Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Man challenges "private company" in his dole office

• 21-10-2017 1:49am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,283 ✭✭✭

It seems that people are being forced to sign up to a "private company" or have their dole cut.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,073 ✭✭✭jos22

here the forum about that company
    https://www.boards.ie/b/thread/2057498034

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭Jim Bob Scratcher

That woman has great patience

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,095 ✭✭✭Rubberchikken

Ok well be having a rail strike. Thanks for the update.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

That woman has great patience

did she know she was being recorded??

isn't their privacy laws against this sort of thing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭entropi

fryup wrote: »
    did she know she was being recorded??

isn't their privacy laws against this sort of thing?
    I'm no legal expert, but in Ireland I believe only one party needs consent. Anyone with more knowledge than I can feel free to correct that statement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 853 ✭✭✭duffysfarm

i wonder who recorded that conversation? i lways thought it was illegal to record a conversation without the other persons consent?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,922 ✭✭✭snowflaker

Its his dole office???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

Sounds like a brilliant organisation. Weed out those that are able, but don’t want to work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,298 ✭✭✭Snotty

duffysfarm wrote: »
    i wonder who recorded that conversation? i lways thought it was illegal to record a conversation without the other persons consent?

No, as long as one party to the conversation consents to the recording, it is perfectly legal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,439 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

This is a perfect example of how NOT to deal with the complex causes of unemployment, particularly long term unemployment

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

What absolute horsesh1t.

Freemen of the land idiots still banging about I see.

Maybe he should just get a job instead of wasting civil servants time with his nonsense.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭Rumpy Pumpy

Unitedpeople.ie is a political party who have taken this on as their core issue. Seems you should continue to get social welfare even though you shouldn’t engage with organisations who are trying to assist you in getting a job. It’s a national scandal according to the website. The scandal according to the amateur lawyers is that the company contracted to assist you on getting off the scratcher is 1) a private company, 2) British.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,568 ✭✭✭BillyBobBS

Looks in After Hours, see's another dole thread and closes boards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

If only he would put the same energy into finding work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,412 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Was the dole lady on her oath? And wearing her hat?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,348 ✭✭✭GhostyMcGhost

I’m fully aware of my rights

hahahahaha.... I’m fully aware he’s a clown. Soon to be a broke clown when his welfare is stopped

Sure he has issues with the forms he’s asked to sign but to pester the woman only trying to do her job is a dirty thing to do. It’s clear he needs to ask his questions to a TD at least. ‘Excercising’ his rights to the ground staff who have protocols to follow just shows him up to be a clueless fool

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭donegaLroad

I started listening to that clip without knowing what it was about, or what ppp is... After listening to the first 2 minutes, I thought that this guy had a point. Never sign anything without reading it through. It's basic cop on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

The pictures that accompany the video say enough even without hearing a second of audio.

I started listening to that clip without knowing what it was about, or what ppp is... After listening to the first 2 minutes, I thought that this guy had a point. Never sign anything without reading it through. It's basic cop on.

He’s read it. He wants to take it to someone for advice. I doubt he can afford a solicitor so off to waste more of our money by taking it straight to flac

Complete waste of our taxes. But he won’t be getting any in 2 weeks time

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭donegaLroad

He’s read it. He wants to take it to someone for advice. I doubt he can afford a solicitor so off to waste more of our money by taking it straight to flac

Complete waste of our taxes. But he won’t be getting any in 2 weeks time

Ok, I think I get it.. but why wasn't he allowed to take it away before signing it?

Also, what is 'flac'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭Joshua J

jos22 wrote: »
    here the forum about that company
    https://www.boards.ie/b/thread/2057498034
    I love how this thread gets closed because it wasn't on message. Shills in high places.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,733 ✭✭✭Nermal

If these wasters put the same energy into finding a job as they do into trying to prove they're not subject to the law they wouldn't have to go near a dole office.

Ok, I think I get it.. but why wasn't he allowed to take it away before signing it?

Also, what is 'flac'

Free legal advice centre

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

"Missing meetings is a matter of opinion"

What?

This guy is a right tool. Social welfare have contracted a company to do whatever, but this lad thinks that as he hasn't contracted them, he's not obliged to engage with them. What kind of logic is that?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 36 Red Corvette

I don't understand the hate towards the unemployed in this thread. We're all entitled to claim assistance if we were to lose our jobs. I have read about these English companies. They just take you in and you job hunt in their presence. Nothing you can't do at home. But they force people to spend money travelling and make them go out of the way to these meetings. But the force that they use is using your jobseekers benefit and threaten to cut you off if you don't engage with them. There's something wrong with the whole process.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,261 ✭✭✭Sonics2k

The absolute nonsense and shíte coming out of this man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,120 ✭✭✭✭elperello

The post offers a fascinating insight into the system as practiced daily in offices all over the country.
    Both parties remained calm throughout and respected each other.

