Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Got hit today

• 25-11-2017 4:35pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,155 ✭✭✭

Lad reversed into me in a car park today. Admitted liability as my bumper is all cracked.. Got his details etc. We agreed that I will get some quotes and email them to him on Monday since he wants to pay cash for the repair instead of going the insurance route. I have no issue with that at all. I have his insurance details anyways in case he tries to mess me around. Anyways here is a question... I want to give him two or three quotes for garages and he will then pay me for the cheapest qoute to get the job done. What happens if he wants me to repair the car first then he will pay me for the receipt? Is it safe to assume I would be taking a risk doing this since he could then deny hitting me since the car is now repaired? Also if this happened and I went after his insurance company they would see no damage upon inspection of my car...

This guy was very co operative with me so I'm not assuming he will chance his arm .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,675 ✭✭✭exaisle

Lad reversed into me in a car park today. Admitted liability as my bumper is all cracked.. Got his details etc. We agreed that I will get some quotes and email them to him on Monday since he wants to pay cash for the repair instead of going the insurance route. I have no issue with that at all. I have his insurance details anyways in case he tries to mess me around. Anyways here is a question... I want to give him two or three quotes for garages and he will then pay me for the cheapest qoute to get the job done. What happens if he wants me to repair the car first then he will pay me for the receipt? Is it safe to assume I would be taking a risk doing this since he could then deny hitting me since the car is now repaired? Also if this happened and I went after his insurance company they would see no damage upon inspection of my car...

This guy was very co operative with me so I'm not assuming he will not chance his arm .

Just get the cash for the repair on the basis of the estimate. Just give him the estimate from the garage where you want the car repaired..no need for several quotes. It's your choice where you get your car repaired.
    At this point, there's no suggestion that he'll give you the run around...if he refuses to pay, just make a claim through his insurance...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 326 ✭✭mikeysmith

Wouldn't it be best in these cases to contact your own insurance and notify them of the circumstances

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,248 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

mikeysmith wrote: »
    Wouldn't it be best in these cases to contact your own insurance and notify them of the circumstances

you should be doing this regardless

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,617 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

I'd go with the best rather than the cheapest repair. It's your choice and any complaint by him should have it passed to his insurer to sort.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,155 ✭✭✭StereoSound

Well if he turns around and delays paying me for whatever reason I will go through his insurance. The damage will remain until I have cash in hand or his insurance comes out to assess the damage.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,248 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

Well if he turns around and delays paying me for whatever reason I will go through his insurance. The damage will remain until I have cash in hand or his insurance comes out to assess the damage.

Ring them and advise them regardless. Any delay casts doubt if stories change

Can anyone recommend any car body repair centers in south Dublin?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,219 ✭✭✭pablo128

Certainly report it to the Gardai. If you have to make a claim, that's one of the first things they will ask.

pablo128 wrote: »
    Certainly report it to the Gardai. If you have to make a claim, that's one of the first things they will ask.

I don't think at this point that is really needed. I'll have the repair quotes on Monday and if I can't get in touch with him by then I will start a claim and report him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,436 ✭✭✭bladespin

pablo128 wrote:

Sorry but this is absolutely correct, even if it's just for peace of mind; there needs to be an official record.

MasteryDarts Ireland - Master your game!

Why would the garda have any role in this minor incident?

Reporting it to insurance should be enough

mikeysmith wrote:
    Why would the garda have any role in this minor incident?

Just an official record of where and when, doubt they would have any other involvement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,875 ✭✭✭✭bear1

Only issue I can see if the guy decides to be a prick is claim you hit him.
    But hopefully it doesn't come down to that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,783 ✭✭✭rugbyman

reporting to your insurance might not be too wise. at renewal time they may see it as an unsorted out claim, it happened me , even thought the other parties insurance had paid me. took a bit of sorting out. heard similiar stories elsewhere.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,750 ✭✭✭Avatar MIA

The power is in your hand. You can ask him to turn up in a tutu with your cash. It's up to him to comply with your wishes or put it through his insurance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,674 ✭✭✭Skatedude

Can anyone recommend any car body repair centers in south Dublin?

I've used stewarts and found them to be very good and reasonable.

http://www.stewartscrashrepair.ie/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,474 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

rugbyman wrote: »
    reporting to your insurance might not be too wise. at renewal time they may see it as an unsorted out claim, it happened me , even thought the other parties insurance had paid me. took a bit of sorting out. heard similiar stories elsewhere.

I had no problems with Axa. Rang them up and mentioned I was in an accident and the other driver was at fault.
    All they asked me was did I want to....
    a) Claim off my own insurance and if other driver's insurance pays out then not a problem, if not I could be hit come renewal time
    b) claim off her insurance in which case they didn't give a toss :)

I went with option B.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,707 ✭✭✭✭DrPhilG

This guy was very co operative with me so I'm not assuming he will chance his arm .

Trust nobody.

I was on the wrong end (my fault that is) of a very minor crash a few years ago. Lady was very co-operative. Said she was fine (obvious anyway since I was barely doing 5 mph when I clipped the bumper) and called me the next day with a quote of £500 for her car repairs.

