn't fire the young lad driving it cos he couldn't get any other drivers and couldn't stop the damges out of his wages cos he would walk :rolleyes:
    I would'nt be able for that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,722 ✭✭✭maidhc

I had a 8ft krone moco before. It was a horrible heap of scrap, and desperately heavy to have hanging off the side of any tractor. It rarely managed the 60 acres a year I do with breaking.

A few yrs ago I bought a scrap 1990 JD 1360, fitted a nearly new bed that was written off by an insc co, re did the impeller and all bearings, and then repainted it. Result is a more that cost 6k or so, but almost new and like night and day to use compared to the old krone.

The old Deees are so simple too compared to mounted mowers and it is some testament that a 30 year old design is still as good as you can get new.

Sent ya a PM there.

Whats all the secrecy... tis either pro trailers in brideswell or Paraic Dwyer in Kilconnel :)

Bullocks wrote: »
    I can't imagine you will find it easy get a driver that will be careful and mindful enough to let at your machinery . The most drivers for the silage season around here are out of school and would test anyones patients / or burst helsinki steel in other words :D
    A buddy delivered two loads of topsoil to me the other day in a Duetz that he gave 53k for before silage last year . It was immaculate but now alot of scrapes and bent mudguards and a few other bits of damage :mad: Couldn't fire the young lad driving it cos he couldn't get any other drivers and couldn't stop the damges out of his wages cos he would walk :rolleyes:
    I would'nt be able for that

That's my issue

maidhc wrote: »
    I had a 8ft krone moco before. It was a horrible heap of scrap, and desperately heavy to have hanging off the side of any tractor. It rarely managed the 60 acres a year I do with breaking.

A few yrs ago I bought a scrap 1990 JD 1360, fitted a nearly new bed that was written off by an insc co, re did the impeller and all bearings, and then repainted it. Result is a more that cost 6k or so, but almost new and like night and day to use compared to the old krone.

The old Deees are so simple too compared to mounted mowers and it is some testament that a 30 year old design is still as good as you can get new.
    Yeah the FIL has one. It's food for thought.

I think a lad left one of those jd mowers in our street after an auction and never sold it or took it after , I must take a picture later . Its a shame to leave it there

Whats all the secrecy... tis either pro trailers in brideswell or Paraic Dwyer in Kilconnel :)

Dunno where that PM went ..... prob floating around in cyberspace somewhere... anyway Sherlock Muckit has it rumbled ..

https://www.donedeal.ie/all?userId=316264

He has a nice looking second hand trailed Krone as well....

Dunno where that PM went ..... prob floating around in cyberspace somewhere... anyway Sherlock Muckit has it rumbled ..

https://www.donedeal.ie/all?userId=316264

He has a nice looking second hand trailed Krone as well....

Actually looked at both on DD last night

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,932 ✭✭✭jaymla627

Bought a pottinger novacat 302ed mounted 10ft last summer, has hydraulic self levelling that's constantly adjusting while mowing, it peels ground compared to contractors new trailer Kuhn, heavy mower though at over 1200kgs you need 5 and a half ton plus a tractor to safely use it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,581 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

Ah Reg, you are only messing a Sharpshooter like you should be ashamed. Contracting with Landini. Forget about the dairy boys. No self respecting dairy farmer will have a contractor in with a Dini, FFS he be the talk of 2-3 parish's, if that dini broke down he be a laughing stock. No, no, no them dairy boys want only contractors with JD's, NH,s Class or Case's at a pinch no sharpshooter with a dini and nobody employed by him and him a public server, what is the world coming to.

No Reg! no you will have to pay out a few bob of you want to stay at this contracting job. 2-3 tractors and one must be up near 200hp and the other couple between 130-150hp. They do not expect you to have a Massey but Case at a minimum ideally them Class, NH or JD. You need to get one of them triple mowers an 8-10' on front and the same as the back and a 40' take. Otherwise you are only messing Reg messing I tell you.

