Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Puppy stolen from 10 year old boy outside Wexford supermarket

• 18-10-2017 3:04pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,547 ✭✭✭Foxhound38

Heartbreaking story

What sort of an animal takes a puppy from a small child? Apparently the poor kid is blaming himself for it :(

Presumably the supermarket has CCTV so hopefully the dog will be back with his owners soon. There's some proper sh*tbags in this country.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭Jim Bob Scratcher

I hope they catch the little scrote and that the puppy is okay.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

What a c*nt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 772 ✭✭✭the dark phantom

More Strawberries Less scrotes would be nice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,547 ✭✭✭Foxhound38

The little fecker is probably waiting for the missing signs to go up so he can call the family up to hassle them for a few bob.

Either that or sell it at the nearest horse market. Unfortunately the fact that the family understandably went to the press probably increased the chances of the little scrote panicking and doing something awful to the pup.

Any teenager who is emotionally capable of grabbing a pup from a crying child outside a supermarket and running off with it is a serious worry as far as progressing into harming humans in the future is concerned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

I hope the puppy is ok, but I have some experience in this area and this does not look good. :mad:

I would ask were there any adults about who would/could have intervened in this?

I've often seen dogs tied up outside supermarkets as their owners just "nip in" for something. I have on occasion politely tried to explain to their owners that this is not the wisest thing to do for this exact reason (anyone could take the dog) but most often I'm told to mind my own business. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,547 ✭✭✭Foxhound38

I would ask were there any adults about who would/could have intervened in this?

Apparently some good Samaritans did intervene and they chased after him but the little scrote tore off into traffic with the pup. They then comforted the child and looked after him until his mother could be located.

One could say that it was reckless to leave the child outside with the dog in the first place, but in fairness you wouldn't expect some utter scumbag to rob a dog from a child outside an Aldi in broad daylight.

Happens more than you'd think. It's why you should try not to let your dog out unattended, especially if it is more of a premiere breed. They'll have it stolen and sold on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 944 ✭✭✭s15r330

Hopefully the cnut runs into traffic once too often and gets a slap of a lorry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,737 ✭✭✭✭kylith

Pugs are worth a hell of a lot of money, and can be used on puppy farms to make a whole lot more money. The pup was probably stolen for this reason. As far as that scumbag was concerned that kid was standing outside Lidl with thousands of euro in his hands.

Hopefully the dog is microchipped and, if old enough, has been neutered. That combined with press coverage making it too hot to handle (though the problem with pedigrees is that one looks exactly like another) would hopefully mean that the dog will be found.

There's an awful lot worse that could happen with pups sadly and that's what I'd be worried about. :(

Foxhound38 wrote: »
    Apparently some good Samaritans did intervene and they chased after him but the little scrote tore off into traffic with the pup. They then comforted the child and looked after him until his mother could be located.

One could say that it was reckless to leave the child outside with the dog in the first place, but in fairness you wouldn't expect some utter scumbag to rob a dog from a child outside an Aldi in broad daylight.

Good to know, but still incredibly sad this happened.

I'd hope someone recognises the teenager. It can't be that big a town that someone wouldn't know or suspect who it is?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,737 ✭✭✭✭kylith

There's an awful lot worse that could happen with pups sadly and that's what I'd be worried about. :(

True, but I'd imagine (hope!) that it's worth much more to them alive.

Still though, neither is good. A long, miserable life in a shed as a breeding machine, or a quick, painful, terrifying death as a bait dog...

kylith wrote: »
    True, but I'd imagine (hope!) that it's worth much more to them alive.

Still though, neither is good. A long, miserable life in a shed as a breeding machine, or a quick, painful, terrifying death as a bait dog...

