Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Romanian twins and the Dart beggars

• 19-10-2017 7:30pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭

I'm on the Dart to Bray earlier when an attractive young Romanian-looking lady in double denim, with a pink hood at the back and her hair in a bun, comes up and places a matchbox-sized note and a packet of tissues on the seat beside me. We make eye contact and she smiles and walks down the carraige, doing the same thing to every other seat.

The note is typed and reads something like: "Hello. I am not a beggar, but please buy my tissues off me." There was a bit in between the beggar and sales part which I can't remember; not that it matters because I have no need for tissues. She could make a bomb if she operated inside therapists' offices, cinemas, strip clubs and in groups for a bunch of chronic flu-ridden c*nts, but she chose the Dart to push her product for some reason.

Thirty seconds later she returns and starts collecting her notes and tissue packets off the seats, her face saltier than the sea to the left of us because nobody takes any notice of her whatsoever. We make eye contact again, but this time there's no smile from her end, just bitterness as if to say, 'I smiled at you and you do me like this?' and she f*cks off to the next carraige.

That's grand, but a few minutes later we're passing Glenageary or Sandycove - one of those sh*t stations nobody actually gives a f*ck about - and I spot a familiar face on the platform about to get on. It's an attractive young Romanian lady......in double denim........with a bun.......and a pink hood hanging out the back. Double trouble.

Sure enough, this one places a note on the seat beside me, but no tissues this time. I can't remember what this note said but I imagine she left out the 'I'm no beggar' part considering she wasn't offering anything in return, unlike her sister who was at least selling - or trying to sell - some obscure brand of tissue to us.

They both get off at Shankhill, with the older and slightly taller-looking one - the one with the tissues - walking much further ahead than her sister. I don't know if they were trying to make it look like they didn't know one another, or whether the older one was pissed off because her business partner forgot her tissues, but it was quite an odd experience which I'd never seen before.

I can't get my head around the fact they were dressed the same. It's very possible that they were identical twins and were just doing that twin thing of copying each other, though it wouldn't surprise me if there was some sort of angle.

Any ideas?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85,547 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

Just smile and tell her to fook right off.

It was going on about a year ago and then stopped, was a bloke doing it then, he would get agressive if you didn't give him money. There's a similar scam where they hand you a pen at traffic lights with note attached and expect money for it, the trick is to put your window up and ignore, nice free pen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

It's a common scam across Europe and part of an organised Roma begging ring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭Hammer89

Where's the scam element though?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,037 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Romanians will be up in arms over the thread title

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,613 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

Hammer89 wrote: »

You get a litre of milk instead of the tissues you expected.

Not your ornery onager

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,995 ✭✭✭Ipso

What's Romanian looking? I sued to work with a Romanian and if I were to guess I'd think she was Italian.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,426 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Esel wrote: »

You get a litre of milk instead of the tissues you expected.

Can I not get a pen ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭Noveight

Should've left her your own note telling her double denim hasn't been in fashion since Van Halen were number 1 on the charts.

tumblr_lpoyztcw051qclt3z.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,037 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Ipso wrote: »
    What's Romanian looking? I sued to work with a Romanian and if I were to guess I'd think she was Italian.

He means Roma looking

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,629 ✭✭✭✭elperello

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,000 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Best to just ignore them or bring them to the attention of ticket collectors or whatever the equivalent is on the dart

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,995 ✭✭✭Ipso

He means Roma looking

Who are descended from people who came from North India.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Grandeeod

Romanian people must get seriously fooked off with this depiction of them. Its Roma Gypsies. This forum would be up in arms if English people used the term, "Irish" to describe a well known minority involved in bad tarmacing of driveways. Technically correct, but we'd all be rushing to distance ourselves from them.

Anyway, this kind of sales tactic has been around a long time. They used to do it door to door too. Welcome to multicultural Ireland OP.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,022 ✭✭✭jamesbere

Am I the only one who thinks this would be a good name for a band

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Grandeeod

jamesbere wrote: »
    Am I the only one who thinks this would be a good name for a band

No doubt about it. Two fit birds from Romania and backed up by a shower of alcoholic musicians from Dublin. It couldn't work any other way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,245 ✭✭✭myshirt

I seen these f"ckers before. One of them told me a very racist joke about people of an African origin aswell. I'm no prude, but it's not on. I was definitely not buying their tissues after that.

So, any theories on why they wore the same clothes?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,330 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

Jebus racist much, lowest possible low I've seen in a while.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 772 ✭✭✭the dark phantom

Grandeeod wrote: »
    No doubt about it. Two fit birds from Romania and backed up by a shower of alcoholic musicians from Dublin. It couldn't work any other way.

That would be an internet sensation. You could picture the twins singing and stripping off to their undies in front of well known Dublin landmarks with the alcoholics and junkies doing back up vocals to scenes of chaos and fighting in the background.

elperello wrote: »

Normally there is a team of two – the feedback from people has been that if you even touch the packet of tissues, you get hassled. Older people and children are usually targeted because they are more vulnerable. The scammers will demand payment – the packet of tissues will cost 50 cent but they will ask for 10 times that.”

This is the interesting bit for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,004 ✭✭✭✭AlekSmart

That would be an internet sensation. You could picture the twins singing and stripping off to their undies in front of well known Dublin landmarks with the alcoholics and junkies doing back up vocals to scenes of chaos and fighting in the background.

