Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Logbook arrived today!

• 16-12-2017 10:44am
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,255 ✭✭✭

So yeah as title goes, it's arrived today.

Only problem is I didn't buy a car recently and it's not in my name. A woman's name, Polish from the look of it. The address is definitely mine, has the Eir code included.

I have to assume it's been done deliberately to have 5 lines of the address correct. What's the angle for them? Banned driver, cheaper insurance, unpaid tolls, speeding fines etc.

As it's not in my name I assume I can't be liable but obviously I don't want hassle coming to the door via letters from eflow etc so has anyone any idea what should be done that will get done.

Don't want to send it to Shannon if they won't take the address off it and I'm stuck in the same spot. Will the guards take it seriously or fob it off. It's unopened and only arrived today.

If anyone comes knocking looking for it, they won't be getting it. I suppose the easiest thing is, it's a mistake and they come looking for it I can take the details, open the post and fill it in to be sent off.

I'm thinking the likes of Guards won't want to bother with it and Shannon probably won't do anything other than make a note of it. I think I'll still be left with the letters and crap so best bet is to wait a couple of days before opening and filing in a ridiculous name and address and fecking it off to Shannon to get it out of my address altogether to avoid any crap. Spongebob squarepants living at Dublin Zoo or something should do it.

Any ideas? OR any names :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,326 ✭✭✭alta stare

Ring Shannon and tell them it has nothing to do with you and send it back. I wouldnt bother worrying about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Does a Polish women live next door?

Stick it in the post marked "not known at this address"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Oldish thread on same topic

Received logbook but didn't buy a car

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,255 ✭✭✭Yawns

No, Polish woman does not live next door. Nearest one is about 12 doors down and it's not her name.

The not known at this address won't get my address of the logbook. Shannon tend to "make a note of it" but don't do anything. It would be more effective to fill it out and send it off. Rather than do that right away,I might wait and see if someone comes looking for it. That way they can give me their real address and I can put their details in before I send it off. I'll ring Shannon on Monday to check but I don't think they'll be too bothered.

Yeah Biko I was reading that, but that came in that person's name so slightly different. This is definitely my address but not my name. I've been here 3 years now and last people living here was 2 men for a few years according to neighbours.

I'm not gonna stress or worry about it, I'd just rather nip it in the bud so to speak to avoid anything potentially happening further down the road such as Eflow letters, summons in her name. None of those things could arrive but whilst a logbook has her name at my address, they have a chance to so I would like to avoid it. Simply returning to Shannon will not solve this as Shannon don't seem to remove names from reg certs going by that other thread. It'd be easier to open and fill in a bogus name and address it to the Dail for eg.

Guards wouldn't care as a a crime has not been committed and I wouldn't want to waste their time when I can be quicker doing it my way. I'd like to think it was a simple mistake and see if someone knocks and I can get their details of course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

I would tend to hold onto it for a week or two. If someone comes looking for it tell them you didn’t get it but ask them why it would be sent to your address. Try and get the Reg number of their car if they have one with them to see if it’s the same number as on the log book.

Then what I would personally do is make up a name and get an address from the Internet for an apartment complex at the opposite end of the country to where you are and fill in the new ownership details on it and post it off. At least the pricks trying to use your address will hopefully have lost their book for good.

How can you be liable for anything if you reported it to Shannon and its not in your name? Seriously your agonising over nothing.

alta stare wrote: »
    How can you be liable for anything if you reported it to Shannon and its not in your name? Seriously your agonising over nothing.

I didn't say I would be liable, I said I didn't want an potential hassle. I don't want to have to send letters back to Eflow, I don't potentially want to explain to a Guard at the door with a summons one day that the person he's looking for never lived here. I know I won't be liable, I just don't want to deal with anything to do with it in say 6 months time.

I would tend to hold onto it for a week or two. If someone comes looking for it tell them you didn’t get it but ask them why it would be sent to your address. Try and get the Reg number of their car if they have one with them to see if it’s the same number as on the log book.

Then what I would personally do is make up a name and get an address from the Internet for an apartment complex at the opposite end of the country to where you are and fill in the new ownership details on it and post it off. At least the pricks trying to use your address will hopefully have lost their book for good.

