Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New babies being brought into work

• 03-11-2017 2:42pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,709 ✭✭✭

Does this happen where you work? Personally I think it's a nice custom, but some of my colleagues hate it and do their best to avoid the new mother. How does it go down in your workplace?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,894 ✭✭✭Triceratops Ballet

Does this happen where you work? Personally I think it's a nice custom, but some of my colleagues hate it and do their best to avoid the new mother. How does it go down in your workplace?

I hate it, I always try and make sure I'm in the middle of something or on my way to something to avoid!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

Don't see the point....babies all look roughly the same when there new

At a few months old,when they start moving about etc,I could understand some interest

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,863 ✭✭✭Beta Ray Bill

Love it!
    And Love Babies!

Working women having babies is very important!
    IE: The right people are having kids and we should be doing everything we can as a country to ensure those that are "Chipping In" to society are being looked after and encouraged.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭Jim Bob Scratcher

Attention seeking bull**** tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,845 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

Whenever the baby is thrust in my direction, I just proclaim "Jaysus, it looks like me". Then turn to the mother and loudly roar "You said you were on the pill".

Tends to cut down on the future visitations

• Closed Accounts Posts: 113 ✭✭andreoilin

Always great to see a baby but they could get sick very easily being brought into a workplace and passed around to everyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,672 ✭✭✭elefant

Some people have a lot of friends at their work, and I'm sure their work friends love getting to see the new baby.

That hasn't applied to me yet so it doesn't really interest me, but it doesn't bother me either if they want to bring their baby in. I've never felt a compulsion to pretend to dote over some random colleague's kid.

• Administrators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,957 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Toots

andreoilin wrote: »
    Always great to see a baby but they could get sick very easily being brought into a workplace and passed around to everyone.

Yeah, my old office was a complete cesspit of disease in the winter - no windows and recirculated air - so despite many, many people asking, I didn't bring my baby in when he was born. I had to go in when he was about 6 months old to actually do some business, so I brought him with me, but he stayed in his pram. Any of my colleagues who I was close to had already called up to visit in the weeks/months after the birth anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭CPTM

I don't mind it, it's nice to see colleagues fussing around their newest thing and talking about their change in routine. Especially if they're a really serious person generally day to day. Like a senior manager or something. Doesn't matter what salary grade you're on when you have a fed-up baby in your arms.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

Babies are one of those weird things like bereavement or a really good orgasm or learning to tie your laces. Miraculous and brilliant and super interesting to directly experience, but also something that happens to pretty much everyone and isn't particularly remarkable. Oh look, it's small and asleep and doesn't do anything. That's a baby alright. See you in a few months Sarah.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,879 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Depends on the baby.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,672 ✭✭✭elefant

OSI wrote: »
    Friends that can't even be arsed to call around to your home to see your new child in the 6 months you're off on Maternity Leave?

I don't think that would be too strange?

You don't have to be best buddies with someone to be happy to see them with their new kid. I have quite a few sports teammates whose houses I would never visit, but was delighted for them on seeing them with their kids for the first time.

Maybe I'm seeing this totally from a man's perspective.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,663 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

Some people like pineapple on their pizza, some people don’t.

I don’t like pineapple on my pizza. I have friends who like pineapple on their pizza.

We’re still friends.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,709 ✭✭✭c68zapdsm5i1ru

Babies are one of those weird things like bereavement or a really good orgasm or learning to tie your laces. Miraculous and brilliant and super interesting to directly experience, but also something that happens to pretty much everyone and isn't particularly remarkable. Oh look, it's small and asleep and doesn't do anything. That's a baby alright. See you in a few months Sarah.

Bit of a strange description of bereavement.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,211 ✭✭✭✭beertons

As long as they don't leave then in work, and head off, how bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭CPTM

faceman wrote: »
    I don’t like pineapple on my pizza. I have friends who like pineapple on their pizza.
    We’re still friends.

Still friends, but they can't be trusted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,426 ✭✭✭Neon_Lights

Oh look here's one I made earlier

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,432 ✭✭✭Steve_o

Is it?

Also, people bringing babies into work is annoying.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

Bit of a strange description of bereavement.

