Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What row seat is best on aerlingus, window or aisle etc?

• 06-11-2017 12:17pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 870 ✭✭✭

~As above what say ye?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,020 ✭✭✭gifted

The drivers row

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭donegaLroad

Closer to the front the better.. you feel less turbulence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,942 ✭✭✭Danbo!

Over the wing you will feel less up and down motion.

If you want to sleep, window. If you don't want to sleep, aisle.

If long haul/wide body aircraft, go for aisle seat in centre three seats. If you can, find a seat next to 2 unavailable seats. These 2 are almost definitely people travelling together (no one in their right mind would choose a middle seat on their own) and will annoy each other to get up to use the toilet. So you have your aisle seat and can sleep all you want without being bothered.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

Autopilot seat is best

81547b_63270c02964c45498ca936cebe10649b~mv2.jpg

A business class seat. Otherwise the window seat if you're small, the aisle seat if you're taller, and a middle seat is a nightmare no matter what size you are.

If you're worried about crashes, sit in the back half as close to the exit as possible and you're safer in an aisle seat than a window seat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,950 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

The aisle. Source: Air crash investigators.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 986 ✭✭✭joe stodge

one with a seatbelt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,390 ✭✭✭Cina

I go window for short-haul and aisle for long haul.

Being on a ten hour flight in the window seat beside two people who are sound asleep is not good for your bladder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

The back of the plane is safer though.

Statistics show that planes are less likely to reverse into mountains than those that fly into them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,659 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

The seat that isn't near a screaming child.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39,022 ✭✭✭✭Permabear

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,320 ✭✭✭✭branie2

The window seat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,917 ✭✭✭Wossack

Boom_Bap wrote: »
    Autopilot seat is best

particularly if it needs to be manually inflated :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,917 ✭✭✭Wossack

Permabear wrote: »
    This post had been deleted.

if that documentary series 'Lost' is anything to go by, tail section folk are more craic too

• Administrators Posts: 54,830 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Turbulence is felt the least over the wings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

I always favoured sitting near the back in a window seat on short haul and the aisle on long haul.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,807 ✭✭✭✭DrPhilG

Grayson wrote: »
    The seat that isn't near a screaming child.

Impossible.

I think the airlines deliberately space them out evenly through the plane just to ensure that everyone gets their ears bled.

You know that saying that you're never more than 10 feet away from a rat etc?

Same applies to screamers on flights.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Emergency Exit, over the wing. Even at 5"6 the extra bit of leg room, and not getting disturbed by someone with a weak bladder, on an hour long flight is a godsend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,460 ✭✭✭Barry Badrinath

Airplane ****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,489 ✭✭✭Cordell

Window seat on emergency exit rows. Aisle works until you doze off with your feet stretched and you get a bump in the kneecap from the shopping trolley.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,102 ✭✭✭greencap

with the exception of business they all 95% the same.

people turn into such fags on planes. plotting schemes to get an extra inch and fist pick of the peanut selection.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,327 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

I love a good row. Can I bring me nunchuks?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

The front. The closer are to the pilot the better for when the plane breaks in half in the sky.
    Yep.

Why? Will the pilot half keep on flying?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,857 ✭✭✭Steve F

Trust AH posters to reignite my fear of flying :eek:

Yeah. So I was flying with Aer Arann in those turboprop planes with some guys. One of them said "let's not sit anywhere near the propellers, if one blade shears off it will cut us right half in two". And I've said "better to be cut in two and die instantly than screaming all the way down".
    Which one of us was right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,327 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

Cordell wrote: »
    Yeah. So I was flying with Aer Arann in those turboprop planes with some guys. One of them said "let's not sit anywhere near the propellers, if one blade shears off it will cut us right half in two". And I've said "better to be cut in two and die instantly than screaming all the way down".
    Which one of us was right?

Who was right? The person left laughing their hole off down the back when you are cut in half after the propeller spins off when the pilot starts his engines to warm them up

Before or after they put out the flames, with all cabin crew blocked in the front not being able to open the emergency exits?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,900 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

It's good that everybody agrees...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭Hammer89

16C is a f*cking great seat. It used to be 45D in my opinion, but it dawned on me that 45D was basically a poor man's 22E. Honourable mention to 73A.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,093 ✭✭✭✭chopperbyrne

Emergency Exit Window for the extra leg room.

Always.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,621 ✭✭✭Nidgeweasel

Depends on the flight and the route obviously.

Check seatguru.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,060 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Kuva wrote: »
    ~As above what say ye?

Etc. Definitely etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,501 ✭✭✭ArnoldJRimmer

I take long haul with Aer Lingus about twice a year. I sit down towards the back of the plane as almost always, the parents with babies and small kids sit up at the front of each section.

Usually grab a window too as its easier for sleeping. I stick to wine instead of beer so that I'm not disturbing the person beside me for bathroom breaks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,320 ✭✭✭✭branie2

I usually sit with my parents

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 94,288 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Window seats ahead of the wing tend to have better views or right at the back.

