Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sucker punched to the head

• 21-12-2017 6:24pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 935 ✭✭✭

While cycling on my way home I came across a group of scobes average age of 14. They threw something at my face and I stopped asking if they were out of their mind doing that as I could fall and badly get injured. They of course didn't give a fcuk so I got on my bike and while running away one of them sucker punched me in the head causing my glasses to cut my nose and eyebrow.
    I obviously don't know who they are or had a good look at them, but I'm still badly shaken: is there any point reporting this to the guards? What should I do if I come across them again?
    I've never been assaulted or been in a fight in 44 years , I'm lost for words, like there aren't enough dangers out on the roads, I also now need to look out for bored kids

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,297 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Report them. Those little bastarbs never stray very far, so will be easily found again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,831 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Stopping to “chat” with a bunch of yahoos like this wasn’t wise at all, in future your best avoid them.

Maybe report it to the guards but I wouldn’t hold out much hope for anything happening as a result.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭5rtytry56

_Brian wrote: »
    Stopping to “chat” with a bunch of yahoos like this wasn’t wise at all, in future your best avoid them.
    This. How do you think they were going to react OP? Give you a mince pie?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,877 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

Sad to hear you had this couple days before Christmas. It wasn't you, it was them.

Go to the nearest Garda station and make a statement.

If you can't go now, write your statement tonight while its fresh in your mind. Describe each guy you can remember. Include exact location and time.

Try a different route around the area for at least a few days.

Unlikely anything will be done , offically, but the statement might back up other evidence and lead the Gardai to have words with them if they recognize the group.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 935 ✭✭✭darconio

_Brian wrote: »

Maybe report it to the guards but I wouldn’t hold out much hope for anything happening as a result.
    5rtytry56 wrote: »

They threw something at my face, I nearly lost my balance, knowing what happened I wouldn't have said anything, but again if you don't say anything then you'll become their target every time they are bored.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,014 ✭✭✭De Bhál

darconio wrote: »
    , but again if you don't say anything then you'll become their target every time they are bored.

I'd say the opposite is more true.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

Report them. But chances of anything coming of it are slim. The sooner the better in terms of time frame to report. You'll be asked to make a statement and you can explain the situation and give the best description of these fools. Assault is pretty serious.

• Site Banned Posts: 39 monnies

While cycling on my way home I came across a group of scobes average age of 14. They threw something at my face and I stopped asking if they were out of their mind doing that as I could fall and badly get injured. They of course didn't give a fcuk so I got on my bike and while running away one of them sucker punched me in the head causing my glasses to cut my nose and eyebrow.
    I obviously don't know who they are or had a good look at them, but I'm still badly shaken: is there any point reporting this to the guards? What should I do if I come across them again?
    I've never been assaulted or been in a fight in 44 years , I'm lost for words, like there aren't enough dangers out on the roads, I also now need to look out for bored kids

the best thing you can do for this evening is try to relax, ( after you check your injuries)
    you may be in a bit of shock
    cup of tea maybe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,748 ✭✭✭✭Ally Dick

The era of the vigilante is upon us. People have had enough and are close to losing it. If the parents and authorities can't sort it out, people are going to take the law into their own hands. No harm. We need about 5 years of zero tolerance as a country, to put everything right again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 393 ✭✭delboythedub

"Lawless ireland"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,586 ✭✭✭Kaisr Sose

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    Report them. Those little bastarbs never stray very far, so will be easily found again.

Yep, creatures of habit. Garda would probably know who they are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,409 ✭✭✭sullzz

I was out training one evening last year and was cycling down the Fonthill road , a group of younglads were walking on the footpath coming my direction , one of them started to walk towards the road , then , as i passed he took a leap towards me throwing a punch , i dont know how but i managed to swerve to avoid it , if a car was overtaking me at that time i wouldve been knocked down . Although it did lead to a quality sprint session .
    These little toerags dont give a toss if they seriously injure or kill anyone , reporting them to the gardai wont lead to anything , if anything they might wait for you to pass again and at best sucker punch you agian .
    Take it as a lesson not to leave yourself in a vulnerable situation like that again , approaching little scrotes like them is never going to end well .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,230 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

Keyboard vigilantes, stand up and be counted!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,347 ✭✭✭✭Grayditch

Lumen wrote: »
    Keyboard vigilantes, stand up and be counted!

