Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Chainsaw purchase advice - high end or mid-range

• 29-10-2017 10:14pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 379 ✭✭

Folks,

Trying to decide on a chainsaw and have read through lots of threads both here and on other forums but would appreciate a quick bit of advice from those who have more experience. I will be a light/occasional user. Have recently bought a house and 2 acre site and have one or two trees down round the perimeter. We have stove so would be hoping to cut them up for firewood for next year.
    Father-in-law has a Stihl MS391 which I have used to cut up 3 mature Beech trees last year. Lovely saw with great power but probably overkill for my needs.

I don't mind spending money on quality gear if necessary - woodworking tools etc and generally go high-end if I can afford/justify it but given that I won't be using the saw as much as some would need to, would something like a Tanaka ECV 4501 (450 euro) or Zomax ZM510 (275 euro) be sufficient? Anyone experience of either of those brand or saws? Father-in-law swears by Stihl but he would be a far heavier user than me. However, he said that he has chatted to a few people recently who have gone for the Zomax and were very impressed with the power/quality for the price. Can see a good few dealers have the min Ireland but no reviews

I would also be using the saw to rough cut pieces of wood for turning.

Any advice appreciated. I am mechanically able enough and not opposed to buying/maintaining a quality second-hand saw either but not sure I'd know enough about chainsaws to make an informed decision when buying.

Mark

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,216 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Light user. Why not spend small money to get into a machine. For something you'll use perhaps three times a year or a bit more

https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/aw/d/B00M9BBTT4/ref=mp_s_a_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1509315692&sr=8-1-spons&pi=AC_SX236_SY340_FMwebp_QL65&keywords=Chainsaw&psc=1

Might not suit everyone but the reviews are solid cant really lose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 693 ✭✭✭Mr321

Proplus 56cc 20inch bar are great saws and not a bad price I have one and no complaints

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 472 ✭✭Turbohymac

Hi.. for a very smooth cut. And relatively cheap look at a stihl ms170. I have one with a few years and it's able to handle quite large timber and it's v reliable.. in any case I would either go with stihl or husqvarna .. But for occasional use the husqvarna would be overkill..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 100 ✭✭coin

I think firstly you need to define what timber size and type you will be cutting and what you’ll be using it for? For example is it light conifers being cut into blocks for splitting. What length of bar is needed? What grade if saw rather than make do you need? These questions will help inform your decision better.

The saws you mentioned are 45-50cc saws, so you don’t want to end up putting a long bar and overloading the saw.

Most companies produce homeowner, farm/semi pro and finally pro saws, typically with a step up In price each time. The ProPlus/Zomax can be fine but I know people who have been letdown quite often by them.

Personally, I like to have best saws I can run so I use professional saws only and I’d be looking at second hand reputable brands. Don’t overlook the Echo, Dolmar and Oleo Mac ranges. There are some excellent saws to be found in the used market if you look around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 379 ✭✭mobfromcork

Thanks for the replies so far.
    For tool/machine buying so far I've generally gone for reasonably high end stuff with the view that I'd rather buy one quality item that I know I'm not going to get hassle from and enjoy using. I normally buy maybe one step up from what I may actually need if the financial difference isn't huge. However, I have my share of Lidl/Aldi tools as well some of which suit me fine, others I regret buying due to lack of accuracy (drill press and router) and I will end up spending more money on getting better ones.
    For example - I do a (small) bit of woodturning as well but bought a second hand, CL3 large Record lathe rather than a cheapo new one or a top of the range JET. Something I don't need all the capability of right now but enough that I could do larger pieces if I wanted to in the future without having to upgrade. Ditto for Mitre-saw, most hand-tools.
    We will be planting about 1/2 acre of trees this winter with a view to using them as fuel in the future. Main use will be cutting trees into blocks for splitting I suppose. As regards bar length, I reckon I don't need anything bigger than a 16 or 18 inch. I reckon it's the farm/semi-pro level I'll be going for.
    The reason i linked the above saws is that they seem to offer good horsepower for the money, seem to have good components and the Tanaka gets ok reviews from what I can see.