Well I am hoping it's a genuine mistake. I'm not naive however. Not a bad shout about the reg number however :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,106 ✭✭✭✭elperello

No amateur detective stuff.
    No make up name and address.
    Just email Shannon.
    They are sensible human beings, they will sort it out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,339 ✭✭✭brembo26

You opened post with someone elses name on it? Thats an offence as far as as I remember? :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

When filling in a log book they have sections for phone number and email address, if they were filled in correctly then Shannon can contact the person through that.

Otherwise, go to the back page of the log book ,
    Tick the change of address option
    Fill in the address for either your local Garda station or Garda traffic core , Dublin castle and it'll be nothing to do with you anymore.

After that I'm sure it'll all work itself out....

brembo26 wrote: »
    You opened post with someone elses name on it? Thats an offence as far as as I remember? :p

Did I? It still closed here. For now.

elperello wrote: »
    No amateur detective stuff.
    No make up name and address.
    Just email Shannon.
    They are sensible human beings, they will sort it out.

My dealings with Shannon have been they're grand for x & z stuff as long as they can fill it on screen in the appropriate place. Given them something out of the ordinary day to day stuff and they scratch heads and ignore it as much as they can. Looking at other thread, they "make a note of it" but don't / won't / can't do anything else.

When filling in a log book they have sections for phone number and email address, if they were filled in correctly then Shannon can contact the person through that.

Otherwise, go to the back page of the log book ,
    Tick the change of address option
    Fill in the address for either your local Garda station or Garda traffic core , Dublin castle and it'll be nothing to do with you anymore.

After that I'm sure it'll all work itself out....

Haven't opened it so don't know if they filled out that part. If it's been deliberately misaddressed for certain reasons, I can safely assume the minimum details was provided.

But yeah the suggestions for the garda taffic core sounds good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 730 ✭✭✭thalia_13

Happened to me, had a guy of dodgy disposition rock up with a very suspicious story about sick relatives of a friend who used live there and renewed their tax book to this address, if it arrived could I call them they would come collect it. None of it sat right, the person who lived at this address previously was long dead, and house was sold years back.. So contacted the Gardai for advice
    The Gardai were quite helpful, said to drop the tax book into them when it arrived, then it was sent back to Shannon.
    Guy called a few times to the house looking for the book, just said no it never arrived, are ye sure it was this address? They eventually stopped knocking in.
    Definitely something dodgey about the entire correct address but wrong name. I'd be prepared for someone maybe calling to door with a story about the wrong address mistake etc

Yeah that's what I suspect will happen. I've no intention of giving them the logbook at all whatsoever. I'll ring Shannon on Monday to see if they will absolutely remove my address from the system for this logbook. If they can only make a note of it, I'll be opening it and sending it in under a different name and address. I'm not happy leaving my address attached to this car in the system regardless of liability or notes etc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 465 ✭✭Ewan Hoosarmi

My instinct would be to give the Garda Traffic Corps a call and ask for their advice. They were very helpful when my son's car was cloned earlier this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,795 ✭✭✭Isambard

just mark it not at this address and send it back to Shannon. It's Government property, you don't want to be messing filling in bits really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,339 ✭✭✭brembo26

im only messin' :P

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,252 ✭✭✭Dia1988

Just out of interest what year of car was it? Make/Model?
    Curious as what value of car it would be because an old banger is being used as a disposable car or maybe a fast car for burglaries.

Can the Gardai/Shannon not check with the previous owner and who they sold the car to?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,599 ✭✭✭newmember2

This thread has given me an idea. I have an end-of-life car to dispose of. Is there somewhere I can bring the car for free?
    If there isn't then can't I just transfer ownership to some name and address and park the car on the side of the road...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,367 ✭✭✭DaveyDave

brembo26 wrote: »

When you've been living somewhere for years and still get post for two previous tenants, it should be legal to open at that point :P

Also marking "not at this address" doesn't work, my mam has been trying that for 5 years :O

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,268 ✭✭✭✭uck51js9zml2yt

Under no circumstances give the log book to the person who will no doubt call to your house looking for it with a story as to why you got it at your house.

Contact your local MTO or Shannon to report what's happened. The local Guards would also be worth informing.
    Dublin MTO have a team dealing with fraudulent charges activity relating to log books/ tax.

