Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New Wave Feminism Requests

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,102 ✭✭✭greencap

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,289 ✭✭✭Padkir

'Whenever you are in a group composed of only men (whether it’s social, work, church, or whatever) ask yourself why there are no women present. Then ask out loud why. Force an honest answer.'

Sounds laughably similar to:

'Two, whenever Poochie's not on screen, all the other characters should be asking "Where's Poochie"?'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

"Talk less. In all spaces. At all times. At a lower volume."

But I am a man. I have lots of very important things to say, and I deserve to be heard.

"Prioritize kindness"

What, like some kind of pussy? Lads, this feminism stuff is going too far.

RayM wrote: »

But I am a man. I have lots of very important things to say, and I deserve to be heard.

"Prioritize kindness"

Damn raym bro u so woke on the internet etc etc we get it hero

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭bajer101

It's the gift that keeps giving. Keep reading and then think about each point.

The correct response to this stuff is to read/listen as far as you wish to and then to stop reading/listening.

Nobody is going to force you to read/listen any further.

Certainly, nobody is going to force you to actually carry out these fetishes.

Chill out. Don't amplify the noise of this type of extremism. There are nutters on the internet. This is not news.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,341 ✭✭✭emo72

Close your eyes and imagine Al from "Married With Children" reading that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,172 ✭✭✭EPAndlee

Fake news

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,496 ✭✭✭Will I Am Not

EPAndlee wrote: »
    Fake news

Can only hope so. Still, there’s people in the comment section agreeing with it all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,764 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

20. Befriend children.

Yeaaah.....

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭Are Am Eye

emo72 wrote: »
    Close your eyes and imagine Al from "Married With Children" reading that.

Can I close my eyes and imagine Christina Applegate?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,341 ✭✭✭emo72

Are Am Eye wrote: »
    Can I close my eyes and imagine Christina Applegate?

Feminazi lady would not approve.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭bajer101

But what the hell is going on here? This is insane.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,554 ✭✭✭Pat Mustard

From the article:
    A friend of mine, who is a man, reached out to me privately earlier today to say how paralyzed he felt seeing the flood of “Me too” posts on his Facebook wall, a phrase women are posting to indicate that they have been the victims of sexual harassment and assault. This is a good dude, as far as I know. (Here we are, now, having to say “as far as I know” about our good dude friends, because the truth is that probably plenty of guys are good dude friends unless you’re the one or two or fifteen women they crossed a line with, whether or not they realize they crossed a line. I haven’t been personally assaulted by this guy, I guess is the only thing I can really say. This is terrible for him and it’s also terrible for me. Everything is terrible.)
    Anyway. I replied to him that I’m glad he’s having these realizations, but that he should be talking about these feelings to other men, not looking for affirmation or absolution or support from women, who are dealing with their own **** when it comes to men and their feelings about sexual harassment and assault. He’s a good dude, so he didn’t respond by telling me that if I was gonna be that way I’d just lost an ally, or whatever; he actually heard what I was saying and (I think) internalized it and realized the irony of asking a woman to emotionally support him as he processed all the burdens he and his cohort have asked women to bear.

She is talking about a friend of hers who has not sexually assaulted people, as far as she knows. This is a good dude. Honest injuns.

The phrase "swivel-eyed loon" comes to mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,218 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

She's mad. Just living in her own bubble.
    I read it as wanting to hold men down and back. Ironic given she is talking about rights.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

Padkir wrote: »
    'Whenever you are in a group composed of only men (whether it’s social, work, church, or whatever) ask yourself why there are no women present. Then ask out loud why. Force an honest answer.'

Because I work collecting wheeliebins in the freezing cold during Winter mornings. I've never ever seen a woman do that job. That honest enough?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

This list (particularly "talk less in all spaces", like the "striking up a random conversation is sexual harassment" thing from a few days ago) just confirms my existing suspicions - this is not about feminism, or men vs women. This is about introverts being irritated by extroverts and wanting to shame extroverts into acting like introverts. The gender thing is actually secondary, it's just being used to dress up what is in actuality an ideology of "Everybody should be quiet, shy and reserved. Those who aren't are annoying and should pretend that they are so that they don't irritate introverts like me."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,450 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

20. Befriend children.

Yeaaah.....

