Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin Bus Complaints Problem

• 23-10-2017 9:55am
    Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 17,150 Mod ✭✭✭✭cherryghost

I had not one, not two but three complaints within a week last week over poor/no service on some routes that caused problems with work.

After submitting the three complaints forms, I got word back that two of my three complaints basically accused me of lying. One such incident was a 15 minute interval bus route never showed for almost 50 minutes. They claim 3 buses drove the route without diversion etc. The other complaint they also said that the route was served without issue. I got on the next bus and at subsequent stops were just people hopping on complaining to the driver about the disappearance of the other bus.

What's the best way to escalate this other than the complaints form again because it seems to do absolutely nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭StreetLight

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 11,802 Mod ✭✭✭✭devnull

Whenever this has happened to me and I'm unhappy with the answer Dublin Bus have given, I've replied to the mail from Dublin Bus cc'ing the NTA and I'd advise other people to do the same.

You can also make a complaint here:
    https://www.transportforireland.ie/help-and-contact/

- Bus services
    - Dublin Bus
    - Make a Complaint
    - Other

You can also attach supporting documentation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,647 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Write to NTA.

Write to Dublin Bus demanding the video from the buses be preserved.

Make sure you have the dates / times / places right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,704 ✭✭✭✭coylemj

My experience of complaining to Dublin Bus is that you get an immediate reply with an incident number, then they ignore you. When you drop them an e-mail two weeks later to find out what they're doing about your complaint, they copy & paste a boilerplate reply which effectively amounts to a PFO.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 345 ✭✭bebeman

Most complaints are idiotic.
    Look at DB twitter.
    Complaint: DB are a disgrace. i put my hand out and the bus drove by me and did not stop to pick me up.
    DB: where did this happen and what time?
    Complaint: 8am Stillorgan road.
    DB:was the bus full?
    Zero reply!
    why would a full bus stop?
    Dont believe me, check out the DB twitter next tuesday.

Little bit of info from a DB driver, we dont know about the bus ahead of us or behind of us, no point in getting pissy with us because the bus did not turn up.
    "I m going to be late for work because of DB your all a shower of ********* you F****** B******"
    Bus Driver internal voice " Well your F***** now , ,this bus is going to crawl out the road."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,330 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

I made a complaint recently over the phone to one of the garages about unusual service curtailment in my area and was told the drivers have families to go home to too. Go Bus need to be awarded the whole service and this lot put out of it.

Sure us drivers are as hard as nails, a brick through the window into the face wont cause us any problems. It will just be a cool bedtime time story to tell to the children.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,403 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

I was waiting for a bus and nothing turned up for forty minutes. Just after I got on a woman complained to the driver about the bad service. I felt sorry for the driver having to explain that he could only account for his bus and not for the missing buses that were supposed to precede him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,992 ✭✭✭Mongfinder General

How on earth is a bus driver supposed to know where other buses are? He/she can only drive their own bus. By complaining to a bus driver about a non performing is only delaying the journey further. Never mind the 50 other folks on the bus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,330 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

The unusual curtailment was the buses shutdown at random wasn't due to antisocial behaviour rather the drivers took their buses and went home.

I see here is not the place to post such grievances

Its bus town round these parts. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,599 ✭✭✭✭CIARAN_BOYLE

I've taken an 11 bus twice in the evening. Both times the driver announced that the bus was full and he was taking a short cut which would avoid a number of stops.

Is this policy or is drivers making a decision? I can understand how passengers at those stops would be pissed off. No bus visible to pass them by and not collect them. But it doesn't really make a difference to them.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 86 ✭✭dublinstevie

Is this policy or is drivers making a decision? I can understand how passengers at those stops would be pissed off. No bus visible to pass them by and not collect them. But it doesn't really make a difference to them.

I've taken an 11 bus twice in the evening. Both times the driver announced that the bus was full and he was taking a short cut which would avoid a number of stops.

they would have been directed by central control to do that to try and catch up on time if they are running late

What about passengers who wanted to get off at the stops now being cut out?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

devnull wrote: »
    What about passengers who wanted to get off at the stops now being cut out?
    Does not compute

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,470 ✭✭✭howiya

When i first saw this thread it got me wondering what is a successful resolution to a complaint to DB?

I don't think DB offer a good service but I don't see what I get out of telling this via email. I presume in most instances they just issue a "sorry for any inconvenience, please **** off" reply

I'll interact with them on twitter to ensure I'm not left standing at a bus stop for a bus that isn't coming but other than that I don't see the point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 243 ✭✭Kyleboy

What was the short cut? What stops did he miss?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,599 ✭✭✭✭CIARAN_BOYLE

Kyleboy wrote: »

I'm not a regular 11 user. I've used it twice in the evenings at rush hours and both times there was a diversion. I just asked the question because curtailment and diversions were being discussed.

Sorry I can't give more details.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,633 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

I would say he went like the crow flies and flew over the houses.

Hard to say as I've never heard of a bus taking a diversion like that only if there was a road closure or incident of some sort.

