Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

‪Leinster Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread IX: The Last Jordi [****]

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,585 ✭✭✭irishfan9

James Ryan has exceeded the hype.. which is incredible

After the utter claustrophobia of the tension this evening I'm kinda looking forward to Leinster letting loose next week.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,170 ✭✭✭✭Burkie1203

• Registered Users Posts: 21,607 ✭✭✭✭Squidgy Black

After the utter claustrophobia of the tension this evening I'm kinda looking forward to Leinster letting loose next week.

I think today's game is going to have the lads wanting to play an attacking style against Munster, Racing completely destroyed any momentum by slowing down the ball at the ruck, but Munster won't get that opportunity with their backrow.

And hopefully we get to see Lowe in action.

Nacewa is the greatest import to the provinces. It's not even a discussion anymore. His impact won't ever be surpassed but if it is, whichever province gets that player will have one hell of a journey.

• Registered Users Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

Burkie1203 wrote: »
    Nacewa is the greatest import to the provinces. It's not even a discussion anymore. His impact won't ever be surpassed but if it is, whichever province gets that player will have one hell of a journey.

4 European wins. Before he arrived in Leinster, we had 0.

That's it really for me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,728 ✭✭✭Former Former

4 European wins. Before he arrived in Leinster, we had 0.

That's it really for me.

Yep.

Causation vs correlation vs Nacewa. Only one winner there. Absolute hero.

Also; that's five European wins.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,920 ✭✭✭✭stephen_n

He was limping at the end today, hopefully he plays next week and gets the send off he deserves in the RDS.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,585 ✭✭✭irishfan9

stephen_n wrote: »
    He was limping at the end today, hopefully he plays next week and gets the send off he deserves in the RDS.

doubt it.. maybe aviva final.. hopefully

• Registered Users Posts: 17,008 ✭✭✭✭Neil3030

Racing didn't just slow it down at the breakdown, they were also very organised with their defensive shape, and matched our power. We could barely get the ball to Ringrose, let alone any wider. You'd wonder what could have been were Machenaud, Carter, Szarzewsky and Lambie fit for the entire game.

That said, Leinster were the better of the two teams on the day. Racing benefited from a couple of decisions that went their way, and Leinster left points on the board through dreadful decision making (STOP. F*CKING. TAPPING. IN. THE. 22. JOHNNY.) or miskicks.

The frightening thing is that we'll have the spine of Furlong, Ryan, Leavy, McGrath, Henshaw, Ringrose and Larmour for close to the next ten years, all going well.

4-Stars secured. And who's to stop us matching Booker T next season!

Booker-T-HD-Wallpapers-Free-Download-10.png

Hopefully Leocaster are tied down for a few more years now.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,182 ✭✭✭✭Buer

Neil3030 wrote: »
    The frightening thing is that we'll have the spine of Furlong, Ryan, Leavy, McGrath, Henshaw, Ringrose and Larmour for close to the next ten years, all going well.
    Doesn't matter a fiddlers without Sexton.

• Registered Users Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

Buer wrote: »

Stop being a negative ould biddy Buer.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,182 ✭✭✭✭Buer

Buer wrote: »

Stop being a negative ould biddy Buer.
    It's not like losing a useless sack of
    spuds like John Hayes. Sexton is actually decent at rugby.

Apologies to spuds everywhere.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,011 ✭✭✭joseywhales

Again Kearney was fantastic today.

My favourite thing about this year is the combined unit of leavy and Ryan around rucks and carries.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,031 ✭✭✭✭Foxtrol

Looking at the Instagram stories of the lads, somehow James Lowe went from being in a suit in the stands to one of the first guys in his boxers in the dressing room. He's some character and I feel his spark was missed on the field today. Presume he'll play next weekend and I'm sure him and the other guys that didn't make the starting 15 will be itching to make an impact.

This weekend was the goal, which we should all celebrate, but the years where we didn't complete the double took some of the shine from the European wins. Lets finish the job!!

Foxtrol wrote: »
    Looking at the Instagram stories of the lads, somehow James Lowe went from being in a suit in the stands to one of the first guys in his boxers in the dressing room. He's some character and I feel his spark was missed on the field today. Presume he'll play next weekend and I'm sure him and the other guys that didn't make the starting 15 will be itching to make an impact.

This weekend was the goal, which we should all celebrate, but the years where we didn't complete the double took some of the shine from the European wins. Lets finish the job!!
    This is James Lowe at some stage tonight
    https://twitter.com/AndyGoode10/status/995430069857341442?s=19

• Registered Users Posts: 7,018 ✭✭✭Bridge93

Homecoming in Donnybrook tomorrow afternoon apparently

Bridge93 wrote: »
    Homecoming in Donnybrook tomorrow afternoon apparently

Showing the game from 2.30. So show up about 3.45.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,599 ✭✭✭ScrubsfanChris

Burkie1203 wrote: »
    Showing the game from 2.30. So show up about 3.45.
    Saw that Leinster rugby tweet and wondered how many would show up around 4 :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 12,920 ✭✭✭✭stephen_n

I doubt the players will even want to do the video analysis on that one.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 22,584 CMod ✭✭✭✭Steve

Feck, gonna have to buy a new jersey now... :D

WDYBIB!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 7,337 ✭✭✭Dave_The_Sheep

Pulled from his Instagram account... the Pack according to Tadgh Furlong:

I preferred the old days when tightheads barely knew how to turn their phones on

• Registered Users Posts: 4,753 ✭✭✭ionadnapokot

James Ryan - AKA The Big Cheese
    Very Fitting
    Although “Grinch” would be brilliant

Over the years a few players at Leinster have been very heavily criticised by fans of other provinces when Ireland selections were made.

Toner, Handsome Rob and Heaslip most notably.

14 European medals between them. 4 grand slams and 10 6n winners medals.

I watched the qf and sf back this week and Toner was excellent both times. Doesn't get as much credit as a lot of the focus is on Ryan but he has had probably his best ever season.

Just watched the post match stuff back there now and almost everyone was talking about the pro14 semi finals

• Registered Users Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

McGrath, Cronin, Furlong, Ryan, Fardy, Ruddock, Leavy, Murphy
    McGrath, Sexton, Lowe, Henshaw, Ringrose, Larmour, Kearney

Tracy, Healy, Porter, Toner, Conan, McCarthy, Carbery, ROL

What I expect for next Saturday.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,440 ✭✭✭BoardsMember

Will be interesting to see who gets the 10 jersey if Johnny is not fit for next weekend.

McGrath, Cronin, Furlong, Ryan, Fardy, Ruddock, Leavy, Murphy
    McGrath, Sexton, Lowe, Henshaw, Ringrose, Larmour, Kearney

Tracy, Healy, Porter, Toner, Conan, McCarthy, Carbery, ROL

What I expect for next Saturday.

Can see Conan and Ruddock starting. Fardy shoved into 2nd row.
    Wouldn't be surprised to see Ross Byrne at 10.

It's a pity Sextons parents didn't christen him Chandler.

Definitely should be resting Sexton IMO.

Given Kearney should really be at 15 again, it will certainly be very interesting to see who is at 10.