That's probably the only thing on that list I would encourage all people to do tbh. I don't see it as having anything remotely to do with feminism or any other ideological nonsense.

This list (particularly "talk less in all spaces", like the "striking up a random conversation is sexual harassment" thing from a few days ago) just confirms my existing suspicions - this is not about feminism, or men vs women. This is about introverts being irritated by extroverts and wanting to shame extroverts into acting like introverts. The gender thing is actually secondary, it's just being used to dress up what is in actuality an ideology of "Everybody should be quiet, shy and reserved. Those who aren't are annoying and should pretend that they are so that they don't irritate introverts like me."

Though I disagree with the concept of introverts/extroverts, you do make a good point HP that stuff like this has nothing to do with feminism or gender equality. It's entirely concerned with attempting to control the behaviour of others by attempting to instill a sense of guilt in them and use their humiliation to force their compliance.

This in particular was for me at least the point where I thought the author fell victim to her own ideology (ironically) by being made to feel guilty for her perceived transgressions by her peers -

Jerk off without porn for a while. EDIT: This really should be “Pay for your porn.” In particular, seek out (and pay for) porn that’s made by women, queer people, and people of color, and that’s produced ethically. Consume sexual culture as thoughtfully as you would consume any culture. (Thanks to Jillian and others for helping me reframe this.)

That's the sort of nonsense that leads to ideas like the cotton ceiling -

Cotton ceiling is the situation of trans women of being excluded from cisgender-dominated women's and gay spaces — specifically within the dating scene, but also society in general. The term was coined by Canadian trans woman and activist Drew DeVeaux. The term has been criticized by many feminists for suggesting that sexual access to women is a right, the denial of which constitutes oppression or marginalization, as well as for targeting lesbian women who assert their boundaries.

More on that here -

The Cotton Ceiling Is Real and It’s Time for All Queer and Trans People to Fight Back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,631 ✭✭✭brevity

I really think the world is on massive wind up at the moment

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

brevity wrote: »
    I really think the world is on massive wind up at the moment

That's offensive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,188 ✭✭✭Malayalam

To think as a girl I thought feminists were awesome.... :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,091 ✭✭✭backspin.

Just because these man haters make demands doesn't mean we need to take them seriously. If it's ridiculous then ignore them or point out how silly their points are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,394 ✭✭✭Pac1Man

Request?

Request denied. I'm quite happy living on my privileged pedestal. Only a fool would come down from it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,863 ✭✭✭Beta Ray Bill

1 - No, they're not the same. However I will accept them.
    2 - No
    3 - Yes
    4 - Yes
    5 - Don't need to, this is Ireland
    6 - More important things need fixing in this country than "Women's Issues"
    7 - No
    8 - Can be difficult for a man to do this, 200,000 years of Evolution to fight
    9 - Why? A hero is a hero, a mentor is a mentor... their sex doesn't matter
    10 - I can't think of any named after a man
    11 - No, I dont need 12,345,461 different creams, potions and lotions
    12 - FU*K OFF!
    13 - I don't bother reaching out to women when I need support as it is
    14 - No
    15 - Cause Ugly is the new Sexy...
    16 - Pay for Porn! AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!!!!!!!
    17 - No
    18 - The "feminazi's" are REAL!
    19 - I'm always kind
    20 - Kids are awesome

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,838 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

I'm going into work to demand free tampons in the ladies toilets, even though I've never been in there and have no idea if they are already there or not. Not to worry, any of my female coworkers will surely be delighted to discuss menstruation with me.