We'll I'm only after finishing cutting up 20 inch rounds of timber this morning as I get caught annually to supply a load to the in_laws. I fully agree with most of what the last poster had to say except I would not agree with buying a secondhand chainsaw.. the 2 I currently have with about 5 years are a stihl ms170 with 13 inch bar (Very narrow chain.) Bought from Dermot Casey's in mellow. And a husqvarna 435 x torque I bought from am rentals in Newry. This has a 14 inch bar as per my earlier post the stihl will take a 15 inch bar if needed & in my honest opinion I can't see any realistic need to go with a bigger bar.. I've cut many 30 inch tree stumps with the 14 bar.. as for second hand. I wouldn't entertain the thought for only hobby work / cutting when you can get a brand new stihl 170 for around 300 ..
    Buy new & buy quality. Use the correct oils and have chain sharpened by someone else with experience until you get use to it and you won't go far wrong.. Casey's are very good & anytime I'm passing they have bits & Bob's in stock to keep the 170 happy.. That's the road I'd be heading. As for the husqvarna that's nearer to 500 euro and unless your cutting a few truckloads annually it wouldn't justify the cost .. But it's an absolute animal of a chainsaw when it has a good chain fitted.. finally let saw run out of petrol if storing otherwise with even the best you will create carburetor problems.. most issues with any good chainsaw are usually caused by bad /or inexperienced operators or poor maintenance.. any questions drop me a post.. at the least only consider quality brands. (Spend a few quid extra up front &buy from a main dealer only. Save lots money & headaches later and you will have warranty & good honest advice for any concerns..
    Regards to all. (Ex forest cutter

435 X-torque with a 15" bar is a €360 saw.

http://www.husqvarna.com/ie/products/chainsaws/435/967155435/

Savage value at that and with something like that on offer, there's no reason to mess about with chinese dirtbox saws.

OP, if you're the kind of fella who appreciates the likes of a Record CL lathe over a JET, just pick up a Husqvarna that suits your wallet and be done with it. Skip over the 'Casual' saws and anything else will be fine for what you'll pay.

FR Jones have them for a smashing price at a shade under €310 delivered, on ebay.ie

http://www.ebay.ie/itm/Husqvarna-435-petrol-chainsaw-15-bar-chain-40-9cc-domestic-2-year-warranty/302484300801?hash=item466d782401:g:tB0AAOSwd0tZ3fyF

Good crowd to deal with. I wouldn't have any hesitation in recommending them. That warranty at 2 years is standard Husqvarna warranty too and they're an official dealer so getting parts or warranty service here if it was needed shouldn't be difficult.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,937 ✭✭✭SmartinMartin

For what you're doing the stihl ms170 with a 14" bar would be ideal. They're on promotion at the moment for €259;

https://iseforestandgarden.stihl-dealer.ie/en-ie/

For what you're doing the stihl ms170 with a 14" bar would be ideal. They're on promotion at the moment for €259;

https://iseforestandgarden.stihl-dealer.ie/en-ie/

I'd avoid buying something that's configured to run Pico 3/8 as my first/only chainsaw.

Wow Jay zeus.. that sounds a steal if it's same as my five year old one & bullet proof with lots power.. Mine certainly cost nearer to 500 when I got it. But worth every cent..i would definitely recommend. And he should forget second hand or budget makes thell cost way more in the long run.. my stihl is a very nice but very small saw.. the 435 if he can buy for 360 is an absolute No brainer.. All he'll need after that is a 10 ton logsplitter from Hartnetts in donoghmore ðŸ˜
    Regards to all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,573 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

JayZeus wrote: »
    FR Jones have them for a smashing price at a shade under €310 delivered, on ebay.ie

http://www.ebay.ie/itm/Husqvarna-435-petrol-chainsaw-15-bar-chain-40-9cc-domestic-2-year-warranty/302484300801?hash=item466d782401:g:tB0AAOSwd0tZ3fyF

Good crowd to deal with. I wouldn't have any hesitation in recommending them. That warranty at 2 years is standard Husqvarna warranty too and they're an official dealer so getting parts or warranty service here if it was needed shouldn't be difficult.

kees of laghey Donegal have them for 339

https://robertkee.ie/product/husqvarna-435-chainsaw

Thanks again for the replies. Will go to the Husq dealer in Carlow Town for a look in the flesh on Wednesday and see how they are on price. Never even picked up one of their saws.