The man has assessed his situation and has decided to engage in a bit of citizen activism to try to address what he perceives as a wrong.
    Some people would say that when a citizen considers he is being dealt with unfairly he has the right, even the duty to stand up for himself.

There are many questions about the activities of this company. Here is another link http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057682696

Rather than dismiss this as "another dole thread" we might look a little deeper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,261 ✭✭✭Sonics2k

elperello wrote: »
    The post offers a fascinating insight into the system as practiced daily in offices all over the country.

The man has assessed his situation and has decided to engage in a bit of citizen activism to try to address what he perceives as a wrong.
    Some people would say that when a citizen considers he is being dealt with unfairly he has the right, even the duty to stand up for himself.

There are many questions about the activities of this company. Here is another link http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057682696

Rather than dismiss this as "another dole thread" we might look a little deeper.

At the end of the day, if you're on the dole you have to follow certain rules in order to stay on the dole.

1. Show that you're actively looking to get a job.

2. If needs be, the DSP may choose to send you to an office such as Seetec or Turas Nua and they will go over your CV, do some practice interviews and stuff, and then send you off to do some interviews.

There's a funny irony that the people whinging about Turas Nua/Seetec are also those who just 'happen' to be out of work for a long time. Like, years and years.

This guy goes on about his 'rights', which has nothing to do with this. He does not have a right to get benefits or unemployment. He has to meet certain criteria.

The lady was extremely polite and broke down exactly why he's on a penalty rate, what the PPP is and how to get the full rate of payments back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,297 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

elperello wrote: »

Just a thought, but if you get a job you don't have to deal with these companies?

So maybe the lad in question could direct his intellect and activities in that direction instead of trying to find silly loopholes to stay on the dole?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Want free money? Do what you're told.
    Don't want to sign something? Don't and then fund your own lifestyle.

3 minutes in and I couldn't take another second of it, poor woman only doing her job and having to deal with that nonsense. Imagine how victimised he'd feel if he had to work if he's so appalled at having to sign a form

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 255 ✭✭foxatron

She was very patient. If he wanted some advice why didn't he bring in a solicitor with him. If you want the money sign the form. If you don't want to sign the form then don't expect me to pay for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭Marty Bird

What an absolute tit that lad is, every time the woman answered his questions he moved the goalposts first he wouldn’t sign without a copy she gives him the copy he says I don’t have to sign this and I want it in writing.

If he spent as much effort looking for work he would have no problem I’m sure. And that old chestnut “I never received the letter” I’m sure he received the one that said he was been cut money.

🌞6.02kWp⚡️3.01kWp South/East⚡️3.01kWp West

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,185 ✭✭✭screamer

I don't understand the hate towards the unemployed in this thread. We're all entitled to claim assistance if we were to lose our jobs. I have read about these English companies. They just take you in and you job hunt in their presence. Nothing you can't do at home. But they force people to spend money travelling and make them go out of the way to these meetings. But the force that they use is using your jobseekers benefit and threaten to cut you off if you don't engage with them. There's something wrong with the whole process.

No there isn't. It's applying a sufficient amount of pressure and inconvenience in order that you'd just say stuff that and go and get a job. I've no problem with that. And there are those who just call into a company and ask them to stamp s letter to say they applied for a job but didn't get it when it's bull. This way there's a record of what was and wasn't applied for. I think it's a great idea to get the work shy off the taxpayers backs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,439 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

screamer wrote: »
    No there isn't. It's applying a sufficient amount of pressure and inconvenience in order that you'd just say stuff that and go and get a job. I've no problem with that. And there are those who just call into a company and ask them to stamp s letter to say they applied for a job but didn't get it when it's bull. This way there's a record of what was and wasn't applied for. I think it's a great idea to get the work shy off the taxpayers backs

talk to those that have been forced to deal with these companies, this is a dreadful way to deal with the complex causes of long term unemployment

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,211 ✭✭✭✭Suckit

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,613 ✭✭✭server down

I’ve a feeling that opinions on these companies might change in the next recession. Although hopefully if you are on the “stamps” there’s none of that bullsh1t.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,185 ✭✭✭screamer

Wanderer78 wrote: »
    talk to those that have been forced to deal with these companies, this is a dreadful way to deal with the complex causes of long term unemployment

If you have a job you often have to engage with people that treat you badly.... What difference when on the dole, you get some money and you're offered some help to get back to employment. If you don't want to/ like to/ wish to engage then don't and don't go whining about having no money. You can't have it all ways.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭evolving_doors

screamer wrote: »
    If you have a job you often have to engage with people that treat you badly.... What difference when on the dole, you get some money and you're offered some help to get back to employment. If you don't want to/ like to/ wish to engage then don't and don't go whining about having no money. You can't have it all ways.