Glazers Out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,863 ✭✭✭Beta Ray Bill

nullzero wrote: »
    I'm going into work to demand free tampons in the ladies toilets, even though I've never been in there and have no idea if they are already there or not. Not to worry, any of my female coworkers will surely be delighted to discuss menstruation with me.

I've been in the Ladies in Leggs on Leeson Street.... It did not end well.. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,297 ✭✭✭Ri_Nollaig

Malayalam wrote: »

Any feminist from the 20th century would be laughing at this horseshít at this point. Ones who fought for real issues like voting, access to education etc.

This rubbish just seems to be attention seeking for the most part.
    Facebook, twitter etc has just given them an easy platform to talk shíte.

nullzero wrote: »

Fair play to you. Just to get into the spirit myself, I’m going to pay money to masturbate to 2 men **** each other on my computer. Not sure how I will rise to the occasion so to speak, or if I will keep my breakfast down but I’ll soldier on anyway in the interest of new age feminism.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭utyh2ikcq9z76b

Pay for porn... What kind of lunatic is this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

Honestly the identity politics left on the internet and in universities are really the most dour, humourless and unrelatable crowd of people you'll ever come across.

And I say that as a life-long left-wing activist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,834 ✭✭✭Useful.Idiot

Malayalam wrote: »

And all of them aren't because of this one looney? Feminists can't all be painted with one brush, and these days it seems the actions of a vocal minority are attributed to the majority.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Sky King

Whenever you are in a group composed of only men (whether it’s social, work, church, or whatever) ask yourself why there are no women present. Then ask out loud why. Force an honest answer.

WHY ARE THERE NOT MORE WOMEN IN THIS HORRIBLE DIRTY LOW PAID WELDING JOB? ANYONE?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,070 ✭✭✭LadyMacBeth_

That girl will never be a friend of mine. The poor fecker who contacted her should also reconsider who he wants to be friends with. Pay for porn indeed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,647 ✭✭✭lazybones32

Men telling women what to do: bad
    Women telling men what to do: good.

Equality achieved.

If a man changes himself to be pleasing to women, they won't respect him...and rightly so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭ Amira Old Maze

And all of them aren't because of this one looney? Feminists can't all be painted with one brush, and these days it seems the actions of a vocal minority are attributed to the majority.

Totally agreed but the looney ones like Mullaly/LON/RMC and this one here seem to get the attention for outrageous unlike ones who aren't all man hating windbags

It’s hard to believe people like that actually exist.
    Came across something similar the other day. A white, lesbian lecturer in the US claiming that having a ‘white nuclear family’ supports white supremacy and that white people are creating inequality by leaving their homes to their white children.

Her account is private now, no doubt because of the backlash she received.

She is educating kids ffs.

https://twitter.com/smod4real/status/924335997214773249

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,188 ✭✭✭Malayalam

If it were one looney, it would be fine. And the majority should stand against the idiocy of the 'vocal minority'. But bad things happen to people in the silent majority who speak up, like trolling, doxxing, bullying, hate mail, and even people lose their jobs (particularly in academia) if they dare to question the identity politics consensus. It's a serious issue nowadays if one does not agree with the vocal minority - one keeps quiet in the public spaces.

Jaysus. Can you imagine her chatting with a group of men. The poor divils would be beaten over the head for just existing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,613 ✭✭✭server down

I’ve been doing all this for years. But Harvey Weinstein happened nevertheless. Clearly I must try harder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

I think a lot of her problem is assuming that everyday people are as "connected" to things as she might seem to be. For example - "Support medical trials that include (or even prioritize) women." When is the last time anyone had any input into anything even approaching a medical trial? It just seems like a really twittery thing to suggest. Medical trials occur all the time and 99.99% of the population have no input into their construction, funding or outcome.

Count it up, about 15 of the 20 suggestions come under the heading of "how to be a decent human being". And if she thinks that these things need to be said to anyone, then the person she's saying it to is probably just an asshole.

Other ones like "talk less" are pure sexism, and other things containing a load of buzzwords like "intersectionality" assume that your average person spends as much time looking at twitter and feminist blogs as she does.

