Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Vegan anti dairy Billboards. See mod note in post#1.

• 21-12-2017 1:10pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,473 ✭✭✭

Don't know is this a new development or am I late seeing these, but driving through Mitchelstown earlier and I saw a full size Go vegan billboard saying something or other about stealing babies from their mothers. Couldn't stop to take a photo. In the home of Dairy providing so many jobs in that area I'm wondering how long it will be before it is ripped down or sprayed over but I guess I was just shocked to see it there at all. They must be well funded to be able to afford this type of outlet for their spin.

greysides wrote: »
    Folks, this was always a subject that was likely to have strong opinions on either side. One of the main things that helps keep discussions civil is that while the discussion matter is argued strongly, the arguments aren't let become personal. That means while you may disagree strongly, you respect the other person in the tone and manner of your replies.

And, in fact, I'm insisting on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,407 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Wouldn’t worry about them. The only people who take vegans seriously are other vegans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 285 ✭✭The Caveman

I saw them to

I would love to have the funds, to make my own adverts, to show a whole cow/sheep on a BBQ, and just saying to support your local farmer...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 760 ✭✭✭CHOPS01

Spotted the same on the dual carriage way from Ennis to Limerick yesterday. More than a bit surprised when I saw it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,919 ✭✭✭Odelay

I'm vegan intolerant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,324 ✭✭✭Tilikum17

endacl wrote: »
    Wouldn’t worry about them. The only people who take vegans seriously are other vegans.

Tell that to owners of plants in American & Australia that have had to shut down because of the rise in sales in non dairy alternatives.

The one industry I would not like to be relying on a future in, is the dairy industry,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,022 ✭✭✭einn32

Tilikum17 wrote: »
    Tell that to owners of plants in American & Australia that have had to shut down because of the rise in sales in non dairy alternatives.

The one industry I would not like to be relying on a future in, is the dairy industry,

They have risen but I don't think it has led to farms shutting down. It's probably related to other issues the businesses had.

The dairy industry will probably cause it's own downfall!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,542 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Wildsurfer wrote: »
    Don't know is this a new development or am I late seeing these, but driving through Mitchelstown earlier and I saw a full size Go vegan billboard saying something or other about stealing babies from their mothers. Couldn't stop to take a photo. In the home of Dairy providing so many jobs in that area I'm wondering how long it will be before it is ripped down or sprayed over but I guess I was just shocked to see it there at all. They must be well funded to be able to afford this type of outlet for their spin.
    Ya wanna see Dublin. Dublin buses were full of ads last year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,473 ✭✭✭Wildsurfer

Reggie. wrote: »
    Ya wanna see Dublin. Dublin buses were full of ads last year.

Yeah but I suppose I would expect it more in a large urban setting. But in a town where dairying is the heartbeat of its existence I was taken aback at the brazenness of that. But as I say I don't expect this particular billboard poster to survive long.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,716 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

I’m old enough to have seen the whole vegan push, billboards etc come and go a few times over the years.
    I think while it makes them feel good they hardly swing many over by billboards who weren’t already going to try it anyway.
    It’s not like a proper meat eater will see a billboard and instantly turn vegan.

I’d say let it pass with as little comment and interaction as possible, sometimes online they are just looking for a reaction so they can post photos of cattle being slaughtered - as if we don’t know that happens anyway.

Each to their own, it’s a big world

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,458 ✭✭✭tractorporn

_Brian wrote:
    I’d say let it pass with as little comment and interaction as possible, sometimes online they are just looking for a reaction so they can post photos of cattle being slaughtered - as if we don’t know that happens anyway.

You can bet any money that the billboards were put in those particular areas for exactly that reason to get a reaction.

I used to be fearful of the vegans they are very militant and deceitful. But after a small bit of research I found that they only make up 0.05 percent of the population and every time I drive past our local McDonald's there is a que to get into the drive through so I don't think their campaigns, as well funded as they are, are really making that much of an impact.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

They even had ads on here!
    Putting a BBQ under the sign and giving out burgers is a great idea tbh! Vegans would think they're vegan burgers :D

But Brian is right look at the activity on the vegan forum there's very little activity on it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,554 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

I don't understand them at all, If they want to be vegan fine and well but it's just a new trend for most of them I think so they can be posting sh1te on social media about it. Why bother trying to make your meals resemble meat if your really into it? Look in the link at the fry here https://touch.boards.ie/thread/2057821027/1/#post105593013

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,563 ✭✭✭mayota

I don't understand them at all, If they want to be vegan fine and well but it's just a new trend for most of them I think so they can be posting sh1te on social media about it. Why bother trying to make your meals resemble meat if your really into it? Look in the link at the fry here https://touch.boards.ie/thread/2057821027/1/#post105593013

Feck ya LC I nearly thanked the picture of the ‘fry’.

