Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Any affordable vets in Cavan area

• 24-11-2017 12:02am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4

Are you happy with your vet with the service quality of work and most importantly the price.
    Feeling fed up pay €150 cash to our vet to put back in calf bed at 7pm?
    What is the going rate in Cavan Longford Leitrim areas?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,216 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

I assume that was to cover drugs aswell?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,718 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

I’ll take a good vet over a cheap vet anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 392 ✭✭popa smurf

Whats this a Cavan man complaining about the price of a vet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,181 ✭✭✭Lady Haywire

^ what Brian said.

We've used the same vet practice for as long as I can remember. Different vets but we've still build up a solid working relationship with all of them. It works for them as they know us as farmers who know our cattle well so will listen to us if we say something isn't right & it works for us as if there's an ongoing case they'll drop in 'off the books' to check up on the animal in question.
    Know a person who went through 4 vet practices in as many years and left debt at the last one cause he claimed they killed a calf by jacking it instead of sectioning it. He's going to be in trouble before long if he needs a vet in a hurry :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,380 ✭✭✭kerry cow

Agree , vets have been fleecing farmers for decades.
    The call out is fine but the way they sock on the test .
    Before you know about it you owe them 150 quid .
    It's sad that it is sometimes cheaper to let a fr bull die than call the vet .says a lot really .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,741 ✭✭✭CloughCasey1

kerry cow wrote: »
    Agree , vets have been fleecing farmers for decades.
    The call out is fine but the way they sock on the test .
    Before you know about it you owe them 150 quid .
    It's sad that it is sometimes cheaper to let a fr bull die than call the vet .says a lot really .

Says a lot about you ya mean.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,447 ✭✭✭Never wrestle with pigs

Lol it must be true what they say about Kerry men and Cavan men. The two tightest men to walk the country. How many years training do they do to get qualified? Would a dead cow have been cheaper?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,485 ✭✭✭Keepgrowing

Could've gotten a mechanic for prolapse, he'd only be €100 for the hour ffs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 493 ✭✭huey1975

Are cavan cow and kerry cow related?

huey1975 wrote: »
    Are cavan cow and kerry cow related?

They're both cows

Lol it must be true what they say about Kerry men and Cavan men. The two tightest men to walk the country. How many years training do they do to get qualified? Would a dead cow have been cheaper?

I don’t think there’s any number of years to qualify as a Cavan man. Well, I didn’t actually get a certificate or anything, but I’m sure I’m qualified.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 392 ✭✭popa smurf

Ya the poor ould Cavan man and kerry man are the bot of every joke in Ireland, met a good few Cavan people in my time and have yet to meet a tight one, kerry people like to act the fool like the Healy Raes but they are not that stupid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,146 ✭✭✭Hard Knocks

If you’re not happy with vet service what can you do about it?
    Lots of stories of malpractice, & farmer takes it on the chin as will have to use vet for TB ....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,239 ✭✭✭Willfarman

I must be lucky. Local practice is excellent and I could never say expensive..

for e.g. A year back a friesian cull cow I bought showed in calf. A good looking young cow and spins looked ok so wohoo says I calf and a dairy cow to sell.. when she came to calve she wasn't making progress and she was without doubt the wickedest maddest bitch ever in the place. Even worse than the ex girlfriend!

Long story short vet ,risked life and limb with us getting bitch into crush, (she had got out and tossed me across the yard between the phone call his arrival) and after sedating her and a difficult calving the bill was €70.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,837 ✭✭✭lab man

Willfarman wrote:
    Long story short vet ,risked life and limb with us getting bitch into crush, (she had got out and tossed me across the yard between the phone call his arrival) and after sedating her and a difficult calving the bill was €70.

Unreal, are u sure ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,225 ✭✭✭charolais0153

Willfarman wrote: »
    I must be lucky. Local practice is excellent and I could never say expensive..

for e.g. A year back a friesian cull cow I bought showed in calf. A good looking young cow and spins looked ok so wohoo says I calf and a dairy cow to sell.. when she came to calve she wasn't making progress and she was without doubt the wickedest maddest bitch ever in the place. Even worse than the ex girlfriend!

Much the same here. One excellent vet who might be a bit dear but you get your moneysworth. Another lad who is younger but isnt as good but is cheaper. Theyre both miles better than the lad we had 5 or 6 years ago who is now working for the dept. :rolleyes:

lab man wrote: »
    Willfarman wrote:

Unreal, are u sure ?
    Yes. Only pay them once a year. Tb test and few antibiotics and maybe an odd Caesarean. We are lucky to have their expertise at the price. A lot easier and far better paid work in the small animals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,120 ✭✭✭Who2

The vets definitaly one person i cant understand people not paying or slow paying. they are only called when they are really needed and in fairness have the life of mongrels after years of studying. They have to land out at all hours dealing with some very awkward characters, working with extremely poor facilities in a lot of cases and that could be any hour of any day. The drug companies will have taken a fair share of the money, general overheads of running such a business will be rough enough, insurance will be ridiculous and after all thats sorted revenue will have pulled their claws across everything.A good vet is worth any money and will save you money long term, its only most people wont actually listen to them.