Yes it is actually, isn't it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,022 ✭✭✭jamesbere

I personally think it's a bit attention seeking, I mean it's not a unique gift or talent. Majority of women have children. Don't get the fascination with showing off.

Each to their own I guess

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

Well, AH hates babies. And dogs, cats, Hipsters, the world, muslims, Bono, U2, proper beer, donuts, cyclists, work colleagues, the less fortunate (specially the homeless and unemployed, Bastards!), holidays, fine weather, tattoos, piercings, long hair, people with swagger (Connor McGregor, how dare he wear fancy clothes and not stare at his feet and mumble into his chest like a proper Paddy boy?!) and anyone who doesn't wear either a generic Dunnes bouncer suit or jeans with a checked shirt with regulation short spiky hair.
    OK, not entirely serious, but just for laughs, search Boards for "I hate". :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,057 ✭✭✭.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,688 ✭✭✭ForestFire

CPTM wrote: »
    Still friends, but they can't be trusted.

OT but, is there some social experiment to turn people off pinapple on pizza in the last few months.:confused:

I never heard of this issue before..and is Hawaiian Pizza not one of the most common basic pizzas you can get??

Anyway, no babies in work for me thanks, I don't bring in my new pet goldfish when I get one:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 952 ✭✭✭s4uv3

jamesbere wrote: »
    I mean it's not a unique gift or talent.

Ah here now. My little angle is the best ting to ever happen dis world and I won't have you saying I'm not talented for squeezing my littel princess out me fanny ok? It bleedin is a talent. Sum ppl dnt no wat dey be talkin abou.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,894 ✭✭✭Triceratops Ballet

ForestFire wrote: »

Anyway, no babies in work for me thanks, I don't bring in my new pet goldfish when I get one:P

I would be so much more interested in meeting peoples pets, at least pets interact with you and rarely in a pissy/vomity way!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,490 ✭✭✭amtc

No way please. I worked in an all male team and only other girl on floor brought in her baby. I was left having to goo and ga. I don't have children and was leaving early to visit my best friend after miscarriage. Just because I'm a woman don't assume this is my role.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,330 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

Well, AH hates babies. And dogs, cats, Hipsters, the world, muslims, Bono, U2, proper beer, donuts, cyclists, work colleagues, the less fortunate (specially the homeless and unemployed, Bastards!), holidays, fine weather, tattoos, piercings, long hair, people with swagger (Connor McGregor, how dare he wear fancy clothes and not stare at his feet and mumble into his chest like a proper Paddy boy?!) and anyone who doesn't wear either a generic Dunnes bouncer suit or jeans with a checked shirt with regulation short spiky hair.

It's much easier to jump on the "hate" or strong dislike side of things than the like side on messageboards. Any thread about a band or comedian will descend into how they're not funny/crap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

I think it's lovely. Any excuse not to work for half an hour or so. I'm not particularly interested in babies but it makes the new parent feel good so why not indulge them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,022 ✭✭✭jamesbere

s4uv3 wrote: »
    Ah here now. My little angle is the best ting to ever happen dis world and I won't have you saying I'm not talented for squeezing my littel princess out me fanny ok? It bleedin is a talent. Sum ppl dnt no wat dey be talkin abou.

I squeezed last night's pizza out this morning, I was very proud of it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,388 ✭✭✭✭Jayop

I like it, but I only work with a few people so it doesn't happen too often. I even brought my new puppy into the office to show her off recently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 181 ✭✭AustinLostin

Sometimes we get biscuits when someone brings a baby in so its ok by me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,818 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Boss and boss's bro and/or their O/H's repeatedly drag their offspring in as if it's a daycare centre.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,727 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

Doesn’t bother me one way or the other. I just presume they’re there mostly to show the baby to their close friends.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭_Dara_

I’m not a baby person but I’ll make the right noises and then feck off. I’m sure others like seeing people’s babies so let them off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,261 ✭✭✭Baron Kurtz

I've seen this many times and oddly am torn about what's okay here. Call me a prick, but she was insufferable and generally had a selfish self-righteous demeanour anyway. He's (Jay's Dad:) ) an ignoramus and un-PC but had a point too. He just wasn't afraid to voice it. No one is special here. Neither are your kids and a lot of people feel that this is the case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 945 ✭✭✭Colonel Claptrap

Not enough traveller bashing in this post.