They’re not all revolutionaries though.

My aunt has been hardline vegan for 30-40 years. The has her principals but is in no way condescending, she sees it as her choice and not a crusade to beat people with.

Some years ago I was installing heating for her, it was a rough dirty job in an old stone house. She cooked a beautiful organic chicken wrapped in bacon. It was fabulous. There was no talk of the meal at all, she ate her beans or whatever it was and served me up half a chicken with spuds and veg.

I really respect her for doing that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,778 ✭✭✭Dakota Dan

I tried soy milk and Linda McCartney sausages one time both were vile products, never again. The sausages were in ALDI once, ate one out of a pack of three and the rest were dumped. They poison the sausages with salt, way more than real sausages to make them taste more like meat, I did a bit of research on them and they found out that they are way more unhealthy than real sausages.

Dakota Dan wrote: »
    I tried soy milk and Linda McCartney sausages one time both were vile products, never again. The sausages were in ALDI once, ate one out of a pack of three and the rest were dumped. They poison the sausages with salt, way more than real sausages to make them taste more like meat, I did a bit of research on them and they found out that they are way more unhealthy than real sausages.

Not that one can use a sausage as a measure of healthiness:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,315 ✭✭✭tanko

I hope the vegans arent watching Ear to the ground.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,225 ✭✭✭charolais0153

tanko wrote: »
    I hope the vegans arent watching Ear to the ground.

I doubt farmers are watching it :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 94 ✭✭TwoOldBoots

I noticed 2 vegan signs a few miles outside Limerick on the Galway motorway. How long are they there? Surly the locals must be bulling :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,119 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

I noticed 2 vegan signs a few miles outside Limerick on the Galway motorway. How long are they there? Surly the locals must be bulling :p

Not if you own the land they are on. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,190 ✭✭✭alps

I'm no longer worried about them after the past weeks weather event.

When you see empty milk shelves (bar almond juice) we see how the population returned to basics when the chips were down.
    I'm no longer concerned that the demand for milk alternatives is of any threat to our business.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,385 ✭✭✭Gawddawggonnit

alps wrote: »

When you see empty milk shelves (bar almond juice) we see how the population returned to basics when the chips were down.
    I'm no longer concerned that the demand for milk alternatives is of any threat to our business.

Looks like Bread was the number one staple Alps. That be tillage farmers in anyone’s book...

JIT deliveries are a stones...well proven now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

Are you a local farmer? Are you bulling?

alps wrote: »

I think that level of consumption is there all the time, it’s just that supplies were cut and so the shelves emptied quickly.

A bit like empty vessels make the most noise, while there’s lots of talk and tweets online, the actual numbers of vegans is small compared to the overall population and I don’t expect they will ever be anything but a fringe group, a vocal fringe group.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,458 ✭✭✭tractorporn

alps wrote:

alps wrote:
    When you see empty milk shelves (bar almond juice) we see how the population returned to basics when the chips were down. I'm no longer concerned that the demand for milk alternatives is of any threat to our business.

I used to be worried about them also until I drove past our local McDonald's on St Stephen's day and there was a que to get into the drive through and the restaurant was jammers. Nobody went there for vegan food! They are a very noisy well funded minority.

Go vegan estimate that there are 500k vegans in the UK. In a population of 68million that's a very small percentage.

_Brian wrote: »
    I think that level of consumption is there all the time, it’s just that supplies were cut and so the shelves emptied quickly.

A bit like empty vessels make the most noise, while there’s lots of talk and tweets online, the actual numbers of vegans is small compared to the overall population and I don’t expect they will ever be anything but a fringe group, a vocal fringe group.

There does seem to be some evangelical type shenanigans going on presently...

I've seen online 'vegans' using such terminology as 'bearing witness" "having an epiphany" "spreading the word" etc etc. All very new religiony...