Part of the problem is that she goes too far with her womansplaining instead of sticking to the more reasonable point.
    For example:

"Support nontaxed menstrual products." Sure. Great idea!

"Ask your workplace if tampons and pads are free. If they’re not, advocate for them to be free." Eh...no thanks. Is that even a thing?

And...

"Whenever you are in a group composed of only men (whether it’s social, work, church, or whatever) ask yourself why there are no women present." OK, sure, it's a good idea to challenge oneself every now and again. Expose your own unconscious biases.

"Then ask out loud why. Force an honest answer.". Uhm. Well, whatever answer I come up with is going to be the same one they give. And "there are no women here because we all arranged to go to the pub and they don't want to or can't come" is an honest answer that doesn't need me killing the conversation to force everyone to say it.

Unfortunately any semblance of reasonableness in her points is completely muted by the title of her blog post which effectively claims that men in general are relentless sexual harrassers.

What of course needs to be said is that this person is not representative either of "the left" or of feminism in general. Picking a post like this and holding it up as a shining example of either, is a bit like taking a long rant from Stormfront and claiming that person is a typical right-winger/conservative. You do yourself a disservice in both cases; demonstrating that your goal is not personal improvement, but demonising others so you don't have to question yourself.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,218 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

What a loon. Though dial her lunacy back a little and many of her "points" are part of the mainstream "feminism" of today. The joke is it seeks an infantilism of women. Make them agentless victims. When it suits of course. It's always about when it's convenient(we want equality in the nice indoor jobs, not so much with the icky ones). All the rights none of the responsibilities. Same with the "feminist" attitude to masculinity. it's "toxic" when it doesn't suit. So on the one hand men are asked to man up when it suits(protect us weak women victims), but asked to shut up when it doesn't. And what would happen if loons like her and her ilk actually got the world they wanted? They wouldn't know what to do with a world where they couldn't tilt at invented windmills and they'd still be whinging about something.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

RayM wrote: »

"Prioritize kindness"

I think you may have cherry picked there. Like quoting mein kampf for the bits about building a decent motorway network.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,218 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Jaysus. Can you imagine her chatting with a group of men. The poor divils would be beaten over the head for just existing.
    Or a better option and one I would most certainly take is to tell her to sod off and annoy someone else. The more loons of all stripes are told to sod off and annoy someone else the better.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,465 ✭✭✭✭cantdecide

She is educating kids ffs.

Lots of these lunatic narcissists pursue institutional power. It's no accident that boys and men are falling behind in education and academia across the West when so many stand by and permit others attempt to criticise and castrate them from an early age.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,010 ✭✭✭kildare lad

Do many women actually go on like this??? Not too many id say. Just social media gives a platform to every "victimized" member of society. People with too much time on there hands.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,666 ✭✭✭tritium

Do many women actually go on like this??? Not too many id say. Just social media gives a platform to every "victimized" member of society. People with too much time on there hands.

Not too many, not even that many who would describe as feminists. Unfortunately though quite a lot have carved themselves out niches in academia, education and social policy groups, which is a pretty dangerous situation. Google Janice Raymonds influence on the Reagan administration to see the impact these idealogues can have (shamefully Raymond is still revered in academia)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

Consume media marketed to women.

Hey I spent plenty of my early teenage years whacking myself to the breast augmentation ads in the back of Hello! magazine and the likes. I don't need to prove myself to anyone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,647 ✭✭✭lazybones32

I’ve been doing all this for years. But Harvey Weinstein happened nevertheless. Clearly I must try harder.

But you are female...doesn't apply to you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Omackeral wrote: »
    Because I work collecting wheeliebins in the freezing cold during Winter mornings. I've never ever seen a woman do that job. That honest enough?

But that's not an honest answer!!! You are the type of man she is talking about!! You must be holding women back!!!! Women of Boards, get the pitchforks!!! :D:D:D:D:D:D