:mad:

It's not always that simple though. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,472 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

kylith wrote: »
    Hopefully the dog is microchipped and, if old enough, has been neutered.
    I really wish we could neuter all the scrotes and scumbags in Ireland. At least then we only have one generation of the frackers and be over with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,551 ✭✭✭AllForIt

I really do think that supermarkets should put up signs outside their premises to beware of pet theft. Their seems to be rather a lot of ppl who wouldn't dream in a million years that anyone would steal a dog left outside a shop but if they were to think about it for a second they would see sooner or later it might very well happen to them. I wouldn't take the chance if I had a dog I loved just to get something that might not even be important.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

That dog is worth a few quid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,124 ✭✭✭jonon9

The scumbag's parents must be proud. These people are nothing but ****stains on the sole of society.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Poor kid, hope that other fool that robbed his pet gets a good kicking.

I had a scum bag do similar to me years ago but it was my bike.

I was only around 12 or so and he would have been in his 20's. Was a very frightening experience.

I would love to see that guy today let me tell you.

Could we provide some sort of incentive for sterilisation that certain demographics would take?

That's an easy one.
    "If you want your dole then you get sterilised"
    Dirtbags would be queuing up for it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,023 ✭✭✭Donal55

Probably for sale at Ballinasloe horse fair next week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,596 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Just use them for testing new drugs and possible side effects.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 492 ✭✭Gerrup Outta Dat!

Donal55 wrote: »
    Probably for sale at Ballinasloe horse fair next week.

It’s their culture boss

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

I reckon the prick that stole the pup liked dags.

Takes a certain kind of lowlife to rob a family pet from a ten year old.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,904 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

If it's a member of the ethnic minority that we're told enrich our society who stole the dog it will have a miserable life from now on.

Awful yoke whoever he was to do that to a little boy and who will more than likely put the pupper through some hardship :(

It could have been any sort of fella who did it so I wouldn't jump to the "certain ethnic minority" conclusion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭Hammer89

They missed a trick by not telling The Indo that they'd offer a reward for the dog - even to the thief who nicked it.

I'd gladly pay someone who stole my dog if it led to his or her safe return and I wouldn't be surprised if the family felt the same. There'd be no sense of justice whatsoever but that's of secondary importance. Making the dog safe and bringing about the return of a family member is key.

pupper

Cringe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Dog will be sold to make money as its a pup.

They tend to take older dogs for bait.

Sad really but what hope have we now that the fools ruining the country gave a certain group ethnic status.

I cringe and actually am very angry how we are treated .....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,756 ✭✭✭demanufactured

****ing scrotes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭Summer wind

I hope the pup wasn't taken so some bunch of sickos can have some freaky Halloween fun. There's always stories in the newspapers about animals being killed in horrific ways at this time of the year. Poor little boy must be so sad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,168 ✭✭✭Ursus Horribilis

I'm sorry I opened this thread because it's both depressing me and making me so angry. This country has gone to the dogs, if you pardon the pun. There are no consequences for the scrotes who have no respect for the law or their fellow human beings. Instead we give them dole and a life that doesn't involve working or contributing to society. And as for the way we treat our animals. Going by the number of puppy farms there are in this country, there is zero interest in controlling and shutting down this sort of scumbaggery.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,221 ✭✭✭A_Sober_Paddy

Ship them off to camps...For work, re-education or maybe gen...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,895 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

s15r330 wrote: »
    Hopefully the cnut runs into traffic once too often and gets a slap of a lorry.

And then the dog he is carrying cocks his leg and lets rip on his face.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

This makes me sad on so many levels.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

Hammer89 wrote: »
    They missed a trick by not telling The Indo that they'd offer a reward for the dog - even to the thief who nicked it.

I'd gladly pay someone who stole my dog if it led to his or her safe return and I wouldn't be surprised if the family felt the same. There'd be no sense of justice whatsoever but that's of secondary importance. Making the dog safe and bringing about the return of a family member is key.

channel 4 "back" covered my feelings

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,898 ✭✭✭✭Ken.

Mod- There is absolutely nothing in the story to suggest travellers are involved. Stop using the word knacker and referring to travellers in a derogatory manner.

Any (happy) update to this story?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 229 ✭✭danmanw8

Foxhound38 wrote: »
    Heartbreaking story

What sort of an animal takes a puppy from a small child? Apparently the poor kid is blaming himself for it :(

Presumably the supermarket has CCTV so hopefully the dog will be back with his owners soon. There's some proper sh*tbags in this country.