Have bought a Stihl FS 260 strimmer/brush cutter from ISE in Carlow (now Kilkenny) last year and they have a great range of Stihl saws so might drop in for a look but that Husq 435 seems to be well priced alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,965 ✭✭✭dzer2

Thanks again for the replies. Will go to the Husq dealer in Carlow Town for a look in the flesh on Wednesday and see how they are on price. Never even picked up one of their saws.

Have bought a Stihl FS 260 strimmer/brush cutter from ISE in Carlow (now Kilkenny) last year and they have a great range of Stihl saws so might drop in for a look but that Husq 435 seems to be well priced alright.

Ah Pat will deal with you alright.

Offers a good service after sales as well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 227 ✭✭fastrac94

I'd avoid buying something that's configured to run Pico 3/8 as my first/only chainsaw.

Why do ya say that about the pico chains out of curiosity?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 685 ✭✭✭keepalive213

Mr321 wrote: »
    Proplus 56cc 20inch bar are great saws and not a bad price I have one and no complaints

Great value for money, nothing but praise, parts available to fix.

fastrac94 wrote: »

I'd be interested to know too.

If it's for a bit of landscaping work, aesthetic trimming and limbing and the likes, fine and dandy. Same on a short barred top handle saw if you're a tree surgeon.

For most fellas cutting up windfall on a farm, bucking rounds for a log splitter or for the lathe and so on I would say you're likely into the territory of being best served by a saw that'd be running .325 or standard 3/8 in 1.3/1.5mm widths rather than low profile (smaller teeth, wear easier and wear out quicker) or narrow kerf (1.1mm even!) on micro and pico setups.

Not saying you can't use whatever saw and chain you want, yourself and martin may be just that, just saying that there's probably a better choice to be made going for a .325 semi chain on a 38cc+ saw for most people doing more than cutting sticks. :D . All meant now with a friendly grin lads before ye get upset with me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 227 ✭✭fastrac94

If it's for a bit of landscaping work, aesthetic trimming and limbing and the likes, fine and dandy. Same on a short barred top handle saw if you're a tree surgeon.

For most fellas cutting up windfall on a farm, bucking rounds for a log splitter or for the lathe and so on I would say you're likely into the territory of being best served by a saw that'd be running .325 or standard 3/8 in 1.3/1.5mm widths rather than low profile (smaller teeth, wear easier and wear out quicker) or narrow kerf (1.1mm even!) on micro and pico setups.

Not saying you can't use whatever saw and chain you want, yourself and martin may be just that, just saying that there's probably a better choice to be made going for a .325 semi chain on a 38cc+ saw for most people doing more than cutting sticks. :D . All meant now with a friendly grin lads before ye get upset with me!

Not getting upset here anyhow,one of our saws has a pico chain on it and was wondering was there a better alternative, now granted all that saw is for is a back up to the big saw and for toping and branching.ðŸ‘

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

If you are the kind of operator who gets the bar pinched in the work, those Pico chains won't stand for any abuse struggling to pull them free. And it's such a narrow cut, if you're not the best at sharpening a chain, they don't tolerate and degree of "crookedness"
    But a razor sharp Pico is a surprisingly good performer even with the small size engine of the 170.

Good to know, thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,675 ✭✭✭exaisle

dzer2 wrote: »
    Ah Pat will deal with you alright.

Offers a good service after sales as well

Quoted me €359 for a Husq 435 on the phone...I'd be hoping for a bit of wiggle room on the price though....I'm in the market for a decent chainsaw so this thread has been of huge interest.