Was in vets the other day, got some tubes ,tail paint etc. Price was €220 or cash price €190. Big difference

We pay regularly, bill never goes a month unpaid.

Remember being in a few years ago and girl on counter took out the book, page after page of accounts outstanding.
    I made some flippant comment about how long the list was and she said it would scare you - bills gone years unpaid and still ring the vet when they are stuck !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,611 ✭✭✭Mooooo

Pay by direct debit here

Mooooo wrote: »
    Pay by direct debit here

Do you get a discount for doing so?

whelan2 wrote: »
    Do you get a discount for doing so?

10%

_Brian wrote: »
    We pay regularly, bill never goes a month unpaid.

Remember being in a few years ago and girl on counter took out the book, page after page of accounts outstanding.
    I made some flippant comment about how long the list was and she said it would scare you - bills gone years unpaid and still ring the vet when they are stuck !
    Vets used to have a white board with a list of the top ten farners who owed them money up on it. They didn't have it up for long

What would an average dairy farmer say 70 cows be paying per annum?

Vets used to have a white board with a list of the top ten farners who owed them money up on it. They didn't have it up for long

Wow, brave move.
    But I can understand it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

_Brian wrote: »
    Wow, brave move.
    But I can understand it.

It’s always the ones who owe money ongoing that seem to think they have an entitlement to on the spot service

This country is crippled because accounts go unpaid for months upon months and years. No one minds if someone hits a hard times. It happens us all.

I truly admire the uk in the manner it deals with debt collection. Sooner it happens here the better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,583 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

I would not consider vets expensive. When you consider the points they need for the course most could choose any other career. However it is just there luck to work in a low income sector. How long it's sustainable for whom knows. The intake now is split at least 50/50 between boys and girls. Most practices now have small animals, contracted work to factory's and or equine work as well. All better paying and less expensive to carry on with rather than commercial work for us.

OP did you get a receipt. I hand virtually no one cash without one. If I did I might as well give up farming. A vet is virtually as well qualified as a doctor and they charge the same but you have to drag yourself to them. 150 might seem expensive to you but subtract off drugs and other materials as well as the call out charge and you are left with 70-80 euro. There a good chance it was unsocial hours as well and most vets charge the same for this service no matter the time of day or night or the day that is in it.

My biggest fear is that over the next 10-20 years the type vets we have at present will disappear. Small animal work is way easier and better paying. They call to you lots of routine work such as vacinating, minor complaints at 25-30/ pop. Then spaying neutering 50-70/procedure or maybe more. If you were based in a large town or city you could be full-time at it and have a pet shop attached.

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,765 ✭✭✭White Clover

Have to agree with most people here in saying vets are really great people. We're very lucky here too, a great practise and outstanding service given. Not expensive and I don't keep them waiting for money either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,765 ✭✭✭White Clover

Have to agree with most people here in saying vets are really great people. We're very lucky here too, a great practise and outstanding service given. Not expensive and I don't keep them waiting for money either.

I remember a neighbor telling me his rang his vet to ask some advice. €20 charge for advice on next bill

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,332 ✭✭✭razor8

I remember a neighbor telling me his rang his vet to ask some advice. €20 charge for advice on next bill

Would this be normal practice or was vet making sure this neighbor wouldn’t be bothering him again for a chat

Our vet is great. They will talk you through things. Normally ring next day to see how animal is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 347 ✭✭chooey

Other professionals do that too- we were charged when we wanted a bit of advice from our solicitor and my doctor won't even talk on the phone. Need to come in and pay for a consult. I can understand charging for their professional advice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 cavancow

No I got no receipt so I'm thinking that if I let it go through books would be more than 150. It was just after 7 pm hardly unsocial hour. job took hardly half hour, less than 20 mins from practice fair profit in that
    I was telling story to lads at the local coop store and another practice in Leitrim covering same area only charge 90 with a receipt.
    So I think that us farmers in Cavan are been ripped off big time. Sad story in that this practice in cavan town has a huge monopoly.

After 6 and it's out of hours in most places.

Our vet is great. They will talk you through things. Normally ring next day to see how animal is.

There's one of the vets in Ardee supposed to be top notch,he's supposed to be still more About the profession than the money.

Who2 wrote: »
    There's one of the vets in Ardee supposed to be top notch,he's supposed to be still more About the profession than the money.

He has just sold his practice. Great vet though. We were with him for years

No not him another lad. The new lad is interesting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,741 ✭✭✭CloughCasey1

Same here. Easy got but hard to pay. Its like im insulting him when trying to square up with him. "Did i not tell ya to wait till the test".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,108 ✭✭✭cute geoge

A couple of years ago i paid €120 to vet after hours to put calving bed back in .In fairness 7 o clock would be considered outside regular working hours .€150 is not mad money for a specialised job and if the cows comes right then it was money well spent .

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,041 Mod ✭✭✭✭greysides

Interesting range of posts in this thread. I was intending to keep this thread 'read-only' but just to make a few points...