What's your suggestion?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,067 ✭✭✭368100

5rtytry56 wrote: »

Amazing.....victim of a crime is in the wrong for standing up for themselves ......only on boards

Grayditch wrote: »
    What's your suggestion?
    Well I was going to count the vigilantes and then figure out the next step.

368100 wrote: »
    Amazing.....victim of a crime is in the wrong for standing up for themselves ......only on boards

In fairness , he tried to reason with a bunch of scumbags who threw something at his face , stopping to ask them if they were out of their minds was not the most logical decision .
    Was it ever going to end well for him to be honest ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,379 ✭✭✭emo72

sullzz wrote: »
    In fairness , he tried to reason with a bunch of scumbags who threw something at his face , stopping to ask them if they were out of their minds was not the most logical decision .
    Was it ever going to end well for him to be honest ?

still lads. go easy. not everyone is streetwise. and when i was younger i was caught by the odd random "feral intervention", as a consequence of where i lived. when you live in an affluent area, you kind of forget what its like to deal with these "children". my sympathies to the OP. forget them, and you'll be a bit wiser next time.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 51,665 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

guys - while all these suggestions of violence may make you feel better, any further suggestions of wanton violence will be deleted. i've already removed a few.

Thanks everybody for your sympathy I guess I've learned my lesson and I'll just shut up next time. I stopped to reason with them because at their age it never crossed my mind to assault an adult, I guess the world has changed...for worst: these kids are not taught basic respect.

I cycle along the canal from Suir road to blackhorse and in the summer especially in suir road is like a minefield with all those scobes swimming in the canal: I had few close encounters already but I ignored them and moved on, this time I felt like saying something and I paid dearly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,624 ✭✭✭✭elperello

Take photos of your injuries and go to Garda Station asap.
    Insist on making a formal statement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,379 ✭✭✭emo72

Thanks everybody for your sympathy I guess I've learned my lesson and I'll just shut up next time. I stopped to reason with them because at their age it never crossed my mind to assault an adult, I guess the world has changed...for worst: these kids are not taught basic respect.

I cycle along the canal from Suir road to blackhorse and in the summer especially in suir road is like a minefield with all those scobes swimming in the canal: I had few close encounters already but I ignored them and moved on, this time I felt like saying something and I paid dearly

really sorry to hear that. the world is a changed place. and if you dare treat them like they treated you, well you'd be the one the guards would be looking for.

I guess the world has changed...for worst: these kids are not taught basic respect.
    Ah, this is nothing new.

"I would there were no age between sixteen and three-and-twenty, or that youth would sleep out the rest; for there is nothing in the between but getting wenches with child, wronging the ancientry, stealing, fighting".

Really hate it when they wrong the ancientry.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 51,665 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

i was going to post a youtube clip from 'a clockwork orange' but then remembered it takes place in the future.

i was recently talking to someone (plural/anecdote/data warning) who learned judo in the 70s to deal with random street violence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,568 ✭✭✭BillyBobBS

Ally Dick wrote: »
    The era of the vigilante is upon us. People have had enough and are close to losing it. If the parents and authorities can't sort it out, people are going to take the law into their own hands. No harm. We need about 5 years of zero tolerance as a country, to put everything right again

Ladies and gentlemen, Chuck Norris.

OP may not have retaliated physically but maybe another person would

Exactly , the OP stated that he was never assaulted or ever in a fight in 44 years , and from his previous posts in this thread, and i must say , to no offence to him / her , he sounds like not the most streetwise when it comes to these types of situations . Hence my suggestion to him to avoid such situations .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,172 ✭✭✭FizzleSticks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

I've had to use the threat of a D lock to tell a few young manchester scallies to foxtrot oscar at a set of lights. I'm taller than I look on the bike which helps too. Got caught out on a red light in a ****e part of town. Avoid that route now.

I'd also one cycle across me from behind a parked van while on an uphill slog. He took offence at being called a clown and tried to cycle after me. A bloody ****e mountain bike in the wrong gear never had a chance of keeping up.

So yea, just put the distance, they're not able. Keep cycling on. Or change the route to a nicer/busier road.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,067 ✭✭✭368100

Op...whereabouts did it happen?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,188 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Ally Dick wrote: »

Although many of us think this would be a great thing, it's not the answer and a sure fire way to get yourself a criminal record.

