Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

JNLR = October 2017 thread

• 18-10-2017 10:27pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 154 ✭✭Joe Duffy.

Any predictions for next weeks figures, I'd say Dermot and Daves numbers will have collapsed leading to a possible axing. 2fm & Newstalk will be steady

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 687 ✭✭✭reg114

Joe Duffy. wrote: »
    Any predictions for next weeks figures, I'd say Dermot and Daves numbers will have collapsed leading to a possible axing. 2fm & Newstalk will be steady

A huge statement, you'll either look like a soothsayer or silly. Can't really see DnD going but if they do they'll definitely be offered 98fm and given no option but to return to breakfast. 2fm would absolutely give DnD a job too, again on breakfast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

Breakfast Republic to drop listenership....and all the hosts and contributors to get a raise - esp. Lottie Ryan.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 Cominatcha

Breakfast Republic to drop listenership....and all the hosts and contributors to get a raise - esp. Lottie Ryan.

Personally I’d expect little change in any book . 2Fm seems to have stabilized at woeful numbers . Same old same old as all stations become more homegonous. In my view there are few in charge who love radio anymore

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 178 ✭✭KReid

No sackings anywhere, do people ever get sacked for poor JNLR's?

Always interesting to see how Newstalk do, seems to be alot of changes there each year. Hook gone now so we have to wait a year to see how Ciara Kelly is doing!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 154 ✭✭Joe Duffy.

KReid wrote: »
    do people ever get sacked for poor JNLRS!

Eh Yeah lot's of people... Hector, Anton Savage, Louise Duffy, Ray Foley to name just some

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 874 ✭✭✭More Music

KReid wrote: »

Always interesting to see how Newstalk do.........

Dil Wickremasinghe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,361 ✭✭✭Declan A Walsh

Eh Yeah lot's of people... Hector, Anton Savage, Louise Duffy, Ray Foley to name just some

I thought Anton Savage left Today FM because he disagreed with the station's policy. Louise Duffy is still with Today FM. I'm not sure that Ray Foley was sacked either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭ Maeve Old Bubble

I thought Anton Savage left Today FM because he disagreed with the station's policy. Louise Duffy is still with Today FM. I'm not sure that Ray Foley was sacked either.

Louise was Moved a couple of times, we know that, Savage was told his numbers were part of the reason iirc

None were sacked. All were moved or moved/resigned (Anton Savage) themselves.

I'm no fan of Savage's (either personally or professionally), but he wasn't sacked from Today FM.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 154 ✭✭Joe Duffy.

None were sacked. All were moved or moved/resigned (Anton Savage) themselves.

I'm no fan of Savage's (either personally or professionally), but he wasn't sacked from Today FM.

Can't believe people are so gullible to believe Savages PR statement and Ray Foley definitely was sacked from 98fm due to poor jnlr numbers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 141 ✭✭TheLonelyOne

Quote: KReid

Always interesting to see how Newstalk do.........
    More Music wrote: »
    Dil Wickremasinghe.

Was she not let go due to her rantings of the Hook saga and how management handled it yet they used ratings as an excuse or am I misled in thinking that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,926 ✭✭✭Reati

AI'd say Dermot and Daves numbers will have collapsed leading to a possible axing.

Don't say that. I'd have to go read the stories on Joe.ie and the like myself instead of have Dermot and Dave read it to me under the guise of "research" they have done. :rolleyes:

Can't believe people are so gullible to believe Savages PR statement and Ray Foley definitely was sacked from 98fm due to poor jnlr numbers

Savage was removed/removed himself from the show at incredibly short notice. It certainly wasn't a "sacking", at least in the traditional sense of the word. I didn't say anywhere I believed his statement, and I'd be the last to believe anything he or his mother would say. I've no doubt something happened in his last hours at Today FM, but I sincerely doubt he was sacked per se.

Not familiar enough with Foley's departure from 98Fm to comment.

if you have information we don't have, please feel free to share! I'm all ears.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 Hiyadoin

Savage was removed/removed himself from the show at incredibly short notice. It certainly wasn't a "sacking", at least in the traditional sense of the word. I didn't say anywhere I believed his statement, and I'd be the last to believe anything he or his mother would say. I've no doubt something happened in his last hours at Today FM, but I sincerely doubt he was sacked per se.