And then you get the ones that appear on various forums who no matter what the topic bring up vegan 'ethics' or other related matters so that they can "inform" others who may " wish to be informed" :rolleyes:

Imo this all the while a number of high profile individuals making serious money from their youtube and social media empire off the back of "clicks" from their vegan followers. The result is that the naive foot soldiers being used just help that lot make money imo ...

Vegan groups always talk about the numbers converting over to veganism and vegetarians but never about the numbers leaving and eating a regular balanced diet. My guess is that the actual net numbers haven’t changed significantly in 20 years.

It’s not a diet really it’s a religion to them and like many religious fanatics they just love to preach to everyone about how righteous they are and how big a sinners the rest of us are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Numbers of vegans won't increase if they keep trying this sort of thing......

https://youtu.be/OtbHNhcnTwM

“What is wrong with him”
    “That lunatic wouldn’t stop”

Say the people who threw themselves out in front of an articulated truck while it was moving. :)

They seem to put a higher value on animal life than human life.

Perhaps a few should let themselves go down the slaughter line with the pigs so they know what it feels like and if they complain afterwards we will take them seriously

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    Numbers of vegans won't increase if they keep trying this sort of thing......

https://youtu.be/OtbHNhcnTwM

More religiosity 'bearing witness' etc

That level of craziness only comes from being part of a cult imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,846 ✭✭✭NickNickleby

ah yes, but if the vegans turn out to be correct, then you could have the bould 'Dr' for probably another 35 years, whereas Nigella might only last 25. Who's laughing now???

I rest my case :pac::pac::pac::pac:

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,357 Mod ✭✭✭✭K.G.

You would have to wonder where the finance is coming from though,me thinks there is more to it than a few headcases spooting off and is abit like the CIA funding terrorist when it suits them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,190 ✭✭✭alps

Looks like Bread was the number one staple Alps. That be tillage farmers in anyone’s book...

JIT deliveries are a stones...well proven now.

The milk buyer is a more sophisticated type...

All the bread seemed to go regardless of type, in a sort of "anything will do" type of scenario, while the milk buyer just wanted "full fat whole milk" and from there they moved reluctantly on to skim and low fat, leaving some of the yuppie protein milks, and leaving all of the vegetable alternatives...

We have a sophisticated well educated, healthy clientele..

ah yes, but if the vegans turn out to be correct, then you could have the bould 'Dr' for probably another 35 years, whereas Nigella might only last 25. Who's laughing now???

Vegans and correct don't belong in the same sentence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭J.O. Farmer

I don't know but I certainly wouldn't be laughing at the idea of spending the next 35 years on gillians diet.
    Also while Nigella looks a lot younger than 51 I can only say the opposite for gillian.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,181 ✭✭✭Lady Haywire

Probably Nigella :D
    463314.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

K.G. wrote: »
    You would have to wonder where the finance is coming from though,me thinks there is more to it than a few headcases spooting off and is abit like the CIA funding terrorist when it suits them

If I was a conspiracy theorist, which I am not, I would wonder whether it isn't in the long term financial interest of the agri-food industry - the processors in other words - to push a "vegan revolution"

When you've captured all the value and margin there is between the farmer and the consumer, and you own the consumer & his / her choices lock stock and barrel, I can't think of a better way to exploit your position, financially, than to switch everyone to a diet so reliant on processing as the Vegan regime.

Robot grown crops turned into "food" by clean rooms and factories and sold as healthy.

I should stress that I have no evidence whatsoever to suggest that there is any truth in this hypothesis, it is idle conjecture.

Probably Nigella :D

If you are what you eat then Gillian must be eating plenty wrinkled old prunes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,808 ✭✭✭✭Water John

My impression from social events, like weddings are that, just 1-1.5% are totally vegetarian. Vegans are subset of that group.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

If you are what you eat then Gillian must be eating plenty wrinkled old prunes.

Her credibility is a bit tarnished since her highly publicised "science" of health checks by examining people's turds was exposed as nonsense.
    That and the fact that she had made up the "Dr" title herself, was the reason her show was cancelled.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,201 ✭✭✭Doltanian

I tried almond milk recently for the craic as I was on a date recently with a woman who made me try almond milk frappa something coffee anyway I picked up a litre in Lidl, lord god it’s rank, won’t be buying that or going on any dates with that wan again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,385 ✭✭✭Gawddawggonnit

kowtow wrote: »
    If I was a conspiracy theorist, which I am not, I would wonder whether it isn't in the long term financial interest of the agri-food industry - the processors in other words - to push a "vegan revolution"

When you've captured all the value and margin there is between the farmer and the consumer, and you own the consumer & his / her choices lock stock and barrel, I can't think of a better way to exploit your position, financially, than to switch everyone to a diet so reliant on processing as the Vegan regime.