Yeah I have zero intentions of handing over a logbook to anyone. Best case scenario it's a mistake and they give me their details and show me ID to confirm who they are and then I'll fill it in myself and post it off. Unlikely to happen tho. They won't be taking any log book away from my door anyway.

It's unopened at this stage still so no idea of make / model or year etc. Just the usual envelope from Shannon and logbook colour slip with name and address so I know it's a log book.

I suspect it's to avoid fines, penalty points, insurance etc but I it could be a genuine mistake. Like I said before, if I ring Shannon on Monday and they can absolutely take my address off it and not just make a note, I can send it in to them. I'm reluctant to send it in now atm because ultimately that car will be left out there driving on the roads but registered to my address. Which is what I want to avoid.

I'm not sure the guards will be interested as I don't think an offence has occured yet? It's not in my name so possible a civil matter?

Yawns wrote: »
    My dealings with Shannon have been they're grand for x & z stuff as long as they can fill it on screen in the appropriate place. Given them something out of the ordinary day to day stuff and they scratch heads and ignore it as much as they can. Looking at other thread, they "make a note of it" but don't / won't / can't do anything else.

To be fair that is insulting to the staff working in Shannon.

You do know they would of come across this many times before so yes they will advise you as what to do and to be fair you seem to be the only one head scratching at the moment.

I'm going on my personal experience in dealing with them with a situation that they don't deal with on a regular basis. I'm not head scratching really. I know what I will be doing ultimately if noone comes looking for the log book in the next few days. It most likely won't be going back to Shannon simply marked unknown at this address. I do not want this car associated with my address and I don't think Shannon will deal with it effectively enough, but I'll know more when I ring them on Monday.

Have you had this experience with Shannon before? If not what kind of experience with Shannon had you other than the usual transfer of ownership process?

I get that you came on to Boards to ask a very vaild question and you are getting valid replies most of which suggest informing Shannon and you say you will yet you insult those working there.

If you're in Dublin call the MTO and ask for the Garda Enquiries section.
    They are well used to dealing with these. No point in talking to the person who answers the phone as you will get a mixed bag of experience.
    If you cant get GE, ask for the operations staff officer. I can guarantee he'll deal with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Yeah I have zero intentions of handing over a logbook to anyone. Best case scenario it's a mistake and they give me their details and show me ID to confirm who they are and then I'll fill it in myself and post it off. Unlikely to happen tho. They won't be taking any log book away from my door anyway.

It's unopened at this stage still so no idea of make / model or year etc. Just the usual envelope from Shannon and logbook colour slip with name and address so I know it's a log book.

I suspect it's to avoid fines, penalty points, insurance etc but I it could be a genuine mistake. Like I said before, if I ring Shannon on Monday and they can absolutely take my address off it and not just make a note, I can send it in to them. I'm reluctant to send it in now atm because ultimately that car will be left out there driving on the roads but registered to my address. Which is what I want to avoid.

I'm not sure the guards will be interested as I don't think an offence has occured yet? It's not in my name so possible a civil matter?

I don’t see how it’s a mistake. If someone genuinely accidentally wrote down the wrong number then chances are they won’t realise it and won’t know where it’s been sent and if it were a genuine mistake then why haven’t they contacted you already to say they accidentally put down the wrong address and the book should be arriving in the next few days? I can’t see It being a genuine mistake. Someone is trying to pull a fast one.

As far as I know Shannon won’t remove or amend the address details as they don’t have the correct details and so it’ll sit in a drawer untouched.

Ring Shannon and ask if your address can be removed, if they say no then make up a name/address and post it off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,795 ✭✭✭Isambard

I don’t see how it’s a mistake. If someone genuinely accidentally wrote down the wrong number then chances are they won’t realise it and won’t know where it’s been sent and if it were a genuine mistake then why haven’t they contacted you already to say they accidentally put down the wrong address and the book should be arriving in the next few days? I can’t see It being a genuine mistake. Someone is trying to pull a fast one.

As far as I know Shannon won’t remove or amend the address details as they don’t have the correct details and so it’ll sit in a drawer untouched.

Ring Shannon and ask if your address can be removed, if they say no then make up a name/address and post it off.

I agree, is there anyone else with access to the post who might have been planning to intercept it? It's a scam but for the life of me I can't see how it works, unless someone bought the car on credit and scarpered, need a genuine house address for the credit search?

