Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Limerick Marathon 2018

• 24-11-2017 6:43pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18

Discount code for 15% off registration with BF2017 which might be useful for some here . Couldnt see a thread for this event

Going to run it this for the first time in 2018- seems to be a well organised event from what I have been told. I really like Limerick city in general so will be good to see a few new areas around the course

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,340 ✭✭✭TFBubendorfer

Discount code for 15% off registration with BF2017 which might be useful for some here . Couldnt see a thread for this event

Going to run it this for the first time in 2018- seems to be a well organised event from what I have been told. I really like Limerick city in general so will be good to see a few new areas around the course

You won't see much of Limerick City on that course, but plenty of the surrounding area. It's not exactly the most scenic course.

Not meant as a criticism, I'd still recommend it. It's been well organised the 2 times I've run it and it's one of the flatter and faster courses in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,963 ✭✭✭Van.Bosch

You won't see much of Limerick City on that course, but plenty of the surrounding area. It's not exactly the most scenic course.

Not meant as a criticism, I'd still recommend it. It's been well organised the 2 times I've run it and it's one of the flatter and faster courses in Ireland.

Looking at this or Belfast, anyone done both?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,340 ✭✭✭TFBubendorfer

Van.Bosch wrote: »
    Looking at this or Belfast, anyone done both?

It's been a long time since I've run Belfast but if I had to choose between Limerick and Belfast I would definitely go for Limerick.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,551 ✭✭✭panda100

Was aiming to do my first marathon in Limerick in 2018. Did the half marathon there last year, enjoyed it and wanted to challenge myself for the marathon next year. Always wanted to do my first marathon in my home town 

Just a quick question for any marathon runners. I will be organising an event the day before and day after the marathon in Limerick that will require me to be on my feet a lot for a couple of hours. Will that tire me for the marathon? How rested would you need to be the day before? I'm aiming to finish the marathon in under 4 hours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 108 ✭✭Q7

A couple of hours on your feet won't make much different. Avoid the expo and get your number posted out (some may spend 2 hours at a marathon expo on their feet alone the day before a marathon). More important is food, liquids, sleep the day before. 4 hours target is irrelevant unless we know some background on other race times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,307 ✭✭✭ariana`

panda100 wrote: »
    Was aiming to do my first marathon in Limerick in 2018. Did the half marathon there last year, enjoyed it and wanted to challenge myself for the marathon next year. Always wanted to do my first marathon in my home town 

Just a quick question for any marathon runners. I will be organising an event the day before and day after the marathon in Limerick that will require me to be on my feet a lot for a couple of hours. Will that tire me for the marathon? How rested would you need to be the day before? I'm aiming to finish the marathon in under 4 hours.
    I can't comment on the day before but i had an event this year the day after DCM which required me to be on my feet for about 3-4 hours. It's not ideal but I survived anyhow :pac:. Once i stayed moving i was ok and once i didn't have to move too quickly and it didn't involve any complicated moving such as dancing or getting up/down to/from the floor :pac: I did have to go down on my hunkers a few times to talk to people who were sitting in chairs and that was rather difficult if i'm honest :o But i knew when i signed up and i certainly wouldn't have not done it because of it, it was worth it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 p32

I'm looking for a training partner or partners in the run up to the Limerick marathon. Would love to have a go at a sub 3. Looking for similarly minded runners to do the Sunday long runs. Meet in Raheen area in Limerick City.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 610 ✭✭✭kerrylad1

p32 wrote: »
    I'm looking for a training partner or partners in the run up to the Limerick marathon. Would love to have a go at a sub 3. Looking for similarly minded runners to do the Sunday long runs. Meet in Raheen area in Limerick City.
    I'm hoping to go sub 3,Manchester,April 8th and Limerick then,if I'm fully recovered.I will be doing 22m this Saturday at 8min ave.Saturday week,20 with first 4 miles at 8 minute average, 15miles then,hopefully at round 6:45,1 mile cool down then.I'm sick of running on my own,P.m me, if interested.I can't do Sunday next two weeks,due to work commitments

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,903 ✭✭✭zulutango

Might be up for that although it could be a bit fast for me. Would like to do sub 3 this year but think GLR might be too soon. I did a 1:25 HM a few months back so I'm probably not far off doing 3 hours for the full, but took a break from running then and have definitely gone back a bit. I'm entered in GLR anyway and doing the long runs with someone would be good.

zulutango wrote: »
    Might be up for that although it could be a bit fast for me. Would like to do sub 3 this year but think GLR might be too soon. I did a 1:25 HM a few months back so I'm probably not far off doing 3 hours for the full, but took a break from running then and have definitely gone back a bit. I'm entered in GLR anyway and doing the long runs with someone would be good.
    What's ur longest run up to at the moment,zulutango.I wouldn't worry about the half time,I've never run a half marathon,I know I'm in sub 3 range,when I can do 20 miles with 15/16 at 6:45 range.I would love,if a few of us could get on board for this.