By the way....any comments on this:

https://www.ebay.ie/itm/MOTOSEGA-HUSQVARNA-346-XP-PROFESSIONALE-USATO-REVISIONATO-COME-NUOVO/182811349873?hash=item2a9067d371:g:vlUAAOSwb69Z15w4

exaisle wrote: »
    Quoted me €359 for a Husq 435 on the phone...I'd be hoping for a bit of wiggle room on the price though....I'm in the market for a decent chainsaw so this thread has been of huge interest.

By the way....any comments on this:

https://www.ebay.ie/itm/MOTOSEGA-HUSQVARNA-346-XP-PROFESSIONALE-USATO-REVISIONATO-COME-NUOVO/182811349873?hash=item2a9067d371:g:vlUAAOSwb69Z15w4

Overpriced as a used saw even if they're a nice unit. There's a 550XP up on dungdeal for €350 in Cavan. Much better saw. https://www.donedeal.ie/tools-for-sale/husqvarna-550xp/16945949

I'd spent 350 on that and the 100 on a once over with a dealer before I'd spend 450 on a used saw from italy that's really nothing special these days.

That's a new saw though.

No it's not. Look at the pictures. The front handle is marked, there's resin on the chain brake and sawdust/resin around the rear handle.

It has a new bar/chain and is described by the seller as being 'as new', but it isn't. The seller flogs chinese cylinder/piston/ring kits too:

http://stores.ebay.ie/expertmotorparts/

That saw was roasted and put back together with a spurious kit. I wouldn't buy it unless it was half that price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 134 ✭✭howsshenow

I was in your shoes last year wanting to splash out on a big expensive yoke.
    Got great advise from lad in ISE Nenagh, said I'd kill myself if I bought a high powered saw as I was only occasional user cutting mainly spruce. Told me to get light saw - Stihl 251. Great advice, miser on fuel & light enough to use all day. No regrets here and money saved.
    For something like a chainsaw you are way better off buying face to face.

Using the phone so the pictures aren't great. Just saw he has it listed as new. Well spotted and researched.

Thanks for all the advice and opinions. I ended up getting a new Stihl 271 chainsaw locally today after calling into a few dealers - Husqvarna and Stihl both in Cork and more locally. I wanted to make one purchase rather than a cheapish one now that I'd have to replace as I know I'll be using the chainsaw for a good few years in the future. We have a good few mature trees on the site and are planting far more after Christmas so it'll get used over the next 10 years.
    I definitely spent far more than I intended but I know I won't regret it in the future. As mentioned in my post above, I prefer to spend the extra money and have a machine more than capable for what i need than buy something I'll need long-term and not enjoy using it. If it were a more temporary or once-off job I probably would go for the cheaper options given above or if I needed a second saw for some reason I might consider a cheaper make/model.

Thanks again for all the advice

Mark

Nice saw, congrats.

If it doesn’t pain you to pay for it, consider running it on Aspen 2T/Alkalyte premix fuel. Better for your health and for the saw.

what's your thoughts on chain oil Jay? Some say vegetable oil, but I've been afraid to try it.

It goes rancid if it's left in the saw and I don't know how well it clings especially when the bar and chain are warmed up. Better than used engine oil though! I've heard of all sorts going into the bar oil tank from ATF to used hydra 46.

I'd only use maybe 40-50L each year so buying chain oil at about €2/L isn't so bad. At least the right stuff works the way it's supposed and won't leave me any more hassle to clean up if I leave it for a few weeks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 939 ✭✭✭Aravo

Thanks for all the advice and opinions. I ended up getting a new Stihl 271 chainsaw locally today after calling into a few dealers - Husqvarna and Stihl both in Cork and more locally. I wanted to make one purchase rather than a cheapish one now that I'd have to replace as I know I'll be using the chainsaw for a good few years in the future. We have a good few mature trees on the site and are planting far more after Christmas so it'll get used over the next 10 years. I definitely spent far more than I intended but I know I won't regret it in the future. As mentioned in my post above, I prefer to spend the extra money and have a machine more than capable for what i need than buy something I'll need long-term and not enjoy using it. If it were a more temporary or once-off job I probably would go for the cheaper options given above or if I needed a second saw for some reason I might consider a cheaper make/model.