A week later all contact stopped and she ended up claiming £5k in "personal injury" damages and £1300 for her car.

I've lost all faith in anybody's honesty when it comes to accidents. My wife had a bump a few years back too. Very little speed involved and the other party only suffered minor injuries (according to her actual medical report). Bogged her arm in for injury claims and walked away with €30k.

Can you blame people for being horribly dishonest when there's fortunes to be made for feck all?

I know you were on the innocent side of this one but there's nothing to stop him from calling the Guards or his insurance company with an entirely different version of events.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,707 ✭✭✭✭DrPhilG

I've been hit 3 times over the last 10 years too. Could have been in line for early retirement at this stage!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,411 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

OP, this is the way I'd handle this:

1. Report the incident to your insurance company, tell them that you are not lodging a claim but want the incident on record with them.

2. Get a quote from a reputable body shop that you are happy to do the repair work. Get quotes from other body shops if you like but ultimately you decide who does the work, not the liable party. Do not entertain the suggestion that the other party knows a guy who can repair for half that price.

3. Give the quote to the other party and tell them that either they can pay the body shop directly to do the repair work or it can go via their insurance. Give them a time deadline for this - say 5 days otherwise you will automatically go through their insurance. People tell you that they don't want to go through their insurance as they think it can be repaired for tiny money until they see the quote price. Putting a deadline avoids stalling tactics, messing around and ultimately them not answering your calls and paying. Do not pay the body shop yourself and then hope the other party reimburses you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,384 ✭✭✭DaveyDave

These medical payouts are a disgrace. I read an article the other day about a teenager in West Dublin who broke her collarbone after being pushed at a family event in a park. I think she was inside one of those ball things. Her mam expressed concern yet didn't remove her from the situation.

How much did she get from a broken collarbone? €47,000.

The actual cost of that kind of injury? €100 A&E, €90 x-ray, €20 sling, €15 painkillers and €100 for 2 physio sessions. No surgery was required. I separated my shoulder a few years ago and it's very similar to breaking a collarbone. Even if she went private, like I did, add a second consultation and x-ray for €190, €515 all in.

Something needs to be done about this claim culture we have.

Who says you have to report minor prangs to gardai?

mikeysmith wrote:
    Who says you have to report minor prangs to gardai?

Insurance companies certainly like it, for one thing it establishes that an incident actually took place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,027 ✭✭✭Lantus

Definitely call insurance plus I'd notify her insurance as well.

I think there is a time limit before any claim is invalid. 10 days? So don't get strung out past this.

Car repairs are expensive so anything beyond a very minor paint job will cost likley 1k or more.

My own experience from these situations is largely negative. People try to screw you and get angry when you tell them it's 1500 to repair safely and correctly. Of course they know a guy in some back alley that will hit it with a hammer for 300.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,373 ✭✭✭iwillhtfu

bladespin wrote: »
    Sorry but this is absolutely correct, even if it's just for peace of mind; there needs to be an official record.
    Insurance companies certainly like it, for one thing it establishes that an incident actually took place.

Yeah that's nonsense OP the gardai will do little to nothing as for a start they have haven't witnessed anything and will inevitably say it's a civil matter.

I'd get the quote pass it over to this other guy and the first sign of hesitation or delay pass it over to the insurance company. Don't let it drag on at all. His insurance will pay out no contest if the quote is reasonable most companies are terrified of personal injury claims so want to get minor prangs sewn up quickly.

Good luck and I'm sure it'll all go smoothly.

iwillhtfu wrote:
    Yeah that's nonsense OP the gardai will do little to nothing as for a start they have haven't witnessed anything and will inevitably say it's a civil matter.

Nothing nonsense about it, one if the first things an insurance comoany is likely to ask is if the accident has been reported, it's also a condition in many policies.

It's not for what the gardai do; it's for the official record.

Nothing nonsense about it, one if the first things an insurance comoany is likely to ask is if the accident has been reported, it's also a condition in many policies.

While at the scene of a fender bender where someone hit me I'd likely call the gardai to inform them, but I wouldn't expect them to call out, but at least it's recorded I called them at the time.

Not sure calling several days later would have much benefit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,373 ✭✭✭iwillhtfu

Yeah that's nonsense also.

You only need to call the gardai if someone was hurt right? Years ago I was hit before also and we did it through their insurance without any Garda contact at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,100 ✭✭✭johndaman66

Skatedude wrote: »
    I've used stewarts and found them to be very good and reasonable.

http://www.stewartscrashrepair.ie/

But these guys only provide crash repair services for all of Dublin and surrounding areas. What if the OP lives in Mayo or Wexford?...it is a nationwide forum.

I am in Dublin anyways but I want to get two quotes for this lad to show him on Monday

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

They said south Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,474 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

You only need to call the gardai if someone was hurt right? Years ago I was hit before also and we did it through their insurance without any Garda contact at all.