The bolded part is most likely what will happen.

Isambard wrote: »
    I agree, is there anyone else with access to the post who might have been planning to intercept it? It's a scam but for the life of me I can't see how it works, unless someone bought the car on credit and scarpered, need a genuine house address for the credit search?

No just myself & wife has access. No can intercept it, we know the regular postman well enough and he knows me. There's a lad in the back of the estate that has exact same name as me and the postman has even remarked on this before. The postman wouldn't go giving others post addressed to my house even if they stopped to ask him, if they did he would mention it to me.

alta stare wrote: »
    Have you had this experience with Shannon before? If not what kind of experience with Shannon had you other than the usual transfer of ownership process?

I get that you came on to Boards to ask a very vaild question and you are getting valid replies most of which suggest informing Shannon and you say you will yet you insult those working there.

You know what. You have a valid point and re-reading my post it comes across me being a bit of a dick towards them so apologies.

I've had 1 direct slightly un-usual dealing with Shannon and it was a bad experience. Two in-direct dealings with them via the local motor tax office who had to escalate an issue to Shannon direct and it was a terrible waste of time overall. I won't go into specifics as one is extremely uncommon and was a bug in their system due to a system change.

Still tho you have a valid point, however I think the result of a phonecall to them will be to send the un-opened envelope to them and it will sit in a pile somewhere with the car still registered to my address. However I will ring them to ask on Monday.

If you're in Dublin call the MTO and ask for the Garda Enquiries section.
    They are well used to dealing with these. No point in talking to the person who answers the phone as you will get a mixed bag of experience.
    If you cant get GE, ask for the operations staff officer. I can guarantee he'll deal with it.

Not in Dublin unfortunately. Thanks for the suggestion tho. I'll be calling Shannon on Monday to see what they say. I'm not going to the local garda office yet as I don't think an offence has occurred so afaik it'll be a civil matter for now.

Ironically if I open the letter to fill out the form, it'll be me committing an offence hah.

Not in Dublin unfortunately. Thanks for the suggestion tho. I'll be calling Shannon on Monday to see what they say. I'm not going to the local garda office yet as I don't think an offence has occurred so afaik it'll be a civil matter for now.

Ironically if I open the letter to fill out the form, it'll be me committing an offence hah.
    Your local MTO will have the same setup as Dublin.
    There will be no problems you opening the envelope. You'll probably have to confirm the details of the vehicle anyway.

Yeah will give them a ring tomorrow to see what they suggest. I'll prob wait a couple of days to see if anyone comes looking for it, but I doubt they will. They won't be getting it anyway, but they can supply new details for it to be sent off and re-registered.

I imagine I will be opening it and supplying the local garda station or something as the new address, but depends on what MTO / Shannon say. If I think it's gonna be left registered to my address, I'm gonna do it my own way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,565 ✭✭✭K.Flyer

It may not always be a scam.
    The previous car that we bought the log book never showed up for it. I contacted Shannon and asked if they had actually received it from the seller ( a dealer), to which they said they had, it had been processed and sent out to me.
    They checked the address with me and it was sent, with the right name, but to a completely wrong address, in a different postal area.
    I told them I had the receipt, nct certs etc from the seller, so they told me to send them a lost reg cert form with copies of the receipt etc to them.
    A week or so later I got the new reg cert in the post, no idea what happened to the other one.

That's good to hear. I hope it's just a feck up like that, but if Shannon have this address as where it's supposed to be, they won't be able to change it as they think they have the correct one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 373 ✭✭delboythedub

GAURDS ....asap

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,565 ✭✭✭K.Flyer

That's good to hear. I hope it's just a feck up like that, but if Shannon have this address as where it's supposed to be, they won't be able to change it as they think they have the correct one.

Which is a fair point. I am sure if you contact them tomorrow they may be able to shed some light on how to proceed. Most likely you may need to make some type of declaration to them in writing that the person is not known at your address and you are returning the reg cert to them for them to deal with.
    I would, just so it is on record, pop in into your nearest Garda station as well and let it be known to them that it has nothing to do with you.

I might pop in but not sure what they will say. It's a civil matter, it's not in my name just address only. I'm sure they'll tell me to get in touch with Shannon or local mto, which to be fair is the safest bet and one I will be doing. Only concern is Shannon won't or can't change it out of my address. A note on file won't do for me.