Not familiar enough with Foley's departure from 98Fm to comment.

if you have information we don't have, please feel free to share! I'm all ears.

ray was removed due to huge differences with management and terrible ratings in comparison to his earnings

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,819 ✭✭✭liam7831

Why does everyone call it a "book" Im sure it's only a few pages

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 815 ✭✭✭todolist

Niall boylan on 4fm should do well.He has interesting callers.Joe duffy seems to be full of people complaining about the **** Irish health service.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,258 ✭✭✭✭Losty Dublin

liam7831 wrote: »

More like a few hundred. The details it contains in its fuller form are are very comprehensive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60 ✭✭Einstein A. Gogo

liam7831 wrote:

It sure is a book! A big book with tons of data.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12 Gerard_David

todolist wrote: »
    Niall boylan on 4fm should do well.He has interesting callers.

4FM have a very small listenership.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12 Gerard_David

What have been the figures for Dublin Talks?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 874 ✭✭✭More Music

As already pointed out, it is/was quite a large book. Term comes from the days when it was "published".

It is of course in digital format now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,819 ✭✭✭liam7831

More Music wrote:
    As already pointed out, it is/was quite a large book. Term comes from the days when it was "published".

More Music wrote:
    It is of course in digital format now.

Thanks, think it's stupid calling it a book when it's nothing of the sort

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 815 ✭✭✭todolist

4FM have a very small listenership.
    FM104 has a big listenership and it's crap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,879 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

If you want to reinvent the English language to make all words have only one meaning, the word "book" would be a good place to start.

http://www.thefreedictionary.com/book

The internet tells me that audience measurement was done in the past by issuing printed diaries for listeners to record their listening habits. That is probably the origin of book in that context.

http://www.audiencedialogue.net/meas-radio.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 181 ✭✭eiresandra

The printed book is still sent to stations each time. Available for collection on the day or next day post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 549 ✭✭✭vince

What day are they out. Lack of George Hook on NT wont be included in this book.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,189 ✭✭✭✭L1011

Tell anyone who's ever had to a move a cupboard containing them they aren't books - they are still very much huge printed tomes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,695 ✭✭✭flangemeistro

Are they out guys or is it tomorrow? I'm almost certain I caught the end of 96fm giving out their figures at the end of the 6pm news.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83 ✭✭smallfridge

Are they out guys or is it tomorrow? I'm almost certain I caught the end of 96fm giving out their figures at the end of the 6pm news.

Out since Noon. Great book for 2fm and Newstalk and Red fm slipped slightly but I wouldn't read too much into 96fm spin, they're still 2nd in Cork (only by a tiny margin mind you) PJ Coogan has retained Number talk show though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,168 ✭✭✭Ursus Horribilis

I wonder did "Joe Duffy" close his account because of his wild Dermot & Dave prediction?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,202 ✭✭✭seanin4711

Where can I see the stats?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭wnolan1992

Late to thread party.

Ray Foley wasn't "sacked" per se AFAIK, his contract expired in November, 3 years after he started the 98FM show and it was extended until Christmas Eve that year but not renewed, largely due to very poor listenership figures.

Again, that's as far as I know from what was said at the time.

ilevel doesn't seem to be updated with the latest figures, so if anyone's got a good reliable source for them that'd be cool.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,670 ✭✭✭MikeyTaylor

If Eoghan McDermott's ratings continue to improve in the Q4 results I wonder will BBC Radio 1 poach him for a show in the UK? He is still with his UK agent Triple A, even if he is not active over there. Shortly after he replaced Colm Hayes, he filmed a pilot for Channel 4, in Paris, with the team who made Gogglebox. As recently as Spring 2015, he said he would like to move back to London. I'm sure his old XFM listeners in London and Manchester miss him much. Although I'm not sure how his girlfriend would take it if he had to move back...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,024 ✭✭✭Owryan

I wonder did "Joe Duffy" close his account because of his wild Dermot & Dave prediction?

He'll back, if he's not already.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,118 ✭✭✭Expunge

Anyone have any idea if the gentleman from ilevel.ie is going to do his usual brilliant parsing of the JNLR book?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 549 ✭✭✭vince

I hope they do red fm v 96fm they didnt last time. Things seem to have changed there. I wonder how Ray Foley did against KC

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭wnolan1992

I've gone through the radiotoday article and summarised as best I can the figures of the nationals, using ilevel for the year on year increases/decreases. I attempted to make a table, but I've never been able to successfully make a BBCode table with columns, so sorry it's not presentable. :P

Also, if I find any other figures to fill in the gaps in the PR statements, I'll edit them in.