You will have to employ 3-4 lads Reg this is another reason that the Dini has to go no self respecting tractor jockey will be seen dead in a f@@king Dini. These jockeys will be costing you 20+ euro/ hour with holidays etc bit there bragging about what you have will keep the rest of the contractors on there toes.

Yes so see Mr Reg Sharpshooter you will have to get really geared up if you intent to stay in this contracting business. After that a 2.5-3k tanker with a dribble bar or one of those new umbical systems and an 8-12 ton track machine.

Na Reg if you continue with the Dini and a10'mower you are at nothing all the rest of contractors will laugh at you it whole hog or nothing. 70-80 hour weeks with gear strewn all over that nice new yard you have and you chasing you tail for a spare part that is down in Bennett's in west Cork

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,741 ✭✭✭CloughCasey1

Ah Reg, you are only messing a Sharpshooter like you should be ashamed. Contracting with Landini. Forget about the dairy boys. No self respecting dairy farmer will have a contractor in with a Dini, FFS he be the talk of 2-3 parish's, if that dini broke down he be a laughing stock. No, no, no them dairy boys want only contractors with JD's, NH,s Class or Case's at a pinch no sharpshooter with a dini and nobody employed by him and him a public server, what is the world coming to.

No Reg! no you will have to pay out a few bob of you want to stay at this contracting job. 2-3 tractors and one must be up near 200hp and the other couple between 130-150hp. They do not expect you to have a Massey but Case at a minimum ideally them Class, NH or JD. You need to get one of them triple mowers an 8-10' on front and the same as the back and a 40' take. Otherwise you are only messing Reg messing I tell you.

You will have to employ 3-4 lads Reg this is another reason that the Dini has to go no self respecting tractor jockey will be seen dead in a f@@king Dini. These jockeys will be costing you 20+ euro/ hour with holidays etc bit there bragging about what you have will keep the rest of the contractors on there toes.

Yes so see Mr Reg Sharpshooter you will have to get really geared up if you intent to stay in this contracting business. After that a 2.5-3k tanker with a dribble bar or one of those new umbical systems and an 8-12 ton track machine.

Na Reg if you continue with the Dini and a10'mower you are at nothing all the rest of contractors will laugh at you it whole hog or nothing. 70-80 hour weeks with gear strewn all over that nice new yard you have and you chasing you tail for a spare part that is down in Bennett's in west Cork

Coming from the man who only buys black and whites.☺

Your some tramp :D

I think it's a reverse psychology compliment ...... or something haha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 436 ✭✭annubis

think a trailed mower the way to go for you reggie, especially if you are using the one tractor for a few jobs, we used to have 8ft linkage mower and it was a hateful bastard of a yoke to put on and adjust, have a trailed one for a few years now and its so easy just to hitch up

Only concern I have with a 9ft mower is if the cut is wide enough for a Fusion to pass by the bale on the next round?

Any of the contractors on here able to answer this Q?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,722 ✭✭✭maidhc

Any of the contractors on here able to answer this Q?

I never had this issue, but the 10ft makes a nicer swath and the bales are better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

I have a 1360 Deere, pulled on the lift arms with a crossbar.
    It's been a good mower, cuts clean and gives little trouble.
    Had a breakdown this summer and got a loan of a neighbours KV with the gyro head, and they are such a brilliant advancement, compared to UJ's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 786 ✭✭✭Cattlepen

If your only feeling your way into it and going to see how it goes I would get a mounted mower with no conditioner especially if someone else is tedding. Conditioners soak serious juice. I used have JD moco's and went to Kuhn non conditioner mowers. The difference in the fuel bill was staggering.
    Also, I'd keep it simple as regards getting bigger into it. Employees throw another personality in to the mix and it getting harder to find any1 any good. I'd keep it sweet n simple and do yer600 or so acres and let sme1 else do the rest. Best of luck either way