You were lucky.
    If they had decided to go the claim route stating someone was hurt you were goosed.
    I had a crash recently under garage insurance which was my fault.
    The garage were quite insistent on warning me to report it to the cops to cover my ass in case the guy came back a year or two later claiming injury.
    If it ever came to court and it turns out that you reported it to the gardai and they have a record of it with no-one being reported hurt you have a better chance than if you hadn't and they had.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 180 ✭✭share_bear

The problem O.P.is that he could be playing you like a fiddle.

If you get car repaired, and he doesn't keep his promise, you are then launching your claim with the car already repaired.

Do you think his insurer will be understanding, or will they play the technicalities and tell you to get lost as you didn't afford them the opportunity to investigate the damage. His admission of liability may not be worth the paper it isn't written upon.

They have a name for this technicality - an "unauthorized repair".

I was once a witness to an accident in a hospital where a member of staff damaged en elderly gentlemans car and made him all sorts of promises, thinking she was unwitnessed. After she left I gave him my details. Turned out a few weeks later he needed me after all. People will play all sorts of games.

Also, most garages will want to charge you for a quote.

Op said he wasn't repairing til he got cash in hand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭Are Am Eye

Get a sum of cash in hand quick. Even if
    Your a little short. Come up wth reasonable approx of repairs and give him three days to produce cash. If not claim off his insurance policy. No negotiation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 779 ✭✭✭HONKEY TONK

OP. Get the quote and send it to the guy.

When he gives you the cash make sure there is a written agreement that he gave you the cash and its end of story.

if he hand you the cash and it turns out even more expensive after the money has changed hands then it will be your responsibility.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 180 ✭✭share_bear

mikeysmith wrote: »
    Op said he wasn't repairing til he got cash in hand

From second post...
    "What happens if he wants me to repair the car first then he will pay me for the receipt?"
    ...I was answering this just in case he later talked him into it.

iwillhtfu wrote:
    Yeah that's nonsense also.

tever

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 212 ✭✭Magic ]=)

Wifey was in a similar situation few years ago. Lady reversed into missus car, she didn't want to go through insurance but wouldn't give any cash. We've got a quote from a friendly garage. Lady wasn't happy with the quote (it was lower then it should be anyway), so Lady offered to bring the car to garage of her choice. This very moment we have told her that we're going through insurance company and ceased all contact with her. Car was written off.

As for Gardai. It looks more honest if you report even a minor accident to them. Insurance company will be defo asking about it and most likely will be less suspicious.

The car will remain damaged until I either have his cash in my hand or an insurance assessor from his company comes out to view the damage. Tomorrow morning I will get two quotes from two local garages that I know. I will email him the quotes and take it from there. If he says he won't have the money for a week or somthing like that then I will go directly to the claim stage. I don't want to delay getting this sorted in case the claim starts to become disingenuous or falls under some technically.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,674 ✭✭✭Skatedude

He asked for south Dublin

Got some quotes for my car today but guy isn't picking up the phone... Keeps saying the user is on another line. ? Tried a few times already throughout the afternoon :\. Should I be worried? I'm kinda starting to get worried.

Edit: he called me back, we are gonna sort this out Thursday or Friday.... How long do I have to make a claim from the date of the incident if for some reason he fails to pay me on the coming days?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,398 ✭✭✭ongarite

Why are you worrying? All the power is in YOUR hands!
    Just ring your insurance company to inform them of the accident and then ring his insurance company & go from there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,060 ✭✭✭Sue Pa Key Pa

Edit: he called me back, we are gonna sort this out Thursday or Friday.... How long do I have to make a claim from the date of the incident if for some reason he fails to pay me on the coming days?

To claim for property damage from a 3rd party, you have 6 years, 2 years for injury claims. Don't worry about it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,342 ✭✭✭seagull

Forget about getting multiple quotes and picking the cheapest. You decide where you want to have your car repaired, get the quote there and tell him how much. He can either pay you that himself or it goes through his insurance. That's it.

Bear in mind that if you were to go through his insurance, they would also pay for a rental car while your car is being repaired, and 10% of the value of the repair as additional compensation for reduction in value.

Reporting the crash to the gardai means you have that much more leverage if you wind up needing to claim from his insurance.

When I was talking to this lad on the phone on Monday he said he would call me back on Wednesday so he can pay me the cash on Thursday (today) or pay me Friday. He never contacted me Wednesday and its unlikely he is gonna contact me today since its 8pm already. I'm assuming I won't hear from this lad so I'll be going down the claim route tomorrow. Just to be reasonable I will wait until early in the afternoon before I get the claim train going in case he does contact me early Friday. No point in me calling him though since if he had the money he would be calling me.

I may go down to the Garda station in the morning to just get the incident on record... No harm in case his insurance ask me if I reported it. Its not essential but since I'm not hearing from the lad its probably best I should.

Does it now become your word versus his. He reversed into you. Can he now say you drove into the back of him - as is the usual case of accidents. Did you take any pictures at the scene?

Ye I have pictures.... He gave me his insurance details to. He admitted liability to me.

I was sitting in the car having my lunch at the time.

Ye I have pictures.... He gave me his insurance details to. He admitted liability to me.

I was sitting in the car having my lunch at the time.

It's good you have pictures, but the bit in bold above may be worthless unless you have a witness.