I'm not a regular 11 user. I've used it twice in the evenings at rush hours and both times there was a diversion. I just asked the question because curtailment and diversions were being discussed.

I drive the 11 route regularly, if there is a diversion it's under the instructions of central control and the bus being full would be irrelevant. I don't know any driver that would go off route unless instructed to, as this could lead to serious repercussions with management.

Convenient, not a regular user, only used it twice, so dont know the route or maybe it did not happen, and you are making it up
    Its gone from a short cut to a diversion, I know the 11 route well and cant think of any shortcuts along the way.

I think its safe to say he has been caught in a lie!

bebeman wrote: »
    I think its safe to say he has been caught in a lie!

Yes, i think so!!

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 14,097 Mod ✭✭✭✭monument

bebeman and Kyleboy -- you're getting overly defensive about Dublin Bus when it's easy to see a 3-4 places on the route where a "short-cut" could be taken and there's nothing to show that the poster is making it up.

The two of you have already been recently warned about this kind of posting.

I know years ago when there were 11a and b some were passing by at say ranelagh so one would transfer passengers and pull in instead of going all the way.

I don't think happens now as such a gap between them.

Can't see too many short cuts unless was just to miss a stop like bird ave or something like that.

Having personal attacks, discussing moderation and trolling are not acceptable in this forum.

Nobody is sanctioned here or has their posts deleted because of what they are posting or airing their opinions, they are sanctioned because of their posting style and the way that they are posting not being in line with Boards rules and the forum charter.

Let's make this place where alternative viewpoints aren't vilified, but challenged with well constructed, respectful counterpoints. If you can't manage that, then I would suggest you refrain from posting. If you do post, and ignore the charter and basic rules of the site you can expect to be sanctioned.

It is mandatory for everyone to read this post before posting again and not to reply to this message.

Can anyone here name 3-4 short cuts on the 11 route?

Anti DB posters are caught in a lie and now have doubled down on the lie.
    Name the short cuts, should not be hard if its true or admit it is a blatant lie

I know at times a driver may be told to take numbers off and continue on but only let people off to get back on time.

I would like to think what happened above is something that wouldn't usually happen.

Its a very strange one as it could cause issues with passengers already on board.

Anti DB posters are caught in a lie and now have doubled down on the lie.
    Name the short cuts, should not be hard if its true or admit it is a blatant lie

I think we could be waiting a while for an answer to this one!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,236 ✭✭✭lucernarian

I know at times a driver may be told to take numbers off and continue on but only let people off to get back on time.

I would like to think what happened above is something that wouldn't usually happen.

Its a very strange one as it could cause issues with passengers already on board.
    And the location of the bus is visible to central control at all times, they have an inspector looking over the likes of the 11.

Even with the best will in the world, this story is lacking credibility. There are legitimate reasons to dispute this version of events.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 86 ✭✭dublinstevie

i think he is talking ****e

Next day after 2 posters make a claim here and in no way can they back it up, i think it is safe to say the 2 of them are liars!
    The anti DB view pushed here is blatantly obvious, not even a attempt to be subtle about it, just the posting of straight up lies.
    Shameful stuff!
    I sense the ban hammer is not far away for me.

Indeed -- you got enough warnings -- we'll start with two days and see if that changes anything and it'll be longer next time if it doesn't.

Depending on traffic, works, collisions etc:

An easy one: Onto the N11/R138 for some or part of the section between Stillorgan and near the canals, in any direction.

Sallymount Ave rather than Chelmsford Road (only a small one, yes)

Marlborough Ave rather than Chelmsford Road / Appian Way

Griffith Ave instead of Home Farm

Baggot St and Fitzwilliam Place / Street rather than via Eastern side of the Green

Hatch and Earlsfort Terrace is freer when Leeson St is backed up

Various way around the College Green / Kildare Street that don't usually make sense but can because of a collision etc

......I'm very sorry, I didn't answer the question, I actually gave seven plus examples.... :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,290 ✭✭✭bobbyss

Does not compute

What does that mean?

How on earth is a bus driver supposed to know where other buses are? He/she can only drive their own bus. By complaining to a bus driver about a non performing is only delaying the journey further. Never mind the 50 other folks on the bus.

I did ask a bus driver once about a previous bus not showing up, to see if he knew anything. He didn't, I said fair enough, sat down. End of, as far as I thought. When I was getting off the bus again he recognised me, said he'd radioed back and asked, and he told me what had happened. Fair play to him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,290 ✭✭✭bobbyss

]See:[/quote]

Thanks.
    If the bus is skipping stops what about the passengers whose stops are being skipped? What if a passenger has a physcial disability eg is blind ? Wouldn't DB have an obligation there?
    The link refers to cognitive dissonance and so on but what about those passengers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 896 ✭✭✭Bray Head

I generally make a written complaint in an envelope marked 'private and confidential' to the CEO of Dublin Bus.
    Be highly specific about the route number, direction, reg and bus stop number.
    You will generally get a prompt response and at least senior management are actually being made aware of how appalling their service is for customers.