The amount of knife attacks in the news in the last decade or so, it's not worth the risk. You start swinging a bicycle lock, you could end up with a knife in your back or gut.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,289 ✭✭✭AmberGold

Sorry to hear this OP, not what you need coming up to Christmas. I’d report it to the Garda first thing and do my absolute best to forget about it.

Theres a lot of inflammatory type responses from others here that would rile me up even more if I was in your shoes. Not what you need at this moment in time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 324 ✭✭kurtainsider

Ah yes. The most vulnerable in our society. These young people have complex needs that society is failing to meet.

What most of them need is a good kick up the hole.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 6,857 Mod ✭✭✭✭eeeee

Mod reminder: This is the cycling forum. You can discuss cycling topics here. Any other discussion will be deleted, advocating violence on other people etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,105 ✭✭✭selectamatic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,150 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

Definitely worth reporting OP - and please share details of the location so others are pre-warned?

Op...whereabouts did it happen?
    Definitely worth reporting OP - and please share details of the location so others are pre-warned?

Bluebell just beside the football pitch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,584 ✭✭✭✭Steve

Sickening. Very sorry to hear that OP.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 7,754 Mod ✭✭✭✭delly

Not a cyclist, but saw the thread at the top of the new posts list.

Firstly, my sympathies to you OP, nothing worse than going about your daily business, to be then targeted by a gang of scumbags. I would agree with others here that you are unlikely to get any result from the Guards, but think it's important to have it reported.

What makes it relevant to me however, relates to a YouTube channel that I have been following for the last few months called 'Active Self Protection'. It's a US channel that mainly deals with gun crime, but the lessons posted in each video can be used just about anywhere. Although we are not a hotbed of serious crime, your incident shows that something can happen at random and in those cases it's best to be prepared. The ultimate goal in those videos is to come out of a situation with as little damage as possible, and it's in these situations that telling a scumbag a thing or two has no logic. You have to have good situational awareness, time buys you options, options buys you escape routes. Key is to get out of a danger zone ASAP and when you are in 'transitional spaces', to be aware of people gravitating towards you. It may sound a bit OTT, but having seeing how many people blindly walk into a risky situation is scary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,226 ✭✭✭flatty

You can report it if you like, but you're just wasting your own time. Nothing can come of it as you have no idea who did it.
    Chalk it down to experience, remember that nothing too bad happened, and there are tens of thousands of people in the country who had worse happen to them this week. Put and keep it in perspective for the fcuking annoying, but relatively minor incident it was, console yourself that you aren't a little scrote like them, and forget about it.
    Have a few pints and enjoy the Christmas.
    Sin e e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,064 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

Sorry for you troubles OP but this part caught my attention:
    ...I've never been assaulted or been in a fight in 44 years...
    Jesus, you must have had a very sheltered upbringing. I'm a very placid individual but have been involved in a few in my time although I think the last time was after the All Ireland final in 1993 when I was thrown off a bus for coming to the aid of another passenger who was being picked on.

Sorry for you troubles OP but this part caught my attention:

Jesus, you must have had a very sheltered upbringing. I'm a very placid individual but have been involved in a few in my time although I think the last time was after the All Ireland final in 1993 when I was thrown off a bus for coming to the aid of another passenger who was being picked on.

When I say being in a fight I mean 1 vs 1 where I've be punched/kicked or give a punch/kick to cause an injury. I've been as well in my teens and I had to stand up for myself in several situation: I honestly consider these confrontations rather than fights

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 15,881 Mod ✭✭✭✭smacl

OP, sorry for your woes, getting attacked is unpleasant and stressful.
    i was recently talking to someone (plural/anecdote/data warning) who learned judo in the 70s to deal with random street violence.

I took up full contact martial arts after a few dodgy incidents living in a rough enough area. It worked well, but not for the reasons you might think. Basically if you have the living crap beaten out of you by your mates on a regular basis and return the favour, you become used to physical violence, don't get upset by it and tend not to attract it nearly so much. Looking back, certainly for me at least, the fear of being jumped made life more miserable then any actual injury, so once that was gone the problem evaporated. Sports like judo can also be fantastic fun, well worth a punt if you're that way inclined, and could well compliment cycling. At the same time, I'd be highly sceptical of any self defence courses that promised street skills.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,696 ✭✭✭dhaughton99

“Bluebell just beside the football pitch”

I cycle it everyday. It’s a hole.

