Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Collision with car

• Registered Users Posts: 2,284 ✭✭✭Mercian Pro

I think PIAB are like any other business – trying to protect "their" money. :)

Just to clarify, PIAB do not make payments out of "their" money. They make an assessment of what the claimant should get and, if the insurance company and claimant are happy with that, the insurance company pays up. If either are not happy with the figure, it can be referred to the courts. They were set up by the Government to cut back on the high legal costs and delays involved in going the legal route.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,364 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

When I got hit there was no way I'd have asked for insurance details myself. Luckily another cyclist and a pedestrian had come to my aid and they sorted all that sort of stuff for me. The driver was a nice guy though, he took my details and rang his insurance company himself and they rang me to get a claim going. He rang me that evening too to check in on me.
    PIAB looked after it for me though and i got more from the claim than I would have got myself, I never considered the things like bus fares, taxis, race entry fees from the races I had entered and wasn't able to do etc

Took about a year for the claim to come through and I still feel bad about claiming because he was nice. :) Maybe that was his trick though. :P You always think you'd stand up to the driver but you're in so much shock theres no way you can.

• Registered Users Posts: 42 bcb1

bcb1 wrote: »
    @dreamComeTrue serious sympathies man.  Been there, done that and know how frustrating it was and me from here....I can only imagine what it is like for someone who is not from here!   The Guards will fob you off to a point but they could simply be investigating it.  I know from my own experience it was only when my solicitor pushed them that I got any progress.  Also,  PIAB is not the best thing either.  The offer crap money in the hope that you go away.  There are a few good firms out there that deal specifically with Bike injuries moreso than the usual humdrum crash cases.  If you haven't got one yet I'd google Bike legal specialist and I'm sure you'll be fine

That's what I did. I've found several solicitors who specialised on bike crashes.
    Yes, already found several stories of claims from PIAB - people experience the same problem - they're just trying to get rid of these claims.

Good stuff. Be careful too about upfront fees. Some asked me for money to pay for Medicaid and that. I simply didn’t have it so I went with a guy who said he’d pay for medicals and that and get it all at the back end of the case. He also got a fee but it wasn’t a crazy amount and he was upfront at the start.

Keep us posted how it’s goes.

Well man how’s it going? All sorted?

• Registered Users Posts: 14 dreamComeTrue

Well man how’s it going? All sorted?

Hi there. Just wanted to wait for two more days to update the thread but if you're asking... :)

On the next day after I've started this topic I've found the solicitor and pass all available details to him.
    +1 day - he did some solicitors magic
    +2 days - eventually, gardai call me and pass me the contact details of the driver

Soon I'm going to visit a doctor who will prepare a report for the insurance company.

Solicitor will prepare the claim of my spendings followed by the accident, like bike and gear replacement, missed working time, GP visits and compensation of my injuries.

As he told me, the whole process could take up to one year. Based on PIAB public statistics - average request processing time is 7 month.

The main thing for me - I have new bike and I'm back in the saddle :D Thank you guys for the support!

I'll let you know if something interesting happen.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,606 ✭✭✭schemingbohemia

Are Garda going to charge the Taxi Driver for careless/dangerous driving? Whilst the civil case is important, it would seem from your side of the story that he should be charged.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,984 ✭✭✭68 lost souls

Are Garda going to charge the Taxi Driver for careless/dangerous driving? Whilst the civil case is important, it would seem from your side of the story that he should be charged.

Especially as it was a taxi who drives as a profession. Some one who drives as a profession should be held to a higher account in an accident like this.

Well man how’s it going?  All sorted?

Hi there. Just wanted to wait for two more days to update the thread but if you're asking... :)

On the next day after I've started this topic I've found the solicitor and pass all available details to him.
    +1 day - he did some solicitors magic
    +2 days - eventually, gardai call me and pass me the contact details of the driver

Soon I'm going to visit a doctor who will prepare a report for the insurance company.

Solicitor will prepare the claim of my spendings followed by the accident, like bike and gear replacement, missed working time, GP visits and compensation of my injuries.

As he told me, the whole process could take up to one year. Based on PIAB public statistics - average request processing time is 7 month.

The main thing for me - I have new bike and I'm back in the saddle :D Thank you guys for the support!

I'll let you know if something interesting happen.
    Sounds like you're being well looked after.  I'll maybe get their details off you if I ever need a solicitor again!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 220 ✭✭conkennedy

I need an advice.

About 4 weeks ago I collide with car wile riding my bike. I was moving straight thru crossroad (on my green light) when that taxi from opposite direction started to turn right (his right) and appears in front of me.

So I tried to use breaks (without success) and I hit the car somewhere around the trunk (it was sedan) on passenger's side. I flipped over my bike and car trunk and hit the ground. I fall on my back. I'm a cautious cyclist, I always wear helmet and that's and a soft backpack full of casual office clothing literally saved my life.
    Helmet got cracked. My bike is dead with broken front caliper, break lever, fork, and frame.