Bray Head wrote: »
    I generally make a written complaint in an envelope marked 'private and confidential' to the CEO of Dublin Bus.
    Be highly specific about the route number, direction, reg and bus stop number.
    You will generally get a prompt response and at least senior management are actually being made aware of how appalling their service is for customers.

Good lad, i bet they can't sleep at night after reading about their appalling service.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 896 ✭✭✭Bray Head

Good lad, i bet they can't sleep at night after reading about their appalling service.

I would think that most of these complaints don't filter up effectively except in aggregate form.

Your cynicism is refreshing however and a welcome antidote to the sincerity of the internet!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,470 ✭✭✭howiya

Bray Head wrote: »
    I would think that most of these complaints don't filter up effectively except in aggregate form.

Your cynicism is refreshing however and a welcome antidote to the sincerity of the internet!

I'll add to the cynicism. Do you think that management don't know that their service isn't very good??

After all we only know about the bus we're waiting on to show up or already onboard. They already have access to the bigger picture with all the data they have.

When you make a complaint to Dublin Bus, what can they do to resolve your complaint?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,010 ✭✭✭kildare lad

Some people just love complaining. bus drivers have a tough enough job without people making there lifes harder. The bus drivers cant controls, traffic, crashs or the weather. Buses are gonna run late sometimes thats just the nature of public transport. I worked in retail before and got reported to a manager for yawning. It could have cost me my job. thankfully my manager had a bit of cop on to know that some people have there head up their own ass. Nowadays every bloody idiot is on facebook complaining and sharing things, ie got a cold coffee here, please share or a worker ignorned me bla bla bla. Some people just love moaning and complaining and the people in dublin Bus know that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,891 ✭✭✭prinzeugen

I had my leg trapped in the door of a 83 2 years ago as the driver closed the doors as I stepped onto the bus. (I was the only person getting on).

Plenty calls from DB and sent them a scan of the ticket, stop number etc.

Could not find the CCTV.. As far as they were concerned it did not happen.

If it ever happens call the Garda ASAP.

prinzeugen wrote: »
    I had my leg trapped in the door of a 83 2 years ago as the driver closed the doors as I stepped onto the bus. (I was the only person getting on).

Plenty calls from DB and sent them a scan of the ticket, stop number etc.

Could not find the CCTV.. As far as they were concerned it did not happen.

If it ever happens call the Garda ASAP.

What are you on about....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,891 ✭✭✭prinzeugen

What are you on about....

The fact its a waste of time complaining to Dublin Bus? Is this not what the tread is about???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,387 ✭✭✭brokenarms

Garda would just love that call.

Hope you did not lose the leg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 609 ✭✭✭Pete Moss

Some people just love complaining. bus drivers have a tough enough job without people making there lifes harder. The bus drivers cant controls, traffic, crashs or the weather. Buses are gonna run late sometimes thats just the nature of public transport. I worked in retail before and got reported to a manager for yawning. It could have cost me my job. thankfully my manager had a bit of cop on to know that some people have there head up their own ass. Nowadays every bloody idiot is on facebook complaining and sharing things, ie got a cold coffee here, please share or a worker ignorned me bla bla bla. Some people just love moaning and complaining and the people in dublin Bus know that.

Some people don't fancy putting up with crap services either, especially when they're paying for them - that's not a dig at DB by the way, but in response to people who use social media to complain.

Why wouldn't you tell people if service is crap somewhere? Customer service can be subjective, and some complaints can be from people who definitely do love to have a moan, but at the same time, if it stops someone from getting ripped off by a dodgy tradesman, or stops people paying for a below par service, then it's helpful. Certainly more helpful than the old, small-time Irish attitude of "ah sure, that's just the way it is, so ye can like it or lump it".

The bigger problem with using a complaint system in public transport, or any public service with a view to improving the service is that there's no alternative. People can't vote with their wallets by selecting an another service. Not only this, but management don't really have the resources to make drastic improvements either based on complaints, so nothing really comes from it.

Bus times are sometimes beyond the control of the drivers and central control, and in fairness services like Twitter do help DB inform people of delays in routes. In saying that, there's no excuse for management not taking complaints about specific incidents on board, like dangerous driving or a bus failing to service a stop.

Theres plenty of other services out there, Bus eireann, Train, Luas, Cycling to use. Its only 3,50 or something into town god sake, what type of service are you looking for?? Are you expecting the red carpet treatment. Ive used Dublin bus all my life and never once had a reason to make a serious complaint, Yes a bus might have been 10 mins late the odd time or ive had to stand all the way from town another, but im not that sad to ring up and start complaining.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 609 ✭✭✭Pete Moss

Don't go reading my post before you reply whatever you do.

Pete Moss wrote: »
    Don't go reading my post before you reply whatever you do.

Sorry, its a little bit early in the morning..lol... I agree with some aspects of your post , regarding better services etc. I'm just a little biased after working in retail for a few years and dealing with the public, that some people literally look for an excuse for moan and make themselves feel important.