2/10

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,225 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

I generally find the people who complain about this practice are generally sour and miserable!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,388 ✭✭✭Cina

I generally find the people who complain about this practice are generally sour and miserable!

Yeah, the same kind of sick, depraved f*ck's who'd go to a self-checkout to avoid human interaction.

You people disgust me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,554 ✭✭✭valoren

It depends entirely on the situation.

We work in an office so this happens sometimes. It's not like it happens every week so is usually a nice surprise. If I have worked directly with someone and they come in to show us their kid then I will be delighted to see the baby and have a friendly chat. That's the courteous and mannerly thing to do personally.

If it was someone I am working with or have worked with then I certainly wouldn't insult the person by ignoring them or sneaking off to the jacks or off for a cuppa. That's just being an anti-social arsehole. If it's someone else, a nod, a smile and an acknowledgement usually suffices it's not like they expect you to babysit them ffs.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

Cienciano wrote: »
    It's much easier to jump on the "hate" or strong dislike side of things than the like side on messageboards. Any thread about a band or comedian will descend into how they're not funny/crap.

Worse is any thread on Apple Products or the latest Marvel or Star Wars/Trek movie. :D
    You're basically required to absolutely hate on any of the above, otherwise you're a rabid, foam-at-the-mouth fanboi.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,951 ✭✭✭B0jangles

Jayop wrote: »
    I like it, but I only work with a few people so it doesn't happen too often. I even brought my new puppy into the office to show her off recently.

Now I really wish that more people brought their new puppies to work - everyone likes puppies!

(babies are grand and all, but puppies are cuter and more fun.)

(except your baby of course, your baby is the most beautiful, cleverest, most wonderful baby that has ever, or will ever, exist)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,709 ✭✭✭c68zapdsm5i1ru

The only time I'd have an issue with it is if the mother is still there three hours later, and people are desperately trying to get back to their work while not wanting to insult her.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 492 ✭✭Gerrup Outta Dat!

All babies, male and female, look the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,008 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Classic centre of attention behaviour.

Sometimes those Facebook likes just aren’t enough.

Depends on the office. I think it can be nice but a bit insensitive, in a large office there may be people there who will feel a little upset, may not have kids despite trying, may have miscarried or worse, lost a child and it may be hard on them. Before we had a child I know it was hard on my wife when others wheeled out their little bundles, even though she would feign delight. Where I work it's a small office, we all know each other and each other's families well and it's a nice distraction.

Babies are one of those weird things like bereavement or a really good orgasm or learning to tie your laces.

So it isn't a party unless someone dies, has a **** or ties their shoelaces?

Maybe all three?

Big fan of the oul' asphyxi-**** eh? Don't use shoelaces for the choking park or you might very well end up dead

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,060 ✭✭✭Sue Pa Key Pa

Happens all the time in my place. As one poster said, they all look the same so what is the point? Also, there are smack ugly people in the world which means there must be ugly babies. Be honest when your colleague brings in their troll.

On the opposite end of gorgeous, a colleague brought in their husky pup once and I was a gibbering mess for the rest of the day. Such a beauty

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,060 ✭✭✭Sue Pa Key Pa

s4uv3 wrote:
    Ah here now. My little angle is the best ting to ever happen dis world .

Ah bless, she sounds like a right angle in fairness

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,360 ✭✭✭Lorelli!

Depends on the office. I think it can be nice but a bit insensitive, in a large office there may be people there who will feel a little upset, may not have kids despite trying, may have miscarried or worse, lost a child and it may be hard on them. Before we had a child I know it was hard on my wife when others wheeled out their little bundles, even though she would feign delight.

I understand that it may have been hard on your wife but I don't think people celebrating having their own child or bringing their child in to introduce him/her to their work colleagues is insensitive of them. That would be like saying they should hide their bump when they were working and pregnant in case they offended anyone.

I don't see anything wrong with someone bringing their new baby into the office to share some of their joy. Most of the time they haven't seen their colleagues for a while and they are just coming in to catch up, see how everyone is and let them know how they are getting on. I don't think it's attention seeking or insensitive.