I was able to stand up after maybe half minute and people around help me to leave the road and removed my bike from road. I was shocked but without visible serious injures. I was staying on road side trying to get my thoughts together. And a taxi driver left me on the road, just asked "Are you ok?" and drove away. I don't know am I ok or not, because I have no idea what's going on around me at that moment. Guys who help me to get away from the road told me to write down the taxi registration number (the driver was at the site at that moment and left after several minutes). I even can't do that. So one of them did it for me. When I calm down a little and was ready to move on I discovered that finger on my hand is probably fractured (and it was). One of the guys just stay with my all the time. Big thanks to him. He help me to reach the nearest Garda station (only 300-400 meters from the site of collision).

We both made the statements regarding this case. Gardai who took my and mine witness readings, recorded all the facts and license plates of the taxi driver and assured that I will know all the details for a compensation. But they refused to count it as hit-and-run as the driver has stopped and "checked my state".

Next day I came to hospital, where it turned out that my finger is fractured, my muscles are stretched and I have lots of bruises.

I called Gardai couple of times during this month and once I was even lucky to have a conversation. And I got the answer that there was no time for my business right now. Sure, they are busy, but this taxi driver has not yet incurred any responsibility for the deed. So the things are as follows: you can hit a person by car in the middle of the day and you will not got anything for it. I lost my bike and now I need to go to my work by feet or use bus. Also I've spent time and money in the hospital. I still wearing the bandage on my palm, still feeling pain in my back.

I can't got in contact with this Gardai still. Because my officer either absent on the spot or on vacation or having day off or whatever.

Maybe there is different way to solve my problem, than calling in a Garda station day by day with no result?

People are mentioning Solicitors, Padriag Ferry in http://www.ferrysolicitors.com/ is a gentleman. No BS, straight talker.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,523 ✭✭✭Traumadoc

Keep a diary of all the ways your injury has affected you.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

jcd5971 wrote: »

That's unbelievable

In any other country maybe. In Ireland where the response time to burglary is measured in a range of days to years, not so unbelievable.

Well how is it going ? My brother in law had a bang over the weekend there and was wondering how things have worked out for you as he’s looking at options. I gave him the details of the lad I used but like everything else he wants to find out about a few. How are things going with the crew you’re using?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,549 ✭✭✭jcd5971

In any other country maybe. In Ireland where the response time to burglary is measured in a range of days to years, not so unbelievable.

if your going to quote someone use the full quote not parts of it.
    tis very annoying.

• Registered Users Posts: 316 ✭✭Irish Raven

I got a fair smack from a car turning towards me at the start of November. I was descending at 50kmph. And this car turned infront of me intending to do a U turn... I was Fairly banged up with rash, cuts and bruises....no broken bones....significant damage to bike....i sorted it the old fashioned way. shock hands with the girl, she fixed my bike within a reasonable time (6weeks), and we got on with life. Karma is a wonderful thing.....

• Registered Users Posts: 6,612 ✭✭✭SteM

I got a fair smack from a car turning towards me at the start of November. I was descending at 50kmph. And this car turned infront of me intending to do a U turn... I was Fairly banged up with rash, cuts and bruises....no broken bones....significant damage to bike....i sorted it the old fashioned way. shock hands with the girl, she fixed my bike within a reasonable time (6weeks), and we got on with life. Karma is a wonderful thing.....

6 weeks would not be reasonable to me. Bet she wouldn't have gone without her car for 6 weeks.

• Registered Users Posts: 316 ✭✭Irish Raven

SteM wrote:
    6 weeks would not be reasonable to me. Bet she wouldn't have gone without her car for 6 weeks.

fair enough....i was in a position to use another bike, plus let the body heal for a few week. damage was nearly a couple of K, single mother, coming up to xmas...I showed compassion.

Hi there. I got some news from my solicitor. I will have the compensation of my bike replacement, spendings (medical and solicitor), missed working time and injures. I would say I'm happy with that. For me the process of negotiations was easy - main work was done by solicitor, who called me two or three times to clear some details or make a decision. The case is not closed yet so I'll post any further updates.

bcb1, I'll drop the details in PM

Irish Raven, I can say the gentlemen's agreement is what I'd prefer in other conditions. Unfortunately, I had no chance for hand shake. But 50kmh... You are really lucky to escape significant damage!

Hey dreamComeTrue how did it all end up for you? My brother in law is using that firm, Rogers & Co, and he told me they have been very good. I might use them myself as I had a wee prang myself there recently too but haven’t had the time to do it. Were you happy with the service you got? It’s early days in my bro in laws case so it’s hard to tell but so far so good.

Hey bcb1. They were good in my case. I've saved they number :)