It's obvious but there is no one-version of a vet. Same as in farming, all people are individual and need to be judged singly.
    Prices seem to vary regionally.
    Bass, I think the current college intake is more like 70:30 in favour of the girls. It was the reverse during my years but that is how it was then in pre-med.
    At nearly 30 years qualified I think the traditional Cattle vet and Cattle vet practice is already dead. When my generation have passed through it will be hard to find an experienced cattle vet (same as finding a pig vet now). The situation will become as it is in the area around big cities in the UK, and was even 25 years ago. Local practices will be 'mixed' but only the older member(s) will have hands on experience. Vets will travel long distances to calls meaning delays arriving. Costs may well be time based rather than set. After hours work will be costly as there may be specific After Hours clinics employed to cover night hours so vets have proper family lives and down time.
    Hard to believe but in this regard we may be living the last of 'the Good Life'. Long live James Herriott! He filled the Vet courses. Just as Siegfried, Tristan and himself became obsolete so shall the current version of Cattle Vet.
    Tempus fugit.
    (Anyone who fully understands the significance and reference in my previous sentence is truly a member of a dying breed.)

The aim of argument, or of discussion, should not be victory, but progress. Joseph Joubert

The ultimate purpose of debate is not to produce consensus. It's to promote critical thinking.

Adam Grant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,181 ✭✭✭Lady Haywire

Does it count if you watch ACG&S on reruns? :D:D Fecking love that show, must see if I can dig out a dvd box set online somewhere. No other show has ever made me laugh & cry as much.
    I count us very lucky to have the vet practice that we have as one of the vets in the practice has a specific interest in bovine work & you can see that he has a genuine interest in cattle as well as he'll throw a glance around the whole shed when he's there treating one!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,041 Mod ✭✭✭✭greysides

... you can see that he has a genuine interest in cattle as well as he'll throw a glance around the whole shed when he's there treating one!

They train them well these days............:p

The aim of argument, or of discussion, should not be victory, but progress. Joseph Joubert

The ultimate purpose of debate is not to produce consensus. It's to promote critical thinking.

Adam Grant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,837 ✭✭✭lab man

When I took over my farm from my father in 08 first thing I had to do was get a new vet practice as I also work in a factory.
    the vet my dad and his dad used were and still are one of the best in the province I'm sure, but as I work shift work I can't ring a vet at 9 am for example and have to wait till 9 or 10 pm.
    The vet practice I use now are not as good but if u ring them the will tell u they be at the farm in such a time and they will there.
    So I suppose u have to weigh up yer options .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,583 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

cavancow wrote: »
    No I got no receipt so I'm thinking that if I let it go through books would be more than 150. It was just after 7 pm hardly unsocial hour. job took hardly half hour, less than 20 mins from practice fair profit in that
    I was telling story to lads at the local coop store and another practice in Leitrim covering same area only charge 90 with a receipt.
    So I think that us farmers in Cavan are been ripped off big time. Sad story in that this practice in cavan town has a huge monopoly.

At best paying cash you save the vat so about 35 euro. But if you pay the full whack you can put 185 through the books worth at least 55 euro at standard rate and 90 at high rate of tax. Lads paying cash are not with the game unless you are getting a serious discount. Only lad I pay a bit of cash to is a mechanic that dose a bit now and again in the form of a callout if I am stuck but I buy the parts myself.

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 209 ✭✭Biscuitus

Jaysus you lot are lucky to even have a Cattle Vet. And if you think you pay a lot now just wait until your current vets start retiring and there is nobody to fill in.

In the coming years there is going to be a big shortage of cattle vets. Its a very hard job with long hours and night shifts. Farming on its hard days is a breeze compared to what some Vets have to do on a weekly basis. Its not an appealing job when the other options is small animals.

Guaranteed to see posts here in several years complaining about not being able to get a Vet or them being to tied up with other call outs to come to your farm. I don't think farmers are aware how big of an issue this will be in the future.

Biscuitus wrote: »
    Jaysus you lot are lucky to even have a Cattle Vet. And if you think you pay a lot now just wait until your current vets start retiring and there is nobody to fill in.

In the coming years there is going to be a big shortage of cattle vets. Its a very hard job with long hours and night shifts. Farming on its hard days is a breeze compared to what some Vets have to do on a weekly basis. Its not an appealing job when the other options is small animals.

Guaranteed to see posts here in several years complaining about not being able to get a Vet or them being to tied up with other call outs to come to your farm. I don't think farmers are aware how big of an issue this will be in the future.

Drop the points and more will come

The points are set by competition. Lots of Irish students training for Veterinary in foreign universities like Prague and Budapest. There's a fair number of foreign vets working in Ireland too, German, Spanish etc. Despite a preference for Irish vets who speak the language and whose training is a known entity, many large animal practices are having trouble recruiting them.

Adam Grant

greysides wrote: »
    The points are set by competition. Lots of Irish students training for Veterinary in foreign universities like Prague and Budapest. There's a fair number of foreign vets working in Ireland too, German, Spanish etc. Despite a preference for Irish vets who speak the language and whose training is a known entity, many large animal practices are having trouble recruiting them.

Or more places i should have said