Thanks again for all the advice

Mark

Did you go with the 16" or 18" bar. Am thinking of getting a ms271 with 16" bar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,054 ✭✭✭Tuco88

Any views on Solo saws? looking at a large one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Never had a modern one, but they are seemingly popular in their homeland. If theres a dealer nearby, you should be fine.

Aravo wrote: »
    Did you go with the 16" or 18" bar. Am thinking of getting a ms271 with 16" bar.

Got the 18 inch bar. I have a few big ends of beech trees and a huge old conifer to cut into rings so went with the slightly longer bar but don't think there is any difference in price. Used it for a small bit before it got dark the other night and was very happy with the power and didn't find it heavy to use.
    My other experience was with a Stihl 391 which was heavier but definitely more Powerful. It's mad how just after getting one new saw I was already justifying getting a smaller one for the easier cuts.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 93 ✭✭Tommy Ferguson

No such thing as one saw do all jobs. Small saw and big saw are the way to go.

Think I'll go for the ms271 with 16" bar. Have an ms250 with 16", was happy with that, but it's getting on. A little bit more power will help out. No difference in price between 16" & 18" and Stihl have the offer in place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,125 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

I've an MS250 16" bar too. Great saw. Was thinking of going to a smaller Stihl as a second saw.

What smaller saw Patsy?

I tend to cut more lighter than heavier stuff so was thinking about maybe the Stihl MS 181.

http://hourigans.ie/chainsaws.htm

I tend to cut more lighter than heavier stuff so was thinking about maybe the Stihl MS 181.

Would def go for the ergo start. It's the way things are going.

What is ergo start?

Easier to start. Will not pull the arm of your self. On that price list the ergo start was not much more on the ms181 model.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 973 ✭✭✭sonnybill

I've an MS250 16" bar too. Great saw. Was thinking of going to a smaller Stihl as a second saw.

I've a Stihl ms261 it's a professional saw and a pure beast and joy to work but like you I'm thinking of pricing up a top handle saw for clearing furze be great yoke hold with one hand cut with other

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 483 ✭✭pms7

Originally Posted by JayZeus View Post

http://www.ebay.ie/itm/Husqvarna-435...0AAOSwd0tZ3fyF

kees of laghey Donegal have them for 339

https://robertkee.ie/product/husqvarna-435-chainsaw

Saw it in my local tool hire in mid Cork for €399.99

• Closed Accounts Posts: 191 ✭✭Feckoffcup

Best chainsaw for cutting logs up to 30 cm thick?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,676 ✭✭✭kay 9

Feckoffcup wrote: »
    Best chainsaw for cutting logs up to 30 cm thick?

Any of the 45-50cc with a 13" bar. You'll have it all, speed, power and nimble.

sonnybill wrote: »
    ......I'm thinking of pricing up a top handle saw for clearing furze be great yoke hold with one hand cut with other

Never used one of these top handle saws, but don't like the idea of them. Always prefer to have both hands firmly on the saw when cutting. Kickback is a deadly thing.

Are top handle saws only for climbers in tree use?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 404 ✭✭ml100

howsshenow wrote: »
    I was in your shoes last year wanting to splash out on a big expensive yoke.
    Got great advise from lad in ISE Nenagh, said I'd kill myself if I bought a high powered saw as I was only occasional user cutting mainly spruce. Told me to get light saw - Stihl 251. Great advice, miser on fuel & light enough to use all day. No regrets here and money saved.
    For something like a chainsaw you are way better off buying face to face.

How do you find the 251, what size bar did you get 16"?
    I was thinking about something like a husqvarna 550xp but from what I've read the auto tune chainsaws are giving lots of trouble and not a great idea for occasional use. I have a old husqvarna 65, 22" bar, animal of a saw but I want something lighter, 271 is getting heavier again, did you look at the 271 when getting your 251?