Two wrongs don't make a right though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,160 ✭✭✭Huntergonzo

What an absolute fúcking waster, all he seems to be concerned with is making complaints against people trying to help him (probably because he's bored) and of course claiming free money rather than trying to get employment.

I have zero time for these fúcking 'professional welfare recipients', why we as a society tolerate them is completely beyond me, it should be contribute or you're on your own.

Ps, just to acknowledge though, I understand that many people do actually need help and I have no issue with that. My comments are aimed squarely at those who are capable of contributing but prefer to sponge off the state.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,283 ✭✭✭Dr Brown

Anyone know if this is the same "private company" who caused people on the dole in England to commit suicide ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

Imagine, you're on job seekers benefit and you're made look for work. What horrible world we live in. You post suggests that you think job SEEKERS benefit is

Exact same thing is done in Germany and it works perfectly well. The people who complain about this set up probably have no interest in finding work what so ever and the idea that they are being made to do so is "infringing on their civil rights"... LOL :pac:

Laziness is incredibly complex :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,116 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

Some comment on the youtube page
    This is shocking. We don't live in a democracy and anybody who thinks we do is living in cloud cuckoo land. This lady is like the guard at Auschwitz who said he was only doing his job, herself and her private company Turas Nua should be chased out of Limerick and everywhere else this British company is operating. People need to wake up and get rid of these bullies and thugs. Well done Gregory for standing up to these Black and Tans

:rolleyes::rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,283 ✭✭✭Dr Brown

Want free money? Do what you're told.
    Don't want to sign something? Don't and then fund your own lifestyle.

3 minutes in and I couldn't take another second of it, poor woman only doing her job and having to deal with that nonsense. Imagine how victimised he'd feel if he had to work if he's so appalled at having to sign a form

It sounded like the gentleman was just standing up for his rights.

Yes even people on the dole have rights.

You don't have to sign away your rights just because the government tell you to do so.

RasTa wrote: »
    Some comment on the youtube page

:rolleyes::rolleyes:

I'd imagine that's another welfare waster, well either that or they enjoy paying taxes to support 'jobseekers' who aren't actually seeking jobs. Not too clever either way!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭Stonedpilot

Nermal wrote: »
    If these wasters put the same energy into finding a job as they do into trying to prove they're not subject to the law they wouldn't have to go near a dole office.

Stupid point. Many unemployed people spend ages looking for work. It might not be in their area or suitable. Loads of people with masters etc unemployed.

Think your brainwashed watching too much Jeremy Kyle all day. Very few if any unemployed people are like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,588 ✭✭✭derfderf

There's a ruddy great smell in AH today.

Stupid point. Many unemployed people spend ages looking for work. It might not be in their area or suitable. Loads of people with masters etc unemployed.

Think your brainwashed watching too much Jeremy Kyle all day. Very few if any unemployed people are like that.

Many unemployed people are seeking work, no question about that, however many are also wasters who have never and will never work, that's the reality.

We're a bit too soft in this country, we need to identify those people who feel entitled to a free living and cut them off, sorry but mammy and daddy have to get tough at some stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭Stonedpilot

You know nobody on boards actually do that. Just ego masturbate and sneer from their ivory towers dole scrounger this and that without knowing peoples circumstances at all. Anyway half on this are on the dole (some of those with tens of thousands of posts cough). The hypocrisy is stagerring on this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

Marty Bird wrote: »
    And that old chestnut “I never received the letter” I’m sure he received the one that said he was been cut money.

This is why government agencies often have no option but to effectively 'waste' €6.35* with so many letters sent out by registered post to certain members of the public who point blank claim they never received it otherwise. Not to mention the wasted time and public money on someone having to do up that registered post, visit the post office and stand in a queue maybe for 30 seconds or maybe for 15+ minutes at a go in the post office, all out of the taxpayers' pocket. I'm not talking legal letters etc, but rather just letters like "your appointment is at 2.30pm next Thursday" type of stuff.

*If I'm correct it's €7.25 for a registered post letter vs 90c for a standard letter, hence the €6.35.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,297 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

What does that mean?

Look, if you're a brickie, a hairdresser, or a computer programmer, it doesn't mean you are forever condemned to doing those jobs......if there's a job that requires a lesser level of skill why wouldn't you take it?? Then work your way back to your chosen area of work......it's easier to get a job when you've got a job as the old adage goes.