Check flight times to avoid the sunshine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39,022 ✭✭✭✭Permabear

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,743 ✭✭✭Wanderer2010

I was on a flight from Toronto to Dublin last year and this enormous woman who was easily 25-26 stone squeezed in the middle of my row- I was the window seat and it was a row of 3. She literally had to ROLL into the seat belt just to get it to fit around her hips not even her waist and even then the belt was absolutely straining at the bulk. I had zero arm room so I was squeezed into the window pane, it was unreal how uncomfortable I was, so naturally I prayed for a few spare seats so either I or she could move but our row was full.

Thing is....I noticed a few minutes into the flight that there were 3 spare seats at the back of the plane and nobody went for them so I was delighted but I just couldn't do it. I didn't have it in me to say to this woman, who was very friendly, "Oh excuse me, I might move over there" because she would instantly know it was soley because of her so I suffered in silence and my right arm was in agony for weeks afterwards, I know it was stupid I know I should have just did it, shes a stranger after all but I didn't have the courage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,267 ✭✭✭jojofizzio

Wossack wrote: »
    particularly if it needs to be manually inflated :pac:

For years after watching that film(I was young ok...)-I thought that that's what autopilot was an inflatable pilot:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,022 ✭✭✭jamesbere

Steve F wrote: »
    Trust AH posters to reignite my fear of flying :eek:

What's to be afraid of, planes don't crash

That often

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,456 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

The back seat - not only can I practice my backseat driving, but if it does crash there's a fair chance the front will slam into the mountainside. If it lands on water, say, most people will look towards the escape routes in front of them, making the rear exits a little less congested. This is all theory BTW - never had to put it into practice yet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,071 ✭✭✭pauliebdub

Depends on the airport, 33F if I can board/disembark from the back otherwise up near the front but not the front row which seems to be reserved for elderly or disabled passengers - you might be asked to switch seats to accommodate someone. Window is always better than aisle.

jamesbere wrote: »
    What's to be afraid of, planes don't crash

That often
    :mad:

Does anyone remember a thread on here a couple of years ago about embarrassing things that happened to them during flights?
    Hilarious!!
    One that sticks in my mind was the drunk fella that fell asleep as soon as he got on..started snoring loudly and was awoken by a female cabin crew..he proceeded to let off a humongous fart and started to collect his belongings thinking they'd arrived at the destination only to be told the aircraft had not even left yet Ha ha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,597 ✭✭✭Witchie

I usually sit in the back row, left-hand window seat. I love the window seat and usually I request the back row as with my nut allergy, at least no one behind me can be eating nuts and it is easier for the stewards to request a few rows in front of me not to eat any nut products.

If, like has happened on occasion, those seats are not available because the airline has just blocked them off, I often request to be moved to the back row so that I can sit on my own. Bliss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,267 ✭✭✭blackwhite

I was on a flight from Toronto to Dublin last year and this enormous woman who was easily 25-26 stone squeezed in the middle of my row- I was the window seat and it was a row of 3. She literally had to ROLL into the seat belt just to get it to fit around her hips not even her waist and even then the belt was absolutely straining at the bulk. I had zero arm room so I was squeezed into the window pane, it was unreal how uncomfortable I was, so naturally I prayed for a few spare seats so either I or she could move but our row was full.

Thing is....I noticed a few minutes into the flight that there were 3 spare seats at the back of the plane and nobody went for them so I was delighted but I just couldn't do it. I didn't have it in me to say to this woman, who was very friendly, "Oh excuse me, I might move over there" because she would instantly know it was soley because of her so I suffered in silence and my right arm was in agony for weeks afterwards, I know it was stupid I know I should have just did it, shes a stranger after all but I didn't have the courage.

If you feel that badly just use the "my stomach's feeling a bit off, and I'd hate to have to disturb anyone if I need to run to the bathroom"

Or else tell her that she looks like she needs a full row to herself.

Either works really

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Cordell wrote: »
    Why? Will the pilot half keep on flying?

Which side is the Pilots half. Left of right?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 437 ✭✭Vela

Aisle seat every time, for that bit more leg room. (also less awkward when you gotta get up to pee!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 443 ✭✭DaeryssaOne

Seatguru is the business for checking this, especially with long haul flights.

Channel 4 showed some documentary last year where they purposely crashed a plane to see what they could learn about it, if I remember correctly once you're within 5 rows of an exit you're more likely to survive, use the brace position so you don't break your skull on the seat in front and tuck your feet right under your seat so they don't break - enjoy your flight! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

Window seat if you don't have a small bladder and want to sleep.

Aisle seat if you need to use the bathroom often.

The wings always have emergency exits so these seats offer more leg room. Also the back or front seats usually also have more space though there's a lot of noise from people using the toilets.

My personal favourite is wing seat by the window.