They don't sound like they'd be very nice dog owners either if that's their morale capacity

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,554 ✭✭✭valoren

I'd be putting up a reward for information leading to who stole the pug.
    Clearly such scum are looking for money, perhaps one of their buddies might rat them out for same....no honor among thieves

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,568 ✭✭✭BillyBobBS

I blame the parents.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

BillyBobBS wrote: »
    I blame the parents.

Which ones?

Has there been any update to this?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,756 ✭✭✭demanufactured

I'm sorry I opened this thread because it's both depressing me and making me so angry. This country has gone to the dogs, if you pardon the pun. There are no consequences for the scrotes who have no respect for the law or their fellow human beings. Instead we give them dole and a life that doesn't involve working or contributing to society. And as for the way we treat our animals. Going by the number of puppy farms there are in this country, there is zero interest in controlling and shutting down this sort of scumbaggery.

Scrotes like that should be kicked to death.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

Has there been any update to this?

Yeah, any more info

Id like to think the troglodyte has been identifed and the puppy returned to the kid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,058 ✭✭✭✭anewme

great news! well done the Gardai. Amazing how a positive update about someone you don't even know, can lighten your day! Delighted for two little dogs and their families.

STOLEN DOG RECOVERED BY TRIM GARDAÍ
    Trim Gardaí had great success earlier today in recovering this little Pug puppy dog that was stolen from a 10 year old boy in Wexford during the week. A male grabbed the tiny puppy from the boy in the carpark of Aldi in Wexford Town on Sunday afternoon. The boy was waiting outside for his mam who was inside the shop. The theft was subject of numerous appeals on social media throughtout the week.
    Doing some good detective work, Trim Gardaí got two search warrants and searched two seperate addresses earlier today.The Pug was found at one address and at the other address another stolen dog was found - that dog, a French Bull Dog, was stolen from Kildare in 2016.
    Both dogs are being reunited with their owners this evening. Garda investigations are continuing and charges are likely in the near future.
    Not a bad days work!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭elperello

anewme wrote: »
    great news! well done the Gardai. Amazing how a positive update about someone you don't even know, can lighten your day! Delighted for two little dogs and their families.

STOLEN DOG RECOVERED BY TRIM GARDAÍ
    Trim Gardaí had great success earlier today in recovering this little Pug puppy dog that was stolen from a 10 year old boy in Wexford during the week. A male grabbed the tiny puppy from the boy in the carpark of Aldi in Wexford Town on Sunday afternoon. The boy was waiting outside for his mam who was inside the shop. The theft was subject of numerous appeals on social media throughtout the week.
    Doing some good detective work, Trim Gardaí got two search warrants and searched two seperate addresses earlier today.The Pug was found at one address and at the other address another stolen dog was found - that dog, a French Bull Dog, was stolen from Kildare in 2016.
    Both dogs are being reunited with their owners this evening. Garda investigations are continuing and charges are likely in the near future.
    Not a bad days work!

That's good to hear.
    Wexford Town to Trim is a fair old spin.
    Just shows how mobile these dog thieves are.

anewme wrote: »

STOLEN DOG RECOVERED BY TRIM GARDA
    Trim Gardaad great success earlier today in recovering this little Pug puppy dog that was stolen from a 10 year old boy in Wexford during the week. A male grabbed the tiny puppy from the boy in the carpark of Aldi in Wexford Town on Sunday afternoon. The boy was waiting outside for his mam who was inside the shop. The theft was subject of numerous appeals on social media throughtout the week.
    Doing some good detective work, Trim Gardaot two search warrants and searched two seperate addresses earlier today.The Pug was found at one address and at the other address another stolen dog was found - that dog, a French Bull Dog, was stolen from Kildare in 2016.
    Not a bad days work!

Wow 2016 can you imagine. You'd have given up hope.

That's great news

• Closed Accounts Posts: 429 ✭✭JimmyMcGill

That french bull dog must have sired a few in that time.

I'm delighted for both dogs and both owners And I don't often say this but well done to the Gardai.

All that's left now is to ensure the thieves get a custodial sentence and a heavy fine. We can hope I guess....