RTE Radio 1
    • Morning Ireland: 434,000 in this book, no figures available for 2017Q2 (Book on Book) and a decrease of 10,000 since 2016Q3 (Year on Year)
    • Ryan Tubridy: 330,000 this book, no figures were available for 2017Q2 and an increase of 14,000 since 2016Q3 (Year on Year)
    • Sean O'Rourke: 324,000 this book, no figures were available for 2017Q2 (Book on Book) and a decrease of 1,000 since 2016Q3 (Year on Year)
    • Ronan Collins: 212,000 this book, no figures available for 2017Q2 (Book on Book) and a decrease of 6,000 since 2016Q3 (Year on Year)
    • News at One: No figures available.
    • Liveline: 375,000 this book, no figures available for 2017Q2 (Book on Book) and a decrease of 25,000 since 2016Q3 (Year on Year)
    • Ray D'Arcy: No figures available.
    • DriveTime: 236,000 this book, no figures available for 2017Q2 (Book on Book) and no change since 2016Q3 (Year on Year)
    Note: Interestingly, while both News at One and Ray D'Arcy's figures were not released in the statement, News at One was praised by Tom McGuire when talking up the station, leaving Ray D'Arcy the only unacknowledged daytime show.

RTE 2FM
    • Breakfast Republic: 189,000 this book, up 11,000 since 2017Q2 (Book on Book) and an increase of 44,000 since 2016Q3 (Year on Year)
    • Nicky Byrne and Jenny Greene: 151,000 this book, up 7,000 since 2017Q2 (Book on Book) and up 20,000 since 2016Q3 (Year on Year)
    • Tracy Clifford: 127,000 this book, up 3,000 since 2017Q2 (Book on Book) and an increase of 17,000 since 2016Q3 (Year on Year)
    • Eoghan McDermott: 127,000 this book, up 9,000 since 2017Q2 (Book on Book) and up 18,000 since 2016Q3 (Year on Year)

Today FM
    • Paula McSweeney: 20,000 in this book, an increase of 3,000 since 2017Q2 (Book on Book) and no figures were available for 2016Q3 (Year on Year)
    • Ian Dempsey: 169,000 in this book, an increase of 6,000 since 2017Q2 (Book on Book) and a decrease of 4,000 since 2016Q3 (Year on Year)
    • Dermot and Dave: 167,000 in this book, an increase of 3,000 since 2017Q2 (Book on Book) and an increase of 1,000 since 2016Q3 (Year on Year) which were the final figures of Anton Savage's tenure.
    • Al Porter: 118,000 in this book, no figures were available for 2017Q2 (Book on Book) and an increase of 6,000 since 2016Q3 (Year on Year) which were Dermot and Dave's final figures in that slot.
    • Fergal D'Arcy: No figures available.
    • Matt Cooper: No figures available.
    Note: It is interesting to note that in the press statement from Today FM which makes up the bulk of radiotoday's coverage, Fergal D'Arcy is absent from the list of presenters responsible for an increase in the station's reach.

NewsTalk
    • NewsTalk Breakfast: 121,000 in this book, an increase of 2,000 since 2017Q2 (Book on Book) and an increase of 6,000 since 2016Q3 (Year on Year)
    • Pat Kenny: 150,000 in this book, a decrease of 1,000 since 2017Q2 (Book on Book) and an increase of 4,000 since 2016Q3 (Year on Year)
    • High Noon (Final Figures) / Ciara Kelly (Starting Figures): 102,000 in this book, an increase of 4,000 since 2017Q2 (Book on Book) and an increase of 4,000 since 2016Q3 (Year on Year)
    • Sean Moncrieff: 79,000 in this book, an increase of 2,000 since 2017Q2 (Book on Book) and an increase of 13,000 since 2016Q3 (Year on Year)
    • NewsTalk Drive (Final Figures) / Hard Shoulder (Starting Figures): 135,000 in this book, an increase of 5,000 since 2017Q2 (Book on Book) and a decrease of 3,000 since 2016Q3 (Year on Year)
    • Off the Ball: 53,000 in this book, an increase of 2,000 since 2017Q2 (Book on Book) and no figure was available for 2016Q3 (Year on Year).

Now, this post has taken far too long to do already, and frankly, I don't care enough about Lyric to format this, so I'm wholesale taking radiotoday's list of bullet points (sorry not sorry).