You have that lot from the flats and then the Labra park lot as well up further. I go the longer Naas rd route after 5:00pm to avoid the hassle. It’s to easy to get trapped at those barriers and get your bike robbed or worse.

I had a 13 yr old female spit in my face at the gate a few months ago. Also had another female swing a kick at my front wheel and squeal at me recently.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,609 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Personally I'd chalk it down to experience, not engage with a group of teens again & I certainly wouldn't waste my time reporting it to AGS.

I'd a similar experience only recently, but I wasn't assaulted. I just kept cycling because as an adult you're on a loser every time.

If you defend yourself the tables will be turned on YOU, and you'll come out looking like a kunt.

Happened to a training partner awhile back. Assaulted by two ****, beat them up, got charged. They showed up in court with their mothers, and wearing school uniforms. The fact that (similar to me) my mate is a 3rd Judo black belt and the court went to town on him.

Teens are arseholes, dangerous little bastards. You can cycle quicker than they can run after you, keep cycling next time. They'll get their come uppence from someone else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,586 ✭✭✭Kaisr Sose

Bluebell just beside the football pitch

Sorry about your incident. I don’t think you were wrong to stop. It’s the like the Wild West around there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 520 ✭✭✭tobdom

flatty wrote: »
    You can report it if you like, but you're just wasting your own time. Nothing can come of it as you have no idea who did it.
    Chalk it down to experience, remember that nothing too bad happened, and there are tens of thousands of people in the country who had worse happen to them this week. Put and keep it in perspective for the fcuking annoying, but relatively minor incident it was, console yourself that you aren't a little scrote like them, and forget about it.
    Have a few pints and enjoy the Christmas.
    Sin e e.

What kind of bull**** response is this?! Seriously?!! OP was randomly assaulted on his way home, how often in a year/lifetime would that happen to you? "ahh, just assaulted on the way home from work there, not too bad I suppose......"

Tripping on the street & falling, dopping a plate & smashing it..... etc. are "fcuking annoying" events....... getting assaulted randomly through no fault of your own is disgusting and can be quite an emotional & troubling ordeal that leaves you anxious for quite some time - although I would say you have to be a victim of it to fully understand.

I'm not saying there's anything really that the OP can do about it, other than report it so that it's recorded with AGS, but still, a response like yours is quite ridiculous.

The "sure it could have been worse" sentiment really grates for me, it seems to be a very Irish thing (I'm Irish), you hear it all the time, and while it can be true in some situations it still annoys me..... Yea, could be worse, or, it could not have happened at all.

Hope you get over this soon OP and can enjoy the Christmas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 463 ✭✭com1

To all those who are saying don't report it... you are wrong, definitely report it and get it recorded on the Garda system. While most likely nothing will/can be done about that particular crime, it will become part of the statistics and give more leverage to increase the Garda presence to a more acceptable level.

Look at the current set of stats out saying that crime is down. I personally don't believe it, but if people 'don't bother' to report it because its a waste of time and nothing will be done, then it is guaranteed that nothing will be done.

Just because nothing might happen in your particular case, your report may help the next person from getting into a similar situation.

Remember OP, you got assaulted twice by a gang of scrotes. It is important that the garda know that this has happened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,064 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

...Teens are arseholes, dangerous little bastards. ....
    Steady on Samir Sparse Wing! :eek:

A small minority may be dangerous and they are the ones you hear about. The vast majority of teenagers are harmless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,669 ✭✭✭plodder

com1 wrote: »
    To all those who are saying don't report it... you are wrong, definitely report it and get it recorded on the Garda system. While most likely nothing will/can be done about that particular crime, it will become part of the statistics and give more leverage to increase the Garda presence to a more acceptable level.

Look at the current set of stats out saying that crime is down. I personally don't believe it, but if people 'don't bother' to report it because its a waste of time and nothing will be done, then it is guaranteed that nothing will be done.

Just because nothing might happen in your particular case, your report may help the next person from getting into a similar situation.

Remember OP, you got assaulted twice by a gang of scrotes. It is important that the garda know that this has happened.
    That's important to remember. It's actually the first assault (where they threw something at his face) that is more likely to result in action, as I would guess he had a better view of who did it. Definitely report it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,111 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

Reminds me a bit of this. Violence won't stop anything, most of these kids would be getting beaten regularly by their parents anyway