1.25 is fair going. I did 65 mins in Dungarvan 10 last week. Put it into Mcmillan calculator which forecast 3.02 marathon based on that 10 mile run. Sick of training on my own especially long runs. Definitely runni g with a few spurs you on. I'm not in a club. Haven't time with family life.

kerrylad1 wrote:
    What's ur longest run up to at the moment,zulutango.I wouldn't worry about the half time,I've never run a half marathon,I know I'm in sub 3 range,when I can do 20 miles with 15/16 at 6:45 range.I would love,if a few of us could get on board for this.

My programme doesn't start until tomorrow but I did 18km this morning just to start pushing distance again. The first long run is next Sunday and it says aim for 12 - 16 miles. I'll go for the upper range. It sounds like you're very much up at distance and pace. I'd say I'm 6 or 7 weeks behind where you are. I'd only get injured if I did anything like that at this stage!

No worries,as you get closer to the 20 mile long run P.M us,the more of us,the better.

will do. Cheers!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 533 ✭✭✭overthebridge

If you can, pop along to Joe Chawkes session at UL track on Tuesdays. There should be a few there at your pace range.
    Session starts at 7pm but most turn up for 630-645 for a few miles warm up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76 ✭✭HurlyBurly

Anyone got a gps plot of the current route. strava/garmin etc . All I can find online are old ones. Thanks

Never Mind - I had to cop on to look at the end of the GPS thread above and there they are, from last year.

kerrylad1 wrote: »
    No worries,as you get closer to the 20 mile long run P.M us,the more of us,the better.

Enjoyed that run a lot. I didn't last much longer after I left you guys though!!

Likewise,Just having some company made the miles fly bye.I'm doing a long marathon paced run,in my own neck of the woods,this Saturday.I will definitely be up for another long slow run around the city the weekend after.I know Saturday doesn't really suit you,so,how does Sunday week sound?

I'm away this weekend and am considering doing a trail half marathon in Cork the following Saturday, but I haven't made my mind up. I can let you know that week if that suits?

Perfect.Talk to you then.

Yes Zulutango very enjoyable run. Kerrylad and I headed back out towards County Limerick after that. 21 miles done by the time I reached the car. Not enough for Kerrylad though. He did another mile at 6.25 pace!!.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 272 ✭✭mccutchie

I had planned on doing Limerick this year but a bout of sickness over January meant 4 weeks out of action, i'm back to 40 mile weeks now, decision time is looming, cork probably to the sensible option. My aim was 3 hours also.

Yes Zulutango very enjoyable run. Kerrylad and I headed back out towards County Limerick after that. 21 miles done by the time I reached the car. Not enough for Kerrylad though. He did another mile at 6.25 pace!!.
    That mile,as you know, p32 was,DOWN,the steepest hill in CO Limerick.Was great running with ye lads.Looking forward now,to the next long run.

mccutchie wrote: »
    I had planned on doing Limerick this year but a bout of sickness over January meant 4 weeks out of action, i'm back to 40 mile weeks now, decision time is looming, cork probably to the sensible option. My aim was 3 hours also.
    Are you based in Limerick?

I am, plan on doing Adare Sunday to see how the form is, back to mileage afterwards

mccutchie wrote: »
    I am, plan on doing Adare Sunday to see how the form is, back to mileage afterwards
    Few of us from here,will probably be doing our long slow run,20/22 miles,Sunday week,around Limerick.7:45 to 8min pace,I'd say.Pm me,if interested,you can jump in and do whatever mileage,that suits your plan.Good luck with adare 10k,supposed to be a very well run event.

Sundays dont work for me in the next few weeks but hopefully I'll get a run with ye soon, cheers for the offer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,053 ✭✭✭opus

Got a 10% discount code via email today if anyone is still thinking of entering.
    Code: PADDY10
    10% DISCOUNT off all race distances until MIDNIGHT Bank Holiday Monday 19th March.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,022 ✭✭✭Kellygirl

opus wrote: »
    Got a 10% discount code via email today if anyone is still thinking of entering.

Just after I entered two days ago :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 422 ✭✭ISOP

opus wrote: »
    Thanks, just used it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18 only running

6 weeks to go now - really looking forward to the run now. A bit of sun on the day would be great ! Probably go out with the 3.30 pacers and see how it goes. Looks like a fairly flat course , a couple of steep sections around 12m & 19m . Any tips from previous runners of the course would be greatly welcome

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,972 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

I finally registered for the half marathon last weekend. Would love to get back under 2:00:00 this year.

6 weeks to go now - really looking forward to the run now. A bit of sun on the day would be great ! Probably go out with the 3.30 pacers and see how it goes. Looks like a fairly flat course , a couple of steep sections around 12m & 19m . Any tips from previous runners of the course would be greatly welcome
    Mile 2 bye lidl,punches cross,steep hill,rest of first 21 K flat enough.mile 14 steep hill on the barrack hill.mile 15/16,big drag around raheen,flat back through rosbrien,u do that hill again bye lidl then around 17miles I think.Next few miles through city centre,flat enough.miles 22.5 TO 24.5 are up and down,train on the hills and and it won't kill you.Down hill all the way home then.hope this helps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,834 ✭✭✭OOnegative

Mile 2 bye lidl,punches cross,steep hill,rest of first 21 K flat enough.mile 14 steep hill on the barrack hill.mile 15/16,big drag around raheen,flat back through rosbrien,u do that hill again bye lidl then around 17miles I think.Next few miles through city centre,flat enough.miles 22.5 TO 24.5 are up and down,train on the hills and and it won't kill you.Down hill all the way home then.hope this helps.