RTE Lyric FM
    • Marty in the Mornings has gained 5,000 y-o-y to 49,000
    • Liz Nolan Classical Daytime holds steady at 21,000 b-o-b
    • Niall Carroll’s Lunchtime Favourites up 1,000 b-o-b and 4,000 y-o-y to 28,000
    • The John Kelly Ensemble up 1,000 b-o-b to 33,000
    • Lorcan Murray’s Classic Drive up 3,000 b-o-b and 11,000 y-o-y to 57,000
    • The lyric Concert with Paul Harriott up 4,000 b-o-b and 2,000 y-o-y to 28,000
    • The Blue of the Night up 1,000 b-o-b to 15,000
    • Evonne Ferguson’s Daybreak (Saturday) up 3,000 b-o-b and 6,000 y-o-y to 25,000
    • The Hamilton Scores up 2,000 b-o-b and 16,000 y-o-y to 49,000 on Saturday
    • The Hamilton Scores up 6,000 b-o-b and 19,000 y-o-y to 45,000 on Sunday
    • Movies and Musicals (Saturday) up 7,000 b-o-b and 3,000 y-o-y to 41,000
    • Evelyn Grant’s Weekend Drive up 8,000 b-o-b on Saturday and Sunday
    • Vox Nostra w/Vlad Smishkewych (Sunday) up 5,000 y-o-y to 21,000
    • Aedín Gormley’s Sunday Matinée up 3,000 b-o-b to 48,000
    • A World of Song/Encore (Sunday) up 6,000 y-o-y to 15,000

Sources:

Ray D'arcy is down 6,000 y-o-y to 210,000

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,050 ✭✭✭gazzer

Ray D'arcy is down 6,000 y-o-y to 210,000

Those 6000 were probably busy making porridge or out jogging when his show was on :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,015 ✭✭✭✭Mc Love

Dermot & Dave’s successor Al Porter has settled comfortably into his new Today FM family, now entertaining an audience of 118,000 at lunchtime (12-2.30pm) – that’s an increase of 5,000 in the year, not bad for a first time radio presenter. Al has been enjoying a stellar 2017 with the launch of his new radio show and as host of TV3’s Blind Date.

Really? How is this even possible? :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,670 ✭✭✭MikeyTaylor

Mc Love wrote: »
    Really? How is this even possible? :(
    Well done Al.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60 ✭✭Einstein A. Gogo

The numbers are all skewed anyway because they don't take into account the numbers listening to the 20 or so "Community" stations around the country who are pulling in a tidy listenership between them.

Well done Al.

Equally it could be "Well done Muireann" seeing as she has stood in so often for him.

The numbers are all skewed anyway because they don't take into account the numbers listening to the 20 or so "Community" stations around the country who are pulling in a tidy listenership between them.

Not how the measurement works. It is individual stations. No numbers being skewed if they were never included.

Yeah I'm not sure I understand that point Einstein A Gogo.

Community radio might have an appreciable listenership when counted en bloc, but it doesn't in any way affect the established stations' audience figures in relation to one another.

I'm sure tens of thousands of Irish people listen to internet radio broadcasts on a daily basis, via one of the radio apps or internet radio, but it doesn't mean the JNLR figures are skewed. The JNLR doesn't claim to account for every radio listener, only for those who listen to most of the established stations (with the exception of Spirit, etc).

Even on "traditional" radio there are a lot of Irish listeners tuned in to BBC stations on medium wave, long wave and FM. The FM signals are good a long way from the border in places. And RTE has a lot of listeners in the North on FM and long wave and a few in Britain on long wave. Neither of those categories gets measured but that does not skew the numbers.

The way the research is done I think if a Community Station somehow got as many listeners as a Local Station then that would be picked up and they would be included in the results.

Even on "traditional" radio there are a lot of Irish listeners tuned in to BBC stations on medium wave, long wave and FM. The FM signals are good a long way from the border in places.
    Arghh you've just reminded me of why I hate driving up to Donegal (in my '08 pre-internet-radio car), that bloody erratic static from Belturbet to Belcoo, as I dip in and out of County Fermanagh!

I don't live along the border, so maybe it's not as bad when you're receiving a signal from a constant, fixed point on a kitchen radio. But it is so jarring when driving that route. I would love to get the BBC stations here in the south -- or at least in parts of it -- with some reliability.

Some parts of the country are better served than others. My car radio automatically picks up every FM station in reach and displays them in pages of 6 stations. I usually have 5 pages, sometimes 6 obviously taking in BBC and others from the North. Most of the Dublin stations like Nova and FM104 as well

But over in Leitrim it would be only two pages. I was in Larne last weekend and only two pages there as well, including one station from the Isle of Man. But RTE can be heard in Belfast quite easily.

I've taken to using the radio app on my phone much more often these but that goes to pot when going through certain areas where there's feck all mobile internet :(