Robot grown crops turned into "food" by clean rooms and factories and sold as healthy.

I should stress that I have no evidence whatsoever to suggest that there is any truth in this hypothesis, it is idle conjecture.

Excellent!
    Idle conjecture indeed...

I’ve not posted or got any way involved in this discussion, but I’ve watched the Veganuary/Febudairy debate(?) closely.

My personal opinion is that Febudairy was a failure..,in the nature of the Thucydides trap.

Veganisn in Northern Europe, because of the social etiquette, finds an easy door to push...as it were.

I live in an area/culture that consumes veal, snails, frogs, offal etc. ‘Gavage’ or force feeding geese to produce fois gras is considered the norm.
    The dependence on processed food and the alienation of the consumer from *real* food is making for an easy door to push for ‘veganism’...Cui bono?

Excellent!
    Idle conjecture indeed...

I’ve not posted or got any way involved in this discussion, but I’ve watched the Veganuary/Febudairy debate(?) closely.

My personal opinion is that Febudairy was a failure..,in the nature of the Thucydides trap.

Veganisn in Northern Europe, because of the social etiquette, finds an easy door to push...as it were.

I live in an area/culture that consumes veal, snails, frogs, offal etc. ‘Gavage’ or force feeding geese to produce fois gras is considered the norm.
    The dependence on processed food and the alienation of the consumer from *real* food is making for an easy door to push for ‘veganism’...Cui bono?

The irony of that of course would that a minority of those further from basic food production - are also the ones seeking radical changes by the producers directly involved in arable, horticulture or animal agriculture in their own favour over and above the interest of everyone else...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

Quite.

I've actually got a lot of time for vegans in so far as they are putting significant thought into where their food comes from. I wish all consumers were as thoughtful.

But... where the two bit online militant campaigners are concerned there can be no greater irony than to protest against 'factory' farming by adopting a diet which can only be supplied by a factory.

While advocating the removal of livestock from family farms to incarcerate them in 'sanctuaries' (when I was a child these were called zoos).

The pretext for the abolition of the family farm is that the animals which inhabit it are not strictly necessary for human survival. One wonders how far this fatuous justification for habitat destruction can go... there are whole swathes of the planet which could be cheerfully annihilated if this is to be the only test.

And while im about it I've yet to get an honest account from a militant vegan of what they do with their children's hair lice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 336 ✭✭The Rabbi

One wonders how far this fatuous justification for habitat destruction can go... there are whole swathes of the planet which could be cheerfully annihilated if this is to be the only test.

I think it is all funded by Monsanto,they want to sell more scrub and bush killer to clear away the rain forests to grow soya and palm.The demand will be massive for soya milk,nut cutlets,vegie burgers and tofu turkey.BASF might throw a few bob in the kitty also.

Doltanian wrote: »
    I tried almond milk recently for the craic as I was on a date recently with a woman who made me try almond milk frappa something coffee anyway I picked up a litre in Lidl, lord god it’s rank, won’t be buying that or going on any dates with that wan again.

I tried soy milk in tea one time, pudrid stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,442 ✭✭✭Waffletraktor

The Rabbi wrote: »
    One wonders how far this fatuous justification for habitat destruction can go... there are whole swathes of the planet which could be cheerfully annihilated if this is to be the only test.

I think it is all funded by Monsanto,they want to sell more scrub and bush killer to clear away the rain forests to grow soya and palm.The demand will be massive for soya milk,nut cutlets,vegie burgers and tofu turkey.BASF might throw a few bob in the kitty also.

'Scrub and bush clearer' Funny name for ucking a big fook off chain to a pair of d11's and flattening everything in between

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,194 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Watching you are what you eat on rte +1 , he's going vegan for a month. Should be interesting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,808 ✭✭✭✭Water John

Vegan blogger on Pointless today. Given her performance on the programme, over the last 2 days, it mustn't be great for the little grey cells.