Great run down kerrylad1 as always but use the space bar man!!! 22.5 to 24.5 are tough going as the man himself says, I was on for a good sub 3.15 last year til then!!!

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 15,239 Mod ✭✭✭✭FutureGuy

I finally registered for the half marathon last weekend. Would love to get back under 2:00:00 this year.

Same here, registered for it last week. Would like to get sub 1:50:00 this year which would be 10 mins off my PB but I think I’m running much better Thais year so far (did a 47:40 10k so should be thereabouts)

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,972 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

FutureGuy wrote: »
    Same here, registered for it last week. Would like to get sub 1:50:00 this year which would be 10 mins off my PB but I think I’m running much better Thais year so far (did a 47:40 10k so should be thereabouts)

I'm aiming for 51 minutes in the Eamon Moloney 10k in Ennis next weekend, but I might surprise myself! It would be nice to get a sustainable average pace back down around 5 minutes per kilometre. Six weeks to go, that's plenty of time to make more improvements.

OOnegative wrote: »
    Great run down kerrylad1 as always but use the space bar man!!! 22.5 to 24.5 are tough going as the man himself says, I was on for a good sub 3.15 last year til then!!!
    A man,leave me alone,it took me a hour to type that.Cracking half time you did recently.Sub 3 attempt not far off?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,834 ✭✭✭OOnegative

A man,leave me alone,it took me a hour to type that.Cracking half time you did recently.Sub 3 attempt not far off?

Cheers, don’t think i’m there yet to be honest, but October is long way off yet so hopefully I will be then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18 only running

Big thanks for that kerrylad. Will be ready for that 22.5m section now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,140 ✭✭✭martyboy48

6 weeks.... I probably shouldn't run it given my lack of training.... Is there a 6 week plan anywhere ☺

I ran the last 3.5 miles of the HM/FM course this morning after it battering me last year - I was on for a sub 2 hour but slowed terribly around mile 10.

It's not bad as a 5k by itself but at the end of a long run, there are two tough hills, one in the estate that is short and steep and then the road back into town beside the Gaelic Grounds is well known.

Insect Overlord and anyone else, I'll be running this again a number of times over the next few weeks, including the North Circular Road piece (so the final 5-6 miles) if anyone wants to join.

Will be running it around 8-9 min/mile depending on company.

martyboy48 wrote: »
    6 weeks.... I probably shouldn't run it given my lack of training.... Is there a 6 week plan anywhere ☺

what distance are you running?

Insect Overlord and anyone else, I'll be running this again a number of times over the next few weeks, including the North Circular Road piece (so the final 5-6 miles) if anyone wants to join.

Will be running it around 8-9 min/mile depending on company.

I should be up for that alright. I'll have to balance it with GAA training but it should be possible to do both. I'll PM you after this weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,140 ✭✭✭martyboy48

what distance are you running?

Full 😠Should be grand just not pb shape...

How on earth is it 6 weeks to GLR already :eek: anyone know of any good plans for HM in 6 weeks? Have been concentrating on cycling and swimming and have done feck all running except for the odd park run. Was hoping to do a slow 15k out in Curraghchase at the weekend. Would be up for joining you guys if your running in the city as might motivate me a bit to get my ass in gear for this :pac:

panda100 wrote: »
    How on earth is it 6 weeks to GLR already :eek: anyone know of any good plans for HM in 6 weeks? Have been concentrating on cycling and swimming and have done feck all running except for the odd park run. Was hoping to do a slow 15k out in Curraghchase at the weekend. Would be up for joining you guys if your running in the city as might motivate me a bit to get my ass in gear for this :pac:

Would be great to get a run in as a group. Very welcome to come out!

You’d probably fit into one of the Hal Higdon plans easy enough if you are on 15k right now.

Would be great to get a run in as a group. Very welcome to come out!

You’d probably fit into one of the Hal Higdon plans easy enough if you are on 15k right now.

I'll see how I get on with the 15k this weekend and hopefully will join you at some stage when I get my distance up :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53 ✭✭kiloecho15

Hi Only Running. I have run it for the last 2 years. Its not a flat course but its not a hilly course either. Most of the hills come in the last 5 miles but nothing to worry about. its just that you have 21 miles already in the legs. Just be careful of bollards and cones etc. especially around the university . Seen one runner bang into a seat near the bridge in the university. Second half of the marathon will meet with the back of the half marathon so a lot more runners on the course. Overall its a fair marathon nothing to worry anyone if training is done. Hopefully the weather will be good and will bring out the support near the end. Looking forward to it . Good luck to everyone running.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 Runninghard

Hi. Apologies if this has been asked before but is the water usually in cups or bottles at the stops ? Thanks

Bottles.They give out a sports drink aswell,can't remember at what mile mark tough.