Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Terms and phrases that came and went...

• Registered Users Posts: 10,299 ✭✭✭✭branie2

myshirt wrote: »
    Fine words will butter no parsnips.

I heard that phrase on an episode of Round the Horne on tape, a 1960s radio show which featured Kenneth Williams

• Registered Users Posts: 772 ✭✭✭baaba maal

Estrellita wrote: »
    I can't say I've ever used the word, but I recall 'shhhwing' being a thing. How do I even remember that.

From Wayne's World!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,439 ✭✭✭tupenny

Geh dza boh!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,245 ✭✭✭myshirt

branie2 wrote: »
    I heard that phrase on an episode of Round the Horne on tape, a 1960s radio show which featured Kenneth Williams

I will add to that that no one butters parsnips anymore, nor butters their bacon, or bacon's up a sausage

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,360 ✭✭✭Lorelli!

Craiiiiig David!

My brother nearly got punched in the face one night because he kept saying it to some fella with a goatee! :/:)

Lorelli! wrote: »
    Describing people as shapers, stone mad and wrote off.

In my youth, "shaper" was inevitably always given the prefix "bleedin'".:)

• Registered Users Posts: 456 ✭✭dusty207

Get up the yard

baaba maal wrote: »
    In my youth, "shaper" was inevitably always given the prefix "bleedin'".:)

Or "bleedin yoke" :D

Giz a job!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,881 ✭✭✭Peatys

Doing your ecker
    Sketch to the barber
    Ah you're snared rapeh
    Geh owa da gardin
    Scarleh for ye

• Registered Users Posts: 5,245 ✭✭✭myshirt

I'll fu*cking burst the bleedin lot of yas.

Haven't heard that in a while

branie2 wrote: »
    Giz a job!

And the other pillar of the Scouse wordplay canon:

CAAAAALLM DOWN! CAAALLM DOWN!

myshirt wrote: »
    I'll fu*cking burst the bleedin lot of yas.

are ya startin?

Stop the lights!

• Registered Users Posts: 456 ✭✭dusty207

Lorelli! wrote: »
    are ya startin?

I'll split ya

• Registered Users Posts: 7,882 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

yurt

• Registered Users Posts: 13,118 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

Referring to a group of girls aswell as guys as "the lads" back in the 90s.

To thine own self be true

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,585 ✭✭✭jca

Mega

• Registered Users Posts: 1,893 ✭✭✭Sultan of Bling

Ya bullin 90

• Registered Users Posts: 1,893 ✭✭✭Sultan of Bling

Do ya want a dig in the snot

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,764 ✭✭✭my3cents

U and non U

but I suppose the 50's is going back toooooo far?

dusty207 wrote: »
    Get up the yard

You smell of Benji

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 15,094 Mod ✭✭✭✭AndyBoBandy

No Shït Sherlock

• Registered Users Posts: 7,509 ✭✭✭the_pen_turner

please and thank you

• Registered Users Posts: 7,509 ✭✭✭the_pen_turner

its all a ball of maula

I'll get me coat