So little update. Rang Shannon, the lady was great to deal with. She couldn't do anything other than a note unless I opened it. I explained I was reluctant to leave it as just a note on system with the car still registered to my address. This was the first option pretty much. Send it back with a note stating I was not the owner, did not know the owner etc. A note would be on file.

So opened it, checked the reg. It's a 2012 car so unlikely to be a scam in my opinion and possibly just a complete mistake. Benefit of doubt being given here as I did tell the woman on the phone, has it been an old car, I would have been filling the details of the local garda sergeant and putting the station address down.

Upshot is, Shannon have another contact number at least for the owner so they can get in touch and advise her that the logbook is being returned to Shannon today and I presume they will be looking for correct address to send a new logbook to.

Oh and nobody has called to my door looking for it either as of yet which I'm sure would have happened by now judging on previous threads etc. So hopefully just a small mistake that can be corrected easily enough.

Oh and I'm happy to say how wrong I was about being worried this couldn't be dealt with by Shannon staff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,525 ✭✭✭ION08

I don't quite get how this can be a "small mistake"?

As a buyer, I have never accidentally put a fully correct yet unknown address on the logbook of a car I was buying "by accident"

On the other hand it could have been a clerical error in Shannon, in which case I would not consider this a "small" mistake as surely you are now the legal and liable owner of a 2012 car which does not infact belong to you.

I'm sorry but I just don't see how this can happen without it being either (a) intentional or (b) a major admin f**k-up

Got a phone call back today. Wasn't expecting it and fair play to the employee working in Shannon as she didn't have to ring me at all. The new owner bought the car from a dealer and it was the dealer who put the wrong address in apparently. They had filled in the correct contact number for the new owner, correct name but completely wrong address. Shannon as able to contact them with the number supplied. I've told them I have already posted the log book back to them.

It's possible that it was the same dealer I bought a car from back way earlier in the year but it makes you wonder how it can happen. Either way, it doesn't appear to be a scam in this case, just a clerical error. No one called to my door looking for anything and the log book is in the post on it's way back to Shannon. So it will be out of my address anyway.

I wouldn't have been the legal and liable owner of the 2012 car as it was not in my name, just my address. I just didn't want any possibility of a guard arriving at the door randomly in the future with a summons etc I didn't have to resort to filling in the details of the local station sergeant this time :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,638 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

ION08 wrote: »
    I don't quite get how this can be a "small mistake"?

As a buyer, I have never accidentally put a fully correct yet unknown address on the logbook of a car I was buying "by accident"

On the other hand it could have been a clerical error in Shannon, in which case I would not consider this a "small" mistake as surely you are now the legal and liable owner of a 2012 car which does not infact belong to you.

I'm sorry but I just don't see how this can happen without it being either (a) intentional or (b) a major admin f**k-up

nm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,032 ✭✭✭colm_c

Got a phone call back today. Wasn't expecting it and fair play to the employee working in Shannon as she didn't have to ring me at all. The new owner bought the car from a dealer and it was the dealer who put the wrong address in apparently. They had filled in the correct contact number for the new owner, correct name but completely wrong address. Shannon as able to contact them with the number supplied. I've told them I have already posted the log book back to them.

It's possible that it was the same dealer I bought a car from back way earlier in the year but it makes you wonder how it can happen. Either way, it doesn't appear to be a scam in this case, just a clerical error. No one called to my door looking for anything and the log book is in the post on it's way back to Shannon. So it will be out of my address anyway.

I wouldn't have been the legal and liable owner of the 2012 car as it was not in my name, just my address. I just didn't want any possibility of a guard arriving at the door randomly in the future with a summons etc I didn't have to resort to filling in the details of the local station sergeant this time :)

Bit of a data / GDRP problem by the dealer. How did they manage to enter the completely wrong address.

Sounds like they were using form autocomplete in Chrome maybe with the same house number... sounds funny but probably accurate...

Probably. I'm not sure if it was the same dealer and didn't think to ask at the time. Not sure if she would have been able to answer me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,616 ✭✭✭grogi

Probably. I'm not sure if it was the same dealer and didn't think to ask at the time. Not sure if she would have been able to answer me.

Or Shannon processed the input incorrectly...