Wow !...you might just have something there.....just needs a really good agent......I hear there's a lad called Weinstein offering good rates and guaranteed placement....Way to Go :D

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

Charles Mackay (1812-1889)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,236 ✭✭✭Sam Quentin

The poor girl, should've give her at least 50c no tissues.. Miserable git.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,496 ✭✭✭Will I Am Not

50 romanians to a 3 bed house.

Not a creature was stirring, not even a mouse.

The IT fellas need to figure out ways to ban IP addresses or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 555 ✭✭✭shaunr68

Romanian people must get seriously fooked off with this depiction of them. Its Roma Gypsies. This forum would be up in arms if English people used the term, "Irish" to describe a well known minority involved in bad tarmacing of driveways. Technically correct, but we'd all be rushing to distance ourselves from them.
    Indeed. The pair were more likely from Slovakia, Hungary or Bulgaria. Romania is culturally, linguistically and architecturally Italian and we didn't see as many Roma there as other parts of the continent. It seems that every Lidl in central and southern Europe has its very own mother and child Romani begging duo.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Romani_diaspora

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 492 ✭✭Gerrup Outta Dat!

The IT fellas need to figure out ways to ban IP addresses or something.

They block IPs, but you can just use a proxy, and a disposable email address. Perhaps sms verification would be worth looking into.

shaunr68 wrote: »
    Indeed. The pair were more likely from Slovakia, Hungary or Bulgaria.

They were from heaven.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,737 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

I'm on the Dart to Bray earlier when an attractive young Romanian-looking lady in double denim, with a pink hood at the back and her hair in a bun, comes up and places a matchbox-sized note and a packet of tissues on the seat beside me. We make eye contact and she smiles

Got as far as this and thought "sounds like he's gonna need the tissues...gigitty".

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

They were called the Cheeky Girls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

Why does everyone think roma are romanian? Why dont they think theyre alll from rome in italy if theyre guessing where theyre from by the name of their gypsy tribe

People from romania look east european
    Roma/romani gypsies are not european looking, they descended from a part of India long ago.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,986 ✭✭✭philstar

the 1st post is too long, can someone please put it into a nutshell for me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,230 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

Op posts something about people trying to guilt trip you in to buying tissues (yes it's classed as a scam by many) but in true after hours fashion people focus on roma and Romanian differences and how much the op is wrong.

Stay classy after hours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,431 ✭✭✭MilesMorales1

The scam part is when they accuse you of touching the tissues thus having 'bought' them and decide to hassle you for money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,357 ✭✭✭hawkelady

Jesus , those tissue touts and lads in Liberia calling you ! You wouldn't have a minute

Not Your Ornery Onager

It's all lies.

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,438 ✭✭✭✭endacl

philstar wrote: »

tlXcHO.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,400 ✭✭✭lukesmom

man sees twin.
    twin smiles at man.
    man smiles back.
    twin has a plan.
    man doesn't pay.
    twin no more smile.
    man understands.
    twin really riled.
    man thinks its odd.
    twin 2 appears.
    no tissues now.
    time for some beers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,100 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Myself and friend were on the DART recently same thing.

This girl/woman got on and did the tissue laying thing.

When she came back for her money my friend dived into her bag and instead of a fiver produced a packet of tissues and waved them. God I nearly snorted out loud.

Girl/woman obviously swore in her own bad lingo. But just went away anyway.

Avoid eye contact. That is the key, just totally ignore. Unlike my friend.

Not Your Ornery Onager

We seem to be stationary under a bridge.

Not your ornery onager

Shagged them both didn't I, in between the carriages. Started at Salthill & Monkstown and was sat back down by the time we reached Dun Laoghaire.

Not a euphemism by the way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,236 ✭✭✭Sam Quentin

At least they're not out of their faces.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,108 ✭✭✭Roger Mellie Man on the Telly

I knew you'd end up humping them. Hammer porn king

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,535 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

If I had the balls I'd be tempted to pick up the tissues and start thanking her profusely for being so considerate handing out free tissues and leg it off the next stop.

To thine own self be true

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭Jim Bob Scratcher

wakka12 wrote: »
    Why does everyone think roma are romanian? Why dont they think theyre alll from rome in italy if theyre guessing where theyre from by the name of their gypsy tribe

Roma/romani gypsies are not european looking, they descended from a part of India long ago.

I didn't see any of them against Chelsea the last night :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 208 ✭✭brainfreeze

wakka12 wrote: »

Because some people think Roma is short for Romanian. They think they are Romanian gypsies.

People come to these conclusions themselves as children, and are never corrected as an adult.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,351 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

We've plenty of our own too. That short lad with the thick glasses who pretends to be deaf and has a laminated note begging for money is still knocking about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,496 ✭✭✭Will I Am Not

We've plenty of our own too. That short lad with the thick glasses who pretends to be deaf and has a laminated note begging for money is still knocking about.

Man, I hate this type of post. The guy gave a description of the girls, nothing more.
    It’s like a default setting for some people. Foreigners mentioned, better find an example of the same thing from Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,351 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Man, I hate this type of post. The guy gave a description of the girls, nothing more.
    It’s like a default setting for some people. Foreigners mentioned, better find an example of the same thing from Ireland.

Imagine talking about beggars in a topic about beggars.

Sending all my thoughts and prayers at this difficult time for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,944 ✭✭✭Sugarlumps

Person stationed out in Ballsbridge just passed Centra. Camped out in a sleeping bag, sign reads “need money for hostel”. Saw him scampering off, brand new flashy pair of sneakers. There wasted on the streets, should be in advertising.